Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Secret Garden Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Just > Secret Garden Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: Secret Garden Caravan & Camping Park
Bosavern House
St Just
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that the campsite at this location has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robert Donkers 1 review from this member

 I am so surprised to see some negative reviews since we had such warm welcome here. The owners did go out of their way to welcome us and make us comfortable. I had lovely conversations with the owners and enjoyed the whole experience. They were very supportive of our charitable work and gave our night for free only charging for a delicious Pimms which was very reasonable priced too.

I went to the farm shop and we bought soup and rolls.

I think of the campsites we stayed this was definitely one of our favourite ones. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suejarvis 9 reviews from this member

 We have been camping in the UK for over 25 years and are used to all types of sites.

Like everyone we searched reviews and booked the site based (on what we now see looking back) 2016/2017 reviews. The site has since been taken over by new owners and they are clearly focused on the B&B and not the campsite part of the business – great reviews on the B&B.

We arrived at this lovely looking (from the front) house and parked up where indicated. Rang the doorbell… the door was eventually opened by a stern looking lady staring at us in a hostile manner, who quite simply said “yes”? This was our first introduction to the interest from the owners in customers. I was clearly interrupting her day. Told her who we were, and she led us inside without another word and checked the paperwork… ahh. You have paid in full already… right follow me…. She took us to an area and pointed – you are here… someone will be along later to remove the mess.

Our “pitch” was between a huge pile of stacked tables and chairs, and discarded umbrellas/hosepipes… right on the pathway leading up to the 12 numbered pitches (not the quiet and secluded pitch we thought…. Or in fact one of the 12 pitches advertised on the website!) and right by the B&B BBQ, gazebos and tables and chairs for the B&B guests to enjoy their evening in the garden. The tables still had empty glasses, cans etc all over them and were filthy.

We thought – oh well let’s make the most of it… maybe she is having a bad day… we all do sometimes… went up to the toilet/shower/washing up block and told – sorry cleaning no entry at all until finished. The facilities are not enough for the number of pitches – 1 washing up sink, 1 male & 1 female shower (which were good pressure) – the men’s urinal has the hand dryer so close that it goes off on your shoulder when using it and it would be impossible to use to dry your hands if someone was using the urinal. The hot water… there are signs stating it is very hot…. But this is not good enough…. It is blisteringly hot and all that needs to happen is for the thermostat to be turned down a bit.

The website advertises Wi-Fi – now this is not generally important to us, but this area has very poor phone signal… tried to logon using the advertised password in the toilet block… not recognised… asked the cleaner and she couldn’t get on either… tried to find an owner and eventually found her exercising her dogs by the side of the house… asked if the password had changed (this sometimes happens) – she looked at me as if I was mad and throughst her phone into my face saying “mine works – must be your phone” – I gently pointed out that more that 3 different devices do not work on the campsite including her cleaners… she just reiterated hers worked and had I tried in the house…. She then shouted to her husband “is your internet working?” “yep fine” comes the reply out of a window… I went into the house and it worked, as soon as I stepped out it failed… the male owner came out and another “guest” asked him the same thing… he just pointed to a booster on the toilet block and told him it cost him £800 and works. This became kind of funny and a running joke between us and other campers!

We really don’t expect much… but a simple welcome to ……. We are……. Hope you enjoy your stay…. Anything we can help with or answer…. When you arrive, would be a basic thing to experience! We honestly experienced the worst customer service we have EVER encountered whilst camping in the UK.

We don’t mind dogs. We love them to be honest… but the site states they are dog free…. Well the continually yapping ones in the pen by the BBQ – obviously wanting attention and left all day – started to grate a little… and other dogs staying roaming the campsite not on leads….

We had booked and paid for 3 nights – all this happened on the very first day!

Still we persevered as we are generally laid back about most things…. Had a great evening meal in St Just and returned to the tent to sleep.

The next morning, we saw that the tables were still dirty and uncleared, the mess around our pitch was still untouched, the WIFI still didn’t work and then we notice the piles of rubbish and junk by the entrance (a dumping ground), the male owner walking around trying his best to avoid eye contact or interact with his paying guests…

We went out all day and had a great time exploring the local walks and sights. Great farm shop next door (not related to this business at all).

Back at the tent and for the first time we can remember since starting to camp, when we were walking back from our day out, neither of was looking forward to getting back to the site and our tent.

Unbelievably… they had pitched a new arrival in the middle of the gazebos, BBQ and guest tables/chairs – so anyone from the B&B using the garden would have campers literally in the middle of them – they would have to talk over the tent to the next table!

The following morning, we did something that we have never done in all our years of camping…. We packed up and left a day early.

This could be a lovely place to stay. Clean it all up. Only pitch on the allocated 12 pitches. Update the website with genuine information and realistic photos. Turn the thermostat down. Sort out the Wi-Fi. Take some form of pride in this side of the business and put customers first. If a customer has a problem – acknowledge it, politely resolve it, move on (with a smile). 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Terry64 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival at 2 pm we parked in the car park of the BB, sign said report to Reception, the door was closed and locked so I pressed the door bell and waited after the 4th time a Male who I now know as the owner opened the door and just stared at me, I explained I had a camping pitch booked and he just responded with yes well come in.

He led me to what looked like a bar/reception area and simply told me how much I had left to pay gave me card machine and took my payment.

After payment had gone through told me my pitch number and a rough explanation of where to find the pitch.

There was no smile no welcome no explanation of where to hook up my electric no explanation as to how to get to the nearest village where shops were nothing.

So we made our way down to the camp ground, it was reasonably clean our pitch was large as were some of the others, we pitched up and I located the electric hook up point, If your lead is only 25 metres you may find it does not reach your tent we were lucky I carry 2 leads, but I believe the owner does have some spares to hand.

The Toilet block were clean but very basic, 2 male urinals however one had the hand dryer so close if you took a pee and some one tried to dry there hands they would be pushing you into the urinal, the shower could do with a curtain between the shower and the changing area to prevent the floor getting a puddle and making it very difficult to put your cloths on without getting them wet.

It looks like the wall that runs along the side of pitches 1 - 4 has been used as a dumping ground in the past for the grass after it had been cut, actually if you look over the wall or the BB car park you will notice this is now being used for the same purpose I witnessed the owner doing it.

One day I went to use the shower/toilet block and was prevented from entering by what looked like 2 ladies who are employed to clean them.

I was refused entry on the grounds they had just cleaned them and I have to wait for all the floors to dry, this building houses both male/female toilet/shower sink for cleaning your pots pans the washing machine and dryer and microwave.

I was told to go use the toilet in the main building, this does not have shower ect I explained I wanted to use the shower but my entrance was blocked.

Simply place wet floor signs like other places do when the floor is wet, they just did not want the floor dirty from my shoes.

After several days the owner brought a pile of Table and chairs from outside the main building and stuck them around the site in piles, I do not understand why he did not arrange them so they looked inviting.

The back door to the main building the entrance from the camp site to the building there was a pile of plant pots some contained flowers some contained weeds and some just dirt and a hose pipe left on the floor not very inviting this was also your first view when you drove through the gate to the camp site.

The bar in the main building was what the owner called an honesty bar, help yourself to drinks from the fridge and pay later as for shorts you would need to find some one to come and sort that out for you as the actual bar was nether staffed so not much of a bar.

The wifi was very good when it worked, I say when it worked because we experienced several days when it did not work I mentioned this to the owner who simply responded with it was on in the house after speaking with other campers I found I was not the first to mention the problem and receive the same reply.

We booked this site as it was advertised as NO DOGS but that was the last owners the new owners do allow dogs and had not updated the site.

We thought ok it does say well behaved dogs and must be kept on leads, there are no signs to tell owners they must keep dogs on leads and they most certainly do not follow the rule we experience 2 dogs both large come sniffing in our tent, the first I complained and the owner was found to be in the shower and left there dog wandering around the site.

The camp owner did not say much to the dog owner.

The second dog I dealt with myself again the owner was in the shower this time I gave them what for and made it clear.

Maybe the site could benefit from some signs to say dogs must be kept on leads, but I can not see this happening as the site owners are dog owners.

The site was very quite apart from barking dogs that happened several times in the night.

I think this site has very good potential but the owners need to be more customer service orientated and make a few improvements around the site.

Our stay was an average stay on an average camp site the only benefit we felt was the fact this is a small site and that is how we like it.

A smile on arrival and a little information would of made the start of our stay much better, the table and chairs placed like they are ready to be used would make it more inviting and the dead weeds and plants in the pile of pots removed would make it look inviting.

We expected this site to be full from past reviews but I guess those reviews were from the previous owner and returning campers are not returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: AnthonyH 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the Site for the 3rd year running;- lovely quiet site and caring owners. Everything is to hand - toilet block with good showers and the usual facilities that are cleaned thoroughly everyday. The allocated pitches are a good size with some pitches very large. Lots of people return 'year - on - year' so book early. The owners are busy but always have time for all guests but don't arrive before before 2pm on your arrival day. The surrounding area is stunning and St Just is a small friendly 'mining' town with everything you need - shops; a Co-op; pubs/restaurants; plenty of parking; an excellent chippy and a good Chinese takeaway.

Bosavern House serve up breakfasts, cream teas and if you can't be bothered to cook on you last night, chicken and chips to takeaway. Enjoy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gcljohn 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a one week second visit to Secret Garden. Our hosts work very hard to maintain this place. Corinne was working in the Garden during our stay. Our pitch was the only one occupied for the duration of our stay. The toilet facilities and showers have been kept in good order and all working well. Felt somewhat privileged and exclusive as a result. Chickens still wander around. Great location and still feel there is more to do, so will be considering another trip in the future. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gcljohn 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the last week of April 2015. The 12 pitches are accessed via a rear gate of the property, making it very private. The 12 pitches are well appointed, and the owners are attentive, showing the way to the plot, and sorting out any problems with electric supply (none). Only three other pitches in use whilst we were there. Used as base for touring Penwith and West Cornwall. Good facilities. The only negative for some people might be that as its less than a mile from Lands End airfield, you will hear and see propellor aircraft going over about every 30 minutes from around 08:30 in the mornings. For me not an issue, though. Enjoyable stay and will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: AnthonyH 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, small, quiet site with only 12 pitches or so, so book well in advance during school holidays. Many people return year on year which is worth noting. The owners are very accommodating and friendly. Try not to arrive before 2pm as they are very busy sorting the hotel business duties out. The toilet/shower/washing facilities are good enough for a very small site and are cleaned thoroughly each day. Visitors can cycle to St Just in a few minutes or walk from the site avoiding the road. St. Just has everything needed with 4 pubs/hotels overlooking the town 'square'; an award winning fish and chip shop, a Co-op, local butchers, bakery/pasty shops and other shops too. There is a large, free car park 2 minutes walk from the town centre, close to a Library that, when open, has internet access. A Doctor's surgery is next to the Library. There is so much to do in this part of Cornwall so a brief list is: Cape Cornwall, Minack Theatre, The Lizard, St. Michael's Mount Marazion, Penzance and day trips to the Scilly Isles by ferry, Mousehole, The Lizard, miles of stunning coastal walks, Tin Mines, the stunning drive to St Ives, ancient neolithic sites and of course the very busy Landsend (visit once and then avoid as Cape Cornwall and the Lizard are better and much quieter). The National Trust is well represented in Cornwall and free parking at their sites is very handy for members. I'm back in two weeks time and can't wait. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pollyjean 16 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful little campsite tucked away in the beautiful Cornish countryside close to St Just & Land's End. There are just 12 pitches, spacious and flat set within a lovely garden adjoining a B&B. There are electric hook-ups if required. The toilet block is small but ample for the number of tents. It contains mens and ladies toilets and showers, access to a handy freezer, microwave, washing up facility, iron, tumble drier and washer. You can also during your stay access the B&B's television/sitting room and bar which is handy if you have a husband having withdrawal symptoms from the World Cup! WiFi is also free in the B&B. There are no negatives at all about a stay on this campsite. The hosts are friendly and helpful and obviously take great pride in their property. The toilet block was meticulously clean every time I used it. The campsite is very peaceful and there you also have access to lots of nice walks. St Just is a short 10 minute walk away and provides a small supermarket, butchers, bakers and pubs. I would recommend the fish and chips which were cooked to order, with the fish tasting as if it had been caught to order as well. Also the butchers on the square sells good qulaity meat and you can also sample some prize winning Cornish pasties from them. There is also a very nice farmers/craft market in the hall at the back of the school in Sennen Cove on a Tuesday morning which was good for local produce such as meats, fish, cakes, fruit and veg. We had a nice meal at the Logans Rock Pub in Treen and also visited the Gurnard's Head which is on the coastal road between St Just and St ives, incidentally this is a beautiful drive and well worth the trip. I would also recommend the Barbara Hepworth Museum/Tate at St ives 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BB29 23 reviews from this member

 My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Secret Garden in our Motorhome. What a lovely little site this is. Only 12 pitches, if you are looking for a nice peaceful & relaxing site this is it. The owners spend great pride in their site. Facilities were always kept clean and although there is only one ladies and one gents shower we never had a problem. There is two toilets for ladies, and one for the gents. There is an indoor pot washing area, washing machine, tumble dryer, freezer, microwave, iron and ironing board, rotary clothes line. There is also plenty of information about the surrounding area. You can walk to St Just across the fields about 10-15 minute walk, also some beautiful coastal walks with stunning scenery. Would highly recommend this site. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3324 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement