Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Beeches Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > The Beeches Campsite Reviews

The Beeches Campsite
Shobdon
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9NY
Tel: 01568 708678
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnnyboywonder 1 review from this member

I have just returned from a great weekend break at Beeches. If you are looking for a small quiet and friendly rural site then Beeches is for you. The pretty village of Shobden with it's pub and village stores is only a ten minute walk away.

The site consists of a large field which slopes gently away from the main entrance down to a duck pond. The site is surrounded by farmland on three sides and a road on the other. We found that the road noise was not intrusive and did not spoil the 'away from it all' atmosphere of the site.

The facilities are housed in a wooden chalet type building and are basic (one shower, 2 male toilets and 1 female toilet) but clean and piping hot water is available at all times.

About half the pitches have electric hook up and fresh water is available from a tap in the middle of the field.The site has only 10 or 12 pitches, 6 of which were taken during our stay. The site was not crowded in any way and could easily accommodate 20 or so pitches. Our children had plenty of room to play without giving any of the other campers a headache.

On our arrival we were greeted with a smile and a steaming cup of tea. On our departure we were given a dozen fresh eggs. What more could you want? A great rural site.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HelenF28 1 review from this member

We stayed here for three nights over the Bank Holiday. It is in a delightful location, easy to get to and has especially friendly, welcoming owners. From phoning to book to point of departure we were looked after well, made to feel at home but equally left on our own to chill!

There is a small toilet block (unisex) with a shower and washing facilities. It is situated next to a road which quietened at night but wasn't that noticeable anyway.

The campsite has beautiful views, lots of space, a large pond with wildlife and small trees. The owners have thoughtfully placed picnic benches around, chairs outside the loos, lights surrounding the toilet path, and a straightforward recycling box on the way to the loo - not a million miles away!

If you require entertainment, a huge toilet complex, play areas etc etc this place is not for you. If you want a friendly, clean, peaceful, country site then this is the place - just don't tell too many people .We don't want it to be too busy when we return!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Moandpenny 1 review from this member

We enjoyed our week at The Beeches the owners are friendly and very helpful the site is well kept. There is a dog walk as well as a duck pond you can walk round. It is very relaxing and not regiments as some other sites we have been to.

The toilet block are clean and sufficient for our needs but there were not many on site for most of the week. I feel the only thing missing was perhaps a mop for show after use.

The road was busy during the day but went quiet at night. The village has a pub, shop with post office and the church and arches are well worth a visit as is Leominster and Hereford we also went into Wales as it is close to the border.

I would recommend the site to anyone who is looking for a peaceful site and would return if in area.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NimbusC 4 reviews from this member

A very well kept site with pleasant and friendly owners who greeted us with a cup of tea whilst we pitched up.

Very informal layout which was a pleasant change from the usual regimented layouts of so many camp sites these days. Hook ups available to some pitches.

Pleasant 'park' feel about site which has a large duck pond which you can walk around.

Quirky 'French' style communal toilet/shower facilities which worked fine, although there was only one shower to serve the site.

Town of Shobdon with pubs and shops nearby which you can walk to but it was along a fairly busy main road.

Shobdon Airfield nearby is worth a visit to watch the light aircraft, micro lights, helicopters and gliding activities whilst enjoying some refreshments from the cafe.

The road did create quite a bit of noise during the day but was very quiet during the night.

Would recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsmyvan 3 reviews from this member

We used the site as a stopover on two occasions. Sally and her husband were warm and welcoming and the cup of tea was a lovely touch.

The site is on a gentle grassy slope that was very wet on our second visit so we stopped near the top of the site just in case. We had electric hook up and catered for ourselves and wanted somewhere quiet with some wildlife and views and that is what we had.

I loved the duck pond/lake complete with goldfish and baby geese and moorhens.

There is lovely existing planting and lots of new planting so it will be interesting to call again to see how it develops.

The toilet/shower block was cute and looked like an alpine chalet. It may be a little small if more units book in, but there were only two units there so it was fine and lovely and clean, with seats outside so we could have sat and waited if necessary.

We would happily return.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ODYSSEY77 3 reviews from this member

Lovely friendly small site, grass pitches with Electric. Picnic benches around the pond are a nice touch. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The airport is just down the lane and is interesting to visit. You can watch the light aircraft and helicopters whilst enjoying a meal or drink.

There are a couple of good pubs in the vicinity worth a visit and the pub in mortimers cross does take out fish and chips.The town of leominster is very quaint with ample shops and supermarkets. The visitors centre which is up the lane almost opposite to the site has a small cafe. The church next to the centre is fascinating with its blue interior and there are good walks from there up past 'the arches'.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LesD 19 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at The Beeches Campsite.

The owner Sally Hiams is very friendly and helpful. She kindly made us a mug of tea whilst we put the tent up.

The site is about 1.25 acres level with some hedges and trees giving shelter. There is a tarmaced area for parking or Touring vans. The grass was good and short. Two sides of the main camping field have EHUs. There are some picnic tables and chairs dotted about if you want to use them.

There is one compact toilet/facilities block. It has one WC and 2 urinals for the Gents and 1 WC with wash hand basin for the Ladies. 1 unisex shower which worked well, plenty of water pressure with hot water direct from the boiler. Also in the block is a wash hand basin, hand drier and separate sink for washing up. The block is very well looked after.

Nearby in Shobdon there is a Pub that serves food until 9pm which is within walking distance from the site (about 1km). The next Pub is at Mortimers Cross about 10 minutes drive away.

Shobdon Hall is a short walk away with tearooms, a pretty church and several follies - The Arches being the best known. The area is excellent for walking. The site is well equipped and well run. If you like small quiet country campsites it's a good place to spend a weekend or more. The duck pond adds a bit of interest.

We will certainly go back.

Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Eagerbeaver 17 reviews from this member

The site owners are friendly and helpful and there was plenty of space for pitching. There has been some planting of trees and shrubs which will enhance the appearance of the site when they have grown a bit.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet and the wildfowl on the pond. We would go again.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Dibsy01 5 reviews from this member

A small campsite which is well kept. Lovely views over the countryside. Toilet facilites very clean.

All in all a nice site

Reviewer: mackenzie 1 review from this member

August 2003
Still in early stages.Very quiet site if wanting a relaxing break. Would go back in few years just to see how or if it has improved.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!