Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Studfold Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Studfold Caravan & Camping Park
Lofthouse
Pateley Bridge
Yorkshire Dales
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG3 5SG
Tel: 01423 755084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 12th April To 30th September 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 99 Reviews
                9/10 from 99 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Canvascaravan 1 review from this member

We are a family of five and we visited Studfold on the August Bank holiday weekend in 2017.

The approach from Pateley Bridge is narrow and winding and my proximity alarm went off a couple of times. The alarm is a high pitched squeal that comes from the passenger seat when an oncoming vehicle passes too close. The proximity alarm can also read a road atlas and makes excellent tea. The Pateley Bridge road is preferable to the Masham road (to the North-east) which is narrow, winding and extremely steep in places. I would go as far as to say it is practically impassable with a caravan. Be careful, as sat-nav can send you this way.

The site is level and well drained and I had no problem knocking pegs in. The pitches are reasonably sized with room for a car, caravan and awning. The centre of your pitch is marked by a numbered post so a degree of guesswork/courtesy is required to decide where your pitch ends and your neighbours starts. The shower block is clean and well maintained. I had no problems with the showers although my wife got cold showers on two of the three mornings we were there. This resulted in a sound very similar to the proximity warning. The water, which comes from a well, did have an unusual smell at times but no-one came down with cholera. The facilities block also appeared to run on a septic tank and occasionally an unpleasant smell would waft through the campsite. The worst aspect of the site was the midgies. On the last night we had a bbq and they ate more of my burger than I did – I don't know how they had the appetite as they had already eaten a good bit of me. I know the midgies aren't employed by the site but they were a feature that might put me off in future. Pitches further away from the stream seemed to be less affected by flying insects.

There is plenty to do in the area: How Steen Gorge and the various trails and paths. If you are prepared to venture further afield, Masham has the famous Theakstons and Black Sheep breweries. We also went to “The Forbidden Corner” which is 40 mins away. This attraction defies description but is worth a day as long as your children are not of a nervous disposition! Finally, the scenery. This is pure “All creatures great and small” country – absolutely beautiful.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chumbeiro 12 reviews from this member

Stayed for a weekend of mountain biking and wasn't disappointed. Had stayed at the neighbouring How Stean site in February (when Studfold is closed to tourers); when we return we'll use Studfold.

Well maintained and laid out. Well-drained, clean and spacious with good access. Plenty of electricity points if you need it. Showers and wash facilities very good.

The only negative I can comment upon was not directly the fault of the site owners. A group of 3 large, family tents arrived and set up, taking up over 400 sq m (really) with their various units, cars, BBQs and toys strewn around. They showed an inconsiderate attitude throughout their stay - not making any effort to curtail the shouting/screaming of their 8 children and encouraging them to 'let off steam'(from 07:00 each morning). I'm not writing about infants crying here but older kids). Why don't people understand that because you can't see through tent canvas it doesn't insulate against sound travel?

Both nearby pubs were reasonably friendly and served a canny beer.

A number of reviews warn of the approach from Pateley Bridge but my sister who visited at the same time in her caravan reported the road was 'narrow but easy with care'.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KathP29 16 reviews from this member

We have just spend Easter here as a family. 2 touring caravans + a pod. The pod was great for the young family who travelled with us.

This is a lovely country campsite with gorgeous views of Nidderdale. Site owner was very helpful and accomodating, even had boards to help us off the mud on the Monday morning if we needed them (fortunately we didn't)

Site is well placed for lots of activities. Some of our party, did the Studfold adventure trail and really enjoyed that. Another group did How Stean Gorge and really enjoyed that ( little bit more adventurous this one) Handy for a walk across the impressive damn wall at Scar House.

Had a lovely lunch at the local Crown Inn and Middlesmoor - excellent food.

Would have liked heating in the showers.

Great site and will come back again

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hedgehugger 7 reviews from this member

Stayed in Pod 1 at this site; there are two, convenient for camping field entrance and facilities. I felt a bit extravagant, paying £45/night for one, but it was only what I would have paid for a bed and breakfast, with the bonus of coming and going as as I pleased and being on a peaceful, scenic campsite. Pod 1 was very comfortable, with five double power points, ceiling lights, kettle, heater and a little table with emergency mugs and a few sachets of tea and coffee. The two bed bases can be moved about and pushed together if wished. Roller blinds provide privacy. Plastic tread mat protects the carpet and there's a tray for muddy boots, and coat hooks inside and out - they seem to have thought of everything. Outside there's a picnic bench and fire cage. Site staff are friendly and welcoming. The facilities are very good; coded entry lock, water nice and hot, showers on push-button but spacious with bench and hooks away from spray. Camping field pitches seemed a good size, grass was well kept; the shelter down by reception hosted a big birthday party while I was there, but the noise didn't really reach the camping field. The road from Pateley Bridge is seven miles of varying widths, plenty of bends and the occasional surprise cyclist or tractor. Keep your wits about you! Studfold is almost at the end of the road but not quite - How Stean Gorge is just up the lane and attractive to adventurous types. The P. O. /cafe there has some camping basics available in the shop, and good food and drink; very handy if you don't fancy doing much campsite cooking!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Craigsimo157 7 reviews from this member

Last night on this site tonight, it has been a pleasurable stay, after a interesting drive here. Must stress if coming from north I would recommend heading towards Ripon then onto and through Pateley Bridge, we came through the dales and through Lofthouse incredibly hilly and rural.

On arrival we were allocated out pitch in the first field, just a slight walk from reception. A brill location with shower block and toilets only a few yards away. The field was well occupied but had plenty of room for us to enjoy. The kids enjoyed the spacious area in which they could play.

As others have said there is absolutely no phone reception or Internet, but you can buy the wifi for the field from reception.

The facilities are all very well looked after and clean with regular inspection from the owners. The shop is only small so be prepared to either bring everything you need or to drive to the shops at Pateley Bridge 15 mins away.

All in all a good site, with plenty to do if you are happy to drive 40 mins or so.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnyclaret1973 31 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two night stay at Studfold farm. This is a beautiful, well maintained site in a stunning location.

The site was considerably quiet even though it was August but maybe the weather forecast had put many off.

The pitches are relatively flat, the shower and toilet blocks are more than adequate for the size of the site and they are spotlessly clean. There is a small shop on site but it doesn't stock much more than kids toys!

We had planned to walk the adventure trail however, this closes at 3. 30pm so we missed out on that one. Nearby, How Stean Gorge is fantastic and well worth a visit.

On the Saturday night the site had organised a group to play music in the sheep sheds and set up a number of BBQs this created a wonderful party atmosphere. A fantastic idea which more campsites should try.

The website states that there is no mobile phone signal on site and there literally isn't!

Pateley Bridge nearby is lovely and has shops for any provisions.

I can see why this area was used during the Tour de France as it is fantastic for cycling

All in all this is a fabulous campsite very deserving of 10/10 that I have given. I would strongly recommend going especially if you have kids and I will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caledonia2k 2 reviews from this member

Back from our second stay at Studfold with our tent. Stayed one week and our children love Studfold! This time we booked a year in advance to see stages 1 and 2 of the Tour de France.

Again the owner, Ian was extremely helpful with our stay and especially when we had car problems. Extra events were put on at Studfold for the Le Tour weekend which was a lovely touch and very child friendly.

The space available is amazing for children to play in, scenery is breathtaking, and all facilities are extremely clean and well cared for.

We will definitely return and recommend to friends.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frankainsworth 1 review from this member

Went to Studfold for a mid week 3 for 2 deal with the caravan. A lovely clean site. Excellent amenities, nice and quiet. Owner Ian and his wife couldn't have been more helpful. He even apologised in case he made too much noise cutting the grass. Spectacular scenic views all around the site. Two good local pubs, both called The Crown. One in Lofthouse, turn right of the site, the other in Middlemoor, turn left from site and up the hill. My wife and I preferred the latter. As a caravaner I've got to warn people about the road from Pately Bridge to site. Its 8 mile north along a narrow winding road.

Great care has to be taken for its very busy and the road surface isn't the best. Take care. Dont let the road stop you from going to Studfold.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hardill 1 review from this member

This was a great site to stay at. We stayed in the camping Pod. The facilities were really clean and well kept. The staff were extremely helpful. The nature trail was well worth the money and excellent for the kids and we don't spend our money lightly! We only travelled from Bradford and we were amazed at how quiet this area was and how scenic it was too. It was perfect for those seeking tranquillity and for those wanting to get away from the smoke (and their electronic gadgets). There are great walks to do from the site and if you need to go back to civilisation there is Pateley Bridge so you can get some provisions.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Doug48 1 review from this member

I stayed 4 nights, weather good for time of year.

The site layout second to none very well thought out, all pitches marked out with plenty of room between each.

Facilities, toilet block, showers, washing up area spotlessly clean. (due to all on site showing respect for others AND LEAVING IT AS THEY FOUND IT). The staff cleaned all the time checking both toilet blocks and washing up area.

Location of site, what can you say to do justice to the location your in the Dales, GODS country and I am not a Yorkshire man.

Bike rides of various degrees of hardship all round

Walking the same choose your walk on how fit you feel.

Walking distance to good pub, beer and food

Excellent and being Yorkshire good value for your money.

Staff, all the staff who look after the site are there for our comfort and northing to much trouble for them, problems

Are no trouble to them they take it from you and sort it out.

Pets are welcome usual rules apply, all the people on my weekend were very responsible, no troubles at all.

The only down side of my stay would have liked it to be WARMER

Guess that means I will be back and very soon I hope.

Thank you all for making my stay at STUDFOLD IN LOFTHOUSE.

Great. RECOMMEND you view there web. Site to see the site and area.

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


520 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019