Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnsoul Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Barnsoul Caravan Park Reviews

Barnsoul Caravan Park
Irongray
Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG2 9SQ
Tel: 01557 814351
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jonathan dodds 4 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful place to camp, so quiet and tranquil.

Everything you need on site and kept very clean even in these tough times.

The wardens are very nice and always try to help if you need it.

Set away in the woods over looking 100acres of farmland.

Our kids absolutely loved it, so much so we have just booked another visit 😁 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Teggyweg 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site. Lovely setting and the most friendly helpful warden in Mike.

Lovely and quiet and great walks for the dogs.

Was only intending to saty fro one night, but we stayed another as it was so peaceful. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ginty1 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite in the country. Approx 20 minutes drive to Dumfries town centre. Warm welcome from a very friendly and helpful warden.

Spotless facilities everywhere. We had a great couple of nights here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends or return here if back in the area.

Great price also with no extra charges for awning etc. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LBBK 44 reviews from this member

 This is a remote, rural site consisting of statics, lodges, wooden pods and touring fields for caravans & tents. It is spread over a large area with central toilets/showers/campers kitchen & a covered BBQ space. Everything was well maintained & clean. There was a good play area for smaller children. Staff were friendly & helpful. It was nice to see a bare minimum of the 'Do not' notices that spoil so many sites.

We had booked one of the cheaper wooden pods but even that was really 'glamping'. By our standards anyway! Picnic table & firepit also included.

The only fault I would mention is that the grass was probably left growing too long for a campsite, therefore I wonder if midges would be a problem later in the year? Certainly the early morning dew in the long grass soaked my crocs on the walk to the facilities.

Places to visit: 1. Walk the half mile or so up to the adjoining hill fort for cracking views across the valleys. 2. Threave Castle for a very atmospheric ruin & more recent formal gardens. (National Trust for Scotland & Historic Scotland sites) 3. The Devil's Porridge museum - small but well appointed exhibition explaining the large WW1 munitions factory near Gretna.

Sadly the nearby Glenkiln sculptures have been removed on police advice. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Raysmiffy 14 reviews from this member

 A nice quiet site which feels a bit 'out of the way'. You have to get to it using a narrow passing place road for around three miles from the main road.

Very good toilet block with microwaves, fridges and barbecue huts. I could imagine that this site is very good for tent owners with families.

Also the pods are some of the biggest and best I have seen.

The only thing that had me asking questions, is why they need every last personal detail, such as email, phone number and home address. I have been to hundreds of sites and this is the first that has done this.

Very good value and a relaxed atmosphere. Much recommended! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirsty_Atkin 13 reviews from this member

 What an amazing campsite you do get the feeling you are remote even the drive up to it is very long - well it seemed it after a day of cycle touring! The washing lines and campers kitchen are a wonderful facility at this site which we used.

We were in the tent field which is at the far end of the site - the only thing that kept us awake was the noisy owl (how bad can that be?). In the dark, the skies are beautiful as there appears to be no light pollution at all.

Shower block is beautifully clean and the whole site is very well kept. The friendly warden seemed to be on the go 24 hours, always around, checking facilities, picking up litter etc.

We will definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Lorr1uk 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first time staying in the wooden wigwams, such a good idea for those who don't fancy sleeping in a tent, they also have heating and lighting as well as raised large benches with mattresses, there are around 12 wigwams at this particular site.

You also get a kettle and toaster provided. Outside you have a designated area for a barbecue should you wish to take one with you also if you want to have a log fire they are about 5ft from your wigwam.

Also there is a space to park your car.

There is a clean shower block and separate area for toilets.

The cooking facilities are microwaves and also hobs, if I remember correctly I think they were electric.

Also on this site there is space for tents, touring caravans and there were also some statics.

They also are quite strict about load music.

Warden on site.

This site was only around 3 miles off the A75 and it is only 10 miles from Dumfries where there are lots of shops.

There is no on site shop. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Home 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Barnsoul in 2010. We had 5 Nights in a Wigwam which we found to be very nice, much better than we thought they would be, plesently pleased. The boys took there fishing gear and they fished on the Pond, weather was, nt the best but having the wigwam to go in made it much better, we also took the tent which we used on the sixth night. It was a bank holiday w, end, on the seventh night and some roudy Families arrived which was fine but it was our queue to go. But the overall experience and facilities for a campsite were very good. We have stayed at a few in Dumfries and this is a very good one. We are going back this month July for four nights Archie is still there but not running the site and it has gone up slightly but that is to be expected I suppose. Overall experience was good, and would definitely reccomend, looking forward to going back just hope weather is good to us? Mabie is good for the kids we also visited a local beach which was lovely, Red kite site was good and Cream of Galway think it was and is great for the dog. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PetertheCamper 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful tranquil location. Under new management this year who insist on 2 forms to be filled in and prices have risen (the previous owner who still owns the farm has retired). I've visited many times with children and have had no problems. Facilities are fine if a little dated now. Woodland walk on the site plus lots of birds/wildlife. Galloway Arms in Crocketford serve good food and is worth a visit. Great for visiting Galloway coast. Cycling-ideal as lots of 'leafy lanes', plus the 7 Stanes mountain bike centres are within reach. We visited Mabie, Dalbeattie and Kirroughtree mountain bike centres on this visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BivvyBoy 29 reviews from this member

 A great site!

It's well signposted from the A75; don't stop at Barnsoul farmhouse but keep going as the site warden lives in a static caravan on the site itself.

We camped and out mates took a 4 berth wigwam. The wigwams are a great idea - basically all you need is a sleeping bag plus your food, pans cups etc.

The camping area is fine - hookups are available with running water. The site slopes in places so larger tents might have to look for a suitable flat spot.

The surroundings are beautiful and there are plenty of little walks straight from the site. Rabbits everywhere and oysterctachers too!

The facilities are very good - the showers are in a new block and are really hot! The cubicles are big enough to get changed in and sit down. The kitchen block has 4 microwaves and two hobs, 2 fridges and a freezer, so you could manage without bringing a camping stove.

All in all - we'll definitely go again and see how it is when it's a little busier but I can't see it being too crowded.

The wigwams are a good idea as has been said for noncampers but also I reckon they'd be good for extending your outdoor season as they're cosy and heated. Avoid the fun of packing away a wet tent! 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnsoul Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barnsoul Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Barnsoul Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dumfries      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2287 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December