Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site
Bargrennan
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 6RN
Tel: 01671 840280
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 32
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kirstsw 39 reviews from this member

 Lovely well kept site in a great location for the mountain biking trails and forest walks. The kindness path from the site was novel with lots of painted stones of pictures and messages.

Unfortunately the facilities weren't open due to Covid which we knew before we went. Not sure why they couldn't have opened them and made them Covid secure.

Felt it was a little overpriced at £26 p/n for a small campervan and no facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johnki 1 review from this member

 Nice clean site, very friendly check in.

Unfortunately owing to covid restrictions unable to use the facilities offered on site.

Will revisit if in the area in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Currycampers 19 reviews from this member

 We were looking forward to visiting our favourite uk campsite even though local rules dictated that they couldn't open the showers or toilets. A bit of a puzzler as not a problem in the other sites we stayed in in Dumfries and Galloway. Others have managed with a little imagination and common sense

We arrived to find the site under new ownership. The previous owners, Fran and Jen, had worked incredibly hard to make it the perfect place to pitch up, whether under canvas or in a motorhome or caravan.

Although it's a small site, the pitches were generous and Fran and Jen always tried to accommodate everyone. It was a bit of a surprise then, when the pitch we had always known as a single had been split in two and A and B had been written in marker pen on the hook up along with a splitter adaptor for the electric. What they have done is turn a reasonable sized pitch into a supermarket parking space. No room to put out an awning and frankly, in these days of social distance, a bit of a mockery. Not to say they weren't busy.

The lack of opportunity to travel to Europe, combined with the huge number of new vans that were ordered before the pandemic, has really swelled the number of people touring Scotland this September. It won't take those new to the touring life long to realise that almost every other site they visit has a lot more room.

To sum up, a real gem has been ruined by naked greed. It will take a little time, but it will come back to bite them. We won't bother them again with our hard-earned cash. If we want a night in a car park, Scotland has plenty of those. I'm not convinced this sounds as angry as we feel but if you read previous reviews from the last few years you will see why it's been such a great success and how easy it is to ruin a carefully built reputation. 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oscar the motorhome 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely beautiful site, beautiful location, beautiful weather.

Can't praise this site enough. Large pitches, relaxed campsite, Wifi, great location for walking, cycling, dogs and touring the Galloway Forrest.

Lovely 'Kindness Path' to pub or village. Owners lovely. Toilets and facilities perfect.

We have toured Europe and this site is probably the best and price is so reasonable too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Arkwright01 16 reviews from this member

 Great site in a wonderful location. This was the second time that we've been as the first time in June was spoilt a bit by the usual nemesis - the midge! This time was great although the weather could have been better so we could see the stars.

Obviously the site can't control that but what they can control they do very, very well. The pitches are large and give a feeling of space even when the site is full. The facilities are spotless and have the nice touch of a radio playing in the toilet/shower block.

There is a very good dog-walk around a duck pond and a nice touch is an area set aside so you can wash muddy boots/dogs before you enter your van. A lot of sites that charge extra for dogs can learn from this site, this site doesn't charge extra for dogs so why do some - then provide no facilities?

A recently opened path allows easy access to a local pub in one direction and to the village of Glentrool in the other. The visitor centre with a collection of walks is just a short walk away and is well worth a visit.

In summary, this site does everything that we would want from a site and it does it very well indeed. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Frances34 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent smallish quiet site with great facilities (it also has a disabled toilet) and suitable for tents, tourers and motorhomes.

The owners (Fran and Jen) are very helpful and accommodating and don't overfill the site. We usually use this site with our touring caravan but decided to use our tent as we could only manage a short break.

The site has a small bothy with a fridge freezer and microwave that is a great help when you're camping.

It also has a washing machine and dryer with a small outside area to hang your clothes. The site is very well maintained and a great place to take dogs. Newton Stewart is also very dog friendly. There is a duck pond next to the camping area and is a great place to sit and watch the wildlife.

There is now a new path for walking into the village or local pub/restaurant. The restaurant is popular so it is best to book. There is a craft shop in the old school and the volunteers who run it are all friendly and helpful.

The Glentrool forestry commission visitors centre is a great place for light snacks etc and walking. Kirkcudbright village is well worth a visit.

We love going to this site and would highly recommend it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pam H 12 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site with large pitches on edge of Galloway forest and 8 minutes walk from a pub. Friendly staff.

Pristine heated wc/shower facilities complete with radio 2. Hosepipe to wash dogs, very thoughtful! Free good WiFi. On gravel so I imagine it withstands wet conditions well, with separate grass area for tents.

Duck pond with walking area for dogs. Wee bothy must be a boon for those under canvas especially. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GAVWTD 7 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say about Glentrool Camping and Caravan site – a place of tranquil beauty in the heart of the ‘Dark Sky' park that is the Galloway Forest.

We originally booked for 3 nights; however as it is so wonderful here (and even though we have already paid for a 1-night stay at Moffatt C&CC site today) we've decided to stay another night at Glentrool- the peaceful area of the entire area is just too enchanting to leave.

A lot of the thanks has to go to owners Fran and Jen who are very welcoming hosts and really do make everyone feel welcome (something that is not a given we've found out over the last few years of motor homing and grumpy camping sites) and they have a great sense of humour and great deal of knowledge of walks etc. In the area.

Anyway back to the park its a lovely large park and pitches don’t feel cramped at all and plenty of space between each. There’s a nice short dog walk around the back of the site leading around the stunning lily pond (very jealous of that I have to say as their lilies are flowering and mine at home are barely in leaf lol).

Lovely lush green tent areas all around the pond so that mist be wonderful for those bringing a tent. There’s a superb bothy with fridge, microwave, tables and chairs to allow those in tents a comfortable place to cook, eat and chill. At top end of site is a lovely static holiday home area for static owners and I believe 2 statics to hire.

Not sure of static prices but certainly tent and motorhome pitches are very cheap (I reckon they could easily charge more for what you get here).

Shower and toilet facilities are immaculate and have wonderful music (Radio 2 I believe) pumped through so you can shower and listen to a spot of music/news at the same time. There’s a nice little shop at reception that has all essential one could need.

Lastly Fran and Jen have 4 (I think but it could be more) wonderful little ponies who I have loved watching in their paddock and field behind. Plenty of wildlife visits the site nosey Robins, Thrushes and best of all two Red Kites flying above us for a good half hour yesterday.

Anyway I have waffled too much so all in all a wonderful site with the bonus of two wonderful owners. We were lucky having 3 days (so far still 1 day left) of 24/25° sun but I think this site would tick all the boxes even if the weather hadn't been so kind to us.

Thank you Fran and Jen and we'll see you again soon I hope. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunset2 7 reviews from this member

 What a site this is, absolutely amazing from start to finish. Owners very friendly and welcoming and nothing was a problem to them.

Site is very tidy and well kept. Toilets, wash station all very clean. We had two nights here before we moved on.

Next time we return we will take the campervan, it should have an MOT by then.

Thank you for a great stay, we enjoyed every minute. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Currycampers 19 reviews from this member

 We managed to get the last Easter pitch at the last minute and were so glad we did. There are many things that make a great campsite.

Location, size, the facilities and last, but no means least, the welcome. You won't find a better welcome, better location or better facilities than Glentrool.

The whole site is spotless without being soulless. The bothy, kitted out for the tent campers, is something we've never seen before in a site. As this is a stop on the gruelling Southern Upland Way it is a rare and possibly unique feature.

For the family camper the use of a kettle and microwave and fridge -freezer and a nice place to sit and chill out is a blessing, ( and somewhere to charge the phones, tablets etc etc). The shop sells gas, essentials and microwaveable meals for the hungry and nothing seems to be too much trouble for the two ladies who own and run the place.

Nice gastro-pub down the road. 8 min's walk. Dog( and English) friendly with good beers and a really nice Scottish lager. ( Mungos if you're inclined. ) Fabulous walking and cycling around you and the teeming fleshpots of Newton Stewart, a 15 minute drive away, which is entirely self-contained, even having a cinema, let alone a Sainsbury's, Aldi and a truly great butcher. I

If you just want a quiet, peaceful break, or an exhilarating, outdoors, all-action holiday this is the place.

Thanks again Jen and Fran for giving us a week away from the stresses of our lives and for the little, (but to us huge), detail of remembering the pitch we spent our 30th anniversary on last August. I mean, what campsite have you ever been on where that would happen?!

Unsurprisingly. We'll be back. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4213 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement