Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Formerly Scotgate Holiday Park And Braithwaite Bridges
Braithwaite
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5TF
Tel: 024 7647 5426
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 165
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 156 Reviews
                9/10 from 156 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  156 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 21 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site.

Pitches are pre-allocated.

First impressions of the site are of a clean and well organised business and nothing dissuades you from this thought.

We had booked a hard standing with services and had seen a negative review concerning concrete slabs and gravel. I had made a telephone enquiry regarding this and had been assured that all would be fine. In fact it was all fine.

The pitch was a concrete slab that oddly was not level, and the side of the pitch was all gravel chippings. This is where static caravans either once were or are going to be again. We do not use an awning so had no need to peg out. We found the pitch perfect.

The facilities were all lovely and clean, but the site has just been refurbished /re-developed so they should be.

Wardens were very helpful.

Buses available from just outside the site entrance.

2 good pubs in the village nearby, a good tearoom (Jaspers) nearby.

Whinlatter Forest just a couple of miles away. (Bus there and walk back)

Bus can take you into Keswick and Derwent Water, but it is walkable too via the footpath route instead of the roadway.

Local food outlets deliver to site if needed. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Steve6767 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the Braithwaite village campsite for 5 nights on a super pitch. The pitch had water, electric, waste water grid and tv aerial point.

The site itself is around 2 miles from Keswick. The toilets/showers block was always clean. The site is very well looked after by the staff.

The staff were helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. There is a bus stop next to Jaspers coffee shop on the road outside the site. The bus goes to Keswick or further afield.

There are two pubs in Braithwaite we ate at the Royal Oak one night. The food was good.

We would definitely go back and would recommend the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that this site has been taken over by the Camping and Caravanning Club. At the time of writing it is closed for a major refurbishment and will reopen as Braithwaite Village Camping and Caravanning Club site once complete 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 15 reviews from this member

 Great site, extremely helpful staff.

The facilities are all well kept and great.

The view is great.

There is a pub that does good food within a 5 minute walk. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GSHaigh 2 reviews from this member

 A cracking campsite, perfectly located just off the A66 in the village of Braithwaite. Braithwaite hosts two cracking pubs both within a few minutes walk from the site. You can walk in to Keswick within 30 minutes, the quick way or far better is to walk over the fields towards Portinscale, this is 20 minutes longer but far quieter.

The site itself is pan flat, all the pitches we've been on have been hard-standing but there is a flat field for camping on.

The toilet blocks are what all campsites should have. Plenty of cubicles and showers, underfloor heating and plenty of room inside. The reception staff are great, very friendly and polite. I have no complaints about this site at all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Julesmorris 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed two nights on spec. For the Tour of Great Britain Whinlatter events. Hardstanding and hook-ups were booked up, not a problem as we stayed on grass (flat, no hedges/trees) and have solar. Management were very accommodating; well-stocked shop; toilet/shower/washing up facilities amongst the best we've ever had in the UK. Both local pubs had good beer and food. Direct access from campsite to footpath network along river bank, convenient for Grisedale Pike/ Whinlatter Forest visitor centre footpaths and mountain bike trails. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Martin Spiers 6 reviews from this member

 Firstly a fantastic site for facilities and location to local walks and Keswick. The staff are brilliant and directions to pubs, walks and Keswick were spot on.

The toilet facilities are up with the best and spotless.

We booked a motor home without awning pitch and they are on the small side. I have made enquiries with the site since and if we call and ask for a bigger pitch with an awning they would accommodate this. If you were staying for a few days this might be a good idea but for our two day stay the smaller pitch caused us no worries.

The local pub (2nd nearest to the site) is very dog friendly.

Walks great, site great and people great. We will look forward to going back when our journey takes us this way 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jam Mar 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed overnight on our journey home to Scotland. I was a bit wary as we always book a certain campsite, however on this occasion I'm pleased to say that our usual site was fully booked, and we were fortunate to get an electric hook up at Scotgate, at short notice.

And ---- A human person actually answered our last minute telephone call WOW! So sick of calling sites and getting a recorded message at the other end, telling you to leave contact details but never getting a call back to advise whether they have vacancies. Well done Sir!

What a fab site! Toilets immaculate. Great on-site shop. On-site cafe serving good value, freshly prepared meals.

It was busy, tents a bit 'tightly packed', but all lights out at an appropriate time and a 'real campsite atmosphere.

There are two local pubs within a short distance that also serve food.

A river runs along the site, and the kids and our dogs were having great fun splashing around.

Waking up to a spectacular view, and the sun was shining, we didn't want to leave.

We can't wait to return, but shhh! don't tell everyone! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 191 reviews from this member

 Not much of a reception on arrival, only' your on pitch 25 over there' Nevertheless had a nice hard-standing pitch near the stream and for such a large site was very quiet at night. Thought the shower/toilet block a bit dated but functional. Nice walk adjacent the stream to Braithwaite village itself with three pubs in it and a shop. There is also a well stocked shop on-site which even sells booze. Bus stop near site entrance which is convenient for Keswick. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Climbergirl 14 reviews from this member

 What a lovely friendly site. On driving up the M6 heaving snow hit and we had to stay at a service station overnight and allow the bad weather to pass. The campsite owner was so helpful with us arriving a day late and remained helpful and friendly all week. The site is in a beautiful position with walks onto the hills straight from the site. We were given a pitch close to the toilet block which was always clean and warm - very important in March. I will be back 


Previous     156 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3134 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement