Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Tewkesbury > Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Gander Lane
Tewkesbury
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL20 5PG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 138
Open: 08/06/2024 to 12/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 121 Reviews
                8/10 from 121 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lukeledge 39 reviews from this member

 Excellent site as always, pitches well kept, top class facilities, friendly staff and a short walk into town.

Easy to get to from the M6 and loads of pubs and places to eat in Tewkesbury.

CAMC so not cheap 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 115 reviews from this member

 Looking at the past reviews, it looks like it is mainly me who reviews this site and here I go again!

We always use the Tewkesbury Abbey site when we are doing a long journey up and down the M5/M6 as a single night stopover.

The site is so conveniently situated, just a mile or so off the M5, that it makes a great stopover.

It is also a short walk into Tewkesbury where there are lots of cafes, pubs and restaurants which is handy if you donít want to cook.

The facilities are very good. Everything is clean and tidy and the wardens are friendly and helpful.

The site doesnít have much soul, it is just a load of hardstanding and grass pitches without any charm.

We had just spent the previous week at a beautiful site which was like staying in a garden with hedges and flowering shrubs between pitches so the contrast with Tewkesbury is very stark but as a place for a stopover, you couldnít find better. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Springer47 8 reviews from this member

 A site that overlooks the abbey and is within walking distance of the town.

It is a fairly typical club site whereby strict rules state when you are allowed to arrive and where and how you can park on the allocated plot.

There is no on site shop for basic essentials and wifi was hit and miss.

The abbey was worth a visit but the town can be explored within a couple of hours or less. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stupot23 1 review from this member

 The site as usual was very nice with clean facilities

Some wardens need to more user friendly

The caravan club as a whole is totally letting its members down regarding the pricing structure now in place. I understand from talking to previous visited sites the Club is some 20% down on bookings. This I believe is due to the inflated pitch and guest fees levied by the club. Itís about time the club got back to basics and looked after is members ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Admiral 36 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on a lot of CAMC sites and this is the only one that we would NEVER go back to.

The prices are a total rip off at over £42 per night for a small pitch just with electricity.

The wardens are also in great need of some customer service training I have never come across such a miserable officious bunch as this lot I donít think I saw any of them smile the whole time we were there.

We have a dog (greyhound) and understand that they have to be walked off site but on 3 separate occasions we were reminded of that fact as we were walking the dog to the entrance. I really donít see how else we were supposed to get her there - carry her maybe.

The wardens also ride around the site on their bikes so you are left with the feeling that youíre being spied on so they can tell you off for any minor infringement of the rules.

As stated the pitches are small with no privacy whatsoever where we were they was a row of caravans about six feet behind us so those people were constantly staring in through our kitchen window which was most disconcerting.

The only positive about the site is itís location but there are far to many negatives for us so we wonít be going back and certainly donít recommend. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 82 reviews from this member

 First time here, and will certainly be back. We have previously used another site in Gloucester as our half way stop to the South West from our home in North Wales, but would probably stop here instead.

Many people seem to use it for one nighters, in fact we had three different neighbours each side during our 3 night stay.

Site is really well tended and cared for by wardens and facilities are modern and always clean. Lots of choice in terms of pitches but would recommend a pitch at the top of the site, furthest away from park and cricket ground as can be noisy at weekends.

Plenty of places to eat and drink (would suggest the Nottingham Arms or the Berkley Arms for the olde pub vibes) in Tewkesbury town, would need a week or two to try them all as there is so many.

Took a bike ride to Upton on Severn, as listed in the site info room, and found it to be a lovely small town with a few cafes ( we enjoyed No8), and we also took a walk to the Fleet Inn along the bank of the Avon, which is in a lovely setting, or you could get a ferry there from Tewkesbury Marina if you didn't fancy a walk. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 115 reviews from this member

 Another one night stopover on our way South this time.

Everything the same as usual. Good site, friendly wardens, clean and tidy.

We went to Choral Evensong at the Abbey and it was lovely to hear the choir. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 115 reviews from this member

 Another one night stopover at Tewkesbury Abbey CMC Site. No change from our reviews last year, still a perfect site for a stopover, so conveniently located for the motorway and close to town.

This year we found a lovely riverside walk to pass the evening.

The facilities are of a high standard and very clean and the pitches are perfectly acceptable although this year, we had just been at a really spacious site before stopping at Tewkesbury so the way the pitches are all crammed in at Tewkesbury was more obvious to us.

No problem with returning here time after time for a stopover on our way from north to south and back. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 115 reviews from this member

 Another great one night stay at Tewkesbury Abbey CMC site on our way home from our longer holiday down south. The potholes on the exit road mentioned in my previous review have now been repaired and the site is back to its usual high standard.

We had a fully serviced pitch this time which was nice as having the water on tap made the big end of holiday cleanup of the caravan all the easier.

We find this site so convenient for a stopover as itís only a mile or so from the M5.

The wardens are friendly and helpful, the site is spacious and you can walk into the town in about five minutes which is great for having a drink or easy dinner on the last night of a holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 115 reviews from this member

 We regularly use Tewkesbury Abbey as a stopover on our way home from the South of England due to its close proximity to the motorway network.

This time we just stayed for one night on a multisurface pitch which was ideal. The site is spacious, clean, and close to the centre of Tewkesbury where there are lots of Cafes and takeaways etc to get something to eat.

On this visit, there were some works happening on the site which made exiting with the caravan quite difficult due to the positioning of cones and huge potholes, but hopefully this will only be a temporary situation and will be quickly resolved.

Check-in was quick and easy, and the wardens friendly and helpful. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tewkesbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Great Caravan, Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/09 to 08/09

Held in Harrogate - a huge array of products on show. Industry leading manufacturers of holiday homes, caravans, motorhomes and tourers, with hundreds of different models on show. Win Two tickets and £500 to spend at the Show

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6382 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement