Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Willowbank Holiday Home & Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Merseyside > Southport > Willowbank Holiday Home & Touring Park Reviews

Willowbank Holiday Home & Touring Park
Willowbank, Coastal Road
Ainsdale
Southport
Merseyside   (Browse area)
PR8 3ST
Tel: 01704 571566
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 87
Open: 14th February -31st January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lee1878 2 reviews from this member

Had a lovely time. The site is clean and tidy as are the shower and toilet facilities.

Plenty to do in the area lovely beach in Formby and large woodland area for are dogs. Staff in office were very nice but the site manager was a bit rude and arrogant to us when we accidentally parked are car on the wrong side of are caravan.

Quite a lot of rules and regs to follow and are quite strict on them.

All in all had a lovely time but will not be coming back due to managers attitude to us
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tony Cavanagh 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to the Willowbank Holiday Home & Touring Park. As always, the owners were very friendly. The site is perfectly kept and eco friendly.

The facilities, toilet and washroom blocks etc are immaculate.

There is a small park with swings etc for the kids and a large, fenced off area for ball games or for the kids to just run around safely.

It is perfectly sited for Ainsdale Beach, which is about a 30 minute walk. If you are up for it, as we did, the walk along the beach to Southport took us 1 hour 56 minutes to walk the 10 km's.

Southport is perfect if you just want to sit on the beach and have fish and chips or if you like there are plenty of places and choices to eat and lots of shops to visit.

The bus service is excellent and the bus stop is right near the site.

This is one of our favorite sites and places to visit, which we will visit time and again.

The Sparrow Hawk pub is a very nice place for a bite to eat and a pint and it is just around the corner.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Snowbird 7 reviews from this member

We needed a site that was close to public transport into Southport and Liverpool and in this respect Willowbank fitted the bill. I checked the location on Google maps and also checked out the site on Google's satellite too and could see the grey rectangle shapes which were obviously hardstandings.

I called to book for 4 nights and paid an extra 1. 80 a night for a hardstanding pitch. On arrival a few weeks later we were taken through the tree lined touring area, past the hardstandings and into a more open field where we were directed to a grass pitch.

I explained that I'd booked a hardstanding and was informed that this was a grass hardstanding. Been camping for over 30 years but have never encountered a grass hardstanding before. Apparently there is some sort of mesh underneath.

It also transpired that this was the overflow field and despite the claims of being a peaceful site, this field lies next to a constantly busy duel carriageway and the road noise is very intrusive. This pitch was quite uneven too.

My reason for needing a proper and level hardstanding is that I have arthritis and cartilage issues in both knees and I can have problems walking and slipping on wet grass so we avoid grass pitches wherever possible in the months where rain is more frequent.

At NO time during the booking process was I told the hardstanding was a grass one and neither was I told it would be in the overflow field. After I said we were unhappy we were found a gravel hardstanding in the main touring area.

The reason for us being allocated a grass hardstanding in the overflow field was given as they had sold out of the gravel hardstandings and they always put the big motorhomes on the grass hardstanding because they are bigger pitches.

Again I was not asked at the time of booking the size of our unit which is hardly big at only 5. 8 metres long. I also found it curious that despite the gravel hardstandings being sold out there were in fact 2 of them that remained vacant during the whole time we were there and there were also caravans and motorhomes longer than ours on these gravel hardstandings.

Apart from this the site is well maintained, very clean toilets and there is a good motorhome service point. Good security in the form of a key fob operated barrier for which a 10 deposit is payable.

The deposit is refundable but interesting to note that the two sites we had stayed at prior to Willowbank also had key fob barriers but didn't charge a deposit. You also have to use a key to access the toilets.

The bus stop is just over a 5 min walk. Although we didn't have young children with us I did notice the play area looked pretty dull, just a couple of swings and a small climbing frame. We also have to agree with a previous review in that the site does feel pretty souless, there just doesn't seem any atmosphere there.

The EHU is only 10amp and there are warning signs advising not to use ordinary household appliances and do not use fan heaters or hallogen heaters during cold weather or else it will trip out the site for up to 2 hours.

When returning the key fob my hubby had quite a frosty reception too. Not even a thank you, safe journey or was the alternative pitch ok for you, he was just given the money back and off she went back to her work. To sum up I'd say the site served a purpose which was ease of transport links and it was very clean.

However we would not stay here again and I would advise anyone booking a hardstanding to check if they will be on a gravel or grass one and if wanting a quiet pitch check that they will not be in the overflow field.

