Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Faskally Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Pitlochry > Faskally Caravan Park Reviews

Faskally Caravan Park
Faskally
Pitlochry
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH16 5LD
Tel: 01796 472007
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 127 Reviews
                7/10 from 127 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: LouLiz 27 reviews from this member

 Only stayed one night on our way touring round East of Scotland. We were put up the quiet end which was lovely.

However, driving through the first part of the site we noticed it was very crowded and pitches very close together.

Toilets seemed to be ok although we hardly used them as just arrived late and left early morning.

Well stocked shop. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tamglasgow 14 reviews from this member

 We have been going here for decades with our kids and now our grandchildren.

The surrounding area, river etc are still superb but the site has gone downhill in my opinion.

Kids running amok at lower toilet block, kicking doors and blocking toilets with paper at night, no sign of any security or staff.

Toilets cleaned around 11am and howling a short while later, I have to say, when they have been cleaned, they are still grubby(Mens).

Disabled toilet very grubby with peas in the shower drain. Yes, peas!

Someone obviously washing dishes in the shower.

Some pitches were a joke, people were not content with caravan and awning but also had the space between vans filled with Gazeebo's and windbreaks with no regard to fire safety.

Bar was shut but swimming open due to Covid(Work that out)

I have no issue with peoples recreational habits but hate the smell of weed which was pungent, coming from the hired statics behind our pitch.

As a family, we have always liked Faskally but it has changed and not for the better.

Sadly we will not be returning but there are other choices of sites locally. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Strike 1 review from this member

 Great site. never got to see the swimming pool or bar but the kids enjoyed the playground and the river

Going back in July, hope everything is open and enjoy the whole park with the whole family

See you soon 😊 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Irvine45 79 reviews from this member

 Visited this site en to much further north. The pitch we had was sloping and due to the rain my car could not tow on the slope but the staff were on hand to bring their tractor to my rescue.

The pitch was very close to the road and although it is not the A9, the quarry trucks make it sound like that from early in the morning.

The site itself is pleasant and there are a few nice walks along the river. It would be a long way into Pitlochry if you walk but achievable.

Due to COVID the facilities were closed but the personal distancing worked well. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lukeledge 26 reviews from this member

 Pre booked as it was a Glasgow holiday weekend, but site didn't seem too crowded. Grass pitch on sloping ground, which was fairly firm.

Toilet blocks modern and clean, although showers closed just now. Reception friendly and helpful.

Site is in a nice situation and a 40min walk from Pitlochry along the road or a longer walk along the riverside path. Some traffic overnight but not too bad.

Motorhome service point is well designed and the chemical toilet area had a great hose nozzle that fitted over the cassette opening with a trigger!

Will stay again, but remember the levelling ramps! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Site is located 2 miles North of Pitlochry and has truly magnificent views of the surrounding mountains and forest. The site itself is in a clearing and the lower (flat pitches) allocated for static units and seasonal pitches. The touring pitches are mainly on a steeply sloping grass embankment (large levelling blocks are required) running parallel to the main busy B8079/A9. The pitches are pre-allocated and noted by a marker stone set in the ground. Site staff offering no help at all with the pitch location!

Motorhome service point is located by side of reception/shop with hand drain channel, but water point is not located on side of service area and requires full 10m of hose to fill unit? Only one chemical waste point on site again located behind shop and is quite a hike from touring pitch area. Two amenities blocks on site with clean modern facilities however dish wash area have no plugs in any of the sinks nor plastic bowls. Well stocked shop on site including morning papers and off licence. Phone reception very poor and site internet access at a ridiculously expensive 3. 00/hour or 5. 00/day.

The 11 miles Killcrankie trail is accessed from site through a private estate. Part of the trail can be used to provide a lovely 3 mile woodland/riverside walk into Pitlochry. Pitlochry has the usual tourist shops, a Co-op supermarket and a very good bike shop that came in handy for a needed bike repair (very good fast service).

Overall very nice location, but the sloping grass touring pitches are far from ideal and would be very problematic for heavy motorhome in wet weather. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amnoahbilly 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at Faskally on many occasions and enjoyed it. It is a large site with good facilities. However it gets very busy at peak times and we generally go when quieter.

We brought our three grandchildren along for the first time this year during school holiday time. On the whole things were fine. However a lot of other children tend to roam the site and adjacent woods unsupervised. They are in and out of the toilet/shower blocks and leave a mess. One night there was a Bird of Prey display which had to be cut short as kids were running wild whilst the adults sat in the bar drinking. My kids were disappointed at this then were quite upset when a few of the adults became verbally aggressive towards the bird keeper who was correct to stop when he did as I fear one of the unruly children may nave upset the birds causing them to be attacked. I feel that staff could do more to warn adults that their children must be reasonably supervised.

The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. The shower blocks are cleaned at 10am which I found to be inconvenient as a lot of people wanted to use them at this time. Why cant they clean them at a quieter time. The pool is ok though the steam room never seems to work. Again I witnessed children unsupervised using the sauna and spa pool when it clearly states no under 12s are allowed to use them.

If you are looking for a quiet site avoid Faskally like the plague or go at off peak times. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hokyns 2 reviews from this member

 The site location is amazing for nearby outdoor activities. We have really enjoyed the weekend in Faskally. On site spa and pool is in excellent condition and good relaxing during rainy days. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil j 1 review from this member

 Hi and a very good morning to all campers, caravaners, etc etc having just joined I thought I would give my honest opinion of faskally site? Well to begin on arrival we were allocated a lovely pitch ( a3) with scenery to die for?

The toilet/ shower block was very well sited very near our pitch so so far so good ! After getting all tent and equipment set up myself and my brother decided to have a walk round the site to check out the other facilities. There is a well stocked shop with just about anything you would need for your time here. There is a large playpark for the kids (and adults). Behind the main shop you will find the swimming and arcade complex which is supervised. The bar itself was not open till approximately 6 o'clock in the evening (which is a bit of a small letdown as it would have been great to get a juice after a swim). The cost for swimming is 2. 00 which is very reasonable

If you would like to take either a longish walk into Pitlochry or the local bus, which stops outside, you will maybe find a bargain or 2.

Come night time there were varying types of guests either side of us, but come 10 / 11 all went quiet, so no problems there? With trying to sleep. I should add in conclusion that we had both came with our fishing equipment and if you contact a lovely guy and his family (Campbell Dixon) at the boat station, he will give you the information what and where to fish. From there are small motor powered boats for hire for a reasonable price and again fishing. In and around loch faskally is in itself gorgeous.

We have now been back on 4 occasions since May and loved every minute. Great home from home. Plenty of views. Peaceful. But best of all a great place to holiday. So until our next visit, chow for now. Phil n James dundee 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizeeknight 6 reviews from this member

 The campsite is in a beautiful location, perfectly situation for walks and Pitlochry. The staff are great, really friendly and helpful. The site has a pool and bar which also does food. There are four washing machines and dryers, the shop was well stocked and happy to freeze your fridge blocks for free. The wifi is a bit expensive but there is wifi.

There are walks along the river and to Killiecrankie, Pitlochry is an easy walk of around a mile and a half. There are two toilet blocks one near the tourer area and park and one for the tenting area. These have been updated in recent years. However the hair dryer in the block nearest the tents only one worked intermittently, showers were push button but you could adjust the temperature. Plenty of sinks and toilets. They were cleaned throughly every morning (at around 9am) but the second block was always open when one was being cleaned.

Now the bad stuff, we were tenting with my brother in two tents for two weeks, bear in mind we have been camping for years usually around Perthshire, out of our two weeks there we had only three nights of quiet in the second week. We had at least five other tents next to us during the course of the holiday only one of which was quiet.

Kids as young as two were allowed to run around bare foot in the mud unsupervised, parents would sit drinking beer playing loud music until the small hours of the morning, as the kids were unsupervised the toilets were a mess with paper strewn everywhere, poop and toilets blocked and left unflushed, dogs wandered around off lead, one woman brought her dog into the toilet with her and I mean into the toilet, I'm not fussed about this but I could see if there were people allergic or afraid it could be a problem. In the men's toilets some lovely cretins pulled one of the toilets of the wall.

There was yobs playing loud and I mean loud music from their cars for hours, leading to flat batteries the next day lots of shouting a pushing to get it going and tearing up of the grass. Car doors slamming, van doors slamming till early hours, Others arrived just as bad, women setting up gazebos for gatherings and cackling the night away. The swearing from the transient campers was abysmal and vile and LOUD. We complained to the campsite about all this and they did take it on board but it all started happening again on the Friday night. One woman on the Friday decided to shout at the top of her lungs at around 0030am that she was not a slag, he'd invited her over and she was going to knock the other woman of her feet, interspersed with c words and f words.

If you are going for your precious annual holiday give this place a miss, if however your a yob who lacks parenting skills and doesn't give a sh**t about anyone else - go for it. I feel sorry for those who own caravans there. 


Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Faskally Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Faskally Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Faskally Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Faskally Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pitlochry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2935 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement