Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Spout Lane
Nr Seend
Melksham
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN12 6RN
Tel: 01380 828839
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 149 Reviews
                9/10 from 149 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  149 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bessecar460 4 reviews from this member

 Great site wardens very helpful, amenities warm and very clean, good site for Bath Bristol and surrounding area.

Devizes a short drive away and well worth a visit.

Good walks on canal path which site backs onto.

Three Magpies pub a five minute walk away really good food but would advise to book. 


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Griffp 4 reviews from this member

 Nice welcome on arrival, shown to the pitch and we were ready to set up.

Flat pitches were welcome. It was relatively busy but quiet.

Canal walks next to the site. 30 minute walk to The Barge Inn in one direction, about a 90 minute walk to Devizes in the other direction.

The site was well cared for and the facilities were very clean. However, facilities may benefit from a bit of an update.

Will stay here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 46 reviews from this member

 Great site. Friendly staff. Good facilities. Would visit again.

Although the Devises to Melksham road runs past it is hardly a major highway. My impression was of a quiet site. Lots of wildlife, birds, rabbits and squirrels. The squirrels were particularly entertaining. Two minutes down the road the canal provides a ready made walking site.

The showers have two features I really like, a shower curtain to keep the outer area dry and enough hooks for ALL your 'bits and pieces'.

For me the Caen Hill Lock Flight is a must see. Devises and Melksham have supermarkets, Devises has more local shops. The Courts Gardens are worth visit. Bath is a must for shops and history. The Three Magpies is friendly and does good food. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 198 reviews from this member

 We had not stayed here for 5 years but knew we wanted to go back.

Lovely, friendly wardens. Great communication even before we got to site. We asked if we could have a pitch close to our friends and they allocated us next to each other.

Clean facilities but probably not enough for the number of pitches. Saying that we never had to queue.

Bins are only located close to the entrance/exit which was a bit of a pain.

Our pitches were close to the canal path, so could be a bit noisy at times (not the fault of the site). Our friends pitch next door to us, had a tree over hanging that literally touched the top of their motorhome. They didn't complain as they were only with us for 2 nights but it certainly needed/needs addressing.

Great pub almost next to the site - highly recommended, and another along the canal where you can sit with your pint and watch the barges glide by.

Easy walk/cycle ride to Caen Hill Locks (the highlight of the area) and further on into Devizes town.

The only real issue we had with this site was the amount of dogs that seemed to constantly bark - again not the fault of the site, just ignorant owners.

However, we will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 This is a large site, nicely laid out like many French sites with hedges and separation. Privacy without being unfriendly.

Good facilities with a shower wand but still the silly buttons which need constant pressing for a decent shower.

Staff friendly. We were located near the facilities and you could hear the hand dryer in the night. We were also near the exit but this wasn't a problem.

There were one or two dogs that weren't supervised and were allowed to chase the rabbits.

We would return as the location is good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The doleys 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site well maintained, super pitches, fantastic location next to the canal and pub adjacent.

Great for touring the historic sights of Wiltshire.

Great dog walking opportunities.

Facilities spotlessly clean, however, the whole Facilities block closes from 10. 30 until 12 with no alternative Facilities to use.

Checkout is before 12, however if you are packing up and heading off and would like a freshen up or loo visit before you go then 10. 30 is your deadline ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bilbo6 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site

Well situated to walk on the canal and explore the surrounding beautiful villages and towns.

Facilities very clean, showers could maybe a bit warmer

But a great place to stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ystalyfera 5 reviews from this member

 When visiting be sure to go for a plot away from the canal end.

We were allocated a plot and after heavy rain we were in almost a foot of water for two days. We moved plot to a dry spot.

Its a top class site otherwise 


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barpaul 1 review from this member

 Very pleasant site on the canal with excellent site wardens who are always willing to help.

Perfect for getting to the nearby towns of Devizes, Melksham, Trowbridge and the lovely National Trust Village of Lacock. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Basil5527 9 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay here, but the booking process was surprisingly frustrating and difficult.

We found it impossible to get prices before we actually made a booking and then found it impossible to check which if any discounts had been applied and whether we had made the booking correctly though we did then get the final price.

On arrival we found that the booking was correct but the club use a "Variable Pricing" system which means one cannot tell what the price will be online until after you have booked it.

The staff on site did print out some information which showed that over the 6 nights of our stay we were charged 3 different daily charges for the same pitch.

I was also disappointed that there was no waste recycling bins at this site which was in all other regards a smart clean well appointed site. Disappointing in 2021. 


Previous     149 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Melksham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


49173 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement