Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Camping And Caravan ( York Marine Services )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Riverside Camping And Caravan ( York Marine Services ) Reviews

Riverside Camping And Caravan ( York Marine Services )
Ferry Lane
Bishopthorpe
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 2SB
Tel: 01904 704442
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 55 Reviews
                6/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RBSB 7 reviews from this member

 Brilliant location for visiting York City and surrounding attractions.

We stayed for 2 nights midweek as a last minute booking. The site is on the marina and is very tranquil with lots of wildlife. Some reviewers have made it seem like it's a junkyard but it does have some boats being repaired and an overgrown wild feel to it which we like. Kayaks can be rented from the Cafe on the bank of the river, which seems very popular with people walking dogs or families with children.

A bus stop into York is a five minute walk but we used the park and ride, which is a couple of minutes drive, as children are free and buses leave every 5 minutes or so.

There were 3 pubs along the main road and my hubbie said his fish and chips at The Marcia was the best fish he'd ever eaten.

Shower block was spotlessly clean. Also there was always someone on site should we have needed help. There is nothing for young children to play on so not really a site we're you can leave them to wander around but there is a large hedge to separate the site from the river.

The only niggle is electricity is extra.

However, we would definitely recommend this site if you don't want the rigid and regimented sterile feel of a caravan and camping club site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hodgie99 2 reviews from this member

 Small pleasant camp but it had an identity crisis in that it did not know whether it was a camp site, a boat yard or a building site. the facilities were ok and the site was near to a nice village with good shops and pubs.

The trip was spoiled though by other users blaring loud music, at times unbearable, and as there is public access we were subjected to a late night party by the locals who would not be quiet when asked by some of the campers. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisy5 4 reviews from this member

 Room for just a few tents at this site. Shower block/ laundry warm with plenty of hot water. Boatyard area a bit scruffy but riverside views make up for it.

Lovely walks, very near park and ride, this site is ideal if you want to spend time exploring York. Quiet at night. Swings for children, no railings at water's edge which give great views but could be considered a hazard for very young children 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boldie42 14 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely time at the site, stunning outlook onto the river, we only live a few miles away so its perfect for us,

the marina cafe serves good food and you can even have a beer or glass of wine looking over the river,

there are new showers and toilets been built at present so was told to use the marina ones which were spotless.

We'll be back soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mephsy 5 reviews from this member

 An okay site, but nothing special. Facilities are good and clean, site wardens friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. The downside is that the pitches are very close together and there is little room for awning + car.

This was particularly noticeable during the warm weekend when there were a lot of children trying to play near the caravans. Whilst a lot is being done to make a good site, much more needs to be done to tidy up the approach and disguise the boatyard next to it.

I wouldn't rush to return and at 20 per unit + electricity it is over-priced. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smooth 13 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for the first time and was surprised how nice and easy it was to find. It is very near to the village of Bishopthorne where there are some nice pubs which do meals and a co-op grocery store which is home from home. The location is next to the River Ouse and there are some nice relaxing spots to watch the boats go by and get an ice cream. The downside is it is next to a boat yard and the surrounding area could do with a tidy up.

The toilets are clean but the showers don't stay on very long. Another downside is that you have to pay for electricity and this I feel should be free.

The warden was OK and friendly and all in all if some changes were made I would visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjoeedgar 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site for a couple of nights was really impressed the location is perfect right on the river front with all the amenities at hand, we met some very friendly seasonal caravanners who were too happy to advise and direct us to local attractions and public houses,

the wardens were very friendly and very helpful,

the showers and toilet block were warm and clean in all really enjoyed it

will definitely be coming again

Cheers everyone John and Lynn Edgar and Angus the Bulldog from Wakefield 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wheats1 11 reviews from this member

 Camped here with 2 other tents - we booked specific pitches and thought it was dear for the tents with single occupants. Facilties had fortunately been rebuilt since our last visit, they were clean but there was an unpleasant smell in the ladies - perhaps from the nearby disposal point. Disappointed that the advertised boat hire was no longer available, they need to update the website.

There was some building work underway on the site, and banging and noise started at 7am on Saturday morning. There was no warning and no apologies. This is unacceptable for a site advertised as 'peaceful'.

The location is why we return here. Cheap Bus ride into York, great facilities within walking distance in the village. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mix1962 1 review from this member

 Stayed for the Bank Holiday weekend with friends (2 tents and a caravan). The site looked 'tired' and very scruffy. Facilities were adequate, nothing more - with only around a dozen groups on the site during our stay, I guess the toilet block would have been very busy if the site had been full.

The warden was helpful and advised us not to use specific pitches as they were too boggy due to the rain. We went to try the catering van after pitching our tent, only to find it closed - there was no signs indicating opening hours, so we never tried it.

Overall, not bad enough to leave, but disappointing and we'll not be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ratcatcher 7 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a bank holiday weekend at this site

Location is very good on the banks of the river just south of York.

Shower block is new and clean and seems adequate for the size of the site.

There is a play area but it looked to be a little encroached upon by a few large tents (just a busy time I suppose)

A caravan at the gate sells hot sandwiches and refreshments so you can sit at the tables on the riverbank and watch the boats go by.

Site wardens very friendly although organisation seems a little vague (reception at the rear of the site for instance)

Site appears to double as a boat storage yard which gives it an untidy feel and the row dividers are full of nettles.

Pitches are not the biggest that I have seen but adequate, two of the biggest touring caravans that I have ever seen seemed to manage quite well

The only drawback to the weekend for us and this is no reflection on the site is that a large group of campers (3 tents) had previously been using our pitch as a shortcut and didn't think because we had arrived that it should make any difference

The ignorance of some people can be breathtaking

Anyway I liked the site but OH thought it was just a bit untidy

A lot of campers seem to have been before so can't be too bad 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Camping And Caravan ( York Marine Services ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Camping And Caravan ( York Marine Services )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Camping And Caravan ( York Marine Services ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5783 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement