Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Melksham > Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Spout Lane
Nr Seend
Melksham
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN12 6RN
Tel: 01380 828839
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 140 Reviews
                9/10 from 140 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  140 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Basil5527 6 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay here, but the booking process was surprisingly frustrating and difficult.

We found it impossible to get prices before we actually made a booking and then found it impossible to check which if any discounts had been applied and whether we had made the booking correctly though we did then get the final price.

On arrival we found that the booking was correct but the club use a "Variable Pricing" system which means one cannot tell what the price will be online until after you have booked it.

The staff on site did print out some information which showed that over the 6 nights of our stay we were charged 3 different daily charges for the same pitch.

I was also disappointed that there was no waste recycling bins at this site which was in all other regards a smart clean well appointed site. Disappointing in 2021. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Clarke250 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, spacious pitches. We have a large unit and awning and ample space on the fully serviced hardstanding pitch.

It was busy as it was August holiday season but the site was well managed and the toilet / shower block very clean.

Five minute walk to canal footpath from site if you carrying kayak.

Cons. Push button showers not long enough. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CliveNGill 6 reviews from this member

 A nice site split in to small areas divided by hedges, makes the site seem smaller. Great staff, always available to help, and clean facilities. Pitches are quite large, we had a fully serviced pitch, even when the area we were in was full it never felt crowded.

The site is a short walk from the Kennet and Avon Canal and the locks at Caen Hill, worth a visit.

There are pubs on the canal in both directions and one on the road near the entrance to the site.

Places to visit in the area, Bath, Lacock, and Bradford on Avon, Devizes is home to the Wadworth Brewery, go and have a taste!

For supplies the site has a small shop, a fish and chip van visits and Melksham and Devizes have supermarkets.


via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 27 reviews from this member

 I last stayed at Devizes C&CC back in February 2012, and much has changed since then!

It now has automatic barriers, three ready (glamping) tents, more hard standing pitches and less grass pitches.

However, it is as nice as it was before, with very clean facilities.

Possibly due to Covid-19, all the stools in the shower cubicles had been removed, and so had the shower curtains and storage basket in the shower itself.

Instead of fixed shower heads, they had been replaced by hand-held sprayer heads, for use with push-button water supply that did not last much more than 10s (some were shorter - I tested them).

The site is only 6 miles from home, and this short trip was the first camping trip for my new puppy, and he loved the dog walk area at the site.

It opens all year round, which is great for me for short trips during the colder months if I fancy a change of scenery.

A visiting fish and chips van came on site on Tuesdays at very reasonable price. Not sure about the soggy chips, however, the cod I had was very nice and crispy, and the serving came with a slice of lemon and two packets of tartare sauce for free (they are 20p each at the chippies in Devizes!).

The pub next door was closed allegedly due to Covid-related issues, therefore, I cannot comment about it.

There is a small playground for kids, however, it was largely unused during my stay being during the week and non-school holidays.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and first trip for my new dog with thanks, highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Philip Howarth 12 reviews from this member

 A friendly welcome to an immaculate, tidy site. We chose a fully serviced pitch for minimum required effort.

Handy for stroll alongside the Kennet & Avon canal, one way towards Devizes, the other towards the Caen flight of locks

There is a pub just outside the site entrance which has a good selection of wines & beers with excellent food & service.

There are also other pubs fairly close which are also good. Devizes has some excellent shops with an outstanding butchers /deli in the town.

The only disturbance we experienced were a multi-outfit family group who were noisy, zooming around the site on illegal e-scooters, with no regard for anyone else- despite being told on numerous occasions to stop by the staff. This situation requires the club to issue a definitive ruling before someone is hurt.

Otherwise up to the usual camping and caavanning club standard- excellent. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 107 reviews from this member

 Our second visit - and this time we made it to the Locks! Older walkers will notice the lack of seats en route.

The pub is now open and provided very good food. At present they are closed on Mondays.

The showers are the old "push the button" type and it's a bit tiresome to keep having to do so. That being said the facilities were spotless.

Another excellent visit. 


Date of Visit: December 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Terryrose56 1 review from this member

 Very helpful friendly staff

The facilities are spotless. very COVID aware site

The layout is superb

Very well looked after pitches

Will definitely be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 32 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for a couple of nights. We have been before and felt it was worth re visiting.

We were greeted by a couple of the wardens who explained the rules due to Covid-19 and were asked what kind of pitch we would prefer. We were then shown to where we had requested. Very friendly wardens, excellent safety measures in place.

Bus stop not far from the site entrance and frequent service to Bath in one direction, Devizes in the other. We took the bus into Bath.

There’s a pub within walking distance and we had dinner in here one evening. Very pleasant and our food was excellent. Again, really good Covid-19 safety measures in place.

The canal near the campsite is worth walking along.

We will return to this site next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crazy Maisie 16 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed a 3 night stay towards the end of October. Staff were very friendly and welcoming,

Facilities were made safe but not OTT so treated like intelligent adults with adequate access.

Having the canal next to the site was excellent and the walk along it to Devizes was very pleasant and easy, with the great cafe at the top of the flight of locks.

We felt very comfortable with this site and would visit again. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 107 reviews from this member

 Immaculate site, friendly and helpful staff, excellent notes and literature and £18. 50 pn for members. What more could we want?Extremely enjoyable stay and we will be back as soon as we can.

Notes :

1) There is a Market in Devizes each Thursday and a Farmers Market on Saturdays.

2) A fish & chip van calls on Thursday and Saturday

3) Wifi is very weak away from Reception.

4) The Three Magpies pub at the entrance is still closed

5) It's a pleasant canalside 40 minute walk to the Barge pub where we had a good Sunday roast. 


Previous     140 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Melksham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1026 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement