Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barnsoul Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

Barnsoul Caravan Park
Irongray
Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG2 9SQ
Tel: 01557 814351
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 39 reviews from this member

This is a remote, rural site consisting of statics, lodges, wooden pods and touring fields for caravans & tents. It is spread over a large area with central toilets/showers/campers kitchen & a covered BBQ space. Everything was well maintained & clean. There was a good play area for smaller children. Staff were friendly & helpful. It was nice to see a bare minimum of the 'Do not' notices that spoil so many sites.

We had booked one of the cheaper wooden pods but even that was really 'glamping'. By our standards anyway! Picnic table & firepit also included.

The only fault I would mention is that the grass was probably left growing too long for a campsite, therefore I wonder if midges would be a problem later in the year? Certainly the early morning dew in the long grass soaked my crocs on the walk to the facilities.

Places to visit: 1. Walk the half mile or so up to the adjoining hill fort for cracking views across the valleys. 2. Threave Castle for a very atmospheric ruin & more recent formal gardens. (National Trust for Scotland & Historic Scotland sites) 3. The Devil's Porridge museum - small but well appointed exhibition explaining the large WW1 munitions factory near Gretna.

Sadly the nearby Glenkiln sculptures have been removed on police advice.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Raysmiffy 14 reviews from this member

A nice quiet site which feels a bit 'out of the way'. You have to get to it using a narrow passing place road for around three miles from the main road.

Very good toilet block with microwaves, fridges and barbecue huts. I could imagine that this site is very good for tent owners with families.

Also the pods are some of the biggest and best I have seen.

The only thing that had me asking questions, is why they need every last personal detail, such as email, phone number and home address. I have been to hundreds of sites and this is the first that has done this.

Very good value and a relaxed atmosphere. Much recommended!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirsty_Atkin 13 reviews from this member

What an amazing campsite you do get the feeling you are remote even the drive up to it is very long - well it seemed it after a day of cycle touring! The washing lines and campers kitchen are a wonderful facility at this site which we used. We were in the tent field which is at the far end of the site - the only thing that kept us awake was the noisy owl (how bad can that be?). In the dark, the skies are beautiful as there appears to be no light pollution at all. Shower block is beautifully clean and the whole site is very well kept. The friendly warden seemed to be on the go 24 hours, always around, checking facilities, picking up litter etc. We will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Lorr1uk 2 reviews from this member

This was our first time staying in the wooden wigwams, such a good idea for those who don't fancy sleeping in a tent, they also have heating and lighting as well as raised large benches with mattresses, there are around 12 wigwams at this particular site.

You also get a kettle and toaster provided. Outside you have a designated area for a barbecue should you wish to take one with you also if you want to have a log fire they are about 5ft from your wigwam.

Also there is a space to park your car.

There is a clean shower block and separate area for toilets.

The cooking facilities are microwaves and also hobs, if I remember correctly I think they were electric.

Also on this site there is space for tents, touring caravans and there were also some statics.

They also are quite strict about load music.

Warden on site.

This site was only around 3 miles off the A75 and it is only 10 miles from Dumfries where there are lots of shops.

There is no on site shop.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Home 1 review from this member

We stayed at Barnsoul in 2010. We had 5 Nights in a Wigwam which we found to be very nice, much better than we thought they would be, plesently pleased. The boys took there fishing gear and they fished on the Pond, weather was, nt the best but having the wigwam to go in made it much better, we also took the tent which we used on the sixth night. It was a bank holiday w, end, on the seventh night and some roudy Families arrived which was fine but it was our queue to go. But the overall experience and facilities for a campsite were very good. We have stayed at a few in Dumfries and this is a very good one. We are going back this month July for four nights Archie is still there but not running the site and it has gone up slightly but that is to be expected I suppose. Overall experience was good, and would definitely reccomend, looking forward to going back just hope weather is good to us? Mabie is good for the kids we also visited a local beach which was lovely, Red kite site was good and Cream of Galway think it was and is great for the dog.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PetertheCamper 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful tranquil location. Under new management this year who insist on 2 forms to be filled in and prices have risen (the previous owner who still owns the farm has retired). I've visited many times with children and have had no problems. Facilities are fine if a little dated now. Woodland walk on the site plus lots of birds/wildlife. Galloway Arms in Crocketford serve good food and is worth a visit. Great for visiting Galloway coast. Cycling-ideal as lots of 'leafy lanes', plus the 7 Stanes mountain bike centres are within reach. We visited Mabie, Dalbeattie and Kirroughtree mountain bike centres on this visit.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BivvyBoy 23 reviews from this member

A great site!

It's well signposted from the A75; don't stop at Barnsoul farmhouse but keep going as the site warden lives in a static caravan on the site itself.

We camped and out mates took a 4 berth wigwam. The wigwams are a great idea - basically all you need is a sleeping bag plus your food, pans cups etc.

The camping area is fine - hookups are available with running water. The site slopes in places so larger tents might have to look for a suitable flat spot.

The surroundings are beautiful and there are plenty of little walks straight from the site. Rabbits everywhere and oysterctachers too!

The facilities are very good - the showers are in a new block and are really hot! The cubicles are big enough to get changed in and sit down. The kitchen block has 4 microwaves and two hobs, 2 fridges and a freezer, so you could manage without bringing a camping stove.

All in all - we'll definitely go again and see how it is when it's a little busier but I can't see it being too crowded.

The wigwams are a good idea as has been said for noncampers but also I reckon they'd be good for extending your outdoor season as they're cosy and heated. Avoid the fun of packing away a wet tent!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Tankinky 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here in Aug '10 in one of the bothies for 5 days, but have also stayed here with our tent quite a few times in the last 6 years.

Perfection in Camping. This is our most favourite site for camping.

Very friendly farmer who sells ice creams for the kids and sometimes has a selection of books (donation to charity)

The bothies / wigwams are warm and dry with raised beds and mattresses, electric, lights, a kettle, toaster, fridge, lockable door and bbq / firepit.

Although not to far from the main road you hear nothing but animals here, it is very quiet with nothing but hills and fields for a view.

Facilities,

A little bit outdated but more than ample and always very clean, plenty of toilets (more than 1 or 2 for each sex which most sites seem to have adopted) and free showers in a separate block have shower curtain, hand basins and stool in each cubicle. There is also a portable loo in the top field and electric hook ups/water if you like being a little bit further from the busy spots.

Portable cabin kitchen with hobs, sinks, microwaves and a fridge freezer for your own use, tv/dining room very handy and good washing up facilities, bins emptied regularly

Ponds for fishing use and plenty of woodland walks for the kids, no playground as such unless you count the woods and a little imagination.

Camp fires also allowed! very big bonus for us

Surrounding area,

Very good sized Tesco's on way into Castle Douglas as well as plenty of smaller shops, nearest hospital is Dumfries.

Very good food served at Lochview Motel - as the name suggests overlooking a little loch which is used by water skiers, just the other side of Crocketford.

I have read on the last couple of reviews that the farmer has retired and the prices have risen (Only a matter of time), I only hope the new warden does not change to many things as it would be a huge shame as camp sites like Barnsoul Farm are a dying breed!.

Planning to visit here again in the summer holidays so will leave another review to include the new warden then.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sasamax 7 reviews from this member

This is a lovely spacious, well established site where you are made to feel very welcome.

OK the facilities have obviously been around for a while but they are perfectly functional and clean. You can pretty much suit yourself here and the owners are very helpful for anything you need - the reception has plenty of tourist info in it and they are very trusting (that you will pay them which of course we did)

Lovely site - no complaints

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julk 1 review from this member

Good news - all the facilities were good, note that toilets, showers and water supply in buildings are a bit sparse for Bank Holiday weekend numbers of visitors. There are electric hookups if you want electricity. The site is well worth a visit with many interesting features. E.G. Red squirrels, pond, ancient sites.

The area is very scenic, shops are 5 miles or more away. The Solway coast is 20 miles away.

Bad news - unfortunately some folks built bonfires which rained down ash on some tents - not good news to some tent owners who decided to move. I forgot my coat and left it overnight in the kitchen. It was stolen before I went to collect it at 7 a.M. The next morning! Someone got a very nice coat.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2931 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019