Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Old Mill Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Hailsham > Old Mill Holiday Park Reviews

Old Mill Holiday Park
Chalvington Road
Golden Cross
Hailsham
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN27 3SS
Tel: 01825 872532
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 21 Reviews
                7/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellie1964 4 reviews from this member

 My husband and myself stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived at 7. 30pm and as agreed over the phone our pitch number was left on the notice board as the owner was out that evening. He had agreed with my husband that he would collect the pitch fee on Saturday morning. We didn't see anyone who owned or worked for the campsite for the duration of our stay, even when we were due to leave on Sunday morning we had to telephone a mobile number that was left on the noticeboard to ask where we should pay! The owner is lucky we are honest people.

The campsite itself is very small and the facilities are not the best. The toilets and shower are not very clean and full of insects. The ladies shower cubicle door didn't lock and the hot water was hit and miss. My husband said the mens was not any better and refused to use the facilities on the second morning preferring to wait until we got home! The chemical waste disposal wasn't very pleasant either.

There is a pub within a couple of minutes walk, although it was almost empty but the staff were very pleasant. There is also a petrol station with a supermarket opposite the pub and a caravan/motorhome sales which also sells caravan accessories.

All in all we did enjoy the peace and quiet but won't be returning to this site again in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: June Evans 9 reviews from this member

 Have just come back from an enjoyable ten days at this little site.My only criticism is of the toilet block. The shower in the ladies was very hit and miss with hot water and was not cleaned regularly. Cobwebs and spiders in abundance. In spite of this the site represents good value for money. There is a pub within walking distance serving good food and if you feel like venturing further The Six Bells is worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoelDee 3 reviews from this member

 We were stuck for a place to visit and called last minute on a Friday afternoon and managed to get a space on this site.

We didn't arrive until late and received a very warm welcome from the person in charge (I think the usual owner was away).

This site being adults only was very quiet which was really nice.

The bathrooms were adequate although a little full of insects for my liking. The shower was hot though.

The best thing was that once it got dark there's very little light pollution, so stargazing was amazing, there was lot's of shooting stars and satellites to see and it was so clear you could see the milky way.Very awesome.

The downside though is that the camping area is also the campervan/motorhome area, it's very small so your tent is amongst motorhomes or staring at static caravans, it all feels a bit like your in a car park.

That said though, if you are wanting it as a sleeping base and want a place that is very quiet and aren't to bothered about nice views then I would recommend it.

The man who welcomed us also said that if there was any problems or noise then he was just there in his caravan and to come and let him know, which was nice.

The site was good location to visit one of my favourite places, Seaford head which is one of the most beautiful places to go walking. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lottoextra 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet friendly site. The intention was to stay here for one night & then move on, we ended staying 2 nights & wish we had planned more. The facilities are fine for adults, there is a Spar shop in the gas station 300 yards away. Just opposite is a very quiet Pub with good food.

The main selling point was the owners, they couldn't do enough for everyone & the static caravan owners were the friendliest of people. This is a fantastic value site but what will impress most is the people & tranquillity. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lou15e 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, have been here before. Adults only which is perfect for us especially on a bank holiday weekend. Owners are friendly and helpful. Toilets and showers are kept clean. There is just one shower but for the size of the site that is all that is needed. Plenty of walks, one pub 1 min away, and two pubs about 45 minute walk through country lanes in different directions - very nice. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Poocini 4 reviews from this member

 The site itself is pretty basic, and lacks the facilities that you would normally get (e.G. There's no on-site shop, no lounge or games room etc.) However, there is a petrol station about 2 minutes walk from the site which has a mini-supermarket within it, so the shop isn't really a problem, and I suppose the lack of games room is probably down to the fact that the site is adults only! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there was always someone on hand to answer any queries.

It was pretty muddy underfoot when we stayed, and there was always a concern that we would get stuck, but you can't really blame the site for that. They don't control the weather! However, what was surprising was the bonfire going full pelt when we stayed! It made for quite a smokey atmosphere for a day or two, and they would have had all winter to get that out of the way.

The toilet/shower facilities weren't great, as has been mentioned in other reviews, but they were adequate, but on the upside, the 'Golden Cross Inn' is only 2 minutes walk away, and it was a nice little cosy pub, and they were ok with our dogs coming in with us ('as long as they're well behaved!')

Purely on facilities etc. It doesn't compare well with other sites we've stayed at, but considering that it's probably about half the price, then it offers good value for money, and we would definitely stay there again. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rubyroo 2 reviews from this member

 Really nice site, well situated for exploring the South Downs. Quiet, although I could envisage the noise of traffic being a problem if you were in a tent - it certainly wasn't something we were troubled by.

Very friendly team who made sure we had everything we needed, providing us with maps etc.

The toilet/ shower facilities are basic - there was only one other motorhome on our arrival so there only being one shower per sex wasn't initially a problem. On the day we left however, the site was starting to fill up so there would be inevitable queuing.

Would recommend this site to friends (but would warn them about the shower!) and would definitely stay there again - excellent value for money (8 - 10 cheaper than other sites we have stayed at)and a lovely location. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen 4 8 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a weekend here with three friends and we all had a lovely stay. The grass was being cut as I arrived and I was quickly shown where to pitch my tent which was ample as we had a caravan to one side and a motor-home to the other. The site itself was lovely and quiet but the busy road next to the site was very noisy day and night. There is only one shower for the ladies (not sure about the men's but guessing the same) which isn't a huge problem as the site is small but the toilets and shower could certainly do with an update in my opinion. The Golden Cross pub is within easy walking distance and served lovely food and there are some lovely country walks on the doorstep. All in all, we had a lovely weekend here. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeannette100 1 review from this member

 My husband and I stayed on this site for 12 days whilst working locally. The wonderful help James gave us made it possible for us to also have a caravan holiday break. Everyone on site was very friendly and helpful. One or two well behaved children visited for very short periods but were not a problem. Adults only makes all the difference.
Showers were very hot, clean and FREE. Main town, Hailsham, less than 4 miles away down busy A22 but once there all supermarkets, main shops etc. You could need plus lots of individual shops. Many local places to go including Bstemsns N.Trust. Coastal towns really near., Would go often if possible, 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Maztucker 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very Basic and tidy site. It is not adult only as they do seem to let kids stay. We arrived on the Sunday when the reception is closed and told by other campers just pitch anywhere. The grass was about an inch long and needed cutting.

The toilet block is basic, three toilets, 1 shower and 2 sinks.(Ladies) No idea what the mens was like. Lots of cobwebs and dead insects and bad case of damp. We stayed a week and only noticed them being cleaned once. Not even a mop available to clean up drips from shower.

The grass was cut on the Wednesday by a handyman that seems to stay on site permanently. The owner came round on the Monday and I only saw him once all week. The reception is a buzzer on a gate. People seem to come and go to the static park with no one asking questions.

The handyman and his wife did seem to keep the place tidy.

This would be a great little site with some upgrades and lick of paint to toilet block, the security needs some looking into. They also need to decide if they are Adult only or not. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Old Mill Holiday Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Old Mill Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Old Mill Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hailsham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8590 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement