Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Middlewood Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Middlewood Farm Holiday Park Reviews

Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Lane
Fylingthorpe
Robin Hoods Bay
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4UF
Tel: 01947 880414
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: Feb 7 To Jan 5

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 264 Reviews
                8/10 from 264 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  264 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Vashka 15 reviews from this member

We come up to this area a lot and vary between staying in Whitby and other places around this coast. We’ve stayed at Middlewood Farm previously and thought we’d have another visit.

We stayed for two nights in mid July with a motorhome and two adults and have mixed views.

A general observation from staying around this area a lot is that the campsites are all quite dated compared to other parts of the country.

The good:

- Location is great, 10 minutes walk down to RHB and right on the Cinder Trail which is an easy walk to Whitby (about 6 miles). You can also get the bus back from Whitby to the village.

- there’s a great pub in the village with good food

- it was slightly cheaper than staying in Whitby

- there’s a no noise after 11pm rule and this is adhered to.

- good views from the campsite.

The bad:

- we’d booked a pitch online but then asked to have a pitch where we could put an awning up and were moved from the adult field to the family field without realising. Having no kids ourselves, we found this quite tricky as there were kids everywhere playing football and tennis and throwing around stones right next to our van.

- the facilities are really dated and not sufficient for the size of the campsite. Just three showers in the toilet block on the family field which must have 30-odd pitches. I also found them quite dirty but possibly because the site was so full and lots of kids. We didn’t use the toilet blocks in the other field so these might be better.

- access is a bit tricky as there’s no real place to park up whilst checking in without blocking the road.

We would go again as the location is great but wouldn’t stay in the family field again.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Winbattle 1 review from this member

We stayed at middlewood farm this august bank holiday (6 adults and 4 children) and once again did not fail to have a wonderful time. 3rd time we've stayed here in 4 years.

Family field excellent for the kids play area a god sent.

Facilities clean and tidy plenty of hot water.

Staff very helpful going that extra mile if they can. (We booked 2 EHU pitches but another family of friends wanted to join us but was fully booked) the staff when that extra mile to get them on the same field and as close to us as possible.

10mins walk to robin hood bay beach (through the gate at the bottom of the family field).

Everything you need within walking distance.

Whitby a 20mins drive for those that don't like to stay grounded.

This site will not disappoint. Happy camping.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

Love the location of this site 10 minute walk into Robin Hoods Bay and a four mile walk into Ravenscar, Whitby is about 6-7 miles which we walked previously and caught the bus back. There is a small shop and pub 10-15 minute walk away. The facilities are ok. When we visited there was dozens of kids running wild, ok no real problem with that it was the school holidays but running in and screaming in the toilet block when I was having a shower not ok. The grass wanted cutting and I never saw any staff around the site. Been here twice and never seen Bernards food stand open. Could be an excellent site but with a small dog it cost us £31 a night which is £7 or £8 more than I pay on a CMC site which has far better facilities. Wont be back

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gsta 2 reviews from this member

I have just had a bad experience at Middlewood Camp Site in the camping field. As previous reviewers have experienced, this working farm camp site is dear and so I was expecting good facilities. This is not the case. The farm is not set up for tents.

The camping field was boggy and open to the elements - there being no trees, hedging or any partitions between pitches. The owner directed us to park beside the road as this was the only part that was usable. This was the thoroughfare from the rest of the campsite and village to the beach and clifftop walk. On the second day of camping the wind got up and swept our camp away - destroying two tents. Obviously Middlewood could not control the weather but had we been pitched in a suitable area we would not have been so exposed. Others on the site also lost their tents and awnings despite being pitched besides motorhomes.

The owners were not sympathetic and did not attempt to help me collect up my belongings. I would urge them to find the 'heart' in running a campsite and not to be so penny-pinching in their business. Either stop inviting tents onto your campsite or bring your facilities up to standard.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lany90 3 reviews from this member

The site is very clean and fit for purpose. But there are some things which I personally was not so keen on.

Only a 5 minute shower rule. The shower stops after 5 mins and does not come back on for at least 10 minutes. Great if you can shower this quick, but trying to shower a child as well yourself, is not an easy task with ought being left with hair full of bubbles. Plus it took the shower at least 2 minutes to get warm!

Very very dark when natural light has gone. Take torches, especially if you are put in the top camping field. The only light is a small light from the toilets.

Grass way too long on camping fields. My son camped here at the same time. The grass was long and very muddy, not a lot of drainage.

Expensive for what it is, only saw the owner when we signed in at reception.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Greenp 19 reviews from this member

Prices too high for what is on offer. Left a bad feeling. Just stayed for 1 night but charged 2 pounds for small dog plus 24 pounds to pitch for 1 person. Lots of rules, can’t walk here. Needs to be more grace or cheaper. Good facilities and great location.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camp chaos 25 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site after our first choice was fully booked, I'm really glad we ended up here as it's a lovely, mid-sized but low key site.

I disagree with the negatives in previous reviews: the toilet block was clean and pretty up to date (impressively it had a couple of plug sockets which is always a bonus to me!).

The site was well cared for, well drained and quiet on the mixed motor home/caravan/tent side where we were pitched. I have to admit that the family field was pretty lively but that's how it should be I think.

My recommendations for the area are:

Cycling the Cinder Path to Whitby. An amazing mixture of coastal views and inland woodlands/countryside. The path is pretty well maintained and easy to cycle although a bit of effort is needed as you climb the hill out of Whitby and RHB, this is well compensated, though, by the downhill parts!

The Cleveland Way towards Scarborough, especially if you stop off at the cafes at Ravenscar (not the NT visitor centre, the one in the village - amazing curd tart) and the old station cafe at Cloughton. Cloughton was as far as we could manage before giving into the bus back!

Both of these paths can be accessed right by the campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nshaw75 3 reviews from this member

Me and my wife stayed here for a few days in the tent. The site was nice, well kept and level, a nice welcome when we arrived too. The site is about a 10 minute drive from Whitby and about 30 minutes from Scarborough so we managed to get around. Some lovely views of Robin Hoods Bay and about a 10 minute walk into the town.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fg700 1 review from this member

Have stayed at this site in the family field a number of times over the past 6 years or so. Its a great location for a walk down to Robin Hoods Bay and exploring the surrounding area. The toilets are clean but getting a little tired. The play area is great for the kids. The family field is flat and has many electric hook ups. Some negatives, the site is popular so gets very busy so can be a bit noisy and so not a 'get away from it all site' if that's what your looking for. The price is a bit high but your paying for location. The main negative I have is that in recent years the pitches don't seem to be maintained and all have low spots where tents etc have been pitched central to the marker posts as required. The main issue is when it rains these fill with water. You either have a pool in your awning or your tent 'floats'. No doubt we will be back next year but pitching to one side of the low spots again - assuming the warden lets us!

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tents are us 29 reviews from this member

Had Christmas at Middlewood & have to say it was the best Christmas we have had! The site is well laid out & toilet/shower block was warm & very clean. Ideal for robin hoods bay, we walked down to sea (10 mins) on Christmas day & had a drink in the bay hotel.

Only real issue was no hot water in bathroom (yes it has a bathroom with a bath!) but as it was on Christmas morning & no one about I had a shower instead.

People have said they heard noise, as a working farm what do you expect!

I can imagine it gets very busy in summer?

The recycling area is just a skip so needs sorting out, but all in all we would return.

Previous     264 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4078 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019