Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Willowbank Holiday Home & Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Merseyside > Ainsdale > Willowbank Holiday Home & Touring Park > Reviews

Willowbank Holiday Home & Touring Park
Coastal Road
Ainsdale
Merseyside   (Browse area)
PR8 3ST
Tel: 01704 571566
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 87
Open: 14/02/2024 to 31/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 149 Reviews
                9/10 from 149 Reviews

Photos (25)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  149 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Billlywizz 2 reviews from this member

 A well maintained site with pleasant staff & surroundings, bordered by woodland.

Situated at Ainsdale on the outskirts of Southport, both of which have seen better days & are sadly, rather run down. For us, the site was too remote.

The local bus service took about 25 minutes into Southport & Ainsdale beach is a 40 minute walk.

The Sparrowhawk pub/restaurant was the highlight.

A beautiful old house in it's own grounds serving lovely food. Only 15 minutes walk from the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 42 reviews from this member

 First time in the Southport area & chose Willowbank Touring Park. There is also a mobile homes section which has its own barrier to gain access to as does the touring park.

We booked a hard standing pitch, was given our pitch number & the security barrier had car recognition. We arrived just after 1pm & drove straight to our pitch, BUT, there was someone already on it, so we thought we must have the wrong pitch number so we parked the caravan in the next field & went to Reception.

We did have the correct pitch number, the people on our pitch should have left at 12 noon! & was told at 12:30 to move off as we were due to arrive. Anyway we decided that as the pitch was under trees & we prefer to be in the open we would choose another pitch from what was available in the grass field.

It was a lovely pitch which had poppies growing in the hedge. The field was well drained & not boggy considering all the rain we have had.

The site was very quiet although this field in nearer to the main road any noise did not bother us. There is also an RAF airfield at the back of this site, again no noise as didn't see any planes until our last day when we saw 2 glider planes.

There was free wifi, a toilet block in the hard standing section & what looked like a temp/additional block in the field section which had showers & loos all very clean.

There was different bus's that ran from the main road, we caught the bus into Southport one day & went to Liverpool another which took about 1 hour.

We went to Crosby to see Anthony Gormleys "Another Place" I have always wanted to see this. We had a meal in the Toby Carvery at Formby, the meat was tougher than I like but from there had a ride down to Forby Point, wished we had come here earlier as there was tracks in the woods so lots of walking to be done, we parked up at the bottom & climbed over the sand dunes onto the beach just to see what it was like, it went on forever.

On our last day we went to Ainsdale Beach, 5 to park up after 4:30 till 9pm. It had been a very hot day, people were there with tents & gazebo's to shelter from the sun.

Again the beach was vast, & the sea was way out. We really enjoyed our trip & would definitely stay at Willowbank should we visit that area again & the staff were fantastic & very accommodating due to pitch change & our electric tripping. 


Date of Visit: June 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Angela 1 review from this member

 The site was very organised.

The shower and toilet facilities were spotless.

The staff were polite and very helpful.

Would definitely stay again 😊

The service facilities for water was very clean.

The facilities for grey water and toilet cartridges was very well maintained and clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Boxercup 3 reviews from this member

 We booked into this site as it was close to our destination The Southport flower show.

The site is well situated and has spotless facilities, the campsite is well marked out with great size plots, the security is excellent with barrier operation.

In the area there is an excellent public house The Sparrowhawk serving excellent meals within walking Distance.

I will be returning to this well run site 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevena 1 review from this member

 Lovely polite and informative welcome along with assistance in parking MH for maximum sunlight (dawn to dusk on 21st)

Pitch was massive with hard standing and grass area which could fit another 2 MHs

Well throughout facilities which were immaculate at all times. Bus stop 5 minutes walk away with buses to Formby, Crosby and Liverpool Queen square in just under an hour multiple buses the other way Southport and Preston.

Fantastic stay will be going back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wendav 9 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from spending 5 nights at this site with our touring caravan.

When we arrived we were taken to our pitch by Wayne who helped my husband site the van. He also showed us where the facilities were and was very helpful and friendly.

The pitches are big with ample room for our caravan and awning and car.

The site itself is beautifully maintained lots of trees and so peaceful.

The shower blocks and toilets are immaculate.

We shall definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Olmeister6 4 reviews from this member

 Great level site on the edge of Southport and an easy drive into Liverpool to see all its tourist attractions.

Facilities probably the cleanest I have seen of late with modern hot showers and secure access.

Plenty to do in the area for walkers, nature lovers ans a superb pub within walking distance.

Site staff very helpful and welcoming.

Second time on this site but will have no hesitation visiting again even though it is less than hour away.  


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dianal 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site. Facilities excellent. Whole site clean and tidy.

Great location. Short distance from shops and food outlets.

Quiet site, children well catered for.

Great welcome and advice on eating out etc.

We'll be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ron551 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived 8 Aug 22 for 4 nights.

On arrival staff couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly & helpful to site caravan.

Facilities spotless at all times.

Site level with easy access. Plenty to do in area.

Several bike trails locally.

An absolute gem of a site and will definitely be back.

Ron 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dpsl13 3 reviews from this member

 Reasonable base location but not particularly close to any amenities,

Internet is not free which considering the cost of this site was not expected,

Pitch location was good and flat, amenity block was clean and well maintained.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Children play area appeared tired and limited with older children (teens?) using it as a meeting point 


Previous     149 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Willowbank Holiday Home & Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Willowbank Holiday Home & Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Willowbank Holiday Home & Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ainsdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Woodshrop 24 Tribute Festival 19/07 to 21/07

Family friendly festival in Shrewsbury with 16 of the UK's best tribute bands honoring the greatest hits of the past and present. Chill out zone, food and drink stalls, camping on site and more. Win weekend camping tickets for two AND save 10% on Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2661 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement