Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sunny Lyn Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Lynton > Sunny Lyn Holiday Park Reviews

Sunny Lyn Holiday Park
Lynbridge Road
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6NS
Tel: 01598 753384
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 29/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 9007wils 2 reviews from this member

 A superb location just outside Lynton. The entry to the site is a bit tricky as you are guided down a 25% slope to turn around before you come back up the hill to enter the site.

The grounds are well maintained and the pitches are great. The only thing to let this site down are the toilet /shower block.

The showers are very small. Only 2 in the mens and ladies block. The block is very dated and it was a struggle to get warm water out of the taps.

The hand dryers blew only cold air. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marclewis 23 reviews from this member

 Just spent 4 nights at one of my favourite campsites. This is 3rd owner since I have been going and Rob was very friendly and helpful.

Toilet block is still the same and a bit dated, but it's fictional. Had a walk from here to Watersmeet and then down to Lynmouth, up to Lynton and back to site. Also walked to Valley of Rocks.

The Thai restaurant by the pub is superb too.

We will be back again for sure. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carol Jean 35 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. About a 30 minute walk into Lynton uphill or downhill if you are going into Lynmouth. We were a bit worried about the 'hairpin entrance to the site ' but there was no need for us to be. Our caravan is a 4 berth and is 21 foot long including the towbar.

We didn't have a problem getting in or out but if your caravan is bigger then maybe it would be difficult. We were told to drive into Lynton then do a 360 degrees in the car park there and come back but the lane into Lynton is quite narrow so I wouldn't fancy doing that actually.

We did a 5. 5 mile walk from Lynton to Watersmeet House (nice cafť and shop) then up to Countisbury (nice lunch at The Blue Boar) then walked back along the cliffs to Lynmouth.

Lovely but challenging walk as a lot of uphill climbs. We drove through Tiverton to avoid Porlock Hill by the way. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bigsmudge 7 reviews from this member

 Small site but pre-booked and was allocated a nice pitch. The showers were a bit small and right by the door as was the hairdryer but clean with plenty of sinks.

Steep walk to Lynton to eat but close and a good choice. No telephone signal here, Wifi was reasonable and good £7. 50 for 2 devices for 2 days and was good enough to watch TV.

Lovely area to visit and would do so again. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kaloma 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed for three nights on a motorhome pitch with my two dogs. The lady was very welcoming and helpful. My first encounter with the gentleman owner was the following morning. I was trying to work out which way to exit the campsite, on foot with my dogs, reading a map they had given me. Both dogs needed a poop and this was done on the tarmac road of the campsite and I had a poo bag ready to pick up immediately.

The T&Cs say, 'no dog should be allowed to foul or urinate anywhere on the park but should your dog have an accident please clean up'. This is what I did. Anyone with a dog knows you cannot tell them to 'hang on' for a couple of minutes! However, the gentleman owner came over and basically told me off. He said he could not allow them to defecate on the site (even though I immediately picked up) and he pointed out the quickest way for me to get off the site with them. I felt this was totally uncalled for. From then on I didn't feel at ease with them and was worried that if they had another 'accident' we would be asked to leave.

The rest of my stay was uneventful even though I felt I was being watched. Of a morning I would walk my dogs as quickly as possible to the 'dog exercising area' (not part of the campsite) worried they would again need to 'go' before we got there.

The toilet and showers were clean but but showers are very snug and there is little space to get dry and dressed.

Because this site is 'dog tolerant' and not 'dog friendly' I would not recommend to dog owners.

Also, my last 24 hours I had no electric.

Lynton & Lynmouth themselves were as stunning as ever and very dog friendly and the Thai restaurant next door to the campsite was amazing! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ceramicmen 2 reviews from this member

 Super small site by the West Lyn river. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast also served in cafe.

Toilet and shower block bit dated but clean. The area of the site is superb as is most of North Devon.

Will be returning to area and site. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John Austin 2 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting Sunny Lyn for many years, we have had two visits this year and our tent got damaged on the last visit,

We had to take it down in the rain and we were soaked to the skin,

The owner and asked if we were ok and offered us one of the static caravans for the night.

This is a great site in beautiful surroundings, with amazing staff. Thankyou 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorci 9 reviews from this member

 I stayed here 08-11 June 2017 to attend the Lyn Valley Classic car event and meet up with some friends in the area. The campsite is fairly small, in a quiet picturesque area behind the Old Cottage Inn car park, (access via a style or gate) on the bank of the fast flowing River Lyn above the Lyn Bridge.

There is no parking on the grass, parking is along the roadside adjacent to the pitching area. It would be better if more tent pitches had hook up, such as those adjacent to the roadside parking area. The new owners are very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them, (they made phone calls and checked on the internet for me to find out where the Lyn Valley Classic was actually being held).

The site is very well kept and managed, the facilities are very clean. The hair dryer in the gent's operates on 20p's. The shower cubicles were a bit cosy, but just about managed to get changed without any problems. Plenty of piping hot water. I didn't use the cafe or laundrette so can't comment. The river is fast moving which meant no mosquitoes or biting midgies.

The sound of the river was quite therapeutic. The Old Cottage Inn, serves Thai food, highly recommended, apparently the landlady is a Michelin star chef, which accounts for the high standard. There are some good real ales, I can recommend the Doone, a dark bitter - very nice.

Lynton is a short 5 minute walk along Lynway which is directly opposite the pub, a short fairly steep climb which levels out, along an enchanting pathway, then a short equally steep descent into Lynton, and Lynmouth another 5-10 minute walk, with plenty to see and do in both villages.

I can also recommend the Vanilla Pod in Lynmouth as a place to eat. There is often live music from local groups in a few of the pubs, perfect place to stay for easy access to Lynton and Lynmouth, and there as some good walks in the area. I had a thoroughly enjoyable and peaceful stay, and highly recommend this site, good for families, couples or solo travellers. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 186 reviews from this member

 A very picturesque site near a fast moving river in a valley on the outskirts of Lynton. Plenty of bird life about, saw Bullfinch, Grey Wagtail and many Siskins. Heard Tawny Owl by night and day!

On arrival we learnt that the site had just been taken over by new owners, hopefully they might improve the toilet block which although clean and functional was a little outdated.

Very friendly reception, was shown the route into Lynton and a walk through the valley of the rocks which ended up returning via the cliff railway.

Surprised nobody recently has mentioned the Cottage Inn next door which has its own micro-brewery Fat Belly ales and does some nice Thai-curry meals from 6pm-think the pub closes on Mon. Paid a very reasonable £17. 50/night on hardstanding pitch and ehu. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 44 reviews from this member

 I developed quite an affection for Sunny Lyn over the two weeks we stayed running up to Easter. The staff are friendly and take a genuine interest in how youíre getting on. Itís in a very beautiful area and the West Lyn river which runs through the site is lovely: just dangerous enough to entertain the children but shallow enough to cross in wellingtons if it hasnít been raining. The valley is very steep sided but we got sun morning and afternoon. Recycling is comprehensive. Itís a half mile walk into Lynton but much of that is very steep, so itís not a casual stroll to the shops by any means.

There are rules displayed on every available surface - even the trees and dustbin lids, and the hand dryers admonish you not to use them to dry anything other than hands. The mind boggles.

The ground is very soft - hence the no cars on the grass rule. A burgeoning colony of moles was drawn to our groundsheet after a few days. It became a morning chore to tread down the newly formed hillocks in the tent floor and late evenings were like a scene from Tremors, thankfully without the getting-pulled-underground-and-eaten-alive bits.

Showers are a trial. The left hand one in the gents is good and powerful, but theyíre tiny. All the ablutions look as though they were put in by granny, and feature annoying press taps with no or variable delay. They are well maintained however, nicely heated and with good hot water.

Laundry is dear and the washing machines are not brilliant. Use the spin dryer (20p) before the rather excellent tumble dryer (50p per 15 mins).

Washing up sinks are under cover and functional, but again the Push Taps Of Doom. Free fairy liquid and a scotchbrite are a boon to backpackers, who do much of the tent camping here.

Itís very popular with motorhomers; there were some excellent smaller tents in evidence too: a lovely lovely Quasar ETC, a Force 10, and an MSR Hubba amongst the Halfords and GO stuff. We felt a bit over the top in our 8m polycotton beastie. A long row of down-at-heel statics lines one side of the park and there are Ďlodgesí and flats up at the hilly end beyond reception. The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed.

EHU is not dependable. Itís 10A on the tent pitches with 16A for some of the motorhomes, but all shared off a couple of 40A circuits so when it starts to get chilly and everyoneís heating cuts in, everything is plunged into darkness. The breakers are in a locked cupboard. The staff are usually pretty quick to sort it out but I was glad I opted for the gas hob this trip.

The cafe is useful for breakfast, but itís not open all year round.

To sum up, itís a serviceable site in a beautiful area. Very much family run, itís certainly not slick but it is charming once youíve grasped its idiosyncrasies. For instance, all those rules notices are there because the HSE came and put the frighteners on them a number of years ago. We treated them as aspirational rather than hard and fast. Sadly itís going to be under new management very soon, but it does need some investment and maybe the new owners will have the capital. 


Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sunny Lyn Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sunny Lyn Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sunny Lyn Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3202 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement