Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hayfield Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > High Peak > Hayfield Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Hayfield Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Kinder Road
Hayfield
High Peak
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK22 2LE
Tel: 01663 745394
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Campervanpair 7 reviews from this member

 Great area for walking, though most walks are quite steep. Excellent welcome by Jane and her team even though it was pouring with rain.

Flat pitches on hardstanding. Facilities a bit dated but kept in spotless condition.

Staff very friendly at all times and willing to help out with anything. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Adewicks 4 reviews from this member

 Hayfield is a little gem of a site.

We arrived to a warm welcome and were quickly checked in and showed to our pitch.

The site was surprisingly quite for August, we arrived on a Friday and by Sunday there was only a few tents left.

Showers and toilets excellent and spotless.

Being able to charge our phones and chargers was useful and the freezer for ice blocks meant we could keep food and more importantly the wine chilled.

Having a BBQ area which was under cover was put to good use.

The village of Hayfield is about a 15 minute walk along the river where youíll find some nice pubs, a couple of convenience stores a butchers a Post Office and a few tea rooms.

The Sportsman pub is on the road just outside the site.

We did the trespass walk around Kinder Scout from the site where we were treated to some stunning views.

The walk is about 10 miles and is a great day out. We also had a trips to the Blue John cavern, Mam Tor, Edale and Buxton.

We didnít have any children with us but the children we saw seemed to be having fun playing games on the grass, thereís also dedicated play area.

Only minor criticism, the shop could perhaps carry a bit more stock.

Highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Bessie28 6 reviews from this member

 Our third visit to this site and we will return. The site is perfect for walking from, with walks in all directions and Hayfield a short walk away. The wardens are friendly and helpful and the facilities are good and well maintained.

We love the informality of the site, the beauty of the surroundings and the peace.

There is also an Italian restaurant in Hayfield (Colosseo) which is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 55 reviews from this member

 Just had a fabulous night at Hayfield Club Site. Great level site, excellent toilets/showers.

Really clean and well maintained site. Friendly vibe and most people there for the walks. 10 min walk into village of Hayfield that has a pub, fish n chips, cafe, village store/post office.

Did the Kinder Scout circular starting from site and via the reservoir going clockwise. Quite a challenging walk but fab views. Took us 5+ hours. Lots of other walks direct from the site You can check in from 1pm which is quick and simple with as much information as you need.

Only slight negative is being on the busy Manchester flightpath. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campervanpair 7 reviews from this member

 This was the third time we've visited this site. The wardens are helpful and friendly. Plenty of walks from the site, including Kinder.

Facilities good, heated and well maintained. Site flat which makes pitching easy.

Pub just over the road does good meals and is open in an afternoon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Damaca 49 reviews from this member

 This is a beautifully positioned site, not too large, standing on flat ground alongside the wooded valley of the River Sett. The site is divided into two sections, one for motorhomes and one for tents.

No caravans since the access road is quite narrow, although providing little difficulty for driving with a motorhome. The motorhome area has plenty of hard standing pitches as well as grass pitches and the electricity supply seems to be good.

The toilet and shower block is clean and spacious, with plenty of hot water. There's a laundry room and a large open but well covered and sheltered washing-up area. A small shop in reception sells basics, including an excellent booklet of walks. We didn't look at the backpackers' hut and drying room, but were happy it was there if we needed it.

The site is very well maintained, tidy and clean. Our only minor complaint would be that there are too few lights around the motorhome area for walking from pitch to toilet block after dark.

The site is right next to the Bowden Bridge car park, from which the original 'mass trespass' onto Kinder Scout set out, (when it was a quarry) in 1932, and started the mountain access we take for granted these days. This makes a great walk from the site, and there are several other good walks which start from here too.

The stroll along the river path into Hayfield village takes only 10 - 15 minutes, and the flat walk along the Sett can be enjoyably continued to the next village of New Mills.

The Sportsman pub is only a short walk from the site too 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nomadstanley 9 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Just one mile from the town centre, with a pub nearby that received a good review from fellow campers I spoke to.

Lots of space to pitch my tent and a backpackers shelter with drying room was available.

Staff were very friendly and the bathroom facilities were excellent. One man on foot with his tent cost £5. 45 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ampthilldon 1 review from this member

 Excellent site in a great location. Really enjoyed our stay at the site and made very welcome.

Everything is clean and tidy and the local pub which is only about 400 yards away serves great food. There's an excellent toilet and shower block as well as a backpackers room.

Added to the nice reception area with all of the basics on sale you really cant go wrong staying here. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happiecamp 3 reviews from this member

 Another fab trip to hayfield.

Staff cant do enough and we had a really nice time, facilities have been kept well over the years and remain spotless. Booked to go back next week as nice and local to us

Nothing bad to report 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fonsi 3 reviews from this member

 We love this site and normally visit at least twice a year with our 8 and 4 year grandchildren, plus the dog! We try to arrange the visits to coincide with the May Queen parade in the spring and the country fair in the new autumn.

It's an easy 15 minute walk along the beautiful river valley into the village, the grandkids love it as there's a wonderful children's play area on route, so a 15 minute walk normally takes an hour and a half.

There are numerous walks from the site up to Kinder Scout, one day we'll get the little ones all the way up, but a 6 hour round walk is still beyond 4 year old legs!

We have always found the wardens most pleasant and helpful, while the facilities may not be the most modern, it has very thing you might need and is always clean. A real jem of a location. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hayfield Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hayfield Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hayfield Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near High Peak      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6942 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement