Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Camping And Caravan Site ( York Marine Services )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Riverside Camping And Caravan Site ( York Marine Services ) Reviews

CLOSED: Riverside Camping And Caravan Site ( York Marine Services )
Ferry Lane
Bishopthorpe
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 57 Reviews
                6/10 from 57 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Margar 1 review from this member

 Excellent and clean even though we had an accident on first night not enough lights and the light on the corner where we were out.

My husband trip from out pitch to the road bad grazed knee when reported to office they came round and looked light. And got it working was 100% better 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RBSB 7 reviews from this member

 Brilliant location for visiting York City and surrounding attractions.

We stayed for 2 nights midweek as a last minute booking. The site is on the marina and is very tranquil with lots of wildlife. Some reviewers have made it seem like it's a junkyard but it does have some boats being repaired and an overgrown wild feel to it which we like. Kayaks can be rented from the Cafe on the bank of the river, which seems very popular with people walking dogs or families with children.

A bus stop into York is a five minute walk but we used the park and ride, which is a couple of minutes drive, as children are free and buses leave every 5 minutes or so.

There were 3 pubs along the main road and my hubbie said his fish and chips at The Marcia was the best fish he'd ever eaten.

Shower block was spotlessly clean. Also there was always someone on site should we have needed help. There is nothing for young children to play on so not really a site we're you can leave them to wander around but there is a large hedge to separate the site from the river.

The only niggle is electricity is extra.

However, we would definitely recommend this site if you don't want the rigid and regimented sterile feel of a caravan and camping club site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hodgie99 2 reviews from this member

 Small pleasant camp but it had an identity crisis in that it did not know whether it was a camp site, a boat yard or a building site. the facilities were ok and the site was near to a nice village with good shops and pubs.

The trip was spoiled though by other users blaring loud music, at times unbearable, and as there is public access we were subjected to a late night party by the locals who would not be quiet when asked by some of the campers. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisy5 4 reviews from this member

 Room for just a few tents at this site. Shower block/ laundry warm with plenty of hot water. Boatyard area a bit scruffy but riverside views make up for it.

Lovely walks, very near park and ride, this site is ideal if you want to spend time exploring York. Quiet at night. Swings for children, no railings at water's edge which give great views but could be considered a hazard for very young children 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boldie42 24 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely time at the site, stunning outlook onto the river, we only live a few miles away so its perfect for us,

the marina cafe serves good food and you can even have a beer or glass of wine looking over the river,

there are new showers and toilets been built at present so was told to use the marina ones which were spotless.

We'll be back soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mephsy 5 reviews from this member

 An okay site, but nothing special. Facilities are good and clean, site wardens friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. The downside is that the pitches are very close together and there is little room for awning + car.

This was particularly noticeable during the warm weekend when there were a lot of children trying to play near the caravans. Whilst a lot is being done to make a good site, much more needs to be done to tidy up the approach and disguise the boatyard next to it.

I wouldn't rush to return and at 20 per unit + electricity it is over-priced. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smooth 13 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for the first time and was surprised how nice and easy it was to find. It is very near to the village of Bishopthorne where there are some nice pubs which do meals and a co-op grocery store which is home from home. The location is next to the River Ouse and there are some nice relaxing spots to watch the boats go by and get an ice cream. The downside is it is next to a boat yard and the surrounding area could do with a tidy up.

The toilets are clean but the showers don't stay on very long. Another downside is that you have to pay for electricity and this I feel should be free.

The warden was OK and friendly and all in all if some changes were made I would visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjoeedgar 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site for a couple of nights was really impressed the location is perfect right on the river front with all the amenities at hand, we met some very friendly seasonal caravanners who were too happy to advise and direct us to local attractions and public houses,

the wardens were very friendly and very helpful,

the showers and toilet block were warm and clean in all really enjoyed it

will definitely be coming again

Cheers everyone John and Lynn Edgar and Angus the Bulldog from Wakefield 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wheats1 11 reviews from this member

 Camped here with 2 other tents - we booked specific pitches and thought it was dear for the tents with single occupants. Facilties had fortunately been rebuilt since our last visit, they were clean but there was an unpleasant smell in the ladies - perhaps from the nearby disposal point. Disappointed that the advertised boat hire was no longer available, they need to update the website.

There was some building work underway on the site, and banging and noise started at 7am on Saturday morning. There was no warning and no apologies. This is unacceptable for a site advertised as 'peaceful'.

The location is why we return here. Cheap Bus ride into York, great facilities within walking distance in the village. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement