Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rawcliffe Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Rawcliffe Caravan Park Reviews

Rawcliffe Caravan Park
Manor Lane
Shipton Road
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO30 5TZ
Tel: 01904 640845
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 31 Reviews
                9/10 from 31 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dickiebird 19 reviews from this member

 Nothing to dislike about this campsite. A small campsites with just 13 pitches - all hard-standing with EHU, water and waste water disposal facilities on each pitch. The shower and toilet block was warm, clean and welcoming.

The pub and campsite is situated within a pleasant residential area, very quiet and well maintained. A stroll of 10/15 minutes takes you to the Park and Ride facilities into York centre - about 15 minutes away with a regular service.

The pub was great, offering a wide variety of meals and had a very good atmosphere despite Covid restrictions. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Other pubs and a few shops within a 20 minute walk of the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sarahg 1 review from this member

 Quiet, friendly with well maintained pitches. Excellent facilities.

Compact and bijou. A hidden gem which we are delighted to have discovered. Pub was also great. Good food, friendly service.

We’ll see you again soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jojor1 1 review from this member

 Fabulous caravan site! Really enjoyed our two night stay and would be happy to spend a week there.

Grounds are immaculate and bar staff very friendly and approachable! Facilities spot on with electric hook up and waste drain at your own pitch.

Great park and ride to York within 10 minute walk from caravan site and Clifton Moore retail and leisure park within 10 minutes walking.

Did not try the restaraunt food but what we saw being served and on the menu looked very appetising! Lovely beer garden that is well kept and lovely atmosphere in the Lyndser Arms. Totally fab and recommend it. 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kennyemmett 4 reviews from this member

 Whats not to like about this site, spotless facilities, pitches superb, pub next door (don't miss carvery on Sunday), turn right outside park 5mins walk, Tesco and retail park with lots of eateries, turn left 10mins walk to park&ride then 15mins in to York centre, or a nice leisurely 45mins walk to town via river/cycle path.

Will use this site again and again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DianeT 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for three nights. Easy to find using our satnav.

Liked the fact we had water and electric on the all inclusive pitch but because the weather has been so hot the waste water drain was a bit smelly. Sorted that with dettol. The shower and toilet facilities were very nice and clean and we took advantage of the washing up facility. There is also a washing machine and tumble dryer if you want to do some washing. We walked to the shopping centre when we first arrived which took not much more than 10 minutes, and used the Tesco for food shopping. We used the bus service from there to go into York on our first day. Very quick. The second day when we went to the Rail Museum we walked to the Park and Ride and again, the service is every 10 minutes and is quick. You have to pay £1.10 even if you have a pass but only on the way into town, not coming back. Ate in the pub on our first night and had a drink on our last evening. A lovely pub and the food was very good. The staff were helpful and friendly 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trevor57 58 reviews from this member

 A nice compact site with 13 pitches behind the Lysander Arms. Access is at the end of Manor Lane on the corner. Our main reason for using this site was the Park & Ride a short walk away to get into York each day.

The site itself is better suited to smaller caravans and motorhomes in our view, anything over 7. 5 metres would be a very tight fit. The toilet block is small with only one shower and toilet which was adequate as the site was not full. It was kept clean but in our view could do with a refurbishment.

We had a meal in the Lysander Arms one night (Steak Night) which was very nice and reasonably priced.

As other reviewers have mentioned there is a large shopping centre only 5 mins walk away with a large Tesco supermarket.

The only problem we had was the WiFi - We could not get it to work and no one we talked to seemed to be able to help us. However the WiFi in the Lysander Arms was OK but a customer had to tell us the password as the staff did not know it!

A fully serviced pitch with a toilet waste disposal point for £25 a night is good value in our books and we would visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Geoff48 23 reviews from this member

 The site is easy to find with or without sat nav. There are 13 pitches, numbers 1 – 12 and 12a. The site roads are tarmac with block paving hardstanding and short grass for awning space or car parking at the side of your unit. In front of the hardstanding and grass there is a further area of block paving running parallel to the site road. My unit is 6. 46 in length; there was just enough room to park in front of the caravan without intruding onto the road. All pitches are flat. The layout of the site is a square with the toilet block in the centre. Care should be taken if towing round the site, the bends are 90 degrees and quite tight. The pitches are fully serviced, EHU, Fresh water point, waste water, TV point on the EHU bollard and chemical toilet disposal point and a waste bin on each pitch. Pitch 12a was smaller than the others from what I heard at the bar when a phone booking is made an enquiry is always made regarding the length of the unit. The gents toilets have two urinals one WC and one shower with 2 sinks. The shower is quite small and isn’t large enough for a chair in the shower area. The shower is a power shower and there are dispensers for soap and lotion. There are disabled facilities, these are shared with the laundry facilities. There are no recycling facilities on site.

In a short walk there is Clifton Moor retail park with the usual larger shops including a large Tesco with a café, handy for a breakfast. The park and ride is a short walk stated to be 10 minutes, 15 minutes for me and flat all the way. Buses to York every 10 mins, if you have a concessionary pass the fare is £1 and the return journey from York centre is free. The designer Outlet Village is approx. 7 miles away. If you need Tesco at rush hour it’s quicker to walk.

The greeting was friendly, the hours shown on Google Maps are the dining hours, the bar is open throughout the day. The food at the Restaurant was excellent, not cheap but I thought well worth the price. I believe bar meals are also available. The kitchen was closed for refurbishment for most of our stay but reopened on our last night when we had a meal there. There are many fast food outlets on the trading estate.

Whilst we were on site storm Doris struck, the site is well sheltered by brick walls and trees, we had our porch awning up and encountered no problems.

At £25 per night for a fully serviced pitch I think this represents good value. Will I go again? I've already booked. 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dave 418 35 reviews from this member

 A good location for York, walking distance to the Park and ride and retail outlet.

The site facilities are tidy and clean. Only having one shower and toilet may require good timing if it busy.

As the camp site is adjacent to the Lysander Arms in the centre of a modern housing estate it may put some people off. We found the pub convenient for a drink on a cold winters night. There are planned events during the week and an invite to stay for Sunday lunch.

The only minor problem we had was the pitch we were given, number three. This is an 'L' shaped pitch in a corner. The facilities, water mains point, tv point, grey water and chemical disposal were on side of the pitch. Without reversing across the grass I couldn't get to the service point to drain my grey water. Without seeing the pitch it is hard to explain. Next time we will ask for a pitch we can back on to. We didn't complain because we booked late and the site was full probly due to the Christmas Markets. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pop57golf 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a two night stay here and I must admit I was impressed with the cleanliness and how well kept the site is. Toilet and shower area always clean and hot excellent power shower only one but it is a small site. Good place to stay for a look into York then call back for a drink in the bar although I did not have a meal they looked tasty. Anybody who thinks £25 a night for a fully serviced pitch near York wants to try and get a hotel room there and see what they go for. All in all no complaints 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gail-force 11 reviews from this member

 We had two nights on this site. It's very easy to find via the sat-nav and parking was easy for us as all the pitches are block paved hard standing. We have a single axle caravan so we just pushed it into place, although some of the corner pitches looked like they may be a squeeze. One toilet and one shower per gender, although on the Saturday morning the shower was freezing cold, it was hot on the Sunday. Spotlessly clean with nice hand soap. The pub is only a hundred yards away and did OK food. We had the speciality burgers. The bus stop is a 10 minute walk away and on the 'park and ride' route so there's buses every 15 minutes of so. £2. 00 takes you into the centre of York where you can easily spend a day sightseeing. £25. 00 per night is expensive, but for where it's situated and the facilities, I'd go back. I's also surprisingly quiet there, although for it being an adults only site there were a couple of rug-rats 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rawcliffe Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rawcliffe Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Rawcliffe Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4019 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement