Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Formerly Scotgate Holiday Park And Braithwaite Bridges
Braithwaite
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5TF
Tel: 024 7647 5426
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 165
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
                9/10 from 176 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barks77 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with excellent facilities, wardens very friendly and helpful.

Shower block was always spotless.

T takes about an hour steady walk into Keswick but a good bus service is available takes about 6 to 10 minutes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pmajor 7 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best sites in the Lake District.

Within walking distance of Keswick and buses pass the site entrance very regular.

We had a superb, flat gravel service pitch with water tap, waste outlet, and TV plug in.

The facilities are the best we've ever experienced, although they close the shower/toilet block from 10. 30 in the morning to 12. 00, which is a bit of a pain if you're having a lay in.

The staff were very friendly and efficient.

The village of Braithwaite is right on the doorstep and boasts a couple of pubs, a tea room/cafe and a village shop/tea room. We used all of these during our stay. All were excellent so there's no excuse to have to cook.

Stayed here quite a few times now but there's plenty to do in this area of the Lake District. 


Date of Visit: December 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianarayner 63 reviews from this member

 Stayed 3 nights at this sight due to it's proximity to Whinlatter forest for the parkrun and also Keswick for an event we attended.

The weather was changeable as only the LD can be. Snow when we arrived giving way to heavy rain all day Saturday, mixed on Sunday before a beautiful sunny morning on Monday.

The facilities were superb as they are normally on club sites. We had a friendly welcome from the site team who were happy to venture out in the heavy rain to show us the pitches available.

We ate at the Royal Oak Saturday evening and I would definitely recommend.

We paid £76. For the 3 nights which inc EHU with a 10% discount. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Iandon 1 review from this member

 Fabulous campsite in a wonderdul, idyllic and quiet location. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The campsite has everything you need be it hot showers, drying rooms, or a coffee and bacon sandwich in the morning or pizza at night.

A perfect location for walking or bike riding from the site without the need to get in the car, with stunning sites on the doorstep.

The site is perfectly located for nearby pubs and the ferry for getting across Lake Windermere.

I will certainly use here again. Left wanting for nothing more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: M & G On Tour 25 reviews from this member

 One of the best sites we have stayed at in the 8 yrs of motorhoming. Very well laid out and spacious pitches, we did opt for a super service pitch as we were there for 5 nights and had a huge pitch.

Only had one issue that behind the pitch we chose is a public walkway slightly above the level of our van, most people would just nod, smile or say hello but some were quite noisy and one group late at night were extremely loud. Not the fault of the site, but just people being inconsiderate.

Excellent facilities, very modern and clean toilet/shower blocks. Shop on site, it was large and spacious inside but strangely enough, very little in the way of goods on sale, thought they could make better use of the area.

Literally few mins walk from the site is a small cafe very nice for breakfast etc. Pricey, but nice. Bus stop outside the cafe to various parts of the Lakes. Just 10mins into Keswick where you can also get buses to other places.

We took the bus from Braithwaite to Buttermere, about 40 mins, very popular bus so make sure you get there early and it's worth queueing on the way back from Buttermere for a longer period as the bus was full before everyone got on so people had to wait for the next bus which was about an hour later.

Two pubs in walking distance from the site, we ate a couple of times in the closest one, The Royal Inn. Very good food, would recommend.

When we next visit The Lake District, we have decided we would most likely base ourselves here and use public transport to get to other areas of the lakes. Perfect place to stop for a long duration.

Nice area for walking with lovely views over the fells. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Billjoy124 8 reviews from this member

 Braithwaite village ccc is the best caravan site we have been to

Apart from being new it has every thing: large pitches, we got a fully serviced pitch, electric, water, waste, and tv, it has two pubs, a cafe and a bus stop outside the entrance into keswick. just leave the car 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Haighy 1 review from this member

 I booked for 2 nights for in my camper van with my son and booked on my friend with his son at the same time.

I arrived at the campsite and in plenty of time with loads of pitches still empty, I asked if they could save the pitch next to me for a hour until my friend arrived so that we could be next to one another.

I got told that itís tough luck and if someone else got the pitch my friend would have to go elsewhere. I asked politely but was treated like a child. I understand their policy but I think in the circumstance for my friend running late that they should of been more accommodating.

Itís in a great location and couldnít fault the site but the customer service is poor considering itís quite expensive.

I would advise certain staff to be more polite and to treat customers with more respect as I was very disappointed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helen.harrison2 28 reviews from this member

 Fantastic toilets, probably the best we've encountered.

Stunning views from the site.

Walking distance into Keswick. Hundreds of walks from the site.

Two pubs and a coffee shop in the village, both welcoming to muddy shoe'd walkers! On a bus route.

Can't wait to return. 


Date of Visit: January 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Markmo 1 review from this member

 The lodge was very clean and warm when we arrived, with great views out of the patio doors.

Campsite was in fantastic location for site seeing and also has fantastic walks on the doorstep. 


Date of Visit: December 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Eunice 3 reviews from this member

 One of the best campsites we have been on Facilities are excellent.

Beautiful area and bus stop near for access to Keswick

Would highly recommend

Staff helpful and friendly 
via mobile


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Braithwaite Village Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3789 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement