Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Melksham > Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Spout Lane
Nr Seend
Melksham
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN12 6RN
Tel: 01380 828839
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 134 Reviews
                9/10 from 134 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  134 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Terryrose56 1 review from this member

 Very helpful friendly staff

The facilities are spotless. very COVID aware site

The layout is superb

Very well looked after pitches

Will definitely be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 28 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for a couple of nights. We have been before and felt it was worth re visiting.

We were greeted by a couple of the wardens who explained the rules due to Covid-19 and were asked what kind of pitch we would prefer. We were then shown to where we had requested. Very friendly wardens, excellent safety measures in place.

Bus stop not far from the site entrance and frequent service to Bath in one direction, Devizes in the other. We took the bus into Bath.

Thereís a pub within walking distance and we had dinner in here one evening. Very pleasant and our food was excellent. Again, really good Covid-19 safety measures in place.

The canal near the campsite is worth walking along.

We will return to this site next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crazy Maisie 16 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed a 3 night stay towards the end of October. Staff were very friendly and welcoming,

Facilities were made safe but not OTT so treated like intelligent adults with adequate access.

Having the canal next to the site was excellent and the walk along it to Devizes was very pleasant and easy, with the great cafe at the top of the flight of locks.

We felt very comfortable with this site and would visit again. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 90 reviews from this member

 Immaculate site, friendly and helpful staff, excellent notes and literature and £18. 50 pn for members. What more could we want?Extremely enjoyable stay and we will be back as soon as we can.

Notes :

1) There is a Market in Devizes each Thursday and a Farmers Market on Saturdays.

2) A fish & chip van calls on Thursday and Saturday

3) Wifi is very weak away from Reception.

4) The Three Magpies pub at the entrance is still closed

5) It's a pleasant canalside 40 minute walk to the Barge pub where we had a good Sunday roast. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wildvoice 20 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Devizes club site to visit the Christmas market in Bath, we are non members and received a friendly welcome. We are members of the caravan club but couldn't find a site close to bath within public transport range.

The site was well maintained and the pitches were a good size, we had a electric pitch with awning we did enquire about a fully serviced pitch but they only had 8 and were full, our pitch was close to the shower block and amenities the shower block which seems to be the bone of contention with reviews was in our opinion fine, yes it's a bit outdated but it was warm and clean, the showers were push button which I don't particularly like but it wasn't that much of a problem I'm sure one day they will be updated.

The site has a bus stop just outside about a 3 minute walk from the site entrance and on a Saturday ran every hour, taking about 45 minutes to bath bus station on a Sunday it ran every 2 hours.

We chose to travel down to Devizes by using the A roads instead of motorways and found our journey from Cheshire much better than the dreaded m6 and m5 so something to think about if your journey is from a similar area,

Overall enjoyed our trip and will certainly use this site again so much to see and do around Bath. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Siloxt 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean park with well kept pitches.

Friendly, helpful staff, kids play park on site, short ish wall to see the locks.

Saw many reviews on here about the toilets before going. They were fine, cleaned regularly but yes maybe a bit tired, but still functional.

All in all a nice couple of days. Thanks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: MikePr 1 review from this member

 Lovely well maintained site located next to Kennet & Avon Canal.

Plenty to do and visit in the surrounding area.

Great pub just outside site entrance that does wonderful food, but you must book even out of season 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tango55 19 reviews from this member

 We have visited several Camping & Caravanning Club sites over the past years but this one definitely has to be our favourite so far. The site is well laid out with the grass kept in good order along with the two dog walking fields which is a bonus.

The one field, your dog has to be kept on a lead but the other has a gate which is designated to safely let your dog off and two dog poop bins have been provided which are emptied by the wardens on a regular basis.

It has been pointed out by a previous review that the toilet block is a little outdated but even though the block was constructed in 1999 the facilities are spotlessly clean and kept in good clean condition so no cause for complaint from my point of view.

The wardens were very friendly and extremely helpful and work tirelessly to keep the campsite to a high standard plus the shop (even though quite small) provides all the basic necessities required. The TV reception was excellent and received all the main TV channels without any signal issues.

There is a pub within walking distance from the campsite, the 'Three Magpies' and had a meal in there one night but not impressed at all.

The Beef Lasagne I ordered tasted more like a glorified pizza as all I could taste was just cheese and tomato and couldn't see or taste any meat and the single sheet of pasta was about half the size of a £5 note.

It was served with just a basic Rocket salad with no chips. My wife had the Ham salad with chips which the meat was fatty and the chips were hard and burnt so wouldn't recommend their food from our personal experience.

However, we did have a meal at the 'Black Horse' canal side pub near Devizes which the food was excellent and reasonably priced plus the bonus of a tranquil setting of the Kennet & Avon canal.

In Devizes town they have canal trips from the 'Wharf' which was excellent value at £6 each for nearly a 2 hour cruise along the Kennet & Avon Canal.

Caen Hill locks is a big attraction but rather disappointed to learn that the bottom lock was about a 45 minute walk from the site so not ideal if you have a disabled person in a wheelchair or mobility scooter.

However, there is a car park about mid-way along the locks that has a quaint little tearoom and can highly recommend the ice cream which comes in different choice of flavours.

We also visited Stonehenge which is just under 20 miles away and although an excellent day out the cafe was somewhat over priced charging £2. 50 for a cup of tea and £4. 75 for a cornish pasty.

However, we did visit the Atwell-Wilson motor museum in Calne which was well worth the visit with numerous vehicles and motor cycles of yesteryear on public display for a entrance fee of just £7. 00 each which was well worth the visit and highly recommended especially for those with an interest of vintage and classic cars.

We would definitely return again to this site, not just as a favourite but I hope to visit Avebury Stone Circle next time around. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Keith silcock 8 reviews from this member

 This is not the first time we've been here, great for walks along the canal, couple of pubs close by, toilet block super clean, garden area tip top as was the rest of the park, you can tell the wardens work hard here,

Friendly staff and helpful 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Junior pullman 4 reviews from this member

 Devizes camping and caravan club site is so peaceful. Friendly staff, well kept site with very clean facilities.

We spoke to a few people who come back time after time. We asked to be given a pitch away from the play park and we were allocated a pitch just as far away as you can get. , shown to it by a very friendly Warden.

We think we had great value for money on the site.

There are lots of places to visit, near and far. There are three/four supermarkets within ten minutes of the site. Devizes itself is a lovely little town.

I donít think for us, we can think of one negative thing to say about Devizes campsite. A brilliant holiday on a lovely, lovely site, which we will be more than happy to return to.

Thank you. 


Previous     134 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Melksham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3851 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement