Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes Reviews

Rosewall Camping Riding & Lakes
Osmington Mills
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 6HA
Tel: 01305 832248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 225
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 108 Reviews
                9/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Webmaster 41 reviews from this member

Stayed for two nights here in May, midweek outside school holidays, and really really liked it, amazing sea views, lovely location and great walking from site.

The site is huge and was pretty empty and is spread over a gentle hill rolling down towards the sea. You will have to hunt around for a flat spot, but they can be found, although chocks are probably going to be needed for most people. You can pitch where you like, I spent ten minutes driving around, trying to select the best spot for a combination of sea view, flat(ish) and phone signal. There is very limited 4g coverage on site on all networks - at the top of the site up the hill I managed to get a usable 4g signal on EE (unfortunately I needed it as I had to work too) so hunt around, you will find a spot if you really really need a connection.

As I said the site is large, but cleverly split up by hedges and trees so doesn't feel quite so big. There are two facility blocks with good toilets and showers, nothing to complain about there. There's a small shop on site which sells essentials and a few camping items too. Reception was friendly and efficient. The nearest food shop is a couple of miles away in Osmington itself.

The higher up the site / hill you go the better your sea view will be, although you'll have longer to walk to the facilities or down to the sea, but well worth it in my view.

There's a smashing pub, the Smugglers down the hill at the sea, which does great food, and has lots and lots of outside seating. Well recommended. It was about 3/4 mile walk from where I was pitched at the top of the site, but would be half that from the lower pitches (but you'd lose your sea view!) There's a footpath running down the outside of the site down the sea, so you don't have to walk through the site itself to get there.

Once you are on the front, there is amazing but hilly walking both ways along the coast path. The first day I walked East towards Ringstead Bay and then further on past Burning Cliff and then a big loop inland through miles of glorious countryside and back through the deserted medieval village of Ringstead, along the cliffs and back to the site - about 9 1/2 miles.

The next day I decided to walk to Weymouth - it ended up being further that I thought, you need to bear in the mind the winding coast path and the very steep climbs up and down - including my wandering around Weymouth itself, it was just over 9 miles - so I got a taxi back! Weymouth is nice though, and recommended - had lovely fish and chips overlooking the harbour!

All in all, I would highly recommend this site, it's a paradise for walkers and a lovely location.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Valdes6L 1 review from this member

We've just return from a fantastic bank holiday here. We arrived at 6pm Friday and managed to get a level-ish pitch.

It's hard to imagine a campsite with better shower/toilet/sink facilities - nice and clean, good showers with nice size cubicles.

The freshly made crepes in the mornings were a genius touch and very much appreciated! Great location, don't miss the Smugglers Inn down the road.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HelsG 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site with our dog for a gorgeous sunny weekend in July. We loved it! The toilets and showers are kept really clean and there's a lovely little shop on site too.

There was a pop-up pizza stand on Saturday night selling freshly cooked pizzas. Views of the sea from the top of the site are awesome. It does tend to get quite busy and we did have people pitching late at night a bit too close for comfort.

I think next time we'll pitch further up the hill! Biggest attraction of the site is the Smuggler's Inn pub which you can access through a small pathway in the bottom field at the left hand side, then down a little lane.

Fantastic dog-fiendly pub. We did the cliff walk to Weymouth but admit we got a taxi back. We will definitely visit this site again, we loved it.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hawkeyexiv 1 review from this member

Booking the campsite was very easy by phone. The person I spoke with was friendly and helpful with quick confirmation by email.

The site itself is on a gentleish slope, rather than tiered, with pleanty of acceptable levelish ground. There was plenty of space to pitch even though the site was fully booked, they don't overcrowd.

The spot we pitched our tent had hard ground, due to the lack of rain, but there were no subsurface stones to bend your pegs.

The view is spectacular!

Although it was a bank holiday weekend in August, the other campers being mostly families with young children, everyone was very good natured, no antisocials with boomboxes and the noise curfew was adhered to.

The site has a little shop, open 8-6, well stocked with essentials (bacon!) and some camping spares and gizmos - even flock airbeds, if you arrive and realise yours is punctured.

There are two toilet and showers blocks at the top and bottom end of the site, with plenty of washing up stations on the exterior, very clean and well maintained throughout the day. The maintenance chap was cheerful and helpful like the rest of the staff.

A short walk from the bottom of the site is The Smugglers Pub and a Tea shop. The Smugglers was rammed over the weekend, but still managed to serve better than average food (try the specials!) with good humour and good customer service.

The teashop is small, delightfully quirky and serves cream teas, (nice) ice-cream and toasty type snacks. We saw a few self important, entitled types getting a bit passive aggressive with the charming owner about the speed of service, no doubt expecting it to work like a Starbucks in whatever awful city they came from. Pleasingly, she artfully ignored them.

You can also follow some lovely uppy-downy coastal walks either East or West (5 miles to Weymouth) if you wish.

We would go again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Caznal 2 reviews from this member

What a little gem! Never stayed here before, but will definitely stay again! Was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was, even though it was very busy because of the school holiday season,

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The facilities were spotless, as was the site itself.

There are no hook ups here, that was not a problem. There is a camp shop, which was well stocked, and the local chippie van arrives once a week from the best chip shop in Weymouth!

We stayed for 3 nights and would highly recommend this site to anyone, whether they are looking for a peaceful location or a family friendly site. We have a dog, so we're pleased to find a dog friendly site so close to a dog friendly beach, only complaint was that other campers were not following the rule about dogs on leads at all times!

Easy access to the coastal path, and not far to walk for a beach and a family friendly pub for good food!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Claireuk 14 reviews from this member

You can pitch where you like at this campsite which which has its pros and cons ! We pitched up on our first day in our campervan and then went out leaving wind breaks pitched.

Arrived back to a motor home parked right next to us so we had to move ! Site has lovely sea views or you can pitch next to hedges.

The site is on a slope so can be an issue when it gets busy which it did over the few days we spent there. A bit too busy for us as kids lost their playing area ! Toilets and showers kept clean and there was enough of them, never queued when timed right !

Pizza van at the weekend - recommend the garlic bread !

10 min walk to the beach, great for rock pooling or if you walk along the coast path you come to another beach ( pebble ), lovely walk. Didn't think much of Weymouth but Dorset is beautiful and campsite does make an excellent location to explore.

Charmouth for fossil hunting, Lyme Regis, lulworth cove, Poole all worth a visit. Yes we would return to this area but maybe not at this campsite in height of season.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulcurtley 4 reviews from this member

Each year a friend and I pick a location and meet up for few nights camping whist exploring the local area’s cycling routes, and this year’s cycling / camping adventure brought me to Rosewall Campsite in Weymouth.

Located on the road into Weymouth from the east, in the village of Osmington, this really is a magnificent location. It is in essence a very large field broken up with hedges to add seclusion to the different camping zones, making it is quite easy to find somewhere a little secluded to pitch.

The best bit though is the views, with the camping field sloping down towards the sea which is perfectly framed by the rolling hills, so make sure you pitch the tent to enjoy the south facing views of the fishing boats and sailing ships over your morning cup of tea.

On top of the views the facilities are top drawer, two blocks of very clean toilets and showers, plenty of washing up facilities, and a well-stocked and a not expensive shop, plus a play park if you are bringing the little’uns

I will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Coastwalker 40 reviews from this member

A well kept site with reasonable charges. It is quite big and probably would be too much for me in high season, but in mid-May it was good. There are two large fields sloping down towards the coast but few completely flat pitches.

Large, well equipped and clean toilet/shower blocks with hot water included. A laundry and a play area too. The site manager was very helpful and chatty. Beware of leaving food about- the badgers have nightly raids on the bins.

The area is lovely. The site is off the minor road down to Osmington Mills (which is, essentially, a pub) and is peaceful. The countryside is superb, with the rolling downs meeting the coast. Durdle Door (which is a rock dragon) and Lulworth Cove are must-sees. The café at Lulworth Cove is good value.

It is a short ride into Weymouth for the shops, but the town itself seems a bit down. The Olympics may have affected the marina but the seafront is scruffy near the pier.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fullta 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic campsite. We stayed for 4 days during Whitsun week and found a lovely pitch (slight slope)overlooking the sea and caught the evening sun. Plenty of room around the tent for our 2 boys to play and pub within a 5 minute walk.

Great staff - so very friendly and professional; within 5 minutes drive to Weymouth and other beaches close by.

Croissants and rolls available to buy in the early morning and shop prices were very reasonable.

Toilet block was clean and hot water always available.

Quiet site no noise past 10pm during our stay.

Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oellph 5 reviews from this member

Rosewall is a fantastic campsite. We stayed for 4 nights from Thursday to Monday over the bank holiday. The freestyle pitching worked well for us because we were a group of 5 tents (10 adults, 7 children). Some pitches looked a bit soggy and a bit to uneven for my liking but we were able to avoid those.

The showers/toilet blocks are great, with lots of room in each shower and separate cubicles with sinks if you want a strip wash. My one small criticism is the floor isn't wiped clean often enough.

The camp shop is fantastic, with fresh baguettes and croissants each morning and a nice selection of local sausages, bacon and burgers. The staff were very friendly. Being able to rent ice blocks and swap them out for new ones each day (£1 deposit per block, 20p per block swap charge) was great.

The Smugglers Inn is a short 10 minute walk away and is superb. We would stay again if we were back in this area.

Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3123 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019