Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Sands Park (haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe > Golden Sands Park (haven Holidays) Reviews

Golden Sands Park (haven Holidays)
Quebec Road
Mablethorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN12 1QJ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 360
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 132 Reviews
                7/10 from 132 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tekoa80 4 reviews from this member

 Typical Haven site but the camping area is flat and very spacious.

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Facilities we kept very clean, but the showers were scalding hot (and not adjustable) and the hot water at the sinks kept running cold (even if the other sinks weren't in use)

The geese are also a pain & leave droppings all over! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mattdanielc 1 review from this member

 I find writing this review fairly hard - the last camping trip I went on was over 20 years ago - so its hard to compare!

My parents used to take me camping regularly - Caravan Club sites in the UK - and sites in France every summer.

Now it's my turn to take my kids camping (1 and 5 years). All I can say is wow what a drop in standards in 20 years. Maybe it's because my parents used to take me to better standard sites - but blimey the Haven facilities were shocking.

The toilet blocks were disgusting. Spot the loo with the least amount of smears on, spot the shower curtains that were least grim and try and find a soap dispenser with soap left in it. Spider webs all over the tops of the toilet doors. The facilities badly need updating. My wife refused to use the toilet blocks (so went for a shower at the swimming pool!). The washing up area was vile - dead flies and mould par for the course. There are no plugs in the toilet block for hairdryers etc

So yes, in 20 years I would have thought sites would have improved - but this one was horrible? The playground to be fair was nice - our tent was close by so we left our daughter to play there. The playground was much more modern than the toilet blocks. Our pitch was nice and big and plenty of room from other tents.

Generally everyone took the noise down a notch at 10.

The actual Haven facilities were ok. The pool was nice (but crazy busy), the arcades were fun, the shop was useful (but expensive) and the takeaway pizzas were delicious.

Customer service from the Touring Reception was great - very helpful.

So yes, our first camping trip wasn't great. We will instead be choosing a site with modern facilities next time. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RainMagnet 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as a family of 4 with 2 young children. All the staff are friendly and more than willing to help. We stayed in the touring field, which has a small park for the children, ours loved playing there while we cooked meals and cleaned up.

The touring field is quite large and has 2 toilet blocks, the main block near the playing field takes quite a hammering and we found that despite the staffs best efforts it got quite messy, I believe this is mainly from the children running in and out throughout the day. The second block near the fishing ponds is much nicer and has a bath! but the showers are not as good.

As it is a Haven site there are plenty of activities to do but I would recommend booking them before you arrive, we left it late and found all the free activities had been booked up and limited places on the rest. The night entertainment was good, we went twice over the week, the entertainment complex is quite a walk from the touring site, just be aware if you have small children. The swimming pool was ok, the water was cold even in the indoor pool so we only went twice with my eldest daughter refusing to get in the second time.

The lovely huge beach is just across the road and through the dunes, you can catch either a land train on the road or a train on the beach into Mablethorpe.

In summary I would say this is one of the best Haven sites I have stayed at ideal for families with younger children. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 15 reviews from this member

 We stopped on this site for 5 days whilst touring Lincolnshire. Its a big site with quite a lot to do if you have kids, we don't. Clean toilet and showers but unable to use shower as there was no hot water! but the sinks had boiling hot water even hot coming out of the cold tap.

Touring area is a good 10 mins walk to main amenities as it is at the bottom near the fishing lakes so difficult for anyone with mobility issues. The little shop in the touring area has been closed and is no longer there so that means a long walk to the main shop up near the clubhouse if you run out of anything. Staff friendly and food good in the restaurant and not too expensive.

A bus stop outside the site but again a good 5 min walk if you catch it from the bottom further if you catch it from the top. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Focus61063 6 reviews from this member

 Went here for a weekend break at short notice booked on Thursday to arrive Friday, we have been before that was over 24 years ago.

On arrival drove through the park to the touring reception, booked in and was shown a number of full grass pitches before choosing one and setting up, pitch was a little uneven and bare after this season but its to be expected at this time of year.

Toilet block that we used was kept clean and was heated, lots of space and a disabled toilet and shower. It was a bit of a walk from the touring area to the main complex and a little dark so have a torch with you might be an idea.

Site facilities are as expected on a Haven site, on site shop, launderette, takeaway, amusement arcade etc, club entertainment is the usual thing with the staff giving their all to entertain you.

Site itself is handy for Mablethorpe with a bus service and land train visiting the site, Mablethorpe itself is a welcoming little town with a good variety of shops and cafes although obviously like many towns around our coast has seen better days but that in no way takes anything away from the place.

We enjoyed our stay and would visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Getknottd 6 reviews from this member

 First time staying with haven or even a holiday park. Really cheap trip. Two good sized pools with slides. A lot of on site activities and entertainment to take advantage of. Pub does jugs of squash @£1. 50, brilliant if you a convoy of kids. We had no ehu and found toilets a bit too far, pleased we were in the middle of the field, but still too far.

Overall clean and friendly. Showers were ok. On site shop is expensive as expected.

Walking distance to the beach that goes for miles, mablethorpe town is excellent value and not much changed since I was kid. Land train runs to and from the town, sand train runs up and down the beach if your legs get tired. Enjoyed the area. When trying to rebook a short break got four different prices for the same time period. Tried to use my AA gold membership discount code with out success. Haven so give returning customers some benefits after second trip though. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravanfor2 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed on an extra large pitch with electric hook up on the last field, it was quiet and clean with short cut grass. We didn't use any of the entertainment venues as we had our dog with us. The toilet block I have seen better and cleaner but they worked fine and they had a disabled bathroom which I thought was very good.

The wardens came round regular to make sure everyone was fine. We went before the school broke up for 6 weeks holidays so not that many children running around.

The fishing lakes were well stocked with fish and quite a few people were fishing. It's not a site we would normal use but we went with friends. Glad we had great weather it made our holiday better. Mablethorpe is a very seaside town that has seen better days. Towards the end of our stay quite a few more people, tents, caravan and camper vans came. In summer holidays it gets quite full. We would not return to this site as we really don't do commercial sites

We went with our friends, it was their choice of site and county but it looked ok for families with small children, but not for us. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CampingRays 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for seven night on a Extra Large Grass pitch with electricity, one we had driven through the actual Haven park we got to the Touring Warden who was very kind and walked me around the pitches that we could have which was great. Our pitch was level with good cut grass. We had enough room around us. The site itself was busy but immaculately maintained by lots of staff. Security was great and any loud music or loud noise was nipped in the bud after 10pm. Great dog friendly site with fishing lakes, lots of walking a nearby beach with a sandtrain. The on site facilities were clean friendly and served great food and drink. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rjlawson 2 reviews from this member

 Had a weekend camping on a basic pitch - was only £24 for three nights (£36 for two! So didn't have to rush to pack up on Sunday morning). Plenty of space, got busier over the weekend but we were still a good 10m from the nearest neighbour. Toilets/showers were OK, seemed to be cleaned regularly. There's a small shop, or a decent walk to the main Spar on site.

We visited about 5yr ago, and the swimming pool has improved dramatically - due to rain, it was quite busy in the morning, and as we were leaving there was a queue to get in. Evening entertainment was great for the children, and they enjoyed the small play area while we were washing up. Pub was really quite good, although expensive. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Smartecosse 14 reviews from this member

 Booked into a Haven site for seven nights with our folding camper as friends were staying in a chalet for a week and had invited us. Although the park itself provided plenty of things to keep the kids entertained including a nice pool the campsite part left a lot to be desired.

The toilet blocks were the dirtiest that we have ever encountered on a site. There are two toilet blocks and when we checked in the warden pointed to one block and said 'use those toilets, they are not as bad as the others'. They were both disgusting with ingrained dirt. The only remotely clean parts of the floor were the areas of high foot traffic where the action of people walking over the same spot again and again had rubbed some of the dirt off. The drain covers in the showers were rusty and had also didnít fit properly resulting in there being sharp metal edges an inch or so off the floor directly under the shower head where you would stand. The toilet and shower facilities in the main area though were absolutely spotless so obviously just an issue with the camp staff.

On top of this when it rains - we had two hours rain overnight - there are large areas of the campsite that have pools of standing water on. There was enough water in our awning that it was up to our ankles. When we were there there was approximately 30 other units on site and six or seven had to move due to the amount of water in their awning or tent. One person who had been going for several years said that it always floods when it rains and that they had left a few days early a couple of times when there was no non flooded space to move to. 



The site manager asked in passing if everything was ok when I was heading to the toilet block and I said that I wasnít happy that there was standing water in our awning, over a couple of inches in places, and he said in an extremely patronising manner that they were not responsible for the rain as it was the UK. We have no issue with wet weather when camping, its part of it, however there is a vast difference between the ground being wet and there being pools of standing water all over it. He would not acknowledge this at all and when I asked why if it was an ongoing problem there was no additional drainage put in. The answer was that we were camping in a 'field' and we could expect to get wet as they couldn't control the weather. 



I then mentioned that the cleaning of the toilet blocks was in their control so why were they so disgusting and was told that I was 'nit picking' as it had rained!



We go camping a lot, most weekends to a variety of sites and for longer trips over the school holidays. 5 different sites this summer for 7 nights each. Ranging from basic non electric sites with portacabin toilets to fully serviced sites and this site has the dirtiest toilet blocks we have ever had to use. 

I was told by the manager that they get a 'deep clean' every morning. I watched, what they get is the quickest mop possible which does nothing to remove the filth.

Outside the toilet blocks there is general litter and rubbish as well a cigarette ends all of which is just left and the pot washing area gets left as well. 



However, the play park for the children in the camping area is very good, the fishing lakes were very popular with those that were using them and the swimming pool was also very good. Lots of activities for kids and the evening entertainment for children was also enjoyed by our kids. 



The site is literally over the road from Mablethorpe beach which is lovely and the town itself is a few minutes away bay car or a leisurely walk. 

A change of site management to someone that actually kept the toilet blocks clean would make all the difference as would some investment in suitable drainage. 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golden Sands Park (haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Golden Sands Park (haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Sands Park (haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Golden Sands Park (haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mablethorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2170 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement