Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of North Ledaig Caravan Site ( C A M C Affiliated)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Oban > North Ledaig Caravan Site ( C A M C Affiliated) Reviews

North Ledaig Caravan Site ( C A M C Affiliated)
Connel
Oban
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1RU
Tel: 01631 710291
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 26/03/2021 to 01/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 123 Reviews
                9/10 from 123 Reviews

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hemfre 1 review from this member

 Can't fault the site. The warden was very helpful in getting us on a front row pitch.

The views out to Mull are to die for.

The site itself is well maintained and for such a large site there seemed to still be an ambience similar to a small site.

Only downside is the hike to the toilet block. We couldn't have been further from the toilets but I wouldn't have swapped my front row for the world.

Can't wait to return 10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tim Moore 1 review from this member

 We had to cut our booked 7 night visit (booked a few months ago) short due massive storm forecast where we live in the Hebrides so wishing to avoid the 45-60 mph gales forecast on our 150 mile drive home northwards we left North Ledaig having quite frankly enjoyed our 6 night visit.

We tow a SWIFT Challenger 645 a large rig touring caravan. The Pitch we were allocated 3209, had glorious views towards Mull without restriction.

The North Ledaig site is HUGE. Many, many permanent caravans on their plots for long periods allowing (presumably) their owners from relatively nearby to return to stay as and when they can.

In late October the weather of course which we expected wasnít great and the site facilities were closed due Covid so had to be self sufficient. We were fairly close to fresh water Supply and grey water waste disposal and had an electric hook up, but the chemical disposal facilities were a long Long long walk away in poor Wet weather to empty our cassettes.

Also rubbish And waste disposal was even further away (due the owners attempts o ensure Covid compliance so useful to have a large self storage for waste to avoid the many hikes to dispose of litter and bottles

The site has no WiFi and we couldnít get a television signal despite several days of trying (Other vans and mobile home seemed to manage) so it was 6 days in isolation.

Daily mobile homes and camper vans arrive depart on one-night stays, so despite many empty caravans there are lots of movements.

One of (the only three) chemical disposal units was fetid and overflowing, so always a challenge to find one that worked. The site shop is good And carries a large stock of essentials but being run down We thought due site closing a week after we left for non members.

Our pitch itch was awkward to set up. Being on a steep slope but we used stones rocks etc to put under the caravan legs at the front. So a well liked sire of long standing clearly for so many people. Covid closures and the size of the site for a long stay mean you have to compromise.

The view despite a week of Very wet weather made up for the many discrepancies though. We managed daily walks with our to dogs along the old railway line nowpart of the Caledonian Way Route no 78 in both directions and the beach is excellent for walks.

Dog poo containers were kept empty to allow deposits for our poo bags Along the perimeters of the site along the old railway line.

The site is elderly and clearly very popular - it is in great need of updates in these competitive times and has seen better days BUT we had a good six days there. And know the Argyll area well.

We suspect in summer it is very, very busy and imagine were the site facilities ro be open, which they are currently not, that they may need enlarging if and when COVID ever leaves our lives.

We would return but would hope that necessary update improvements are made. The childrenís playground which we didnít need was of course, not having children was closed but the beach is always nearby. We had to park our car in a specific place On the other side of the caravan away from the awning and entrance - not helpful in the very very wet week we had since our dogs sleep in the car and we couldnít park it alongside the caravan opening or awning due site rules.

We understand though that rules have to be made and adhered to which we did. Wardens patrol and drive around the huge site in their cars all the time ensuring compliance and safety security 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ianmos 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful site

Great facilities and a very friendly staff

The area itself is lovely, oban is nice and Fort William is another nice place to visit 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GailRS 1 review from this member

 Very good clean site - well organised with covid restrictions.

Amazing views from the site. Lovely long beach to walk along.

Unfortunately our weather was mixed but we still had a lovely relaxing few days.

Can't wait to go back in the summer to enjoy the view and sunsets. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jsmurd 1 review from this member

 Terrific large site very well run.

Only minor moan, better signage on the road as entrance appears quickly cutting braking and signalling time.

On site no problems at all, friendly helpful staff and wardens. New loo cleaning machine is an eye opener. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wboese 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful stay at the camp Site.

We felt very welcome despite Covid-19-circumstances and restrictions.

Very friendly and supportive staff.

We will be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 Another of our favourite stop offs when touring the west coast.

Large site but well kept and friendly.

Facilities clean but dependent on where pitched can be a bit of trek.

Water and waste convenient and well spaced.

Super views over the loch, evening sunsets can be stunning.

A bit pricey but worth it for the views. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Timand 1 review from this member

 Lovely location with stunning views, site was very clean and well equipped. Staff were very helpful.

Bus stop right outside to go to town.

Would definitely recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Craigm 1 review from this member

 Very beautiful and well looked after site. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Only slight issue was we had driveaway awning and was very difficult to get hammer in or screw in pegs into the ground as on hard standing.

Staff were great when we told them of our problem and they found us another pitch where the ground was slightly looser and able to get pegs in. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mmad 15 reviews from this member

 We have used the site many times before but it got off to a bad start. My wife had booked an awning pitch but they had us down for not having one. They changed it at the office, so all good it seemed.

After spending 90 minutes getting the awning all set up a warden came round and told us to take it down. He seemed to think it was quite funny and was almost laughing. He informed us there were other pitches further back from the sea if we wanted to move but that the awning would have to come down. Not what you need after a long journey. The contrast to the wardens on a previous smaller site quite stark.

Rest of the holiday good (apart from rain nearly every day but it is the west coast of Scotland so can happen). Only other quibble would be that 4 of the showers in the female block are still out of use after 2 years. It is quite pricey but the location is great. 
via mobile


Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is North Ledaig Caravan Site ( C A M C Affiliated) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to North Ledaig Caravan Site ( C A M C Affiliated)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is North Ledaig Caravan Site ( C A M C Affiliated) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oban      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4406 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement