Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tudor Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Slimbridge > Tudor Caravan Park Reviews

Tudor Caravan Park
Shepherds Patch
Slimbridge
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7BP
Tel: 01453 890483
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 240 Reviews
                8/10 from 240 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  240 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 Good site but a pity their shop only has camping gear as the nearest shop is a long walk away - there is room for more goods.

Excellent location for Slimbridge Wetland Centre - a ten minute walk.

Can't rate child friendliness as don't have children.  


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrsimpoo 3 reviews from this member

 This ssite is lovely, well laid out spacious hard standing pitches, the pub on site very good, lovely canal walks on your doorstep, Frampton-on-Severn well worth a walk to along the canal path, Slimbridge wetlands on the doorstep too.

The site is kept very clean and always felt safe even with the new covid rules, lovely toilet and shower block and laundry/washing up area. Friendly reception staff,

Only downside here, is that the buses only run and not frequently along the main road which is a good walk (and very few footpaths)away through Slimbridge village which also is lacking any shop/coffee house/pub, such a shame, come on Slimbridge, needs an entrepreneur, Frampton coffee shop is brilliant 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Keith70 1 review from this member

 An excellent site in a lovely location right next to the Gloucester Sharpness canal and a 10 minute level walk from Slimbridge Wetlands Trust. (A must visit attraction. )

Covid restrictions meant some facilities were restricted but we felt very safe in communial areas.

The welcome in reception was warm and friendly, our pitch in The Orchard was level, clean and tidy, and the whole site particularly quiet at night.

Add to this a pub serving excellent food just outside the site entrance and you can see why we highly recommend Tudor Caravan Park. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ms.trishy 10 reviews from this member

 Booked this site because of proximity to Slimbridge WWT. A lovely site and we were welcomed by friendly staff.

The site was tidy and level, can’t comment on the facilities as we decided to just use our own but we had a lovely stay.

The pub next door had good Covid precautions and we had a lovely fish and chips there.

Good walks along the canal, watching the boats and a fantastic day out at the WWT.

We’d definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Richard04 2 reviews from this member

 Very good campsite with spotless facilities. Range of types of pitch. Very helpful staff. Situated behind a pub that serves excellent meals.

Adjacent to the canal providing excellent walking/cycling, and half a mile from the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust. Good walks around the Severn estuary and attractive nearby villages for exploring 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maddy Old 11 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, easy access although there were lots of vehicles parked along the road very near to the entrance with no space for anyone to pull into.

Lovely walks/cycle rides along the canal and very close to Slimbridge.

If we had gone on first impressions though we wouldn't have been very impressed as the lady on reception wasn't very cheerful or helpful.

Having said that we will definitely go back again 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thebennetts 1 review from this member

 Great site, I have already booked again.

Well laid out next to the Gloucester and Sharpness canal and Slimbridge Wetland Centre.

Great real ale pub at entrance serving all day breakfast. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SamandRose 24 reviews from this member

 We had arranged to meet relatives in Slough over the August bank holiday weekend, and had left it late to arrange anywhere to stay. So when we saw that Tudor Caravan Park still had availability, it seemed that our luck was in. An "award-winning" site, next to a beautiful-looking canal and adjacent the Tudor Arms pub, which had been awarded "Best country pub of the year" by CAMRA? Too good to be true, surely?

Sadly, yes. The reason why the site still had availability became apparent when we tried to book. They had a minimum 5-night stay policy, which was 2 nights more than work commitments would allow us to stay for. Now, a minimum 3-night stay over a bank holiday weekend I can understand, because if a site let someone book just two nights they probably wouldn't sell the third. But I'm sorry, a minimum 5 nights just felt like a rip-off.

And the hidden costs didn't end there. To select your pitch, rather than having it automatically allocated to you cost an extra £5. And the wifi was so expensive that it was cheaper to buy more internet data.

We ended up booking anyway, because we couldn't find anywhere else available locally and the idea of meeting our relatives over a different weekend was unthinkable to 'she who must be obeyed'. But the effect was to leave a bad taste in my mouth before we had even arrived, which is never a good thing.

Perhaps this left me too ready to be critical, but whilst there was little to fault during our stay, there wasn't a lot to be impressed by either. Take the check in process. There wasn't one, not really. We booked and paid online and on arrival, our pitching instructions were pinned to a notice board. Perhaps this is very astute as a means to avoid exposure to Covid-19, but a friendly greeting to a campsite can make the whole stay feel that bit more special.

And if the owners were that worried about Covid-19 they really should have paid more attention to the shower block. The least they could have done would have been to prop the doors permanently open to improve air flow, relocate the vending machine and perhaps, on one of the busiest weekends of the year, had some sort of token system to limit the numbers of people inside. But they hadn't done any of this. So after using the block once, and feeling that it was uncomfortably crowded, I resorted to using our own facilities for the rest of our stay. This wasn't a problem, other than it felt as though we were paying for facilities we weren't using.

Then there's the canal. Yes, it's next to the site but it's on an embankment several metres higher, so you don't get a view of it. If you have children, they'll be welcome on the site and able to play games on an open grassy area in the middle of the site. But there's no actual designated play area. And we had a meal at the Tudor Arms pub, which was perfectly pleasant. But the best in Gloucestershire? Not a chance.

On the plus side, the hardstanding pitches are in good condition and are very clean. We had a lovely time visiting our relatives and walking their dog on Selsey and Minchinhampton Commons, and visiting Berkeley castle. I enjoyed my morning run along the canal towpath, the Black Shed cafe does good breakfast sandwiches and home-made cakes and a visit to Slimbridge Wetland Reserve (only about 15 minutes walk from the site) is a day well spent. It's worth noting though that the site is more wildlife park than wetland reserve, with almost all of it consisting of good quality footpaths. That's great if you need accessibility for a wheelchair or pushchair. Less so if you've put stout walking shoes on and after 5 minutes, wish you'd worn sandals.

Judged purely on its location and facilities, this site is good. But we didn't think it was better than good. It met all of our expectations but surpassed none. Our main problem is that in order to leave a lasting good impression in the hospitality industry, the key thing is to make the customers think that they are more important than their money. This site really did the opposite. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stephe 1 review from this member

 Very well kept site: nicely laid out, immaculately clean & tidy. Location is ideal for Slimbridge WWT - just a 10-15 minute walk down the lane. Also very convenient for the Tudor Arms pub and the Black Shed on the canal side for food and drinks. Nice for an evening walk along the towpath and the fisherman also seemed to appreciate the canal.

However it hasn’t got much else going for it. The most expensive campsite we’ve ever been to anywhere in Europe, the services and facilities were no more than average at best. Just a plain EHU without the usual (for this price) personal tap, grey water drain and TV connection. Although they’re mostly not our taste, for this price you’d expect much more facilities: play area/swimming pool/club house, etc. Other than Slimbridge WWT, there’s not a lot around and there are much more convenient sites (and cheaper!) for the Cotswolds and Gloucester.

I’d imagined we’d be situated on a canal side watching the boats but in fact the canal is 15 feet above the site so all you can see is an embankment. Consequently the site is fairly plain with no view other than across fields. For this kind of money we’ve previously had gorgeous views over the sea bays, lakes, rivers, etc. Not here.

So in summary this is a pleasant, quiet, very tidy, well-kept site but it is basic and not very conveniently located other than for the birds. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lovelo 1 review from this member

 Clean and tidy site. Quite. Nice walks along canal towpath. Great food and service in on site pub.

Only downside have pay for WiFi but can't get Internet. 
via mobile


Previous     240 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tudor Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tudor Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tudor Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Slimbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8968 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement