Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Studfold Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Studfold Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Studfold Caravan & Camping Park
Lofthouse
Pateley Bridge
Yorkshire Dales
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG3 5SG
Tel: 01423 755084
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: 02/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jan and Dan 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for four nights together with my wife, our daughter and our two granddaughters aged 8 & 5. We had a lovely spacious pitch with some of the best views we have experienced in many years of caravanning all over the UK and also Europe.

It is a great site for children, plenty of space to run and play, they also enjoyed going on the fairy trail. The staff were all helpful and friendly and you are left alone to enjoy your holiday with not too many rules and regulations.

We were one of only two touring caravans during our stay, apart from a motorhome everyone else was either in tents or using the glamping pods of which there was I think three or four. The unlisted road from Pately Bridge is tricky in places with some very narrow stretches.

Only two negatives, the price is expensive for what is on offer, you would normally expect a fully serviced pitch for this level of fee.

The other point is the chemical toilet emptying facility. It is extremely difficult to rinse out your cassette tank using the one and only tap.

This tap is situated at the rear of the discharge point with hardly any clearance beneath it. The result is that you are stretching at arms length with your cassette at an angle trying to get some water into it whilst avoiding any contact with the contaminated area of the discharge point. Everyone who I encountered at the chemical facility agreed that it was not user friendly. This could easily be remedied by the installation of another tap at the side of the discharge unit. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 31 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in early August when kids were officially off for the summer holiday so it was pretty busy with families. It was our first break away in 2020 as campsites and everything else had been shutdown by coronavirus so it was just nice to get away. We had 2 nights here and 2 nights in another part of the Dales as it was impossible to book 4 consecutive nights on any campsite at the time. Fine for us as we were happy to travel around.

Must admit we'd not explored the Nidderdale area much before although we'd driven through Pateley Bridge and Grassington several times so it was nice to stay at Studfold. The scenery is beautiful with rolling hills, rivers, reservoirs and quiet country lanes. We didn't do any of the Studfold on-site activities, possibly aimed more at families with kids, but we enjoyed a few walks and runs/cycling trips around the area. We did a section of a massive 50-something mile circular route that takes you mostly offroad back towards Pateley Bridge. Stunning scenery and hardly anyone else about! We also did a walk around the gorgeous Scar House reservoir just a few miles north of the site.

The site itself is very nice. They had a "1 in, 1 out" system in the three facility rooms. The system mostly worked well but a few people still came into the block when others were using them, but that's the fault of the individuals and not the site. As mentioned, there were a lot of families/kids around that week and although generally OK we had a few young kids messing about with the bikes on the back of our van and even the power cable as their parents let them roam around freely. And I mean young as in 3 or 4 year olds! The power cable incident could've been dangerous! Again. Not a reflection on the site at all, more the parents who weren't really keeping an eye on their kids.

There's no phone signal at the site, at least not for O2 customers, but that didn't bother us. We holiday to get away from the world! I'd definitely recommend the site and the area and hopefully will visit again in the future (but maybe during term time! :-D ) 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tucker 1 review from this member

 First, I would like to say how grateful I am to the owners of this campsite for making the effort to prepare well and open up for business so quickly after the lock down. There are plenty of other sites in the local area who are not opening or not catering to campers.

Secondly the site is brilliant. Beautiful short grassed area perfect for pitching. The amenities were spotless and geared up for 'social distancing'

This is the first time I have camped here and assume it will be very busy during this shortened season. Well done to the owners 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eleonor 3 reviews from this member

 Really nice site. The pitches are big and the surroundings are beautiful.

The facilities are big enough and clean.

You can walk around the site to a stream and there is enough space for kids to play.

Next time we visit it will be longer than just one night. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Phil+friends 19 reviews from this member

 Me the wife and our dog visited this site for 5 nights arriving Sunday and leaving on the Friday, absolutely loved it.

When we arrived the site was about three quarters full, the next day it was three quarters empty and remained that way throughout the week, campers seemed to only come for a couple of nights at a time and a regular told me its more of a weekender site.

It didn't matter to us we loved the peace and quiet, we met lots of campers, even campers of different nationalities, this site is more for families with kids and they were all well behaved, never heard a peep after 10:00, infact we were the only ones outside till about eleven.

The staff are pleasant and friendly. The shower block was clean and tidy, never queued for the showers and never had a problem with water issues they were always hot, there's a mop for the showers and j clothes for the sinks to clean up if you leave a mess.

Not much in the shop/reception, drinks, icecreams and kids toys, I found the shops a bit of a drive out, Pateley Bridge being 8 mile away and not much there but we already knew that and took our food with us, Ripon is a nice drive out with plenty of shops for your needs.

Loved How Stern Gorge and Toms Cave and the circular walks the site has to offer and the kids on site loved the Fairy trail adventure. When pitching up it states that you pitch in the middle of your marker which we did but when the neighbours came back they parked their car half on my pitch instead of parking at the front of their tent, I got such a look as if I was in the wrong.

Like another reviewer has said there is a problem with midges and wasps not all the time but when they were out it was annoying, even with candles and the fire going so be prepared.

All in all we went for a relaxing break with stunning views, we would definitely go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Donkers 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Studfold for 2 nights with two other families, all with young kids.

It is a very family oriented site and most other people staying there also had kids. So lots of kids running round, shouting, crying and playing, as kids do. If you don’t like that then this site is definitely not for you. The older kids in our party loved going off exploring the trees and river bank areas and paddling in the stream, there is plenty of space for running about and games. It would perhaps benefit from a small playground on the open games field but I can see why they may want to avoid that.

The setting is gorgeous; right in the heart of the Nidderdale countryside, it is fairly remote but with stunning views.

Pitches are a good size, flat, well maintained and easy to peg into.

Facilities are good and were kept clean throughout the busy weekend. The family room in the ladies toilet is brilliant with two huge walk in showers with decent flow, baby change facilities, sink and seating areas. The push button showers are slightly annoying and the flow in the ladies single showers was quite poor. Also depending on time of day they were sometimes cold. I like the fact there is a dry seating area in each cubicle to get dry and dressed. Very practical. Good covered dishwashing facilities. There is a slight bad smell around the facility block, which may have been the drains or septic tank but nothing to cause a major problem.

There is no phone reception on the site but you can now buy WiFi vouchers I believe.

Fire pits can be hired for £5 per night, including a small bag of logs. There is also a nice covered bbq area with pizza oven and picnic benches but we did not use it as we were lucky to have good weather.

The Studfold trail is on site and fab for kids and you can easily spend a day doing that, highly recommended! Howe Stean Gorge is just down the road but we did not visit.

We had a great stay and would definitely return, it is perfect for family camping. The only downside really were the midges - loads of them and even with citronella candles, loads of bug spray and a fire we all got eaten alive. Still suffering from bites now days later. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Canvascaravan 1 review from this member

 We are a family of five and we visited Studfold on the August Bank holiday weekend in 2017.

The approach from Pateley Bridge is narrow and winding and my proximity alarm went off a couple of times. The alarm is a high pitched squeal that comes from the passenger seat when an oncoming vehicle passes too close. The proximity alarm can also read a road atlas and makes excellent tea. The Pateley Bridge road is preferable to the Masham road (to the North-east) which is narrow, winding and extremely steep in places. I would go as far as to say it is practically impassable with a caravan. Be careful, as sat-nav can send you this way.

The site is level and well drained and I had no problem knocking pegs in. The pitches are reasonably sized with room for a car, caravan and awning. The centre of your pitch is marked by a numbered post so a degree of guesswork/courtesy is required to decide where your pitch ends and your neighbours starts. The shower block is clean and well maintained. I had no problems with the showers although my wife got cold showers on two of the three mornings we were there. This resulted in a sound very similar to the proximity warning. The water, which comes from a well, did have an unusual smell at times but no-one came down with cholera. The facilities block also appeared to run on a septic tank and occasionally an unpleasant smell would waft through the campsite. The worst aspect of the site was the midgies. On the last night we had a bbq and they ate more of my burger than I did – I don't know how they had the appetite as they had already eaten a good bit of me. I know the midgies aren't employed by the site but they were a feature that might put me off in future. Pitches further away from the stream seemed to be less affected by flying insects.

There is plenty to do in the area: How Steen Gorge and the various trails and paths. If you are prepared to venture further afield, Masham has the famous Theakstons and Black Sheep breweries. We also went to “The Forbidden Corner” which is 40 mins away. This attraction defies description but is worth a day as long as your children are not of a nervous disposition! Finally, the scenery. This is pure “All creatures great and small” country – absolutely beautiful. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chumbeiro 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a weekend of mountain biking and wasn't disappointed. Had stayed at the neighbouring How Stean site in February (when Studfold is closed to tourers); when we return we'll use Studfold.

Well maintained and laid out. Well-drained, clean and spacious with good access. Plenty of electricity points if you need it. Showers and wash facilities very good.

The only negative I can comment upon was not directly the fault of the site owners. A group of 3 large, family tents arrived and set up, taking up over 400 sq m (really) with their various units, cars, BBQs and toys strewn around. They showed an inconsiderate attitude throughout their stay - not making any effort to curtail the shouting/screaming of their 8 children and encouraging them to 'let off steam'(from 07:00 each morning). I'm not writing about infants crying here but older kids). Why don't people understand that because you can't see through tent canvas it doesn't insulate against sound travel?

Both nearby pubs were reasonably friendly and served a canny beer.

A number of reviews warn of the approach from Pateley Bridge but my sister who visited at the same time in her caravan reported the road was 'narrow but easy with care'. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KathP29 22 reviews from this member

 We have just spend Easter here as a family. 2 touring caravans + a pod. The pod was great for the young family who travelled with us.

This is a lovely country campsite with gorgeous views of Nidderdale. Site owner was very helpful and accomodating, even had boards to help us off the mud on the Monday morning if we needed them (fortunately we didn't)

Site is well placed for lots of activities. Some of our party, did the Studfold adventure trail and really enjoyed that. Another group did How Stean Gorge and really enjoyed that ( little bit more adventurous this one) Handy for a walk across the impressive damn wall at Scar House.

Had a lovely lunch at the local Crown Inn and Middlesmoor - excellent food.

Would have liked heating in the showers.

Great site and will come back again 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Hedgehugger 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed in Pod 1 at this site; there are two, convenient for camping field entrance and facilities. I felt a bit extravagant, paying £45/night for one, but it was only what I would have paid for a bed and breakfast, with the bonus of coming and going as as I pleased and being on a peaceful, scenic campsite. Pod 1 was very comfortable, with five double power points, ceiling lights, kettle, heater and a little table with emergency mugs and a few sachets of tea and coffee. The two bed bases can be moved about and pushed together if wished. Roller blinds provide privacy. Plastic tread mat protects the carpet and there's a tray for muddy boots, and coat hooks inside and out - they seem to have thought of everything. Outside there's a picnic bench and fire cage. Site staff are friendly and welcoming. The facilities are very good; coded entry lock, water nice and hot, showers on push-button but spacious with bench and hooks away from spray. Camping field pitches seemed a good size, grass was well kept; the shelter down by reception hosted a big birthday party while I was there, but the noise didn't really reach the camping field. The road from Pateley Bridge is seven miles of varying widths, plenty of bends and the occasional surprise cyclist or tractor. Keep your wits about you! Studfold is almost at the end of the road but not quite - How Stean Gorge is just up the lane and attractive to adventurous types. The P. O. /cafe there has some camping basics available in the shop, and good food and drink; very handy if you don't fancy doing much campsite cooking! 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Studfold Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Studfold Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Studfold Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harrogate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2005 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement