Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Wood Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Low Wood Caravan Park > Reviews

Low Wood Caravan Park
Springhouse Farm
Heathfield
Pateley Bridge
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG3 5PZ
Tel: 01423 711433
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 4 Touring & 6 Tents
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fozter 4 reviews from this member

 Low Wood Caravan Park, Pateley Bridge.

We stayed here Saturday 29th June for one night, 1 tent 2 adults, we didn't take the EHU option.

£8 for the 2 of us.

The cons-

Only one really, the toilet/shower block is a 15min round trip! Not good for late night trips to the loo!. No draining board in the gents for washing up!

The pros -

Just 5 minutes from Pateley Bridge village by car. Nice sweet shop and great butchers across the road for great pies. Lovely little village to stroll around cafés etc.

We tried the nearest pub which was The Bridge Inn, good beer and their draught cider was rather pleasant too.

They offer bar meals too but we didn't eat here.

The loos/shower block. Spotless spotless spotless!

When you go up to the farm house make sure you get your shower token (50pper token) plenty of hot water and plenty long enough for a shower!

Oh and did I say it's spotless!

Lovely place to camp with a tent will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tigermilk29 1 review from this member

 Decided to camp here at short notice last Saturday and it was the only site that had spaces but did not disappoint.

The site was very good value at £8 for 2 of us. You drive through another caravan site and the site is basically just a slim grassy area skirting a stream, but that makes all the pitches private as you are pitched in a row with nobody opposite.

The toilets were clean, but fairly basic (concrete walls and floor and corrugated plastic ceiling).

They were also a few minutes walk away from the camping pitches - so bring a bucket for nighttime toilet breaks! We drove 5 mins into town for fish and chips, but there is a pub 10 mins walk away through the other caravan site which looked very nice. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suemo718 1 review from this member

 A beautiful location in well kept grounds and is more suitable for hikers or overnighters as there is not much to keep the children entertained.

Good toilet block and shower facilities but no laundry room so spare clothes needed if on a long stay.

Shop on site that is not expensive and a pub 5min walk with good food at the right price and with a 30 min walk you can be at patley bridge with plenty of shops to stock up, 2 pubs, swimming pool and outside play area in the village.

Recommended and a very well priced site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Macs 2010 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite, located by a stream. Pack spare clothes for the kids!

We put the postcode into our sat nav and thought we were being led astray, but after driving through a trailer park we landed right at the farmer's door!

Very relaxed and quiet campsite, with plenty of room to camp. We were disturbed by no-one (except the sheep) and yet everyone was very friendly.

The stream runs all along the length of the campsite, and the toilets are a good walk (the sound of running water can make the walk more urgent!). The toilets were spotless, and no signs anywhere asking people to clean up etc. There was no need. And no queues! I can imagine that with small children the walk would become a bit irritating, however our 7 & 10 year olds were happy to look after themselves. Otherwise the walk was a joy with fantastic wild flowers on the streambank.

Drawbacks were

1) the inadequate dishwashing facilities located inside the toilet blocks (no mixed male/female dishwashing), and the sink in the mens didn't have a draining board. Wouldn't have wanted to stay for a week for that reason only. Also a long walk with a washing up bowl.

2) having to chase after the farmer for a shower token.

We visited Fountains Abbey, Ripon and RHS Harlow Carr. All great.

Had lunch at The Bridge (at end of road)- great home cooking. Fully booked on Saturday evening so had dinner at Royal Oak in Pately Bridge, also home cooked and good quality. Staff very friendly.

Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mistressjj 2 reviews from this member

 This is the 3rd time of staying on this site, if you are looking for stunning walking, and a safe and relaxed place to stay then here it is.

The location is great, set on a grass verge right next to the river, at the bottom of the entrance is the bridge public house that does food most days, you can walk into Pateley bridge town, within 20 mins, and that's at a slow pace.

The toilet and shower block is dated but always got plenty of toilet paper and is kept lovely and clean, you can get tokens for the shower from the farmer. The farmer is a jolly man who you will see going by on his quad feeding the sheep, who do by the way get you up at stupid o clock, but that's what being in the country is all about eh.

Excellent Value for money, one of the cheapest site we have stayed on. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsh1831 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here by accident in July as we were originally booked onto the next site (the set up is quite confusing as the two sites run into each other). We were very pleased to have settled onto this site as the pitches were slightly more level and the fees very very reasonable.
No play area but the children spent all their time playing in the shallow stream that runs through the site and loved every minute. A 45 minute walk along the river brings you to pateley bridge with its shops and park.
It is in a beautiful setting and we would recommend it to anyone. The showers were only a couple of minutes from where we pitched and were very clean with plenty of hot water the only draw back was the showers ran off tokens which had to be bought from the farm house way up the hill (a car ride). 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aime 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at this site and would definitely recommend it.

The site is in a lovely country location, just outside Pateley Bridge. It is very reasonably priced and well maintained. The shower block was a short walk away (about 5 mins), but was spotlessly clean, with 6 loos and 3 showers in the ladies. Showers by token (we paid £1 for 3) were great; good water pressure and nice and hot. Although it was just about full when we there (10-12 tents), we found it generally very quiet.

Downsides; the area for tents is quite uneven in places, so get there early if you're going at a busy time. The site is long and thin and runs along the side of a farm track, which also leads onto another campsite. The track was quite busy at certain times of day, with some people driving faster than others, so we did have to keep a close eye on the children.

Loads to do around here, we visited Newby Hall just past Ripon which is fantastic day out with children (£24 for family ticket, but more if you want to look around the house too). You might need a towel / costumes for children as there's a water feature for them to play in. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hazard26 1 review from this member

 Two family tents (4 adults, 4 kids and two labradors)

Stayed here on bank holiday weekend as last resort as everywhere else was fully booked. After reading other reviews didn't really know what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. Site very clean, owners very helpful, toilet block clean with plenty of hot water for showers via a token purchased from the farm.

Ok so there aren't any play facilities for the kids but what more do they need than a load of space and a bat and ball.

Excellent pub at the end of the lane called the Bridge Inn which accomodates kids and dogs and only 20 mins walk from tent pitch and serves the best pint of Black Sheep, food was excellant and very reasonable priced.

Loads of shops in Pateley Bridge which is a beautiful place to find everything you could need. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carrie66 1 review from this member

 We visited Low Wood Caravan Site over the Bank Holiday weekend and we were really impressed by the beautiful surroundings and peaceful location. The facilities are a short walk away from the camping site and we found them to be very clean with hot showers available even during busy periods. We will definitely be returning to this lovely part of Nidderdale. 


Reviewer: SPINDLEY 1 review from this member

 April 2005
My two young daughters and myself visted this site at the time of Harrogate flower show. We really enjoyed it. It wasn't too busy, and was within easy reach of Patley Bridge. Toilets where miles away (or so it seemed!) and the tokens for the showers where a bit of a nusiance as you had to go up to the farm for them.
Kids loved the freedom to run around and play in the stream. We where camped near the road (hard not too!) but had no problem with traffic. As a single mum , I felt safe on this site and would definitely go back. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Low Wood Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Wood Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Low Wood Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harrogate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2568 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement