Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of High Laning Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Sedbergh > High Laning Camping & Caravan Park > Reviews

High Laning Camping & Caravan Park
Dent
(lake District)
Sedbergh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA10 5QJ
Tel: 015396 25239
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 115 Reviews
                8/10 from 115 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Manzyboy 3 reviews from this member

 This is a no frills campsite.

It has clean shower and loo facilities which, for me is super important with young kids and wife.

The hot water is plentiful and showers (50p) are good.

The owner Margaret, has the most incredible 'Yorkshire' sense of humour and is always willing to assist where she can.

Had a great weekend. 


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Pops and Poppy 2 reviews from this member

 This is the 2nd time this month we've stayed

The campsite facilities were very clean

The breakfast was exceptional

The staff very helpful

Prices were reasonable

Heritage Centre very informative 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Pops and Poppy 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite facilities were very clean

The breakfast was exceptional

The staff very helpful

Prices were reasonable

Heritage Centre very informative 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Petem4 1 review from this member

 Nice open camping site on the edge of a pretty Dales village, decent clean facilities.

Our visit spoilt by a large noisy group of bikers partying past 2am on the first night; second night blissfully quiet.

Good location for walking, handy for South Lakes too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisajk 22 reviews from this member

 A mixed bag, this site. Fantastic location with great walks nearby, close to pub (unfortunately only one open in village due to Covid) and the cafe in the museum does a great breakfast bap.

Site is split over two areas either side of the road - southern area has hardstanding, northern area does not and got very wet while we were there, as the weather was pretty dreadful.

Couldn't get wifi to work and no phone signal, but neither a big issue for us. The lady who organises your pitch when you arrive, whose name I am ashamed to say I have forgotten, appears quite fierce and a bit scary, but in fact she was very nice, and actually really kind. Took the effort to learn my name and was helpful throughout even when we messed up her parking instructions (please listen carefully to what she asks you - the parking requirements are for a reason).

On the downside the facilities were a bit primitive, appeared completely unheated, and no hot water at all for dishwashing on the first morning. Showers worked ok but were coin operated - I don't object to that (rather that than push buttons) but finding coins was a struggle.

If you are in anything bigger than a VW type camper, don't come in from the east. We managed it but there was a very narrow bridge and a section of road on which we met a succession of vehicles and struggled to get two vehicles past, as there were no real passing places. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Campervanpair 7 reviews from this member

 Great area for walking. Views are stunning. Site is a short walk into village which has cobbled streets and two pubs.

We had an evening meal in The Sun and it was good pub food. Facilities were a bit dated but don't normally mind that so long as they are cleaned every day but as far as we could see they were never cleaned during our visit - this was a massive disappointment.

We also couldn't find anyone to complain to. Not good value at 27. 50 per night. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: GTalbot123 4 reviews from this member

 Pitches are flat, well maintained grass, easy to peg, and breathtaking views.

Checked in at the museum (which does an awesome mega breakfast sandwich), and chose my own pitch as staying Sunday to Tuesday.

The toilets were clean but I didn't use the showers as only stopping 2 nights and not trying to impress any ladies! :)

I mountain biked the area which is spectacular, through Deepdale to Ingleton, up to the Ribblehead viaduct and back again via Whernside.

I also watched England win the cricket world cup in the pub with 30 others which is a memory I will never forget.

I had no problems with a mobile signal and 4G in the site but it was sunny. As soon as I left Dent village I had no signal.

Dent is normally wet but I returned home with sunburn! :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stopped at this site for 1 night when walking the Dales Way with my dog.

It's a slight detour in to the village, but one that is worth it to see the quaintness of the village and cobbled street. There are two pubs to chose from, I went with the Sun Inn, which had good ale and reasonable food. I couldn't get a phone signal in the village but the pub had free wifi. The campsite had wifi, but it was at extra charge (and the only campsite on the walk that didn't provide free wifi).

Check in at the site was disjointed, I walked up to the reception only to be told they were eating their tea so to go down to the shop/museum. I went down to the shop to be asked to check in in the morning as they were shutting up, I said I was leaving at 8am and would they be open; to be questioned with why was I leaving so early and couldn't I go at 9am when they would be open!

Begrudgingly she then checked me in as she realised they wouldn't get paid otherwise! The facilities were dated and the shower room was cramped and also another 50p per shower. The site had a large group of bikers that were very noisy until about 1am-ish.

It's a shame as the location is good, but the site seems to be lacking customer service and supervision over night. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Davsato 3 reviews from this member

 A relaxed site with great views. Its a lovely area to explore, the roads nearby across the dales are fantastic. Dent itself is a nice quiet village with a couple of pubs and some cafes.

Campsite facilities are good showers are plentiful and work well, showers and toilets were clean. The campsite has good amenities, a well stocked shop, and allows off the ground BBQs (and sells disposables, fuel and ingredients).

If you don't fancy any cooking the village itself has pubs, cafes and restaurants within a 5min walk, and breakfast baps can be pre-ordered from the campsite.

No problems, we would have no second thoughts about staying again in fact we are planning to next year 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

 I used this site as I was running a trail race in Sedbergh and Dent is only 5 miles away. Turned out to be a really good choice.

Some comment that the site is expensive but I was on my own and was only charged a per person rate which many sites will not do.

There was plenty of space to set up my tent and the facilities are very good although you do have to pay extra for the showers which is a pain if you don't have the right coins.

The owners are really friendly and helpful and clearly take a pride in their site - there are even wheelbarrows to use for BBQ's!

I will certainly stay here again. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is High Laning Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to High Laning Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is High Laning Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sedbergh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


21893 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement