Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chestnut Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft > Chestnut Farm Touring Park Reviews

Chestnut Farm Touring Park
Gisleham
Lowestoft
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR33 8EE
Tel: 01502 740227
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krrymarie 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed my stay. Was peaceful and had a whole field to myself. As a lone camper I felt quite safe there.

Toilets and showers very basic but hey its called camping!

The only thing was the grass was too long.

There is a washing up room and washing up liquid was supplied so a bonus as forgot mine.

Will def go again.

The owner of the site wasn't too chatty on the phone but the site manager was very nice. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VBP123 1 review from this member

 Our family of 5 stayed for a long weekend last year and really enjoyed our break. The tent field was huge and very level and we were the only ones there! The field is surrounded by tall trees which are good for wind break and shade but there is still plenty of light and sun as the field is so big. Our children loved the freedom of being able to run in a large space without thinking about cars and it was great for kite flying as well.

The farmer was very kind and the children enjoyed seeing chickens etc on the farm. The farmhouse and barns are beautiful if you like historic buildings and there is a very pretty pond and some willow trees.

Facilities are very basic- toilets, showers and wash basins are available but all are very dated and in the caravan field. If you are looking for a peaceful country break with only the bare essentials, then I'm sure you will appreciate the tranquillity and simplicity of Chestnut Farm. The price was extremely reasonable and we would definitely return. We loved Chestnut Farm and would recommend it to campers who don't need frills or entertainment. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tallsmall 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights in August. We choose this site for its value for money and close proximity to Pleasurewood Hills Theme Park (15min drive).

The site is on an arable farm with the electric hook up pitches behind the large farm house and the tent field near the drive way on the way in.

The charm with this site is its simplicity, a simple yet clean and functional shower and toilet block (a bit dated). The site is kept clean and helping the farmer there is also a site warden. The majority of caravans look to be on season pitches and are going a bit green!

The nearest village would be about a 5-10min walk down the farm tracks but I'm not sure there is a lot there. A <10min drive there is a retail area with Morrisons, B&M, Homebase etc.

For the price I cannot fault this site which served us well for our two night stop. The farmer was very friendly and welcoming. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hamletrabbit 5 reviews from this member

 We booked a two night stay here to go to pleasurewood hills (about 20 mins away) and to have an end of holiday break. We tried to call a few times before finally getting through the day we were due to go. The staff were really friendly, and I'm sire it would have been fine just to turn up without booking but as we needed hook up we thought it best to check!

There are two fields, a tent field (pretty much empty for our stay) and a caravan field. There seemed to be quite a few vans who lived there, but not that many were occupied this week. As we take a 1972 and 1978 van with us when we go we often feel out of place amongst all the new shiny vans - but although there were new ones there, there were also some prime examples of older vans which we loved looking at!

We hooked up with no problems, our children really enjoyed the freedom to just play in an open space - they made their own games, really lovely to see.

The toilet block is basic, but spotless - didn't try the showers while we were there. It is a very peaceful site, old fashioned but in a really good way. We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve n Jo 2 reviews from this member

 Great site if you want peace & quiet. No good if your kids need entertaining. We were one of only 3 campers on a large field. Free showers with plenty of hot water. Washing up facilities with hot water from the shower room. Separate basic clean toilets with 3 in each but 2 unisex showers. Fridge freezer very useful though basic. All facilities are on the caravan field behind the house. Not a problem for us. Nearest pub & some shops In Kessingland about 15-20 mins walk. 2 more pubs & londis in Carlton Coalville 40 mins walk. Morrisons b&m homebase are 5 mins drive away. Had a great week on this well kept site. Perfect! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonbowers 1 review from this member

 Ok, so it ain't the Ritz! But you know what, this is what camping is all about. If you want a field in which to pitch a tent, with a toilet and a shower, then go to Chestnut Farm. If you want more, then pay more and go somewhere with less character!

Chestnut farm is quiet, secluded and informal. Just turn up and pitch up. I love the 'Honesty Box' in which you leave the fee for your stay when you're done.

The toilets flush and the showers are hot (at a cost of 50p per minute). The ground is muddy (bring your wellies) and the cows are smelly, but that's all part of the Suffolk charm.

A few minutes from Kessingland (Africa Alive is well worth a visit), Lowestoft and 20 minutes from Southwold. Morrisons, Homebase and Pizza Hut are a 5 minute drive away.

I camped with 4 others, and it cost us £8 each for two nights. There are no official pitch outlines, so just put up where you like.

We loved our stay, so thank you Chestnut Farm, and we'll see you again soon! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 Chestnut Farm is quite secluded. It felt like I had stumbled upon a secret hideaway with nothing to disturb the rustling of the trees and the birdsong. Site appeared to be utilised more for seasonal pitches / storage rather than touring.

Pitching area is a level field very approximately 100m x 100m and is well enclosed / sheltered by trees and hedgerow. Completely informal, just pitch up where you like.

The only real downside has to be the toilet / shower (10p operated needing 20p-40p) block. Whilst the interior has recently been given a coat of masonry paint, with respect, by any stretch of the imagination it is just not good enough. I have given an overall rating of 4/10 based on this alone, otherwise it is a very good small site.

The Bell Inn at Carlton Colville is a very good, real ale eats and drinks pub. (About 1½ miles: Turn Right out of the site, left at the T junction and follow the signs to Carlton Colville)

Get your basics in Carlton Colville or Kessingland, and everything else at Morrison’s Supermarket on the main A12 towards Lowestoft.

If you are a 21st century family who like the usual frills, then I don’t think this site is for you. But if you are an old hippy (like me) looking for peace and quiet; somewhere you can enjoy an authentic, old fashioned camping / caravanning experience; playing your favourite 60s music, just sitting watching flowers in the rain and seeing the grass grow, then you will surely enjoy your stay.

The MacLeods review of August 2006 below sums Chestnut Farm up well. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leafletter 27 reviews from this member

 We had two nights here as part of a cycle tour of Suffolk. It has unmarked pitches on a simple field with basic loos and coin operated showers.There is the provision of a freezer which was much appreciated for chilling the beers we obtained from the supermarket (I think it was Budgens) about a mile away. Apart from slight traffic noise from the A12, it is a very peaceful location. There is nearby access to a number of cycle routes for exploring Oulton Broad, Lowestoft, Beccles and Bungay. The remote and historic Locks Inn on the River Waveney is also worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MacLeods 8 reviews from this member

 I have travelled from the Midlands to go to this site for 3 years to use as a base to visit my relatives in Lowestoft. It's cheap & very basic, but showers are good, once you know how to use them. You can't book, so you just have to take pot luck & hook ups are limited. This site is for people who love the outdoors with no frills. The pitches are not marked, but everyone always parks sensibly. Not many Rules, no Shop, no entertainment, no frills, just farm views & fields & my daughter & I love it. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tigerlilly 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the Bank Holiday weekend and thought it was a lovely little site. Admittedly the facilities are not wonderful, but if you like the basic sites, as we do, then this is great ! Set on a farm, surrounded by fields and wildlife, the site is level and the pitches spacious. There are limited hook ups but we managed perfectly well without. Kessingland and other coastal resorts are just a few minutes drive away. The site was lovely and quiet and the owners are very relaxed about departure times etc. All in all a great little site for the adventurous camper which won't cost you the earth (we paid £10 per night for 5 of us, caravan, awning and 2 cars !) 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chestnut Farm Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Chestnut Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lowestoft      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2484 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement