Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes Reviews

Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes
Osmington Mills
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 6HA
Tel: 01305 832248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 225
Open: 14/04/2022 to 17/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Huntpe 1 review from this member

 Perfect stay again.

The most beautiful countryside with the best maintained camp we have visited.

Hats off to the couple that keep it all up together as nothing was to much bother for them 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 Nice enough campsite, beautiful views and good location. A lot of the pitches sloped quite a bit. We were lucky and found a pitch that was fairly flat.

Pitches are not marked and although it says on the website, and on a big sign as you drive in, to pitch 6m apart all the groups of friends on holiday we're not even 2ft apart let alone 6m.

A couple of the larger groups were very noisy right up until 11pm most nights and one night even until 12. 45, but then we were not given any list of rules when we arrived so some obviously thought they could do what they wanted.

The facilities were good, toilet block was kept very clean. No freezer to freeze your own ice packs, you have to rent them from the shop which is OK but they were limiting each family to 3 small ice packs each which isn't enough if you have a cool box and want to take out picnics, so not good really. They did agree to freeze a couple that we had taken with us, thankfully.

Overall all it was a nice enough site but I wouldn't rush back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carolw 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, we have been camping there on and off for over 20 years, fantastic views very clean toilets and wahing facilities Mark's out off 10, , most definitely 10 we will be back thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pete20 1 review from this member

 Have been staying at Rosewall on and off for past 20 odd years.

Facility’s are always spotlessly clean, lovely site with great views, access to great coastal walks, not far from Weymouth

Friendly staff.

Well recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mostin1066 1 review from this member

 I visited the site with the covid restrictions in place. This would restrict the numbers they could have on site. This meant people could pitch up leaving a good space between them.

The site was clean & well kept. With plenty of hand sanitizer points dotted around the site.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The toilet block was clean. With regular visits from the on site team. For me they had enough facilities on site.

Great good value site with views of the sea. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Donski 5 reviews from this member

 Mid Covid situation I chose this site as they had obviously taken precautions on site and was pleased to see they had fulfilled them. Hand sanitiser in the shared areas, distance between pitches and masks in the shop.

A lovely clean site, on a hill but there are level pitches for us tenters. Great views with the bonus of the 8 furloughed Cruise liners in Weymouth bay adding to the spectacle. I was blessed with glorious weather.

From the site you have direct access to the Coastal Path and its obvious miles and miles of walking. I took the dog and she loved it. Obviously you are in the Purbeck hills so some of the climbs can be challenging.

A couple of minutes walk away is the popular Smugglers Arms, great food but you need to book. I was refused a meal on the first night even though there were plenty of empty tables !

Would I recommend this site ! Well I will definitely be returning so I guess yes. I should imagine though it does get busy and although the Shower blocks are spotless and modern there were only 4 showers in our block so I think that could be interesting at times. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Annand 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, friendly staff, beautiful view, clean shower/ toilet block, efficient rubbish collection, great little shop,

Shame the beach is not swimming friendly but that isn't Rosewalls fault.

Buses at end of road to go everywhere without driving hassle 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Quick one nighter here to see if it was a fab as it was on my last visit last year - it was!

Wonderful sea views from the site and this year there's even the treat of huge great cruise ships anchored in the bay (all out of use due to CV19) - a real sight to behold especially at night when they are lit up like giant Christmas trees!

Toilets and showers extremely clean, and lots of CV19 precautions implemented and followed. Masks worn in the shop to check in

Direct access to the SW Coast Path - I won't repeat the details of the walks which you can see if my previous review of this site in May 19, but suffice to say you won't be bored if walking is your thing.

We had a couple of pints in the Smuggler Pub at the bottom of the hill

Great site, will definitely revisit. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I sent an enquiry from this website and they responded very quickly letting me know they had a pitch for me in my VW and a dog and told me the price for the night was £17. I confirmed my stay.

Upon arrival I had to check in at the shop and settled up. The shop looked well stocked with all the necessities. If you wanted a larger shop these can be found on the way to, or in Weymouth. The lady who checked me in was friendly and advised me to pitch anywhere I fancied, but 6mtrs away from someone else.

The site is on a hill however there are plenty of flat spots to pitch, some with great sea views, some with shelter from the wind, however all pitches are close to bins and fresh water, which all had hand sanitiser in place.

There are two facilities blocks, one at the top an done at the bottom, all very CV-19 safe and clean and tidy at all times. The wardens did a great job keeping them and the site tidy and enjoyable for all and always with a smile and a friendly chat.

Off site there is the Smugglers Inn pub who do a good range of drinks and food, however they had stopped serving food when we went there so I cannot comment. The pub is a 15 minute walk down the hill and the views of the coast are lovely when you get there.

Walking is amazing from the site with the SW Coast Path on the doorstep and you can walk for miles, Weymouth is one way and plenty the other way too. Lots of circular walks if you prefer them to linear, as I do.

Close to Weymouth and all the surrounding areas are easy to reach by car.

I would defo stay again as this was a nice chilled site, with friendly staff, dog friendly and walking all around. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bopi75 3 reviews from this member

 First visit to this campsite for us but certainly won't be our last! unfortunately for us we only stayed for 3 nights, would have loved to stay longer.

Spotless toilet/shower/wash up facilities.

Excellent customer service.

Lovely sea views and a lovely pub a short walk away.

The field is on a slope but there are flat areas. We found a great spot with a lovely sea view. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2209 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement