Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Three Cliffs Bay Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Swansea > Three Cliffs Bay Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Three Cliffs Bay Caravan & Camping Site
North Hills Farm
Penmaen
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 2HB
Tel: 01792 371218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 114 Reviews
                9/10 from 114 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nuphoria 1 review from this member

 You can't really go wrong with this place. They have superb facilities which are kept very clean, friendly staff and a wonderful spot with gorgeous views.

Generally quiet, chilled guests and well behaved dogs there too which makes for a nice relaxing break. The shop is well stocked with goodies and essentials (which I believe ice cream to be!).

Pitch for electric camping was a little bit narrow but plenty of room for a four man tent and outside kitchen, firepit etc. Wind breaks essential as you're up on a windy cliff top and cooking or fire gazing can be a bit blowy!

Definitely would gleefully return to Three Cliffs again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grannyjones 10 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best campsites we have stayed on. The customer service was second to none. It is family run and their attention to detail shows.

There is a well stocked shop on site which doubles up as somewhere to get a coffee and cake etc or a savoury snack. As mentioned in previous reviews, the showers and toilets are stunning and kept meticulously clean.

My only disappointment was that they were unisex but it would not stop me from returning. The site has some good walks out of it and is very dog friendly. The Gower Inn which is within walking distance is dog friendly and serves a good selection of food. Families with small children would struggle with the walk down to the beach but if you are reasonably mobile, the couple of steep bits should present no problem at all.

Levelling blocks are needed for most pitches. Free Wi-fi too always a plus! 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cfurn 13 reviews from this member

 This is probably the best site we have stayed on to date. It's in a superb location with amazing views all round. The site is a lovely size - not too big, but big enough to be fairly sociable and have a good shop and cafe. The staff on site were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

The facilities were second to none, with beautiful modern toilets and showers. The cubicles had been well thought out with a shelf for your washbag, hooks to hang your clothes out of the way of the water splashing and even under floor heating.

We paid extra for a sea view but I'm not sure it was really worth it, as you couldn't see the sea from the van and you could have walked to look at the view in a couple of minutes anyway. Also, the other pitches were a little lower down and so more sheltered. There was a freezing cold wind when we were there!

There are some amazing beaches locally, but you will need to drive to them. Although Three Cliffs Bay looks stunning from the site, it is too dangerous to swim there. Also, the walk down to it is very steep and it seems even steeper on the way back up! Worth it though, our dog loved running on the beach. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amanda55 5 reviews from this member

 We went in the last weekend of the season. Luckily the weather was in our side. Worth paying extra for the sea view pitches, which overlook the magnificent Three Cliffs Bay.

Great, very clean facilities. Good walking area, with beautiful beaches.

First class. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulanddavid69 3 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting this site as campers and caravaners for the past thirty or so years. When we first went it was just a field with a simple toilet block. We were poor students then so the simplicity and low cost suited us just fine. Over the years the facilities have got better and better and the price has gone up. Currently this is a very high end site and quite costly, but we have never felt that it is over priced for what it is.

The views are stunning; on one side you can see for miles across the Gower Peninsular; on the other, from the cliff top, you look out over the uniquely beautiful Three Cliffs Bay, across the Bristol Channel and out to the coast of the West Country.

The washrooms are excellent, comprising of 20 self-contained, very modern wet rooms, each with shower, toilet and basin. This is nice and private and the numbers are ample for the size of the site. Not once did we have to wait or queue for a shower. They seem to be cleaned regularly throughout the day so, whenever we went in, they were spotless.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, there are plenty of them and they really look after the site; which is very well maintained and landscaped.

The shop is well stocked for what it is and there is a nice coffee area.

This is a very dog friendly site, with two areas suitable for spending, each with a dog bag bin. A big plus for us it that open fires are allowed, with logs for sale at the shop and fire baskets for hire.

Above all, this is a site with character. Despite being well organised and laid out, it still has the feeling of wildness and spontaneity that so attracted us 30 years ago. This may be down to the location. It might also have to do with the lack of 'thou shalts' and 'thou-shalt-nots' with which one is bombarded at so many other sites. There seems to be an assumption that people will behave in a considerate and civilised manner without being told how to and, surprise, surprise, they do.

We had a magical time and will be going back, hopefully, for another thirty years to come. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vetjimbo 2 reviews from this member

 Good site with views however I wasn't overly impressed with the new bathroom showers. Temperature was inconsistent and my wife struggled with the flow as it kept dropping to nothing then too hot then too cold. Difficult to shower kids when the temperature and flow fluctuates so much. Seemed strange to close gents at 7. 30am for cleaning which lead to queues for the bathrooms.

Access road is narrow and difficult if you meet a tourer: as we left another caravan was arriving and we had to reverse down narrow winding lane.

Shop is useful and seemed to have everything, even dog leads as we left ours at home! Nice touch that we could leave the caravan in the car park so make the most of our leaving day. To be honest I am not sure if we will return to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Calleva 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a relaxing stay at the campsite. Access to it is via a tight turn and narrow road which some large motorhome owners might find daunting especially as cars speed up the hill near the site access.

The reception area also has a shop that is very well equipped with fresh and frozen food. Cakes and bread can be bought and milk and cheese and yogurts. There is a coffee area. Pies can be heated free of charge using a microwave at point of sale. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

They will book taxis for you. Access to pubs in the area is not easy if you don't have access to a car and don't want to unhitch your motorhome or camper each night. We hired a taxi. 24 for a return trip for 4 people to the King Arthur pub. The lane to the camping fields has high hedges and is narrow. Pedestrians are asked to walk up the field to avoid vehicles using the road.

There is a flat field with no view and is used by a mix of campers but mostly tents and small camper vans. The hard standing pitches, some with electric are on the other side. Here there is a demarcation between camper vans on one area and motor homes and caravans on the other. We found this frustrating as we were holidaying with friends with a motorhome and we were is the camper.

We were not allowed to pitch near one another and had to walk in the rain carrying food and drink between the two. Yet while we were there they allowed a motorhome to park next to us in the campervan area! The flat hard standing pitches with sea views are in the motorhome caravan area so do not expect to get a sea view on the flat if you are in a campervan. You pay the same whether you are in a campervan or a motorhome mind you. The wash rooms are old and modern.

The old ones are very clean with plenty of toilet paper but the hand drier is pathetically inefficient like so many on campsites. The modern ones are superb. There are 8 proper shower rooms with underfloor heating, electronic controlled hot ample showers, wash basin and toilet. A real joy. Hair drier provided in the common access area off the shower rooms.

Washing up facilities are ok.

Grey water is disposed of in front off the bathrooms, would be better somewhere else. Can't speak of chemical toilet disposal as we don't have one.

The site is kept immaculate by uniformed staff, the only downside to that is hours of listening to grass being mown or hedges being trimmed.

There is a good walk down the bridle path that takes 15 minutes to get to the heritage centre where there is a cafe. The same road would also take you to the next pub, the Gower Inn. But the roads in the area are narrow, hilly and cars do drive quick quickly and based on smashed plastic bits on the road, collisions do happen. I would not like to walk on the roads.

The site does have a lovely sea view of the bay and it is a fairly short but sloping walk to the beach. No swimming allowed though as big undercurrents. Oxwich bay is better for children but you would need a car or taxi.

There is one small cafe and one expensive restaurant on the sea front at Oxwich. Port Enyon has more facilities and the seaside is ok on the LHS of the sea front a bit more muddy on the RHS. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deb7170 7 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site - immaculately clean at all times, incredibly helpful staff, great facilities, brilliant location.

Be aware it's a trek down to the beach and there are no facilities there so you need to take everything with you - but that's why it's so quite and beautiful!

The only slight negative comment I have (and I'm struggling here) is that the hot water in the washing up facilities isn't really hot enough to clean greasy dishes, but hardly a major problem.

Would highly recommend and hope to go back soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rustys 6 reviews from this member

 As others have said this site has some amazing views of the Bristol Chanel. Owners are very friendly and obliging.

For the Cliff top views with a tent it would have to be in perfect weather as it is rather exposed, also not a lot of flat areas.

We camped in the large field with nice clean cut grass, below the amenities which was more sheltered, but again ground is slopping. Amenities I felt were way over the top and in a class of there own, with heated floors all absolutely pristine spotless, hence the price of a pitch for the night, one of the most expensive we found travelling the UK.

Russell and Sue. NZ 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Aeedwards 4 reviews from this member

 Amazing! staff welcoming & helpful, site toilets/showers best I've seen and all spotless, shop really well stocked and reasonably priced and best of all a view to die for!

Walk down to three cliffs bay from site, it's a bit of a slog back up but I think it's worth it, our 6 year old managed it without too much complaining, took about 10-15mins down and 15-20 mins back up!

Only slight negative VW campervans can't go on the cliff top with the sea view because of rules by the national park - nothing to do with the site.

Definitely be back! 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Three Cliffs Bay Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Three Cliffs Bay Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Three Cliffs Bay Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swansea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2523 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement