Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brompton On Swale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Brompton On Swale Caravan Park Reviews

Brompton On Swale Caravan Park
Brompton On Swale
Richmond
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL10 7EZ
Tel: 01748 824629
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 102 Reviews
                8/10 from 102 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our facilities may be open

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kay3a35724omp 1 review from this member

 Well situated to visit Richmond and surrounding area. We were going to altBerg boots!

Lovely CS with toilets and showers- one for men and one for women. Electric hookup. Quiet spot, friendly owners greeted us. Level pitches with gravel.

Nothing not to like 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Joso64 1 review from this member

 Just had a lovely stay at Brompton on Swale caravan park with family/ grandchildren myself/ husband/our dog. Stayed in park view cottage which was very homely/ cosy. Very clean and warm from the minute we walked in. A lovely touch by the cleaner leaving a posy of flowers, maybe a welcome pack or leaflet with times of arrival/ departure etc times shop opened/ shut bus timetable etc was put in the cottages as a good gesture. If you do stay in the cottage it might be best to take your own tin opener/a pair of scissors/ vegetable knife as these didn't seem to be provided when I looked in the kitchen drawer (just a little glitch). The fridge is basic, there's only an ice box which you could maybe put a couple of things in so wouldn't recommend taking any freezer stuff.

There is a country store just down the road from the campsite which has country clothing/ gifts/ etc. Worth having a look too, dogs are allowed in. There was a dog walk area on the campsite where you could take your dog and let them off the lead if you wished. The lane that's up there I would recommend keeping your dogs on leads as the path is a bit narrow. As we walked along it we found an opening to go through to cross over the road, then on the other side you could take your dog down a path where you could let them off their lead if you wished. Turning left at the bottom of the path just seemed to take you down to some fields, the right turn took you towards to Brompton lakes.

We had a lovely walk to Richmond, there is two stiles that you need to go over as you cross the fields which are quite high, once you go through Easby past the abbey and onto the flat path to Richmond, with the lovely views, it's easy. If you've got smaller children, 3 years and under, taking a pushchair would be best as its a long walk for them. You can get an X34 bus back from Richmond which comes at twenty five to four, if you do miss that bus the next one is half past six (last Bus), it drops off right outside the caravan park (take your bus pass if a senior citizen).

All the staff at the campsite were friendly, always smiling and helpful. Good location. Good park maybe would have been nice if there had been a couple of seats in park area. Central field for group playing. Staff ensured rules were followed, even picked up on people driving too fast and dealt with this professionally. Good shop would have being nice if they'd sold morning papers.

Family stayed in pods could have been better if there had been more space outside pod, decking table for cooking and a fence round the pods as near the river.

The games room was good but might be better if they'd had more free things to do like table tennis/ giant connect four or snakes/ladders for some of the younger children.

When some of the family used the pot washing area the water wasn't very hot for washing pots.

All the family had a brilliant time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kenneth5246 1 review from this member

 Just had a visit this month. Great site, a new member of staff even unhitched our van for us and made sure all was as it should be. Only down side was kids kicking balls into the caravans all the time and pulling the hose pipe from the tap for filling the water barrels and running the taps on site all the time water everywhere. No supervision for this. Would visit again but only when the kids were at school.

One reason we decided to visit the site was the take away advertised sounded ideal. However. It does not exist and although it was a bank holiday weekend the shop was only half stocked. Very disappointing. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cobra2 13 reviews from this member

 Myself and my girlfriend visited this site on our motorcycles on a Tuesday night and it was easy to find. The site is flat has a shop has toilets showers. Washing up areas and washing machines. The only thing we would of liked was a kettle to boil water for our flask. It's by a river which is nice. It was very quiet when we were there which we liked. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helenrory 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a 2 night stay with my husband and 2 primary school age children

Advantages

*brilliant location, just 1. 5 miles from Richmond, a lovely little town which has cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops including a reasonable sized Co-op.

* close proximity of the site to public footpaths. There is a footpath to Easby Abbey straight from the site through fields which is lovely

*level, well drained pitches for tents.

* Campsite is well lit at night

* take away open 5-8 pm on Friday and Saturday nights

* decent kids playground

Disadvantages

*very cramped site. Rows upon rows of caravans with very little space between pitches.

*There do not seem to be any designated walkways to the amenities on site so people just walk across pitches to get to the toilet blocks.

* toilet block was dirty. We were there from Friday afternoon til Sunday and as far as I could tell the toilet block was only cleaned once on Friday evening or Saturday morning. The husband reckons the gents weren't cleaned at all. The floors were really dirty and people did not seem to mop after showering ( although the mop was probably not much cleaner than the floor)

*the tent area was slap bang in the middle of the only field where ball games were permitted. The management had even provided goal posts ! We had a few footballs in our tent and under the car which wasn't ideal.

*swearing and bad language was constant and got worse as the evening went on ( as people got more drunk).

*the bins were overflowing. There weren't enough recycling points.

* loud music was playing from several pitches from midday well into the evening.

* noisy and inconsiderate campers kept on going til the early hours.

* there was a dog from a neighbouring pitch that was running wild - the owner was constantly throwing balls for the dog to fetch. The campsite apparently has a dogs on lead only rule!

* there appear to be no enforcement of the park rules by site management and warden.

All in all we have come away very disappointed from this campsite. The campsite has great potential ( even if it is a little cramped). However due to a handful of visitors who are unable to communicate without swearing and have no consideration for other campers it was dreadful. I feel that this is partly down to the poor campsite management and lack of rule enforcement. If the site was managed or staffed better most of the issues could be solved easily and it could be a cracking little campsite! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charley 2005 5 reviews from this member

 An excellent site to pitch your tent at whilst on the C2C walk. A clean modern shower block and what seemed to be well stocked on site shop. We arrived about 830pm but were still welcomed in, would stay here again even if I never do the walk again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Shazzy-t 2 reviews from this member

 We visited Brompton on Swale campsite for the second time in May this year. It's a lovely site with a wonderful buzz about it that really makes you feel like you're on holiday.

We stayed in a pod which was centrally heated (lovely as it was cold) and faced out to the river making it feel secluded even on a large busy site. With us, we had our 3 dogs (my sister had one in her pod with her as it's a limit of 2 per pod).

There is a lovely walk through woods and farm tracks, through Easby and into Richmond where we stopped and got food and an ice cream before walking back. Very enjoyable and handy if you have a larger vehicle like a motorhome and want to walk rather than drive.

There is a huge TESCO a short drive away at Catterick Garrison alongside Pound Stretcher and a few other smaller shops - very useful if you've forgotten anything.

The facilities are a little outdated I feel (e. G. The hand drier takes a long time to dry your hands) but they are clean and well kept all the same.

We absolutely loved the food from the take away and the facility to text your order and then collect is brilliant. You can expect to pay a bit more than from your bog standard takeaway but the food is tasty and freshly cooked. Unfortunately, we didn't get chance to try the takeaway breakfast.

The on site shop is handy and sells all the necessities for reasonable prices (as far as camp site shops are concerned).

The last time we went, we walked down to the river and let the dogs have a swim and a paddle which they really enjoyed. There were lots of people down there paddling in the sun.

The only downside of this visit, which really isn't the fault of the site, was the children that were running around. Last time we went there were also lots of children and it was quite noisy during the day but this was not a problem as they were playing in the play areas. This time, however, they kept coming around the front of our pods and riding past my dog, who was teathered outside in the sunshine, until one ran over her lead on his bike and pinned her to the floor. Luckily, she is a good natured dog and kicked her legs out to push him away rather than snapping. However, I was upset that she was put in a position where her head was jerked and she could not move. A few minutes later, a different group of children let themselves into our camping pod! (We were sat out the front of my sister's pod at the time). I'm not sure how the site could help this but I do think the area around the front of the camping pods should be for exclusive use by those using them.

In all, I love this site and will be back in the near future! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ministryofsillywalk 1 review from this member

 We (family of 4, 2 children) and our dog stayed in one of the glamping pods at 40 a night, which turned out to be really good value for money. You get electric, a heater (which we didn't need) and it provided the perfect little base for us to relax in and sleep in.

The campsite itself is about 5 minutes drive from Richmond. If you're wanting to visit somewhere with a supermarket, shops etc then it's ideal, you can even (as we did on both days) walk through the woods past Easby Abbey up to Richmond - 4 miles or so walk and very pleasant. The walk back was too much for our 2 young boys so we caught a bus back which stops right outside the campsite (number 34 from Richmond town centre).

There is a shop on-site which has basic supplies but I wouldn't rely on it for your day to day living, but stocks enough to see you by. The shop is open all day but shuts at 5pm.

There is a takeaway on-site too which is open Wed-Sun from 5pm-8pm, we ate there on the last night and it was very nice indeed. Not priced over the top and the range of options was good for us, nothing to complain about at all.

Every member of staff we talked to and asked questions was only too happy to help, we felt very welcome.

Plenty of fresh water stations around, toilets, showers - all very clean and well looked after. The small children's park there was always busy and well looked after too, our boys loved it, as well as a couple of football goals nearby to have a kick around with.

Overall very impressed with the location, the actual grounds, surrounding areas, amenities - we'll definitely be going back! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madgirl03 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to this site and I have to say how much of a fabulous te we had

On arrival at the site we were escorted to our pitch and helped to manoeuvre our van into position over looking the river. Beautiful views

The staff could not have been more helpful throughout our stay and were able to direct us to locations when asked.

On speaking to who we thought was a staff member who was out litter picking about the possibility of storing our van for a couple of weeks so that we could book a return visit rather than bringing it home he was friendly and advised us to visit the office, which we did only to find out he was actually the site manager and he waxucki. G I with the staff to ensure the site maintained it high level of cleanliness

You do need a 20. 00 cash deposit for the toilet key and barrier fob the toilets were always clean.

On site takeaway was only open for limited hours and the shop was a little sparsely stocked although it is licensed to sell alcohol but shuts at 5pm

Richmond is only a short drive should you need provisions out if hours.

Fishing is available on site but nearest maggot retailer was richmond but hubby enjoyed many hours fishing

I have to say this is one of the most restful holidays we have had in the can and we are looking forward to our return visit in a few week 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Craigsimo157 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night weekend break here. On site staff could not be more helpful, took us to our pitch and even unhooked and straightened us up on the pitch. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. A little shop on the grounds with a wide range of sweets for the kids kept them quiet (apologies to the shop keepers I can imagine the 5 kids we took would have been full of questions. 'if I buy this how much will I have left'). The toilets were clean and well kept, with all the other facilities needed close by sinks, waste disposal etc. We had a lovely walk into Richmond only a short 2 mile away, if you could read a map, we enjoyed our 10 mile round trip none the less.

Overall a very good site I would recommend to anyone, and will be returning to myself. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brompton On Swale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brompton On Swale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brompton On Swale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Richmond      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5838 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement