Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Formerly Scotgate Holiday Park
Braithwaite
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5TF
Tel: 024 7647 5426
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 165
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 130 Reviews
                9/10 from 130 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  130 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that this site has been taken over by the Camping and Caravanning Club. At the time of writing it is closed for a major refurbishment and will reopen as Braithwaite Village Camping and Caravanning Club site once complete 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton37673xpz 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, extremely helpful staff.

The facilities are all well kept and great.

The view is great.

There is a pub that does good food within a 5 minute walk. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GSHaigh 2 reviews from this member

 A cracking campsite, perfectly located just off the A66 in the village of Braithwaite. Braithwaite hosts two cracking pubs both within a few minutes walk from the site. You can walk in to Keswick within 30 minutes, the quick way or far better is to walk over the fields towards Portinscale, this is 20 minutes longer but far quieter.

The site itself is pan flat, all the pitches we've been on have been hard-standing but there is a flat field for camping on.

The toilet blocks are what all campsites should have. Plenty of cubicles and showers, underfloor heating and plenty of room inside. The reception staff are great, very friendly and polite. I have no complaints about this site at all. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Julesmorris 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed two nights on spec. For the Tour of Great Britain Whinlatter events. Hardstanding and hook-ups were booked up, not a problem as we stayed on grass (flat, no hedges/trees) and have solar. Management were very accommodating; well-stocked shop; toilet/shower/washing up facilities amongst the best we've ever had in the UK. Both local pubs had good beer and food. Direct access from campsite to footpath network along river bank, convenient for Grisedale Pike/ Whinlatter Forest visitor centre footpaths and mountain bike trails. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Martin Spiers 6 reviews from this member

 Firstly a fantastic site for facilities and location to local walks and Keswick. The staff are brilliant and directions to pubs, walks and Keswick were spot on.

The toilet facilities are up with the best and spotless.

We booked a motor home without awning pitch and they are on the small side. I have made enquiries with the site since and if we call and ask for a bigger pitch with an awning they would accommodate this. If you were staying for a few days this might be a good idea but for our two day stay the smaller pitch caused us no worries.

The local pub (2nd nearest to the site) is very dog friendly.

Walks great, site great and people great. We will look forward to going back when our journey takes us this way 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jam Mar 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed overnight on our journey home to Scotland. I was a bit wary as we always book a certain campsite, however on this occasion I'm pleased to say that our usual site was fully booked, and we were fortunate to get an electric hook up at Scotgate, at short notice.

And ---- A human person actually answered our last minute telephone call WOW! So sick of calling sites and getting a recorded message at the other end, telling you to leave contact details but never getting a call back to advise whether they have vacancies. Well done Sir!

What a fab site! Toilets immaculate. Great on-site shop. On-site cafe serving good value, freshly prepared meals.

It was busy, tents a bit 'tightly packed', but all lights out at an appropriate time and a 'real campsite atmosphere.

There are two local pubs within a short distance that also serve food.

A river runs along the site, and the kids and our dogs were having great fun splashing around.

Waking up to a spectacular view, and the sun was shining, we didn't want to leave.

We can't wait to return, but shhh! don't tell everyone! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 183 reviews from this member

 Not much of a reception on arrival, only' your on pitch 25 over there' Nevertheless had a nice hard-standing pitch near the stream and for such a large site was very quiet at night. Thought the shower/toilet block a bit dated but functional. Nice walk adjacent the stream to Braithwaite village itself with three pubs in it and a shop. There is also a well stocked shop on-site which even sells booze. Bus stop near site entrance which is convenient for Keswick. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Climbergirl 14 reviews from this member

 What a lovely friendly site. On driving up the M6 heaving snow hit and we had to stay at a service station overnight and allow the bad weather to pass. The campsite owner was so helpful with us arriving a day late and remained helpful and friendly all week. The site is in a beautiful position with walks onto the hills straight from the site. We were given a pitch close to the toilet block which was always clean and warm - very important in March. I will be back 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Denmau 2 reviews from this member

 We have used this site for caravanning for many years now, and we never fail to enjoy this site, it has magnificent views/ walks, with bus stops just outside the camp. In the village, there are friendly pubs and shop that sell tasty homemade pasties/pies etc. Toilets and facilities are brill! and cope well even when the camp is ultra busy.

Toilet/ shower block always nice and warm with underfloor heating.

Staff we have always found to be friendly and very helpful.

With a couple of nice walks from camp to keswick town we would recommend this site, no problem! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nrich007 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, excellent location. The showers/toilets are always spotless even at height of season.

All pitches are flat and most fully serviced with water/drainage and tv point. Free wi-fi which works all over the site.

Only approx 40min walk into Keswick and plenty of walks from the site.

Fully recommended. 


Previous     130 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5848 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement