Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Forest Holidays Christchurch

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Coleford > Forest Holidays Christchurch Reviews

CLOSED: Forest Holidays Christchurch
Bracelands Drive
Christchurch
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 119 Reviews
                8/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please be aware that this site will be closing for touring bookings as of 28th February 2014. It now has luxury wooden lodges for hire only. No tents or caravans any longer.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KevsKevs 2 reviews from this member

The site is in a beautiful setting within the Forest of Dean and, as we went in September, there was plenty of space. The staff were very welcoming and the shop sells delicious croissants. Lovely!

The only negative thing I can comment on was the weird and baffling yelling coming from the cabin area behind our tent which went on throughout the night we were there. We decided that the noise was either down to a bunch of people looking for their dog, child or confused grandparent or down to a film crew shooting a Blair-Witch-type film. Eerie.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dipsybird 8 reviews from this member

Arrived in the very nice reception area and shop with restaurant. Friendly check in and advised to pitch any where as long as it was at least six meters away from other tents. Great freedom we thought however being August and arriving late not much choice of pitches left (so arrive early if you want a good pitch).

Pitch sizes were good and pizza was good in the restaurant. This is about as positive I can be about this site. The toilet blocks were disgusting the worst site I have ever been in the loos were half broken the sinks and tile were cracked the grouting dirty. But the worst thing was the washing up facilities wooden draining boards (alive with bacteria). I refused to use the showers and came home early smelling!

Good day out at Puzzlewood amazing.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Warbis66 28 reviews from this member

Sadly wont return:

Reception looks lovely but what a ridiculous set up, the shop sells 'yummy mummy ' food but not anything remotely useful.

The loo blocks are terrible, really badly set out. If they can spend money on the reception then they can invest in decent loo blocks.

Lovely setting but spoiled by tents crammed in on top of each other and very expensive. Stupidly paid for three nights but abandoned after one due to weather and general dislike of the site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Frequent camper 1 review from this member

We have been coming to this campsite for many years and have just spent another weekend there. We have seen this site develop positively over the years although there are a few quirks. The reception area with cafe and shop is now a real asset and instead of a few grumpy old men running the site the staff are more friendly and welcoming.

As has been noted the shower block could do with an update. The water is adjustable temperature wise and can be really hot and plentiful but comes from a fixed shower head. As campsite showers are the world over, there is never enough space to shower and keep your clothes dry and enough hooks or chairs to put things on. I end up going for a shower at a quiet period and leaving things in the main area. I hope when they modernise things they think of modern camping with family rooms and wash basins in cubicles and avoid shower curtains!

The washing up facilities that are outdoors have better sinks. The ones in a room have wooden draining boards that don't drain. The water however is usually very hot which is a real plus.

I love this campsite because of it's setting and we put our Campervan without hookup at the bottom of the field where it is really flat. I am a pensioner but do not mind the children as there is never music or loud parties, it is not that kind of site, even on Bank Holidays.

It is open in winter and once we were there for New Year when they arranged a party. The walks from the site are endless and we have done 'Go Ape' and canoeing and the grandchildren love the freedom of cycling without traffic but it is the forest and the peace and the walking we love best.

It is pricey I think and I really don't think they should make you pay for 3 nights over Bank holidays as I know that has put several of my friends off from coming to join us even when the site was half full. It is our default campsite what ever the weather but then we do have a cosy campervan.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melk1969 3 reviews from this member

If you want peace and quiet give this a miss, especially on weekends and when kids are off school.

The staff were lovely but made it very clear that we were not to pitch within 6 metres of anyone else, so we didn't. Well, weekend came and it was a free for all, kids running riot everywhere, and someone had pitched just 2 metres from us while we were out.

Showers/toilets in need of updating. Showers are far too powerful, like being showered with needles, with no adjustments. The only place to put ALL of your toiletries is a soap dish, no hooks inside shower itself.

Dishwashing area had a lot of bugs in one sink which looked like cockroaches but they weren't they were much bigger.

Shop was lovely but very expensive.

Area amazing for walks and trips out.

All in all, if you don't mind living on top of each other, with kids running riot everywhere then this is the place for you. If you want peace and quiet then go midweek or go somewhere else.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshinecamp 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a few days camping at Christchurch in The Forest of Dean. Location of the site was excellent. Very helpful reception staff and lovely shop/cafe. The toilet/shower block was the worst I have come across. Really needs updating. No sink cubicles, no tables or chairs in the showers to put clothes. Toilets always rather dirty with toilet roll everywhere as the dispenses didn't work properly.

If you are planning on doing any cycling there are no cycle paths directly from the campsite. We drove to Pedalabikeaway cycle centre which was about 10 minutes away. This is a brilliant cycle centre with all levels of cycle routes as well as cycle hire if needed. We did a 12 mile circular family route which was ideal for us with 2 children (ages 6 and 9). There is a little detour off the circular route down to a beautiful lake and also where Go Ape is based. Well worth the 1. 5km detour.

Puzzlewood is also well worth a visit and Beechenhurst lodge has a great climbing tower which the kids loved. Also you start the Sculpture trail from here.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hobbits 19 reviews from this member

Visited this site over the BH weekend at the end of May as I was running a trail run at the nearby Speech House.

We were glad we booked as we arrived at about 6. 30pm on the Friday night and found space with relative ease but the site filled rapidly and not everyone respected the 'no pitching within 6m rule'.

The reception building is lovely, obviously recently updated and the staff were helpful despite being very busy. The option of getting a hot meal was quite tempting and the selection of local bottled beers to buy were too, but the shop did seem pricey and ran out of things like milk quite quickly.

The toilet blocks are definitely the weakest point of the whole site. They are dated but their appearance was worsened by the toilet paper that ended up being spread around because the dispensers don't work properly. If you overlooked this then they were reasonably clean and the showers were certainly powerful. Until the Monday morning when there was no water. Thankfully I hadn't got into a shower with my 3 year old at that point but one lady had just shampooed her hair when it went off :-(

There are some nice walks from the site, and a reasonable play area for kids. There were lots of big groups but these were mostly families so noise wasn't really a problem.

Overall I would stay again, but will definitely investigate alternatives before next year's trail run as the toilet blocks really do let it down. I hope they do some refurbishment in the off season.

On the plus side there is loads to do in this area, especially for families: Beechenhurst Lodge has the sculpture trail; Puzzlewood is where they film bits of Doctor Who and Tree Fu Tom, and the railway just across from the latter is great for little kids.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dk168 21 reviews from this member

I stayed for 3 nights free out of 4 nights at this site courtesy as a prize from UKCS for my tent review of the Hypercamp Escala 4.

It is my first visit to a Camping in the Forest sites, and the location of this site did not disappoint, being right in the middle of the Forest of Dean, within walking distance from Symonds Yat Rock which was definitely worth a visit.

Plenty of walks leading directly from the site itself. There is also a cycling centre not far from the campsite that offers a number of cycle routes with different ability ratings.

I did not visit the cycle centre as I was not fit enough to do more than a couple of loops around the camp site with the dog running next to the bike on a suitable lead.

Being the low season, only one facilities block was opened, and there was no shortage of hot water.

The cleanliness of the facilities are adequate, however, they could benefit from more frequent high level cleaning.

There was no stool or shelf in the shower cubicle to put anything down, like the usual shampoo and soap etc. , which I found a tad inconvenient.

The lighting and heating in the toilet/shower room is operated by a single motion sensor placed on top of the door. Be prepared to find yourself in the dark if you spend too long inside a cubicle when the camp site is quiet at night!

There was no plug for the sinks in the dishwashing room, and I needed to provide my own. Again, I found that a tad inconvenient.

The visitors centre on site has a shop attached to it, which is well-stocked with food, drinks and other provisions, primarily aimed at the those who are staying at the cabins IMHO, as the selection of camping-related items was rather limited.

I cannot comment on the prices as I did not need to purchase any provisions.

WiFi is rather expensive at 5 GBP a day, and allegedly only work at the visitors centre. However, I found I managed to get good mobile internet reception using my 3-mobile dongle in my tent.

The staff were helpful and friendly.

I only needed to pay for 11.50 GBP for the extra night, as I received a discount of 2.00 GBP being a solo camper, and another discount of 3.50 GBP being a member of the C&CC, which I considered as good value for money.

There is a play area for kids which looked well-equipped to me.

In summary, a site at a great location, somewhat let down by the facilities.

I may try their other site nearby, namely Bracelands, as the main facilities block that was opened appeared to be better maintained when I went to check it out. Hopefully, I shall be fitter and can manage a few miles at the cycle centre.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayz 1 review from this member

Great time. We went to christchurch site recently and had a great time, we went canoeing which reception booked for us, it was good fun we also went to the New Inn which was recommended by the staff, real good food, the site shop had a quiz night on, we joined in. We found the site staff really helpful,

One lady who was working in reception was great very welcoming and helpful, very knowledgeable about the campsite and the company

The shower blocks were dated and need of update, the site was not busy so had some nice areas to choose from, didn't see meny staff on site apart from when they cleaned the toilets, would definitely return, my son enjoyed his chocolate pizza, the food was good and not a bad price, they also sell great gifts especially the bagged sweets,

Good Campsite, look forward in going back, would recommend.

Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4542 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019