Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Pitton Cross Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Swansea > Pitton Cross Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pitton Cross Caravan & Camping Park
Pitton Cross
Rhossili
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 1PT
Tel: 01792 390593
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 124 Reviews
                8/10 from 124 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 20/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Hoorayharry10 1 review from this member

 My husband and I travelled to Pitton cross Campsite last year for a rather special holiday together as it was our first camping trip as newlyweds.

Unfortunately the weather was not kind, mainly dry during the daytime but rainy at night. We found the site easy to find once we realised that it was off the GPS of my car SatNav and way past Three Cliffs Bay!

However it was worth it as we pitched at the bottom, the closest field to the coastal path - ideal for rock pooling, exploring and walking to the Worms Head. Moreover the Pitton Cross facilities were excellent with really clean, hot showers and toilets.

The shop was well equipped with food, gifts and camping supplies - the staff were super friendly, knowledgable and easygoing. The highlight for me, as a wildlife enthusiast was the coastal flora and fauna, not forgetting a surprise rendezvous with an inquisitive hedgehog neighbour! It turned out to be a very speedy hedgehog too once it had been discovered poking its nose into our little bit of rubbish. 🦔

Thanks Pitton Cross. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: NicoleEnt 4 reviews from this member

 Very friendly site, staff very welcoming, felt very safe to let our 8 year old play at the park with the friends he had met, very dog friendly, overall a lovely relaxing campsite with beautiful amazing beaches a short drive away.

Downsides- there is only one shower and toilet block and because we were quite a walk away we used the toilet in our caravan for the first time in the 7 years of owning it. It's not beach front so you do have to drive to the beach and pay the 5 a day parking.

We will definitely be returning to this site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magic48 24 reviews from this member

 Very friendly welcome. Generous pitches. Quiet location in this lovely part of the country. Excellent facilities.

Well stocked shop. Plenty of tourist info. Some pitches can be quite a way from the toilet/shower block.

Will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Amanda45 1 review from this member

 Returned after several years to a warm and friendly welcome.

The family that runs this site cannot do enough of their guests.

Cannot wait to return to the most relaxing place to stay on The Gower, and only a stones throw from the best beaches in the area. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 99 reviews from this member

 Re-visited this site after three years and found that the wash/shower/toilet facilities had been improved. The site was fairly quiet, even during the October half term. The on-line booking facility works well, you will receive a warm welcome and I was left to select a pitch from the sea view field next to the stone circle. Nice flat, grassy pitches with a view across to Lundy.

The campsite shop is well stocked although I remained fairly self sufficient for my stay. The wash facilities are great, very clean with loads of hot water.

The cliff top walk to the Worm Head Hotel is fantastic where you'll find good food, beer and a great view. Oxwich nature reserve is interesting too, as is the coastal scenery in all directions. Walking the Worm is a must! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bessacarr 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed 8 nights at this site and had a very enjoyable time.

The location is in beautiful surroundings with easy access to the coastal path. We walked to Rhossili Bay and the scenery was stunning.

The site has generous pitches. We had hardstanding for the van and grass by the side which gave us plenty of room for our 6m van, awning and small trailer. The price was very reasonable for this part of Wales.

The shower and toilet facilities are a bit dated, but kept very clean and the showers have good water pressure and were always warm enough. There is only one block, situated by Reception which was fine for us, but could be quite a walk from other parts of the site.

The shop had all the basic plus fishing tackle. Gifts and kites are also sold here.

The site is near the road but we weren't troubled by traffic noise at all and the bus stops right outside.

We would return here when visiting the beautiful Gower peninsula again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckerman 2 reviews from this member

 Have just come back from staying here for the week. First time at this site and I think it may not be our last. We had electric hook up for our 8 man tunnel tent, five of us plus the dog. The pitch was huge, (A8), plenty of room for us all.

The site is well laid out, some lovely views to the sea, very relaxed, staff are very friendly. There's a children's playground which seemed popular with the kids. Rhossili, Oxwich, Port Eynon beaches are all very close so this site is well placed for that aspect. I recommend Mewslade beach for the day which is walkable from the site, well signposted and all the information available from the campsite. While we were there everything was quiet after 11pm. There is a small shop on site which does most of the basics, gas bottle changes as well. Also there is a burger shack which does mornings and evenings. Toilet block has plenty of hot showers, never ran cold when we used them. Also houses dish washing and laundry facilities. I would happily come here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Talbot Calypso 5 reviews from this member

 We chose Pitton Cross as its 1. 5 miles from Rhossili Bay in the Gower Peninsula. We paid 27 per night inc. Electric and, having visited other sites in the UK that were a lot less money, we expected a good standard at Pitton Cross. What a disappointment!

The only toilet and shower block, which could not be described as modern, is situated next to Reception. This turned out to be approximately 200 yards from our pitch. To get there you have to walk along an uneven path which is strewn with stones of all shapes and sizes a real ankle-twister. The hardstanding pitch also had the same irregular stones and what grass there was had not been recently cut, nor had the hedges.

The whole site has an air of despondency and neglect. We were glad to leave. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hobbits 20 reviews from this member

 We visited during half-term and thoroughly enjoyed our stay on this site. As per other users' comments the online booking system is straightforward and efficient. We were checked in quickly and easily on arrival and given an envelope with some information including a site map clearly showing water points etc. We were shown to our pitch (and given a choice) and the staff we dealt with were very pleasant.

The site itself is very level and nicely laid out, with distinct areas. We were in the bottom corner of the part that includes the play area - near enough to be able to keep an eye on our kids but not so near as to be disturbed by the noise! We had EHU which was good.

The showers were excellent, plenty of hot water (and free of charge) and always clean. I didn't notice any queues and the site was pretty busy (although not full). The washing up water was scalding hot and again the whole place was kept clean. We didn't use the laundry facilities but they looked good too.

The site shop is very well stocked with both basic groceries and camping equipment and there is a shop a couple of miles away with more choice.

The playground for children is excellent and closes at 9pm. The closure isn't enforced but most children seemed to drift away around then. While we were there they also had a Viking re-enactment which was great fun. We walked from the site down to Ramsgrove (a rocky cove) and thoroughly enjoyed that ramble. We didn't make it to Mewslade (the nearest sandy beach) but would try that next time. Rhossili beach is just down the road by car and is wonderful for surfing and sandcastle building. The hike down and up the steps is long but worth it and we can highly recommend the coffee and cake in the Bay Cafe.

We found this site to be really good and will definitely consider visiting it again. There was a bit of noise from some campers which didn't seem to be addressed but we were far enough away from it. A few people also let their dogs off the leads. So perhaps a little more enforcement of the rules would help, but other than that we had a great time. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Propellerhed 18 reviews from this member

 Came here for a half term break and had an enjoyable time despite the weather trying to spoil our fun. The site is very good with some really nice features, but a few elements which stop it from being great.

What this site does really well is the administrative side of things - their online reservation system is slick and actually works (unlike some other sites!) and it was great to get a pre-arrival email with directions and other last minute info. Signage around the site is helpful and informative, as is the literature they give you on arrival. The shop has the basics you need and areas such as the washing up and laundry areas are well equipped. Toilets and showers were clean most of the time and are plentiful in number, although at peak times you can expect a wait, like most places.

The location is perfect for access to the Gower's many bays and beaches, but the downside of this is its relative remoteness means you're looking at a 15 mile drive into Swansea for anything like a big supermarket. Just means you have to plan your shopping a bit if you only have small capacity for storing provisions - it's worth that minor inconvenience for the great location. You can see the sea from the site on a clear day and it's less than a couple of miles walk to a number of beaches.

What prevents this site from being great are a number of easily fixable minor quibbles. Pitches seemed large with a good choice of locations, but in general the grass was left way too long which led to boggy and wet conditions in rain. The grassy bank areas around pitches are, I think, intended to be 'wild' but the result is that they just look like weed filled motorway embankments rather than borders. Litter blowing around the site wasn't collected as quickly as it could've been and the recycling facilities are poor - only a bin for glass and tins, plastics and card have to go in the normal refuse which for a site located amidst such natural beauty is surprising. The 10pm noise rule was not enforced, and a couple of nights were spoiled by loud music or shouting coming from inconsiderate campers. A quick patrol from the site staff around 10pm would've been enough to keep it under control but in general they are fairly invisible once you've checked in - although you do need to keep your wits about you when they zoom past in their buggies at speeds well beyond the supposed site limit.

So overall a good site which is ideally located for touring the Gower peninsula, amidst some beautiful scenery, just a few minor niggles letting it down. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pitton Cross Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pitton Cross Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pitton Cross Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swansea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020