You can still hear the duel carriageway from the normal pitches but it is less intrusive. Also there is a booking fee of 1. 50 to pay regardless of if you book via their website or over the phone.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Irish_tez 3 reviews from this member

Had a lovely relaxing weekend here. The site is next to an airbase, but didn't hear any noise. Maybe because it was the weekend. Paid our 10 deposit for key fob and toilet key. Warden took us to our pitch. Spent an hour trying to get the gas to work in the motorhome to find out the bottle was empty.

The warden sorted us out a new bottle even though it was late at night and they had closed up the office for the day. The whole site is spotless. We where close to the over spill toilet blocks.

Watched the wardens coming round several times a day to clean toilets, check bins and patrol the site. We felt so relaxed there we didn't want to come home. On the way to site you have Tesco etc. When you come off the site you turn left and its the coastal road into Southport, A lovely drive.

Be warned no commercial vehicles on site. They made a taxi driver debadge his car. It's a nice place away from the hustle and the bustle. We will be going back again and again.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 180 reviews from this member

Have to disagree with last two posts, although the site is near the main roads it is surrounded by trees in a natural environment with quite a few bird species in them. Very quiet at night so as a retired couple that suited us fine and being over 60 got 10% off for a mid-week break.

Found the toilet/showers on the small side and I guess they struggle to meet demand during busy periods.

The Sparrowhawk pub over the road is a Brunning&Price pub, so not cheap but big on quality and being in the GBG has some nice local real ales on. Good bus service down the road to Southport and runs late at night.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kayleeboo 4 reviews from this member

Nice clean site. As everyone says owners show you to your pitch and very helpful. They sell cold drinks in reception and I think ices and there is a dog waking area much to our pleasure, and I haven't seen it advertised on their site, so ask if you go. Little shocked as only one soap dispenser in the ladies and one hand drier, but very clean loos. The children's play area is most disappointing and the ball game area, these really let the park down, this is the main reason I won't be returning. It's a lovely place to just chill and put your feet up

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Millet 31 reviews from this member

If you read several reviews I totally agreed with them.

Site is very quiet.

Suited to older couples who want it very quiet.

10 deposit on arrival for key to open barrier to the site plus toilet block. Initially I had no issue with needing a key for the toilet, but, after the first day, this became very annoying, especially as there was no passing people who would have used site facilities, only the people who had the barrier access key??? Odd.

Toilet block cleaned several times a day. Can not fault the cleanliness.

This aside, we would not visit again, we felt the site lacked atmosphere and was rather soulless.

Glad we had nice pitch neighbours.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigles 15 reviews from this member

We visited this site at Spring Bank Holiday week, we don't have children or a dog and found the site to our liking. We took advantage of the bus service which is a 5 minute walk from the site (we have bus passes) We went to Southport twice, Preston & Liverpool incl. A ferry cross the Mersey.

The Sparrowhawk pub is mainly an eating place and not for people just wanting a drink (Beer quite expensive). There is a local 'One Stop' shop which is reasonably priced only a short walk away. Really nice people who run the site, very welcoming when we arrived and the same throughout our 5 night stay. Would certainly return.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Susannecaron 2 reviews from this member

Just stayed here for 4 nights. The site is in a prime location for Formby Nature Reserve, Ainsdale Beach & Southport along with many other attractions. This is our 3rd visit to this site which prides itself on being 5* however, and this might seem petty to some, there was no soap in the ladies toilets in the main toilet block for 3 days. This was reported to reception twice & on leaving we were told they had run out! If this was the case why close the toilet block that did have toilet soap in or why not buy some temporary bottles from a local supermarket? A minor issue but when paying 5* prices I would like 5* service please.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Treesausage 1 review from this member

Friendly welcome on arrival, all amenities were pointed out to us and we were escorted to our pitch.

Shower block clean and tidy if not a little aged and on the small side. Pot wash area was a single sink - I don't think this would be manageable/usable this would be during a busier time.

Children's play area/park is again tired and lacking equipment. Short of a swing there was nothing suitable for a 4 and 5 year old.

Pleasant walk alongside RAF Woodvale and lots of nature to enjoy.

Site is quiet of road noise, despite being situated close to the bypass. Car journey into Southport is about 5/10 minutes.

I think the lack of play equipment would prevent me visiting again. Very suitable for people without young children though and very little to fault.

Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Southport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5113 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019