Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandy Haven Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Sandy Haven Camping Park
Herbrandston
Milford Haven
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA73 3ST
Tel: 01646 698844
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 53
Open: Easter To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deepthoughtbill 1 review from this member

I first came across this campsite over 20 years ago while doing the Pembrokeshire Coast Path and stayed there last year because it is fairly unusual in being a campsite with convenient and free access to the sea for launching small craft. I am taking my kids there this summer.

The campsite has a glorious position on a bluff overlooking a fine beach with the haven on the right, on a small lane that descends down to become a high tide slipway before terminating on the sand (at low tide) of the haven. When the tide's in you have a fantastic area for safe mucking about on boats/kayaks etc and when the tide's out you have a lovely beach for swimming, gentle bodyboarding, football etc, and the haven becomes a beguiling creek for crabbing from the causeway. It's all right there.

Add in the coast path, quiet lanes for cycling, Dale for pub and watersports action and endless fine beaches round the 'corner' of St Anne's head towards St Davids with Skomer and Skokholm islands as well, and you have plenty to keep you busy.

I liked the no frills no power nature of the site (could still get as much 4G as I wanted), a tranquil place where the ever- changing view out over Milford Haven past the old fort and the tankers heading out to sea was something I never tired of.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sepen69 2 reviews from this member

Fab site, facilities which consist of toilet, shower and dishwashing block are just perfect. Clean and well maintained. The site itself is set in the most beautiful surroundings and I keep coming back again and again. Children are a joy to behold here as there isn't a shop for miles.

No electric hook up available here, which makes it even nicer as you don't get surrounded by people with their tv's.

Its just a good old fashioned camp site and its not ripping anyone off either, the price is really good value.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: A1234 2 reviews from this member

Nice view, quiet position. But hot water only came on sometimes, which meant cold showers in April :-( Otherwise I would describe the facilities as adequate (would have liked a plug to use a hair dryer). Fine if you don't mind these home comforts, but not for me.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Marinapanda 1 review from this member

Great site, offering showers and toilets which are always clean and tidy. The site is sloping, but not to bad. The keys for the toilets are necessary as there is a public car park next to the campsite, and the hot water for showers and dish washing are always available. You will need a touch for night time as there are only solar light, which are not very bright.

The site is about 10 mins from milford haven, but the town itself is a little tired and run down, but the marina area is very popular with a varied selection of restaurants, and shops. The site is great to go and visit other parts of this area like little haven, or St Davids

Go here if you want to get away from everything, right next to a lovely beach and the coastal path. We keep on returning to this site, always able to chill out and relax. We able to take our dog, as long as she is on a lead, but there are lovely walks in the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonpimm 1 review from this member

Fab little site, if you were any closer to the beach you would be in the sea!

Non-commercial site with no shop etc but one a short distnce away in village.

Kids loved the rock pools, sandy beach, swimming in the sea, crabbing and bbq's.

Reasonable price (36 for 2 adults and 2 kids for two nights with two tents.

Toilets / showers in good order.

Bit tricky to find as not that well signposted and down a narrow winding lane.

Will defo be going back sometime soon.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coastwalker 37 reviews from this member

A decent site I would visit again, reasonably priced.

The site is down a narrow lane from Herbrandston (Don't follow road signs to Sandy Haven- you will end up on the wrong side of the river). There is a field for static vans, a 'paddock' for motor homes and a camping field. The camping field is flat at the top but the slope steepens towards the sea. Plots are allocated, so a check with the owner when booking might help re siting. The toilets and showers are on key entry (to keep out the public). When I was there these facilities were in good order and clean, but it was quiet during my visit and I would guess that at peak times the few toilets and showers would hardly cope.

The site faces onto the Milford Haven deep harbour, with views over to Angle and the tanker jetties, which I found interesting but some may not. You can hear the refineries on a quiet night. Closer to hand, within yards of the site is the beach which has sand for the kids and some really good rock pools (bring your net) At the side of the site is a small tidal river- the tide times are on a notice at the end of the lane so you can work out when the stepping stones will be above water.

The nearest shop is the post office/ convenience store in Herbrandston, about 3/4 mile distant. Milford Haven is a proper small town 4 miles away with a line of shops on the main street and a new 'outlet' park with a large Tesco. The harbour/marina is worth a look.

The site is popular with coast walkers and families.

The only downsides I noticed were that the field is next to a free public car park for the beach where the local numbnuts like to rev their little cars with big exhausts in the evenings, (and the police seem to check quite regularly) and on Friday Mr and Mrs 4WD and their mates Mr and Mrs Huge Pickup come camping and chat quietly at the top of their voices until after 1 a. M. Not the fault of the site though.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martinfamily 1 review from this member

I was recommended this campsite by someone at work and we loved the small friendly set up and the fact that it is so non-commercial. Do note there is no shop, no electrical hook up, no hairdryers and no facility to do freezer blocks -but this did not detract from a relaxing and enjoyable time.

It is a bit of a faff with the keys for the shower and toilet block, but we quickly got used to it - needed as the Public have access to the beach and there is a public car park near to the camping field. Basic shower and toilet facilities but close to hand, clean and did not need to queue. A lantern is handy for night time trips as lights are solar powered.

It REALLY is only a short walk to the beach which is fab with young children. When you get the tide right it is a very interesting beach to spend the day on with both lovely sand and lots of rock pools to explore.

We found 'The Late Shop' in the next village going back towards Haverford West handy to buy milk and BBQ food.

I was a little concerned that there was no play area/park for the children, but we took baminton, cricket set, balls etc and the children from the 12 or so pitches just all shared and played together on the grass in the middle of the field until dark, where we could all see them.

A good time was had by all and we plan to return next year.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachieb 17 reviews from this member

Fab views from the camping field, with a path access to the beach, or alternatively access the beach via the slipway, from the statics field.

Ideal site to launch a boat, jetski, canoe, kayak etc

Great beach for crabbing! great fun for the kids

Clean toilet, shower blocks which are kept locked ( each guest given keys upon arrival ) so as to stop the public using them ( the beach carpark is on the same site as the camping carpark)

Lights in the blocks are solar powered,so bring a torch / lantern as it begins to get dark!

Milford has a largeish Tesco, as well as Boots, Peacocks etc on the same retail park.

The Harbourmaster bar restaurant in Milford Marina is excellent. There is also Pirate Petes / Phoenix Bowl, bowling and softplay, ( also a bar and diner ) which is handy on a wet day!

If you do not know the area, there is plenty to do,and better beaches further out from Sandy Haven eg Broad Haven, Newgale etc

Also for a day out Folly Farm and Oakwood are excellent ( and can use Tesco clubcard deals !)

We would definitely return to this site in the future

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmielou83 1 review from this member

We had a lovely stay here. Weather was pretty poor but we managed to find a lot to do in the local area. The kids really enjoyed Folly Farm, Oakwood was expensive but a good action packed day, there are lots of historical sites and some things that are a little different. We really enjoyed Pemberton's Welsh Chocolate Farm which was a really different day out, obviously chocolate is always great. We loved the site and are planning to return this year.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Victoria chapman 1 review from this member

A beautiful campsite, very clean, very safe for children, very peaceful and relaxing.

Most of all, there is a really friendly atmosphere. I have been to many campsites all over England and Wales and Scotland. Sandy Haven is my favourite. A little anecdote:

I lost my wedding ring on the way to the showers,everybody kept looking for it, On our last day, Jack in a caravan had a metal detector (as you do) and he found my ring, amazing isn't it?

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2855 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019