Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnsoul Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Barnsoul Caravan Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Barnsoul Caravan Park
Irongray
Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that the touring site at this location has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jonathan dodds 4 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful place to camp, so quiet and tranquil.

Everything you need on site and kept very clean even in these tough times.

The wardens are very nice and always try to help if you need it.

Set away in the woods over looking 100acres of farmland.

Our kids absolutely loved it, so much so we have just booked another visit 😁 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tulipcat 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed here during the break in lockdown.

An excellent place with a variety of accommodations, loads of footpaths and walks to explore. We had a woodland picnic and saw loads of beautiful butterflies hatching on the one day of nice weather we had.

Shop and warden on site, great kitchen and laundry facilities which I did use for the first time in 20 years of camping due to the horrendous weather.

Loads to do in the area, unfortunately covid rules spoiled things a bit and restrictions put us off any paid for attractions as it wasnít value for money. Play area for kids on site and the camp site was a tonic for the madness of the pandemic.

Unfortunately the rain was relentless torrential all week, and wasnít getting any better, our awning was flooded, and me being early pregnancy with second child and feeing sick we decided to head off 2 days early.

The only thing I wasnít happy with was our pitch wasnít very good, the ground was churned up due to the rain, and the grass dropped down from the hard standing sharply, so our awning didnít fit and the van was on a slant.

Our pitch was second in on entrance and we would have been able to position better if there wasnít a tent being pitched directly in front of our path.

I felt with the weather and ground being affected they could have offered to help us a bit or offered a different pitch, or asked those tenters to pitch elsewhere as the field was empty.

Could see other pitches that looked better further down the field, we booked far in advance and got a rubbish pitch. The people next to us came and set up massive awning and left quickly, I suspected due to weather.

Would consider going there again though and pray for better weather and ask to book a different pitch! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Teggyweg 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site. Lovely setting and the most friendly helpful warden in Mike.

Lovely and quiet and great walks for the dogs.

Was only intending to saty fro one night, but we stayed another as it was so peaceful. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ginty1 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite in the country. Approx 20 minutes drive to Dumfries town centre. Warm welcome from a very friendly and helpful warden.

Spotless facilities everywhere. We had a great couple of nights here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends or return here if back in the area.

Great price also with no extra charges for awning etc. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LBBK 56 reviews from this member

 This is a remote, rural site consisting of statics, lodges, wooden pods and touring fields for caravans & tents. It is spread over a large area with central toilets/showers/campers kitchen & a covered BBQ space. Everything was well maintained & clean. There was a good play area for smaller children. Staff were friendly & helpful. It was nice to see a bare minimum of the 'Do not' notices that spoil so many sites.

We had booked one of the cheaper wooden pods but even that was really 'glamping'. By our standards anyway! Picnic table & firepit also included.

The only fault I would mention is that the grass was probably left growing too long for a campsite, therefore I wonder if midges would be a problem later in the year? Certainly the early morning dew in the long grass soaked my crocs on the walk to the facilities.

Places to visit: 1. Walk the half mile or so up to the adjoining hill fort for cracking views across the valleys. 2. Threave Castle for a very atmospheric ruin & more recent formal gardens. (National Trust for Scotland & Historic Scotland sites) 3. The Devil's Porridge museum - small but well appointed exhibition explaining the large WW1 munitions factory near Gretna.

Sadly the nearby Glenkiln sculptures have been removed on police advice. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Raysmiffy 15 reviews from this member

 A nice quiet site which feels a bit 'out of the way'. You have to get to it using a narrow passing place road for around three miles from the main road.

Very good toilet block with microwaves, fridges and barbecue huts. I could imagine that this site is very good for tent owners with families.

Also the pods are some of the biggest and best I have seen.

The only thing that had me asking questions, is why they need every last personal detail, such as email, phone number and home address. I have been to hundreds of sites and this is the first that has done this.

Very good value and a relaxed atmosphere. Much recommended! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirsty_Atkin 13 reviews from this member

 What an amazing campsite you do get the feeling you are remote even the drive up to it is very long - well it seemed it after a day of cycle touring! The washing lines and campers kitchen are a wonderful facility at this site which we used.

We were in the tent field which is at the far end of the site - the only thing that kept us awake was the noisy owl (how bad can that be?). In the dark, the skies are beautiful as there appears to be no light pollution at all.

Shower block is beautifully clean and the whole site is very well kept. The friendly warden seemed to be on the go 24 hours, always around, checking facilities, picking up litter etc.

We will definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Lorr1uk 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first time staying in the wooden wigwams, such a good idea for those who don't fancy sleeping in a tent, they also have heating and lighting as well as raised large benches with mattresses, there are around 12 wigwams at this particular site.

You also get a kettle and toaster provided. Outside you have a designated area for a barbecue should you wish to take one with you also if you want to have a log fire they are about 5ft from your wigwam.

Also there is a space to park your car.

There is a clean shower block and separate area for toilets.

The cooking facilities are microwaves and also hobs, if I remember correctly I think they were electric.

Also on this site there is space for tents, touring caravans and there were also some statics.

They also are quite strict about load music.

Warden on site.

This site was only around 3 miles off the A75 and it is only 10 miles from Dumfries where there are lots of shops.

There is no on site shop. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Home 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Barnsoul in 2010. We had 5 Nights in a Wigwam which we found to be very nice, much better than we thought they would be, plesently pleased. The boys took there fishing gear and they fished on the Pond, weather was, nt the best but having the wigwam to go in made it much better, we also took the tent which we used on the sixth night. It was a bank holiday w, end, on the seventh night and some roudy Families arrived which was fine but it was our queue to go. But the overall experience and facilities for a campsite were very good. We have stayed at a few in Dumfries and this is a very good one. We are going back this month July for four nights Archie is still there but not running the site and it has gone up slightly but that is to be expected I suppose. Overall experience was good, and would definitely reccomend, looking forward to going back just hope weather is good to us? Mabie is good for the kids we also visited a local beach which was lovely, Red kite site was good and Cream of Galway think it was and is great for the dog. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


23097 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement