Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Adgestone Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Adgestone > Adgestone Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Adgestone Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Lower Road
Adgestone
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO36 0HL
Tel: 01983 403432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: 09/04/2022 to 28/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 60 Reviews
                8/10 from 60 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moggssue 24 reviews from this member

 First the good - the site is generally well cared for by friendly helpful staff, grassy pitches with plenty of room and lots of water and electric points.

However - the toilet and shower blocks were very disappointing for a club site, tatty and in need of a good modernisation, lots of flies and cobwebs in dated cubicles. Also, be aware that there is no facility for emptying grey waste.

The surroundings - walk out of the site and down the lane to find footpaths taking you to the road into Sandown or bus stops to Ryde and Shanklin/Ventnor (we used the number 3).

The bus stop is about a 20 minute walk, the beach another ten minutes or so. We also walked along the esplanade to Shanklin which was flat and easy and took about an hour.

Will we return? To the Isle of Wight yes but to Adgestone and Sandown very doubtful. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: RIMMER 196 reviews from this member

 A very quiet, peaceful site on the outskirts of Sandown with very clean toilet facilities.

Seems to be grass only pitches and nearly got stuck after overnight rain on day of departure. Approach roads to site very narrow so care needs to be exercised.

Light aircraft passing overhead during the day were a slight nuisance.

Nothing much locally so need to drive or cycle/walk to get anywhere, no local pub or shop and buses were about a mile away.

Swimming pool was shut however we did receive prior notification of this. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Vario600 8 reviews from this member

 Nice welcome upon arrival after driving up very narrow access road, site does not really have any level pitches and is in poor condition generally.

Facility block is awful and not very clean so despite booking for 4 nights we left after 2 as not worth the risk in these times.

Moved up the road to another site with better facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: *deb* 24 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely stay at this C&CC site for a few nights with 2 tents. We were pitched on grass amongst caravans and tents. Our area had a nice feel to it. It had been raining prior to our visit so the wardens were doing their best to maintain the grass verges from tyre marks etc, with chippings being laid down to prevent too much mud everywhere. The facilities are good, with the main block struggling to cope perhaps with the amount of tent campers in the furthest camping areas. We used the other block as well, as we were located more in the middle area. This block serves more caravanners so it was less stressed. This also has family showers and washing up areas (of varying heights!). We were tent camping so didn't have the caravan. I wouldn't want to tow the route we took so I would take care to plan the route to avoid a last minute panic! We love the attention to detail with C&CC especially the play areas. My daughter loved the outdoor chess & noughts and crosses area but didn't really use the main play area much as it was very busy and perhaps a bit too far away from our pitch. All in all, a really great site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D J M 8 reviews from this member

 This was our fourth visit to Adgestone and it still remains our favourite campsite. The staff here are so hardworking, helpful and friendly trying their very best to make sure all campers have a pleasant stay. Unfortunately this time there were a few families who did not comply with safety rules making it difficult for the staff and fellow campers. This mainly related to not supervising their children at the poolside and allowing them to enter the fishing lakes unaccompanied where the water is deep. The facilities at the campsite are very good. The toilet blocks are regularly cleaned and the parks and pool keep the children entertained. The shop and takeaway are under new management. The takeaway was very busy and the staff were challenged in keeping up with orders. The stock in the shop maybe needed to be reviewed as it did not stock some of the essentials you forget or run out of e. G. Shampoo, shower gel and kitchen roll although it did have frozen Brussels sprouts! The campsite is well situated to visit all the island's attractions. There are some lovely beaches. Admission prices are reasonable and many places provide a return ticket valid for seven days. Going to the Isle of Wight is like a pleasant step back in time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Milo campervan 1 review from this member

 Visited Adgestone for the first time and had a fantastic time the site was immaculate in a fantastic location near to cycle path and nature reserve. The heated swimming pool was great for the kids and the site wardens were friendly and knowledgeable giving great advice on days out and points of local interest. We will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 36 reviews from this member

 Large site close to Lake & Sandown, so in easy reach of eastern beaches. Site is split into several fields all with electric. Toilet blocks are of an older style and are due a revamp. However, they are kept very clean and serviceable. Vans are pitched parallel to the roads rather than the normal right angles due to space available. Unusually for a club site there is an outdoor swimming pool on site. There is also an independently run shop and take away. Approach road to site is quite narrow, in fact only just wide enough for van to pass through, hedges need cutting back. Site team very helpful in every way. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D J M 8 reviews from this member

 This is our third visit to this campsite and we can not fault it. It is perfect for families with children. The staff are friendly and helpful keeping the facilities clean and tidy and checking that rules are being adhered to for the benefit of everyone. There is a an outdoor pool and two play areas plus table tennis and outdoor games. The shop is well stocked with a takeaway facility. The site is close to a lot of attractions. We love it here and would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heed 2 reviews from this member

 Just back to Glasgow after lovely 4 day / 3 night break at Adgestone with Mrs and the teenage Heeds. First time on the Isle of Wight and the site. We had a lovely time, our only complaint was that we were just getting comfy, when we had to leave! We could easily have stayed another couple of days at least there.

First impressions - lovely site, clean, tidy. Very nice welcome. Pitch selection perfect. John showed us to a space near football field / frisbee space as requested on the booking form, found a lovely spot with lots of morning shade and evening light. Didn't have hookup, we're all readers. Ice blocks are available for coolboxes for 50p a freeze with a refundable deposit, Couldn't be bothered cooking the first night so went for lazy option of burgers etc from site shop. Their burgers and sandwiches are simple but good, as are their breakfast rolls. Didn't use the pool myself, but kids liked it. Only open till 7pm though. Excellent covered and floodlit semi-outdooor table tennis table. Playpark facilities good for kids to around 12 but not much here for teenagers. Good campsite-sized (5 a side size?) football pitch

There are lots of (harsh?) reviews on here complaining about shower / toilet blocks but they are clearly in the middle of upgrading these. We were quite a distance away from the main (reception) block, so used the facilities near the plying field, these had been recently repainted and we found them to be very clean and tidy. Showers great too, unlimited quick hot water, and having fresh flowers in the loo block is a lovely touch. Possibly we were spoilt because we were lucky - the site was very quiet for July. I can imagine that if the site were full (it is a very large site, at maybe 10 percent occupancy when we were there) there would be quite a strain on the showers in particular. We didn't use laundry either, so can't comment on that.

Location is pretty good. We're used to waterside campsites, either sea or lochs, so was a bit more inland than our usual. We took bikes and it's a simple ride from the site into Sandown then Shanklin, or a slightly longer but very doable family ride into Newport and back. V close to the round island cycle route, if you're looking for a base to do that. We didn't do nearly enough, too busy doing a lot of chilling out, reading and lazing about, but thoroughly enjoyed it all the same. We preferred the East side to the West - Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor are lovely places to while away an hour or three in the sunshine, The Needles a huge (or rather, tiny), disappointment.

Nice, chilled clientele, clean, tidy site, nice toilets. Lovely staff, good location. We'd certainly go back if going back to IoW. Can't see that happening in a hurry, but if we did, Adgestone would definitely be in the mix. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Harry Clarke 2 reviews from this member

 Visited Adgestone site 7th to 21st June 2015

Fantastic site, site bend over backwards to help you

Campers were all very friendly

I have a large Fifth Wheeler 42 foot in total with truck, John the site manager guided me in with no problem. Don't be frightened of the narrow lanes as there are plenty of passing places, if I can get my unit in you will get most outfits in.

We will probably go each year now

On a personal note thanks John and all tour staff, you made us feel most welcome

Kindest regards

Harry Clarke 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Adgestone Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Adgestone Camping And Caravanning Club Site have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Adgestone Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Adgestone Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Adgestone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3534 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement