Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widemouth Bay Caravan Park John Fowler Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Widemouth Bay Caravan Park John Fowler Holidays > Reviews

Widemouth Bay Caravan Park John Fowler Holidays
Poundstock
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 0DF
Tel: 01271 866766
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 40 Reviews
                6/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Travers1978 1 review from this member

 Staff are lovely. The toilet block was disgusting not cleaned over night and is in desperate need of a make over.

The shower and toilet block was a bit better but needs a good clean up the pool your only allowed to use once every 4 days - not good when you have kids was told all facilities was open and they are not thought the cleaners would be in all communal areas every hour or so because of covid - there is definitely no thought of covid put into it other than a couple of signs 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Coland 2 reviews from this member

 We were subjected to rude remarks from the onset, we booked a hard standing pitch, and were given grass, ďthe grass has grown over the hardstanding thick welsh f***Ē was mumbled at me, if the weather hadnít been so bad (heavy wind and rain) I would have drove home, one end of our awing was in a thistle hedge, the other on the verge of the road.

The showers and toilets looked like they hadnít been cleaned for a long time, needless to say we limited ourselves to using our caravans facilities for the entire holiday.

The swimming pool is very small, itís surrounded by what appeared to be patio slabs, they didnít look very clean, the access for disabled isnít great either, as our youngest has a stoma we avoided the place due to cleanliness issues.

The club is also tiny, it was pointless trying to get a seat in the evening, the touring pitches were only about half full and it was rammed. We had a few drinks, and a bite to eat one afternoon itís very nicely decorated, and most of the staff were friendly enough. The food was mediocre, and not too extortionately priced, we didnít return but this was mainly down to very limited access for our wheelchair.

After leaving a review on trip advisor we were pestered by a van with the park name in it parking directly outside our caravan, this happened around several times then a gentleman parked opposite us, used his phone for around 10 minutes then left. The park warden whom had made the rude comments visited us the next day (coincidence) and insisted that he was moving us, we were 5 days into a 7 day stay, he was told we werenít moving, after he started raising his voice he was told to leave, he was distressing our youngest whoís severely disabled.

We packed up and left the next day, weíll never return and advise anyone else thinking of using this site to please use another 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annski 1 review from this member

 I read all previous reviews before visiting but while I knew what to expect, some of the reviews did not do this site justice.

I imagine if you paid a premium for a static on the site then you may have high expectations that perhaps may not be met.

The clubhouse is a bit dated, the pool is small and basic and the entertainment was definitely from Phoenix Nights. BUT the site was immaculate, showers hot, toilets clean but if not, that was purely down to the users. The staff were very helpful. The shop was reasonable and a pint in the clubhouse wasn't extortionate, the same price as my local in The Midlands. Football goals, play area, games room and space for the kids to play. We pitched in front of a gorgeous seaview, on an incline but fine if you get your angle right. A 20 minute energetic walk to a great beach, not as crowded as some get. A few minutes drive from Bude and Boscastle.

Cost me £18 a night which was cheap for a good base for exploring and back up entertainment and access to indoors should the weather take a turn.

Looking forward to going back next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Homebird2003 19 reviews from this member

 This is a pleasant, tidy site with lovely views of farm land and the sea. Grass is kept short and litter pickers are out early every morning. We were able to choose our own EHU pitch from a selection marked on a map and were very pleased to be sheltered by trees behind us. The pitch was only slightly sloping but the ground was very hard even for rock pegs. The non electric tent area was spacious and popular with family groups who were able to pitch together. The dog walk field was fantastic until it was opened up for campers as the main site started to fill up.

The main toilet/shower block was modern with push button showers which were very hot. When the site started to fill up the facilities did get mucky with grass and tissue but this was cleared up daily. The old block is very basic with cubicles for toilets, sinks and showers but it was quite nice to have it all to myself when I didn't want to wait in the queue for the other one.

The games room had lots of slot machines but half of them didn't work. The pool table was good. We had take-away a few times which was reasonably priced and good sized portions. We did not go in for the evening entertainment apart from a bingo session. We booked this John Fowler site for the 'Kenny's Rangers' which promised lots of activities for teenagers including disco's etc but unfortunately our girls did not think the long walk downhill to the club and back up again was worth it for the 30 minutes in the morning that was on offer during our stay.

The walk to the beach takes about 20 minutes or there is plenty of car parking available. Dogs are allowed on the beach and its popular with surfers.

Its a short drive into Bude which has lots of original shops. The off license sells cider brewed by the owner and also lots of other local brews. The pasty shop looked interesting but was always busy so we didn't get to try any. Local ice-cream was delicious too. There is a small cinema showing the latest films at reasonable prices. Bude also has two main supermarkets and Chinese and Indian take-aways.

As our normal camping is usually on rallies we paid far more than we are used to for our holiday but all in all we are happy with this campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mustang_Sacha 2 reviews from this member

 My family and I have just returned from our week at John Fowler in Widemouth Bay, our second successive year. We called a lovely 'Go Outdoors' tent our home for the week and it was perfectly suitable. As we had been there before we knew exactly what to expect. Nice to see the warden had received an upgrade in the site office, well deserved!

As previous reviews state the camping pitches are on an incline but if the tent is positioned right this is fine.

The pitches are set close enough to the toilet block for the kids emergency dash at 2am! Speaking of the toilet blocks the cleaning staff do a great job keeping on top of the facilities, it can't be easy with 100/150 people using them at all hours of the day and night. Yes, the main block does get busy and they do leave a squeegee for those less prissy and proud to be able to have a quick clean before and after their shower. Plus there is a second block just down the hill if you just can't wait.

The on site shop is, as one would expect, on the top end of the price scale but then most small independent shops are. It has all the basic items needed and a few little bits and bobs.

The launderette is open from 9am til 8pm and has 5 washing machines, £3 a load, and 5 tumble dryer's, 3 minutes for 20p. Very clean and they even have a free iron and board available.

There is a heated pool on site which is great for the kids but the changing rooms are a little small for a family to change in so it might be better to slip in to the costumes before you head down.

Right next to the pool is a small but adequate play area and a quaint little crazy golf which is available for a £1 returned deposit.

From here the club house, while a tad on the dated side, has a homely feel about it. The tables and chairs are well spaced out so you don't feel as if you are sitting on the next person's lap. All the areas are kept clean and tidy and there are constant patrols cleaning tables and all the reception, bar and catering staff are very polite and helpful and always endeavour to assist in the smallest of requests from the one off 'Glampers'!

The arcade area is a fair size with a few games and 2 pool tables, all the flashing lights kept my 2 boys mesmerized for a good while. The games are reasonably priced too which is a bonus from a Dad's perspective!

In the club you'll find chef's corner where they provide a fair menu at reasonable prices, yes it's fast and convenient food, but contrary to the reviews below I'm not sure how one would deep fry a chicken tikka and rice!

Now on to the entertainment. Where do I begin?

The Stripey's this year were great, keeping the attention of a plethora of youngsters for up to an hour and a half is not easy, but Marc, Steph and the old camp Bryan made it look like second nature. Our little girl was besotted by Freddy the fox and his compatriots and they did a sterling job. The foxy club is available twice a day, 10-11am and then from 6pm.

The site is set on a high point and the tent/touring pitches have a fantastic view across Widemouth Bay. The beach is within walking distance but if you have youngsters or boards etc the drive is quick and easy with Black Rock beach providing reasonable parking, £4. 50 for the whole day, and a beach cafe and shop providing all the necessities for a day at the beach.

Being just south of the Devon border the site is well placed with attractions to the north, such as The Milky Way and Big Sheep, the south, like Tintagel, Boscastle and Port Issac, and the east like Launceston and the Hidden Valley (Well worth a trip for the inner Sherlock Holmes).

Also with Bude around 10 minutes away and a gorgeous beach there as well as little trinket and souvenir shops not to mention great fish and chips and bakery's, there are also a Morrison's and Sainsbury's for the essentials.

All in all the site is well maintained, well presented, good value for money, well situated and well worth a visit.

We will be going again next year, and probably the year after that too! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Potts 2 reviews from this member

 What a let down for a John fowler site. dirty showers, poor food from club house, unhelpful warden, sloping pitches, power cuts. even my kids aged 9, 7 and 6 found the club boring, I'm just pleased the weather was fantastic

I felt the touring pitches were an after thought, as the shop, play area, club house and pool were right at the other end of the site, so the kids had to be escorted by an adult at all times 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandra Stubbs 5 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site every June for the past few years and have to say it is one of our favourites! We generally visit in June, which is great value for money.

The location is amazing - countryside in one direction and the sea view in the other!

The touring pitches are on the higher field, away from the statics. The pitches are large and the toilet/shower block is clean and modern with key entry.

The site had a new warden this season, who, I have to say, was nowhere near as friendly and helpful as the previous one and, unfortunately, the pitches had lots of weeds and the touring section was generally not as well maintained as in previous years, which was a real shame. Fingers crossed this will be sorted for next season.

I would recommend this site to anyone, and often do. It is in a great location, close to Bude (highly recommend the coastal drive).

There is a club, swimming pool, crazy golf and shop on site. Great value for money in June, £130 for ten days, but I think price goes up to approx £35/night during peak season! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa66 1 review from this member

 We chose this site due to location and price. We booked online and paid a good price. When we arrived we found out why! we had electric hookup.

The first pitch was very muddy and we asked to be moved. The ground is very uneven, a slight slope. Those without hookup beware, you will be on a steep slope! It's a very hilly site. We didn't need to use the pool as the weather was lovely and we went to the nearby beaches, which had lifeguards.

The shop on site is small and very expensive as is the launderette. There are supermarkets nearby. You are given a key to access the shower block, which wasn't too bad, have seen worse, but the showers are a pain as you have to keep pressing the button. They could get very dirty.

The net curtains were filthy!If you time it right and get there about 8am, you beat the queues. There are only 4 showers and 1 was out of order! If you are looking for peace and quiet then you may not get it at this site due to the kind of families and groups that use it!

We were booked to stay 4 nights, we came home during the 4th night as new arrivals were playing loud music for hours and we wanted sleep! we live an hour away so we packed up in the dark! There is security that drives around at night. There are plenty of better sites nearby and it's a lovely area to stay, just not on this one! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mssianlc 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping holiday ever! Two Adult and two children squeezed into a Pro-Action 4 man tent. We booked this site about 7 days before our holiday and it was the only site left. We had no idea what to expect.

We arrived in Widemouth Bay and found the campsite with the directions provided. We checked in and were told to pitch where we liked. Not knowing anything about camping and having a small child (3yo) we decided to pitch within dashing distance of the toilet block.

After much deliberation as to which direction to pitch our tent we decide and pitched. On reflection I think we should have pitch somewhere else as the pitch we were on was at the bottom of an incline. Within 2 hours our pitch was a soggy, muddy mess. There was no drainage at all.

The toilets and showers were dirty and we had to wait in line for the showers everyday. Despite asking for a second key to the toilet black we were told that it was limited to one per family. Even after explaining that our just turned three yr old daughter wasn't that good at deciding in advance that she needed to go to the toilet and if DS or DH were in the loo then we were left hoping someone would let us in.

The clubhouse was tired and dark with 1980's crockery and a sticky carpet. The food was pretty poor and the choice was limited to what you can deep-fry. If you went after 7. 00pm then there was no way you were getting table so we didn't bother.

The pool was okay - warm enough for me (who hates swimming in cold water) and the kids had great time. Limited entrance as it was busy but I can understand why they did it and it meant that there was enough room for everyone to swim.

Two decent supermarkets in the surrounding area - one of which served breakfast so we ate there most mornings. Widemouth Bay is stunning and the views from the cliff road were fantastic.

I think the next time we visit Cornwall it will be further south as we had to travel quite a way to dio anything we wanted.

We definitely won't be back to Widemouth Bay Park by John Fowler holidays but the area was beautiful. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lb+pm 3 reviews from this member

 We chose this site with some trepidation as it was at our children's insistence that we try a site with more entertainment and facilities than our normal choices.

Whilst the amazing weather obviously helped we were actually really pleased with the site, and would definitely return.

The tent and tourer pitches are above the statics and the rest of the site, meaning that many pitches have sea views and leading to a separateness from the rest of the site. The tent and tourer area has its own warden who was incredibly helpful, giving us copies of the entertainment schedule and providing iceblocks for 30p a go.

We were told to pitch anywhere we liked as long as we were 6m from the next tent and 2m from the roads (paths). We arrived just after a bank holiday and easily found a good pitch in front of a hedge, with a big area in front of us for the children to play in. The site was busy all week, but always felt spacious.

There are 2 shower and toilet blocks. One being older and more remote than the other, but both are kept as clean as is possible on quite a large site. The busier one was grubby by the evening but there was no doubt that the cleaning staff tried their best.

The entertainment was fine - a club house with children's club, bingo etc. It was fairly low key, with no hard selling of stuff for the kids. The food is very limited and deep fried, served in plastic trays and to be avoided.

There is a good little play area, free crazy golf, a small amusements and a good indoor pool. At busy times they limit pool sessions to 50 minutes, but we went about 3pm and there were only about 10 others there.

There is a small supermarket on site, that was basic but fine.

The nearby area is spectacular, particularly Widemouth Bay beach itself, which I think is walkable, although we chose to take the car. There is a great pub in Widemouth Bay (Bay View) and a very good shop, which sold fresh fish, local produce etc.

We'll definitely be going back soon. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widemouth Bay Caravan Park John Fowler Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Widemouth Bay Caravan Park John Fowler Holidays have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widemouth Bay Caravan Park John Fowler Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widemouth Bay Caravan Park John Fowler Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3932 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement