Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sunny Lyn Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Lynton > Sunny Lyn Holiday Park Reviews

Sunny Lyn Holiday Park
Lynbridge Road
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6NS
Tel: 01598 753384
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 24/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boris01 6 reviews from this member

 Dramatic scenery, beautiful villages of Lynton and Lynmouth. Staff very informative and helpful. Lots of walks ( mostly uphill ).

It was difficult being in a motorhome, as site entrance was very steep and exiting onto a narrow road, so it put us off venturing out and exploring in our motorhome, also very narrow and very steep roads.

However if you have other means of smaller transport then it wouldn't present a problem. Pitches were quite cramped, but it did encourage you to make friends with the other campers which was a good thing.

Overall experience was positive and would return if we had a small car or something similar to explore in. Nice and clean site. Can walk to shops and pubs from site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 9007wils 3 reviews from this member

 A superb location just outside Lynton. The entry to the site is a bit tricky as you are guided down a 25% slope to turn around before you come back up the hill to enter the site.

The grounds are well maintained and the pitches are great. The only thing to let this site down are the toilet /shower block.

The showers are very small. Only 2 in the mens and ladies block. The block is very dated and it was a struggle to get warm water out of the taps.

The hand dryers blew only cold air. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marclewis 25 reviews from this member

 Just spent 4 nights at one of my favourite campsites. This is 3rd owner since I have been going and Rob was very friendly and helpful.

Toilet block is still the same and a bit dated, but it's fictional. Had a walk from here to Watersmeet and then down to Lynmouth, up to Lynton and back to site. Also walked to Valley of Rocks.

The Thai restaurant by the pub is superb too.

We will be back again for sure. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carol Jean 38 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. About a 30 minute walk into Lynton uphill or downhill if you are going into Lynmouth. We were a bit worried about the 'hairpin entrance to the site ' but there was no need for us to be. Our caravan is a 4 berth and is 21 foot long including the towbar.

We didn't have a problem getting in or out but if your caravan is bigger then maybe it would be difficult. We were told to drive into Lynton then do a 360 degrees in the car park there and come back but the lane into Lynton is quite narrow so I wouldn't fancy doing that actually.

We did a 5. 5 mile walk from Lynton to Watersmeet House (nice café and shop) then up to Countisbury (nice lunch at The Blue Boar) then walked back along the cliffs to Lynmouth.

Lovely but challenging walk as a lot of uphill climbs. We drove through Tiverton to avoid Porlock Hill by the way. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bigsmudge 7 reviews from this member

 Small site but pre-booked and was allocated a nice pitch. The showers were a bit small and right by the door as was the hairdryer but clean with plenty of sinks.

Steep walk to Lynton to eat but close and a good choice. No telephone signal here, Wifi was reasonable and good £7. 50 for 2 devices for 2 days and was good enough to watch TV.

Lovely area to visit and would do so again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kaloma 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed for three nights on a motorhome pitch with my two dogs. The lady was very welcoming and helpful. My first encounter with the gentleman owner was the following morning. I was trying to work out which way to exit the campsite, on foot with my dogs, reading a map they had given me. Both dogs needed a poop and this was done on the tarmac road of the campsite and I had a poo bag ready to pick up immediately.

The T&Cs say, 'no dog should be allowed to foul or urinate anywhere on the park but should your dog have an accident please clean up'. This is what I did. Anyone with a dog knows you cannot tell them to 'hang on' for a couple of minutes! However, the gentleman owner came over and basically told me off. He said he could not allow them to defecate on the site (even though I immediately picked up) and he pointed out the quickest way for me to get off the site with them. I felt this was totally uncalled for. From then on I didn't feel at ease with them and was worried that if they had another 'accident' we would be asked to leave.

The rest of my stay was uneventful even though I felt I was being watched. Of a morning I would walk my dogs as quickly as possible to the 'dog exercising area' (not part of the campsite) worried they would again need to 'go' before we got there.

The toilet and showers were clean but but showers are very snug and there is little space to get dry and dressed.

Because this site is 'dog tolerant' and not 'dog friendly' I would not recommend to dog owners.

Also, my last 24 hours I had no electric.

Lynton & Lynmouth themselves were as stunning as ever and very dog friendly and the Thai restaurant next door to the campsite was amazing! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ceramicmen 2 reviews from this member

 Super small site by the West Lyn river. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast also served in cafe.

Toilet and shower block bit dated but clean. The area of the site is superb as is most of North Devon.

Will be returning to area and site. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John Austin 2 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting Sunny Lyn for many years, we have had two visits this year and our tent got damaged on the last visit,

We had to take it down in the rain and we were soaked to the skin,

The owner and asked if we were ok and offered us one of the static caravans for the night.

This is a great site in beautiful surroundings, with amazing staff. Thankyou 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorci 9 reviews from this member

 I stayed here 08-11 June 2017 to attend the Lyn Valley Classic car event and meet up with some friends in the area. The campsite is fairly small, in a quiet picturesque area behind the Old Cottage Inn car park, (access via a style or gate) on the bank of the fast flowing River Lyn above the Lyn Bridge.

There is no parking on the grass, parking is along the roadside adjacent to the pitching area. It would be better if more tent pitches had hook up, such as those adjacent to the roadside parking area. The new owners are very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them, (they made phone calls and checked on the internet for me to find out where the Lyn Valley Classic was actually being held).

The site is very well kept and managed, the facilities are very clean. The hair dryer in the gent's operates on 20p's. The shower cubicles were a bit cosy, but just about managed to get changed without any problems. Plenty of piping hot water. I didn't use the cafe or laundrette so can't comment. The river is fast moving which meant no mosquitoes or biting midgies.

The sound of the river was quite therapeutic. The Old Cottage Inn, serves Thai food, highly recommended, apparently the landlady is a Michelin star chef, which accounts for the high standard. There are some good real ales, I can recommend the Doone, a dark bitter - very nice.

Lynton is a short 5 minute walk along Lynway which is directly opposite the pub, a short fairly steep climb which levels out, along an enchanting pathway, then a short equally steep descent into Lynton, and Lynmouth another 5-10 minute walk, with plenty to see and do in both villages.

I can also recommend the Vanilla Pod in Lynmouth as a place to eat. There is often live music from local groups in a few of the pubs, perfect place to stay for easy access to Lynton and Lynmouth, and there as some good walks in the area. I had a thoroughly enjoyable and peaceful stay, and highly recommend this site, good for families, couples or solo travellers. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 190 reviews from this member

 A very picturesque site near a fast moving river in a valley on the outskirts of Lynton. Plenty of bird life about, saw Bullfinch, Grey Wagtail and many Siskins. Heard Tawny Owl by night and day!

On arrival we learnt that the site had just been taken over by new owners, hopefully they might improve the toilet block which although clean and functional was a little outdated.

Very friendly reception, was shown the route into Lynton and a walk through the valley of the rocks which ended up returning via the cliff railway.

Surprised nobody recently has mentioned the Cottage Inn next door which has its own micro-brewery Fat Belly ales and does some nice Thai-curry meals from 6pm-think the pub closes on Mon. Paid a very reasonable £17. 50/night on hardstanding pitch and ehu. 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sunny Lyn Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sunny Lyn Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sunny Lyn Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4159 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement