Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Tewkesbury > Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Gander Lane
Tewkesbury
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL20 5PG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 138
Open: 08/06/2021 to 12/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ms.trishy 10 reviews from this member

 What a great site. Many of the pitches seem to have been newly paved and we were offered a choice of grass or hard standing. Nice level pitches with plenty of water points nearby.

We didnít use the facilities but saw the staff around constantly cleaning the site and everything was spotless.

A good position right next to the abbey, five minute walk into town.

So many good walks around that we didnít have time for everything and have already booked for next year, a first for us.

Really enjoyed both Tewkesbury and the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shazis 1 review from this member

 Nice campsite great location. Good facilities. Paid £40 for one night as we werenít members. They suggested we join the Caravanning club to save £12 which we did but joined the wrong one so it cost £81 in total For one night. Which wasnít their fault I suppose.

No tv signal and the WiFI asked us to register which we did and they then wanted further payment which we decided not to pay. Tewkesbury is lovely 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Maxelisha 7 reviews from this member

 1st time we have stayed at TEWKESBURY ABBY campsite, 3 night stay at this lovely campsite,

The owners were very nice when we booked in,

The toilet block is the best I have ever been to on a campsite, they were outstanding, usually use the disabled room, but the main block was so big and every thing I needed, so very clean,

The grounds were well kept, and gardens were lovely,

Will be coming back soon,

Oh just 2 minutes walk into the town which has every thing you need, 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 70 reviews from this member

 Hadn't been here for several years (could never get a pitch at short notice) and it's changed a lot since last here, loads of hardstandings now and refurbished toilets/showers.


We were given a grass pitch, my booking said standard pitch, then after speaking to reception we found out the CAMC app is inaccurate as it doesn't give a choice of hardstandings, I wondered why we got a grass pitch.

The lovely warden I spoke to rang H. O in front of me and explained and was told it would be changed (I won't hold my breath, as it also says it accepts tents which apparently it hasn't done since the refurb last year). If you want hardstanding, then best ringing site direct.

It happened to be Mop Fair time in the town but there was little noise in the evening.

It rained a lot and we were concerned about churning up the pitch when leaving and were told 'if your wheels start spinning, just stop and tell us and we will come with mats to get you off' but as it happened we drove off easily despite ground being very wet and soft.

We like to leave van on site and walk into towns and Tewkesbury is ideal for this. Lots of old crooked buildings nestled among newer ones. Shops are not very inspiring though (loads of charity shops like most towns), there is a Morrisons about 15 minutes walk away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kbr1 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site, friendly staff. Well maintained with large pitches. EHU, water & drainage. 1st class chemical disposal.

Modern block with superb ablution facilities. Laundry price slightly high at £4. 50 per wash & the same for tumble dryer.

Lovely grounds & easy access for our 28ft MH.

Abbey 2 mins walk, town 5 mins. Highly recommend 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GillyAnna 1 review from this member

 Lovely new site with immaculate facilities and a friendly welcome.

Right by Abbey with view of floodlit tower at night. Town is interesting with lots of medieval buildings, museums, loads of pubs and cafes. Also a butcher with an interesting selection of BBQ food and a deli with lovely salads.

Riverside walks close by as well so plenty to do. Huge park next door for walking dog. Also Park Run next door on Saturdays.

Will definitely be visiting soon again as 2 days not long enough. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oxfordeagle 8 reviews from this member

 Top class site which appears to have been recently refurbished.

Excellent facilities with well manicured gardens and an easy walk to the town which has a wide selection of shops ans restaurants.

Nearest fuel at Morrisons - 5 mins away.

A well run site - nothing negative to say. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hevian54 4 reviews from this member

 Nice site within easy walk to tewksbury town. Good clean facilities with a new toilet block with hot showers. Well laid out.

Drive into site can be awkward if lots of traffic going in and out as quite narrow but manageable.

Nice area just outside to walk the dog 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 68 reviews from this member

 We regularly use the Tewkesbury Abbey site as it is particularly convenient for people travelling up and down the M5/M6. There are a lot of pitches on the site and they are very close together so the site does have a slightly cramped feel, however it is very well located and therefore we donít mind this.

The site is laid out in rows and to get to the toilet block you need to walk to the end of the row where your pitch is, walk down to the row which the toilet block is on, and then walk along to reach the toilet block.

This appeared to be too much walking for some people and many people were cutting across other peoples pitches to make the walk to the toilet block shorter. While we were there the wardens were busy putting up signs and some fencing to try to stop this from happening so it must be a regular occurrence.

The toilet block is very good and up to the usual high standard of the caravan and motorhome club.

The town of Tewkesbury is only a few minutes walk away and there are plenty of shops and pubs and cafťs. The abbey next door is also interesting for a look around and we will continue to use this site as a stopover as we head north and south. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jadsett 49 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site and the first since its refurbishment. The greeting we received was very warm, the new facilities are very good.

We had the misfortune to stay in one of the wettest June weeks ever and the nearby River broke its banks. Our pitch was on higher ground but we were woken in the early hours by staff moving units at risk of flooding. They worked tirelessly and their attitude and work was exemplary. The site unfortunately had to be closed.

Before that we managed to have two very pleasant days out. One in Tewkesbury which is within easy walking distance of the site. We had lunch at the nearby Bell Hotel, which proved to be good value, and then walked into town via the Riverside Walk.

The following day we used the regular bus service from the site gates to Cheltenham. Then it rained. 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tewkesbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5465 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement