Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ty Newydd Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Llanbedrgoch > Ty Newydd Leisure Park Reviews

Ty Newydd Leisure Park
Llanbedrgoch
Llanbedrgoch
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL76 8TZ
Tel: 01248 450677
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 30 Reviews
                5/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woodst 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 4 night stay and left disappointed. The pictures on the website look great and very appealing, but very different to what it seems. The toilets were disgusting and of low quality. They were dirty and unkept, I had to ask for toilet paper twice which is not acceptable especially with young Children,

The site seemed to cater more for caravans and statics than tents and you were within a small area. The indoor swimming pop and bar area was fairly new. The outdoor pool was unkept and still needs a lot of work. The children's play area was unsafe, equipment in need a repair and open rocks on the swing area. A lot of work needs to be carried out on th site. One positive was the wifi access was good.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stereferee 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay. (although we only ended up staying 2) on arrival we entered a very smelly and run down reception area. Not a good first impression! The website offered views of Snowdonia but the only views for camping and touring are static caravans, a car parking area or a huge conifer hedge. The outdoor pool area needs attention - overgrown plants and weeds, flagstones that need replacing. The indoor pool again needs finishing and the smell of sewers is far from pleasant.

The games room is a locked shed but the field is adequate for playing ball games.

The mens toilet block was OK and acceptable. The ladies toilet block was disgusting with broken and missing tiles. Door frames were covered in cobwebs and dead spiders. The sinks in the morning resembled a challenge from I'm a celebrity get me out of here!'

Washing up facilities were unacceptable very unclean.

Don't be led astray by the website! We enjoy camping and only expect a basic standard but this site fell well below.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Archol 2 reviews from this member

Was disappointed with this site. Paid more than usual (26 a night)as we thought facilities looked good. Staff / owners were very polite and helpful on arrival and we were told to go and choose our pitch and was warned the site was very wet.

We were fine with that as it was only April. Pitched caravan only getting slightly stuck!. However the toilet block was very run down, needed a coat of paint and some TLC.

Gents toilet had doors missing, no hot water in sinks and were not cleaned the whole time we were there. Consequently floors were very muddy(including the showers). Dish washing facilities were appalling.

To put the top hat on it the electric went off to the hook ups three times on the Sunday.

The only up side to this site is that it had a bar! Have stayed on a lot better at a much cheaper rate. This site is 38 a night peak season, I don't think we will be going again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Kayr 1 review from this member

I have just returned from a most pleasant stay at this campsite. We booked a static caravan at short notice for four nights and the reviews on the internet were, well lets say not fantastic. I sent an email enquiring about availability and had a prompt reply.

The next day I rang and booked the break in a four berth static caravan. Due to poor reviews on the internet I was a tad nervous before arriving but I needn't of been. It was great! We were welcomed by the owner and walked up to the caravan itself.

The campsite is in a beautiful setting, we could often here the sound of sheep and cows in the morning. The caravan was immaculate, spacious, real home from home. Although there is a bar and restaurant on site noise was not a problem and we had 4 great nights sleep. There is a small play area for the children too, as well as an outside swimming pool.

We had no problems at alk and would most definitely revisit. Mrs rush

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonesyclan 2 reviews from this member

Feeling ripped off and disappointed. Booked this site for the bank holiday weekend web site made it look and sound great. Went with some friends one of which is wheelchair bound.

We booked from the Saturday and decided to see if there was any space for the Friday night told there was at an additional 38. 00 per unit so we decided not to bother asked what time we could get on site on the Saturday and checked both pitches were together - the reply was we don't allocate pitches but the earlier you get here the better chance you have being together you can come any time from 9. 00am we stayed at a CL site Friday and arrived at Ty Newydd at just after 9 - went in to reception and was told to drive around and see if anything was empty don't think anyone has left yet!

After an hour we asked what time pitches would be free 11ish or 12ish so we had to sit and wait in the car park for three hours. Eventually someone came down to show us to some pitches one of which was right outside a static caravan the electric box was taped up with a black bin bag we declined as we hadn't paid 120 for 3 nights to stay on a makeshift pitch.

We eventually got two pitches together and set up. About half seven I took my 3 year old to the toilet and although not pitch black it was very dark as a lady came out from the showers I asked her where the light switch was -there isn't one and the lights havnt been working for 2 weeks !

In fairness the lights did come on about 9. 30pm so we thought the problem was resolved. The following day our friend asked for the disabled bathroom key as his radar key didn't fit a box of old spare keys was tipped on the desk 'try this on cant remember what key it is' after checking the wrong key was returned and he was given the right one.

He came back and asked us to go back with him the disabled facilities has no shower curtain no toilet roll no hot water and frosted glass windows you could see through. Later that night about 9pm I went into the ladies and our 2 12 year old boys went into men's showers after a couple of mins all the lights went out and we were stuck in the pitch black the kids went flying because they panicked in the dark. I can promise you I was not impressed.

The toilets/showers were not cleaned once the whole weekend they were filthy there was no toilet roll in any of them and us and other campers kept telling the staff and after about 5 hours they finally filled them up. The outdoor pool was dirty and over grown the steps in were loose (other campers have video'd and photographed these) the indoor pool was very small but warm but unfinished !

The restaurant and bar were very nice but overpriced and were obviously only built there for the static and lodge owners. There are no lights around the site so once its dark that's it With a bit of TLC and dropped pitch fees it could probably be a nice place but I'm afraid I will never go back to find out

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suzi15 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this park in May 2013, as web page sold it to me. Would not re-visit, very very tired looking site with building rubble all around. overpriced for what you get.

Signed in at reception, and was told to find our own pitch (very difficult, couldn't find hook-ups easy) and pitches were not clearly marked. Only grass no hard standing.

Toilet block ( what a laugh) ladies had 6 toilets but only 5 working. Only 2 very shabby showers, and only a hook on back of door, but hot water and pressure ok. 4 wash basins with very Luke warm water not hot. No waste bins only in a couple of toilets, which were used to catch the dripping water when it rained. Hair dryer did not work. Only 1 hand drier, which took forever to dry your hands. The ladies was probably only cleaned once a day (during the day). Men's 2 showers, my dad complained that one of the toilets was blocked ( the park locked that door) so left 3 toilets working but one never had a door.

Laundry room and baby changing room locked and looked like they had been for months.

Chemical waste point and waste water point, have been placed too high, you have to climb up then lift the waste to empty. Washing up point, had no hot water when I tried.

Swimming pools. Indoor pool looks fairly new or refurbished, but was not very warm, very steep step into pool, no ladder to help you get in or out. Patio door very stiff, no toilet or shower, nearest is a trek over to shower block. Lots of work still needed to finish off. Outdoor pool, very cold not heated as advertised, ladders at each end of pool, but are loose. Looks like a building site, Lots of work still needed to finish off. Gates are locked at night and a cover is put over the outdoor pool.

The club house was not open for the first 2 nights of my stay, so never even bothered to have a visit when it did open.

Free wi-fi, yes for the first couple of days, then could not get a signal, so waste of time.

Children's play area. Needs attention! Trees need trimming back.

This site is mainly set up for static and lodges, not for touring or camping!

Nearest shop was in Benllech, which is about 2 miles and not 1 mile as stated. This beach was nice. Not many shops, tesco express, spar and co-op, Indian and Chinese couple of cafes and 2 charity shops and 1 gift shop.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GH02 1 review from this member

I'm surprised there are some negative views for this site. We had our touring caravan here for a full season on a seasonal pitch a couple of years ago, before selling it and buying a camper van.

The owner Mike, is a really nice bloke, and the site has a lovely relaxed feel to it, a really nice bar & restaurant and swimming pools etc.

I've read complaints about not enough lighting on site, and having to find their own way to pitches etc?? I think those people should be staying in a hotel! Some sites we've stayed at don't like any noise, children, dogs etc, but here there's a really friendly and relaxed feel to the site.

A great site, and excellent value for money, in a fantastic location. We will definitely be going back this year.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ganda625 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site in August as the internet site sold it to us. Wish I had read the reviews below before we booked.

Lovely people but would never go back. No marked out pitches surrounded by tents and very noisy children from the static caravans on site. Clearly the focus is on the statics and lodges as the touring area is one circle of grass at the bottom.

Toilet block is just sad, only two showers and a leaking roof (gents). Two toilets permanently locked and dirty showers (ladies). Laundry room out of action and club house work in progress.

The site description is pure fiction I would never call this a country club and the restaurant is grossly over priced. We were charged 38 per night not worth more than 12.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kate Everitt 6 reviews from this member

We booked at this site about 2 months ago, we were really looking forward to all the extras we don't normally go for, and that we were paying for.

On arrival the site looks like a work in progress, the owner showed us to the touring field and we picked a spot. We arrived at about 1pm, a quick trip to the toilets didn't inspire me, but it was quite busy and we had a lot to do - ladies has 5 toilets and two small showers, and about 5 sinks, a hairdryer (which works) and hand dryer. There are no bins so rubbish tends to gather on the shelves and floor.

The next day our friends arrived, and they were the reason that we had booked the site, one of our friends has a serious heart condition and good facilities were essential, that and the fact that our oldest son has autism and a working laundrette is also a blessing. That night we had problems with kids from the statics, who were very noisy on a number of nights, we mentioned it to the owner the next day, she was very apologetic.

I'd like to say at this point that everyone connected with the site was lovely, but unfortunately that doesn't help with the problems that we had. The pool was freezing, our friend couldn't use it, our kids dithered on the edge, we sussed out the radiators, that helped, we mentioned the temp, it increased - slightly, but still too cold considering the weather was dreadful.

The ladies showers only had one good shower the other was a 'dodge and hope' shower head. For some reason 40% of the toilets were shut off on the wednesday and never re-opened. They were cleaned every day, and the water was hot and plentiful. Water poured through the ceiling when it rained though, maybe that was why those 2 toilets were closed off? The doors are propped open all the time so a shower is a drafty affair to say the least. The shower cubicles are small with nowhere to put clothes and only one peg.

In the laundrette, neither of the 2 washers work (and reading other reviews only one has been working for a while), but there is a dryer 50p for half an hour (with hand washed bedsheets, it takes more than 50p). There is also an iron. The washing up area had two sinks but only one plug. The gents had no hand dryer or towels and no soap, showers good though. The disabled toilet is inaccessible to anyone but the most able bodied person, there is a slope up to it, but to get to the slope you have to cross 20 feet of bumpy grass and manhole covers, (not sure what they are like on the inside - key required).

The bins overflowed and only one was emptied, the rest of the rubbish was left on the ground.

There is no hard standing for mobile homes, no shop, no post office in village (that I found - but I was losing the will to live around this point). The restaurant looks lovely, but is so expensive its untrue, the clubhouse is a bar, the entertainment is a TV, karaoke or bingo. There are no toilets or changing facilities at the pools.

The games room is quite far removed from the bar, near the road it sells sweets early evening, which the kids liked and also has a tourist info area. The play area is great.

The large tarmaced area housed a static caravan just plonked not secured or steadied in anyway, and two lodges, which are split down the middle (just far enough apart for my son to ride his bike between - only the once though), one was on steadies, the other swung gaily in the breeze on its axles.

The 1 mile to the beach is actually 2, but it is a nice walk, and there are a couple of alternate routes for variety. You wouldn't want to carry anything to and from the beach though. The ring road shown in the gallery no longer exists, lodges are being built. There are no longer 40 pitches.

We paid 38 a night for this, half of what is advertised is inaccurate, the other half is optimistic. We have paid less than this and had proper pools, and completed buildings, and working facilities, if you pay more than 20 to stay on this site you are mad.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chicgal 8 reviews from this member

We stayed for 4 nights and then moved to a different site due campers in front of use all competing with each other with their tv's and radios!

What a shame, this site has so much potential. We booked on account of their website, which has been put together very well and sells the site. However, we were told when we booked that the restaurant wouldn't be open on the Saturday night due to a private function in the bar, but chef may produce some bar food. This didn't happen so we drove to benllech for fish and chips, so not a problem.

The restaurant we found out later that it only opens on a Friday an Saturday. The bar remained shut until my husband had a word with the barman who had a word with the owner. It was opened for a couple of hours. The reason given was they only open it during the summer! Both the bar and restaurant are to a high standard and the menu looks fabulous.

The outdoor swimming pool was closed and we did use the indoor swimming pool which although it was small was ok. There are no shower facilities or changing facilities in the pool area, which meant a trek across the field to the shower block!

There does still appear to be building work going on ( a conservatory).

The site is mainly statics and lodges with a central area lined with trees for shade for the campers and is very well maintained. It is all very clean. The showers and toilets are clean also.

It was good value for money. A shop would be advantageous for essentials. Everyone was very friendly.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Does Ty Newydd Leisure Park have a swimming pool?   YES    View all facilities

Is Ty Newydd Leisure Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Llanbedrgoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2745 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020