Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Birchwood Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Whatstandwell > Birchwood Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Birchwood Farm Caravan Park
Wirksworth Road
Whatstandwell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 5HS
Tel: 01629 822 280
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 66
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 168 Reviews
                8/10 from 168 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  168 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 Family friendly campsite, kids play area and pot washing facilities good. Showers were clean with very good water pressure and temperature.

Toilets were okay but in need of a good clean and modernising. Only 1 toilet block open for ladies which includes 3 toilet cubicles and 1 sink, it is felt this isn't enough due to mums generally taking their kids to use the facilities also so very much a family area is needed, 1 sink not being enough.

Other than this a lovely campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Vickyb 1 review from this member

 Lovely, well maintained campsite with good facilities. Nice and clean. Great sized pitches.

In a great spot to access local attractions by car or by foot for those without walking difficulties. Trails available straight off the campsite for walks. It is a safe site for dogs. Nice adventure playground.

Tucked away from the main road (you have to drive along a woodland lane towards the site) so nice and quiet at night too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 27 reviews from this member

 First weekend of reopening the site July 17th 2020.

Coming out of lock down the site delivered within all guidelines set out by the government.

Well was glad to get back to David, Carol and the girls.

And a warm welcome as always from everyone.

Site had only had the 1st field open, leaving about 30 hookups available.

Quit a few turned out, all hard standing service pitchers taken, but site was not to full. More vans on grass pitchers, along with tents and motor homes.

Plenty of room and with only one toilet block open, I thought we would struggle, but no it was ok, with plenty hand wash around for all to use.

Granddaughter was off as always into the woods, with the other younger ones on site, play area was also open.

Chippy in Wirskworth Fri night, which I rang the order in, and collected bang on time. Nice fish, & chips where plenty as well.

Out to Matlock Sat, and Tansley car boot Sunday. Nice weekend, with nice people camped along side you.

Will we be back.

Yea Aug Bank Holiday 2020! 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gedwards 4 reviews from this member

 Exceptionally clean, exceptionally friendly, exceptional value for money.

Stay only spoilt by the inconsiderate youths running around and shouting until very late who’s parents showed no consideration to other campers.

Great site - will go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Jlloyd 1 review from this member

 All enjoyed our stay here. Lovely walk into the village with lots of nice shops and pubs.

Only down side is would benefit from a closer toilet block especially if your tenting in the 3rd field. Quite a track to the toilets.

But would still recommend. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 27 reviews from this member

 Hi

Well what a gem of a site.

We are only 15 miles from the site, if that.

Great hosts, that don't just look after you, they make you feel very very welcome.

But they also get to know you, with that old friendly touch you never seem to see today.

Stayed on a Services pitch.

Site is on a slight slope, but nothing to worry about.

Toilets and showers well looked after, and kept clean all day, never once found them dirty.

Shop well stocked, prices are also very reasonable.

As for my granddaughter 6, we had to drag her into the van for meals, she loved everything about the site, play area and the woods, which are attached to the site.

She made some lovely friends over the weekend.

Dog had a great weekend as well as us all.

Wirsksworth 3 miles away good CO-OP at garage.

Cromford around 4 miles, Robinson's Chip Shop well worth visit.

Matlock / Matlock Bath 5 miles,

If you want to stay on a great site, in Derbyshire this it.

We will be going back, that is for sure.

Many thanks for a great weekend.

Ray, Dawn, Raynor.

Stetson the GSD. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Manicpony 1 review from this member

 Our first visit to Birchwood farm, and we were very late making a booking for a bank holiday weekend. However, we were very pleased as it is a fantastic site. Close to the attractions around Derbyshire.

There are a large number of static caravans, but these are around the corner and out of the way, so it feels like a much smaller site. Fantastic shop and good toilet / shower facilities, with water points close at hand.

The only problem we had, is that the fields have quite a slope on them, and we struggled to get the van out on damp mornings, as well as trying to get a spot level enough to park up and run the gas fridge. They have three fields available, so I'm sure taking a section out of action at a time to run it over with a JCB and create some terracing wouldn't be too difficult.

However the team were very helpful and pulled us out with a 4x4! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hucknall 5 reviews from this member

 I visited this site from 17th to 20th July I don't know why people are complaining of pot holes

There are no pot holes just a bit uneven the site itself is great great shop clean toilets. And showers

And if you like walking this the site for you this was my 6th visit and will be back 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peajay 7 reviews from this member

 This is our third visit to Birchwood Farm. We only live 7 miles away but do so enjoy it. Carol the owner is a lovely lady aways making you feel very welcome. She can't do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable.

The site itself is first class. There are hardstanding and grass pitches with electric hook up and water supply next to the pitch or very close by. The are also large fields for tents. The site is kept clean and tidy at all times. There are two toilet blocks and a shower block which are kept spotless. The showers are on taps and not the annoying push button type and even during busy periods there is always plenty of hot water.

The reception also incorporates a shop which stocks an excellent variety of food and caravan/camping accessories.

We will always return to Birchwood not only because of what I have mention above but also it is excellent value for money.

We've already booked two more visits in August but can't see us waiting until then before we return 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: T07zombie 20 reviews from this member

 Well priced and a great site to stay on. We had full service pitch which was £18 a night. Weather and scenery is excellent.

The site is set on a working farm enclosed by pine tress (note: TV does not work on this site no signal at all)

Good walks all around to whatstandwell, cromford, matlcok.

On site shop is well stocked.

The site could have done with a bit of a tidy up ie. Wooden pallets left at the side of pitch. Rocks not moved from paths and roads. Leaves covering waste toilet and had to move them to empty my toilet. The showers are hit and miss - the first shower only came out cold, the 2nd one had split and went everywhere, the 3rd attempt worked ok. Lampposts with no lights on the end so its all dark.

Overall the site is cheap, its scenery is beautiful but site could do with a tidy up with pot holes filled in on the road leading to the site. Its been 5 yrs since we last visited and it seems tired and not as well looked after.

We will return as we like the area but hope the site gets its heart back. 


Previous     168 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Birchwood Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Birchwood Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Birchwood Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whatstandwell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December