Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Middlewood Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Middlewood Farm Holiday Park Reviews

Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Lane
Fylingthorpe
Robin Hoods Bay
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4UF
Tel: 01947 880414
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 07/02/2021 to 05/01/2022
           07/02/2022 to 05/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 286 Reviews
                8/10 from 286 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  286 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dtiffi 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a fab location.

Clean facilities and free hot showers.

Nice walk into Robin Hoods Bay or up to local village with a decent pub serving good food. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: IanJ0453 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with easy access to Robin Hood's Bay.

Great electric hooked up pitch on the top field.

Showers and Toilets are immaculately clean.

Easy parking next to pitch makes setting up and down really easy. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wyldchancer 2 reviews from this member

 Location is very good, reasonable walk into Robinhoods Bay.

Camp site was good, spacings between units fair.

The toilet blocks had nice hot water, a screened wash basin in the gents, showers, wash basins

Two negatives

Only a land fill skip with no option to recycle, which I thought was outdated.

The hot water had a slight smell like the water had come from a tank that had been stagnant and needed cleaning.

But despite these negatives I would go again and recommend.

Hopefully the water smell will get sorted and ideally recycle bins will arrive. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Binnsb 1 review from this member

 The location of this site is excellent, with walks to Robin Hoods Bay, Boggle Hole and Ravenscar closeby and popular seaside places a short drive away. So perfect for this.

We found the site had oddly placed wooden posts on corners of pitches which made this a very difficult site to manoeuvre around in a twin axle caravan we found. The wooden posts didn't make it easy at all. But also we weren't sure what the purpose of the posts were, particular one on a corner with a cone over the top. We are very confident caravan drivers but it just seemed so tight for space.

Facilities are good.

Play area was across the road for us, but it was dominated with older children who were very intimidating. The swings positioned in the middle of the small play area also was off-putting. As it was such a small space and it seemed a bit of a hazard with small children in there. It really needed a larger space.

It was very very quiet at night time. We had no problems with noise at all.

Overall it was an average site, but for us it lacked the 'feel'. It felt closed in. I think it was really well suited to couples who want a very very quiet stay and would recommend it to those, if you are positioned on the site away from the play area, but for us it lacked something. We felt hemmed in, there was no green space for children to play ball games etc, the play area was below average, for families it felt restricting, with nowhere to run and play, but it was amazing for location! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bullfamily 1 review from this member

 Great to get away to such a lovely part of the country. Could only get ehu tent pitches, but they were large and close to the shower block. These had hot water in plentiful supply.

The washing up facilities were good, too. It was fairly pricey, but school holidays and seaside so donít begrudge it.

The reception staff were very helpful and it was good to have bricks to raise the bbq. Key code entry and rules about quiet times were good.

My little grandson found the play park intimidating - lots of big children, but this isnít anything the park can control. A play park for the smallest over on the pod side would be a good addition.

I would visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Barbara Bron 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed here with my son, aged 22. The campsite was pretty full, but there was plenty of room on the overflow field where we were told to pitch. No sea views from there unfortunately, but pleasant distant views all around. The showers were always very comfortably warm, but you definitely need to watch out for the five-minute cut-off with no warning!

Many families were staying on the site and so the shower blocks were busy and noisy. This I suppose was inevitable, but the site operators should have made sure that the liquid soap in the dispensers was kept topped up. It ran out on the second evening and was still missing in the morning. So anyone using the toilets that evening and the following morning was unable to wash their hands with soap. And this in covid times. Ugh!

The good points about the site were the lovely walk down a little valley to Robin Hoods Bay, the beautiful rural location of the farm and the precise instructions and rules given out on arrival which sought to limit any bad behaviour on the site. Still, one dad in our field had to walk over and complain to a group of young people playing music and singing after 10. 30. They stopped immediately after that.

Overall, a good experience in view of the pressure of having so many people on the site. It was quite expensive, but we were glad to get in anywhere at short notice. Other places we looked at were even dearer. Peak times, I suppose. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 33 reviews from this member

 We stayed two nights at Middlewood Farm. It's a nice site with good, clean facilities. We were placed on the first pitch to the larger field where the hardstanding pitches are located which is a little hemmed in by hedgerows.

The grass side, by the farm itself, just looked a bit more "homely" but we wouldn't have realised this at the time of booking. Back to our actual pitch, the EHU point was a long way from the first pitch. Fortunately we'd got two cables that connect together otherwise either cable on it's own simply wouldn't reach (not sure how long they are, I'd guess 20 to 25m each!).

The campsite toilet/shower facilities were kept quite clean and although the showers are included it states there's a 5 minute timer on them so typically I was covered in shower gel and shampoo when the time ran out! Seems a bit of an odd system that you can't just switch it back on to finish your shower.

I think there were a couple of minutes delay before I could get it started again. I understand saving water etc but I literally needed another minute or two but ended up staying for the full 5 minutes, so 3 minutes wasted water? Surely the push-button style activation would be better here?

It's a nice, 5-10 minute walk through the fields to the bottom of Robin Hood's Bay where you can get straight on to the beach or into the pubs for a swift half. We did both! We managed to miss a heavy downpour while in the Smuggler's.

There's a disused railway route runs right by the back of the campsite. Perfect for running/cycling to Ravenscar or north towards Whitby. The Cleveland Way also runs along that stretch of coast but unfortunately bikes aren't allowed on that.

We had a lovely meal and a pint in the Fylingdale Inn just a short walk into the village. From there we walked down to RHB again as the crowds had all gone, before returning to the site. Lots of things are easily accessible from Middlewood Farm and it's such a stunning section of coastline that I'm sure we'll be back sometime. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jane24 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely campsite with good facilities, clean showers block and washing up area,

Pitches nicely spaced (tent for us) plenty of good walks around the area from leaving the campsite, either down through the farm field to Robin Hoods Bay, a right turn along the cinder path towards Ravenscar or a left turn from the farm to the top end of Robin Hoods Bay.

We chose this place for these walks this time.

Have been a couple of times before and have not been disappointed. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blakeys7 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for four nights in June 2021.

Firstly, do you homework on arriving at this site and do not come through the village with a caravan as it is a nightmare!

We made the mistake of following a sign from Whitby for the caravan park which took us down roads not really suitable for caravans. Obviously this is not any fault of the caravan site, however perhaps something explaining the best route on the website would help.

On arrival, keep your eyes open for the little sign stating reception as we didn't see it and overshot the entrance and had another nightmare turning around.

Once you have made it safely in the park, the pitches are large hard standing with electric so as described. Water was by the shower block, although you had to keep your hand on the tap for it to run. Found another though we had a normal tap.

Toilets and showers fine, although didn't use them.

Lovely walk into Robinhood bay through farmers fields.

Short walk into the village with shops and pub.

Would stay here again when my car as recovered from all the hill starts and steep declines! 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Annera 1 review from this member

 Very accomodating, clean, everything you could want for your stay!

The ideal place for a base. Stayed here numerous times and will again.

Great if you bring a dog or not, everyone catered for. 
via mobile


Previous     286 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Middlewood Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Middlewood Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Middlewood Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2978 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder