Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes Reviews

Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes
Osmington Mills
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 6HA
Tel: 01305 832248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 225
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bopi75 2 reviews from this member

 First visit to this campsite for us but certainly won't be our last! unfortunately for us we only stayed for 3 nights, would have loved to stay longer.

Spotless toilet/shower/wash up facilities.

Excellent customer service.

Lovely sea views and a lovely pub a short walk away.

The field is on a slope but there are flat areas. We found a great spot with a lovely sea view. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Beatsworking 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for 5 days but ended up staying for 7 as it was so peaceful with lots walking and places to visit within easy reach.

Webmaster’s review from May 2019 covers the layout of the site and its facilities in great, and accurate, detail so I won’t add much more about the site itself. There are no EHU points but this was not a concern to us but could be for some larger motorhomes.

Our visit started mid-week early in July so was also outside the main summer holidays so there was plenty of available space. We, too, spent some time walking and driving around the site to find an almost level pitch for our classic 1970’s VW Camper with awning whilst also having a good view of the sea. We avoided pitching close to the perimeter hedges for maximum early morning and evening sun and found a nice spot almost opposite the reception and facilities buildings but still plenty far enough away not to be disturbed by vehicles, or people visiting the facilities. We did need chocks to get the camper exactly level but most other units simply pitched up, accepting the slight slopes. Nothing to do with this site in particular but we made sure we were not close to other units but found it so strange that even though there was so much space available, within a couple of days we had people pitched so close to us that we were tempted to move. It’s a bit like picking an empty area of a supermarket car park well away from the actual shop to avoid dings on the bodywork only to come back to find cars parked so close either side of us, almost jamming us in. Perhaps people just like to be next to classic vehicles!

As pointed out by Webmaster, phone reception was very poor with 4g rarely coming up but the reception down by The Smuggler’s was superb. Fortunately we were not worried about needing good data connection but I can see a problem for those who need it.

We enjoyed some lovely walks along the coast paths but do remember the added distance of walking up and down the hills rather than just measuring off the distance shown on the map.

We used our bus passes(!) a lot to avoid packing up the Camper each day and worrying about parking, particularly with the bus stops being opposite the site entrance and a reasonable service to both east and west destinations but be warned that the last buses were very early, around 1630-1730. Having sailed the South Coast for the last 40+ years it was great to visit places like Lulworth Bay, Durdle Dor, Weymouth, Portland Bill, and Lyme Regis, etc. , from the land rather than sea.

All in all a great site with friendly staff and excellent facilities that were kept spotless. The wardens started their cleaning routine at 0600 so I guess even in the height of the holiday season everything would remain fine. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Webmaster 52 reviews from this member

 Stayed for two nights here in May, midweek outside school holidays, and really really liked it, amazing sea views, lovely location and great walking from site.

The site is huge and was pretty empty and is spread over a gentle hill rolling down towards the sea. You will have to hunt around for a flat spot, but they can be found, although chocks are probably going to be needed for most people.

You can pitch where you like, I spent ten minutes driving around, trying to select the best spot for a combination of sea view, flat(ish) and phone signal. There is very limited 4g coverage on site on all networks - at the top of the site up the hill I managed to get a usable 4g signal on EE (unfortunately I needed it as I had to work too) so hunt around, you will find a spot if you really really need a connection.

As I said the site is large, but cleverly split up by hedges and trees so doesn't feel quite so big. There are two facility blocks with good toilets and showers, nothing to complain about there. There's a small shop on site which sells essentials and a few camping items too. Reception was friendly and efficient. The nearest food shop is a couple of miles away in Osmington itself.

The higher up the site / hill you go the better your sea view will be, although you'll have longer to walk to the facilities or down to the sea, but well worth it in my view.

There's a smashing pub, the Smugglers down the hill at the sea, which does great food, and has lots and lots of outside seating. Well recommended. It was about 3/4 mile walk from where I was pitched at the top of the site, but would be half that from the lower pitches (but you'd lose your sea view!) There's a footpath running down the outside of the site down the sea, so you don't have to walk through the site itself to get there.

Once you are on the front, there is amazing but hilly walking both ways along the coast path. The first day I walked East towards Ringstead Bay and then further on past Burning Cliff and then a big loop inland through miles of glorious countryside and back through the deserted medieval village of Ringstead, along the cliffs and back to the site - about 9 1/2 miles.

The next day I decided to walk to Weymouth - it ended up being further that I thought, you need to bear in the mind the winding coast path and the very steep climbs up and down - including my wandering around Weymouth itself, it was just over 9 miles - so I got a taxi back! Weymouth is nice though, and recommended - had lovely fish and chips overlooking the harbour!

All in all, I would highly recommend this site, it's a paradise for walkers and a lovely location. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Valdes6L 1 review from this member

 We've just return from a fantastic bank holiday here. We arrived at 6pm Friday and managed to get a level-ish pitch.

It's hard to imagine a campsite with better shower/toilet/sink facilities - nice and clean, good showers with nice size cubicles.

The freshly made crepes in the mornings were a genius touch and very much appreciated! Great location, don't miss the Smugglers Inn down the road. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelsG 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site with our dog for a gorgeous sunny weekend in July. We loved it! The toilets and showers are kept really clean and there's a lovely little shop on site too.

There was a pop-up pizza stand on Saturday night selling freshly cooked pizzas. Views of the sea from the top of the site are awesome. It does tend to get quite busy and we did have people pitching late at night a bit too close for comfort.

I think next time we'll pitch further up the hill! Biggest attraction of the site is the Smuggler's Inn pub which you can access through a small pathway in the bottom field at the left hand side, then down a little lane.

Fantastic dog-fiendly pub. We did the cliff walk to Weymouth but admit we got a taxi back. We will definitely visit this site again, we loved it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hawkeyexiv 1 review from this member

 Booking the campsite was very easy by phone. The person I spoke with was friendly and helpful with quick confirmation by email.

The site itself is on a gentleish slope, rather than tiered, with pleanty of acceptable levelish ground. There was plenty of space to pitch even though the site was fully booked, they don't overcrowd.

The spot we pitched our tent had hard ground, due to the lack of rain, but there were no subsurface stones to bend your pegs.

The view is spectacular!

Although it was a bank holiday weekend in August, the other campers being mostly families with young children, everyone was very good natured, no antisocials with boomboxes and the noise curfew was adhered to.

The site has a little shop, open 8-6, well stocked with essentials (bacon!) and some camping spares and gizmos - even flock airbeds, if you arrive and realise yours is punctured.

There are two toilet and showers blocks at the top and bottom end of the site, with plenty of washing up stations on the exterior, very clean and well maintained throughout the day. The maintenance chap was cheerful and helpful like the rest of the staff.

A short walk from the bottom of the site is The Smugglers Pub and a Tea shop. The Smugglers was rammed over the weekend, but still managed to serve better than average food (try the specials!) with good humour and good customer service.

The teashop is small, delightfully quirky and serves cream teas, (nice) ice-cream and toasty type snacks. We saw a few self important, entitled types getting a bit passive aggressive with the charming owner about the speed of service, no doubt expecting it to work like a Starbucks in whatever awful city they came from. Pleasingly, she artfully ignored them.

You can also follow some lovely uppy-downy coastal walks either East or West (5 miles to Weymouth) if you wish.

We would go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Caznal 2 reviews from this member

 What a little gem! Never stayed here before, but will definitely stay again! Was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was, even though it was very busy because of the school holiday season,

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The facilities were spotless, as was the site itself.

There are no hook ups here, that was not a problem. There is a camp shop, which was well stocked, and the local chippie van arrives once a week from the best chip shop in Weymouth!

We stayed for 3 nights and would highly recommend this site to anyone, whether they are looking for a peaceful location or a family friendly site. We have a dog, so we're pleased to find a dog friendly site so close to a dog friendly beach, only complaint was that other campers were not following the rule about dogs on leads at all times!

Easy access to the coastal path, and not far to walk for a beach and a family friendly pub for good food! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Claireuk 14 reviews from this member

 You can pitch where you like at this campsite which which has its pros and cons ! We pitched up on our first day in our campervan and then went out leaving wind breaks pitched.

Arrived back to a motor home parked right next to us so we had to move ! Site has lovely sea views or you can pitch next to hedges.

The site is on a slope so can be an issue when it gets busy which it did over the few days we spent there. A bit too busy for us as kids lost their playing area ! Toilets and showers kept clean and there was enough of them, never queued when timed right !

Pizza van at the weekend - recommend the garlic bread !

10 min walk to the beach, great for rock pooling or if you walk along the coast path you come to another beach ( pebble ), lovely walk. Didn't think much of Weymouth but Dorset is beautiful and campsite does make an excellent location to explore.

Charmouth for fossil hunting, Lyme Regis, lulworth cove, Poole all worth a visit. Yes we would return to this area but maybe not at this campsite in height of season. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulcurtley 4 reviews from this member

 Each year a friend and I pick a location and meet up for few nights camping whist exploring the local area’s cycling routes, and this year’s cycling / camping adventure brought me to Rosewall Campsite in Weymouth.

Located on the road into Weymouth from the east, in the village of Osmington, this really is a magnificent location. It is in essence a very large field broken up with hedges to add seclusion to the different camping zones, making it is quite easy to find somewhere a little secluded to pitch.

The best bit though is the views, with the camping field sloping down towards the sea which is perfectly framed by the rolling hills, so make sure you pitch the tent to enjoy the south facing views of the fishing boats and sailing ships over your morning cup of tea.

On top of the views the facilities are top drawer, two blocks of very clean toilets and showers, plenty of washing up facilities, and a well-stocked and a not expensive shop, plus a play park if you are bringing the little’uns

I will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Coastwalker 42 reviews from this member

 A well kept site with reasonable charges. It is quite big and probably would be too much for me in high season, but in mid-May it was good. There are two large fields sloping down towards the coast but few completely flat pitches.

Large, well equipped and clean toilet/shower blocks with hot water included. A laundry and a play area too. The site manager was very helpful and chatty. Beware of leaving food about- the badgers have nightly raids on the bins.

The area is lovely. The site is off the minor road down to Osmington Mills (which is, essentially, a pub) and is peaceful. The countryside is superb, with the rolling downs meeting the coast. Durdle Door (which is a rock dragon) and Lulworth Cove are must-sees. The café at Lulworth Cove is good value.

It is a short ride into Weymouth for the shops, but the town itself seems a bit down. The Olympics may have affected the marina but the seafront is scruffy near the pier. 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6128 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement