Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Devizes Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Spout Lane
Nr Seend
Melksham
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN12 6RN
Tel: 01380 828839
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews

Photos (10) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Lovely site right next to the K&A canal. We've stayed many times before but not for a while.

On arrival at 12 noon we were advised by the wardens that the checking in time had change to 1pm on ALL C&CC sites (we apologised because we genuinely were not aware of this and they were fine). They have no choice but to book you in early as the site is down a lane and they cannot allow queues to form. Once booked another warden asked us if we had any pitch preferences and then guided us to our pitch. We asked for a pitch with a bit of shade but not under a tree (!) and he found us a perfect pitch and then gave us all the info on the site.

Small toilet block right in the middle of the site. Very dated now but clean. The only thing we didn't like was you could not change the temperature of the water in the shower and being almost 30 degrees most days a cooler shower would have been preferred!

Good pubs close to the site - Three Magpies, next door. We didn't eat there this time but wished we had! Barge Inn, about 30 minute stroll along the canal - we ate there and although I enjoyed mine OH didn't! Not cheap either.

Great walks from the site in both directions along the canal but the Caen Hill locks are the draw. Lovely tearooms at the top with reasonably priced snacks and drinks. Wetherspoons in town too.

We caught the bus from the main road, a few minutes walk from the site, to Bath - £7 adult return and it takes about 50 minutes each way.

Evening walks along the canal are a must especially when the weather is great like this year.

There's a new Cider Barn almost opposite the site. Sadly it was closed most of the time we were there so we didn't get to visit.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 44 reviews from this member

The site's location right next to the canal is its main attraction, so walks along the towpath are good. We had a good lunch at the Barge Inn.

Wardens were generally friendly and very helpful.

The layout of the site is very geometrical with the facilities block centrally positioned. The pitches are of a reasonable size and well-maintained.

We found the showers and WC cubicles rather tight. The shop had basic supplies but like other C&CC sites the opening hours are very restricted.

The dog exercise field was a good size and well mown. The soil under the far gate had been eroded so small and medium-sized dogs could escape into the wooded area with 'danger - deep water' signs.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seamsman 4 reviews from this member

We visited the site 2nd week of July, after hearing and reading good reviews over the last few years. On arrival 14. 00 we got a bit of a frosty reception, never mind welcome to the site, but have you got your Membership cards for both you and your wife ! Surprised she did not as for one for the two dogs as well.

After payments and cards were verified told to wait and pull up my unit the extra two feet to the Line. Soon the warden was available to show us to our pitch, a quick point to the water unit and that was it.

We found that the wash block was located very central for the whole site. The water was of a good temperature all week, and the place very clean. It does need a revamp as the blocks are now very outdated compared to many sites, and I am sure and extra pound here and there would take care of this.

The dog walk on site is a small field, two dog bins, which is fine for morning and evening business. There is also a small wooded walk at the bottom which is nice for the dogs when it was very hot.

On the whole the pitches were spacious and well kept. One note which could have been worse depending on where your pitch is, was that if your pitch was backing onto the hedge by the canal I found some barges had their motors running whist moored and this left a drone across the site, this is of course beyond the sites control.

We used the Three Magpies (pub) on the corner twice, very friendly and great food and beer, do book it does get full.

My wife found the female staff on site lacking warmth and personality, and this will reflect on us returning in the near future.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alastairandalice 9 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site, well sheltered and adjacent to the canal for walks as long as you wish! We found the staff all to be friendly, got the impression they were very new so suspect the previous team have moved on as seems to be the way with C&CC sites. 5 min walk to the three magpies for a nice pub meal, you may need to book as it was very busy when we went on a weekday too. Be sure to follow the access instructions as the bridge over the canal looks like its on the verge of collapse to me and definitely not suitable for touring vehicles!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DJx1 5 reviews from this member

Decided to go to this campsite because of its location next to the Kennet and Avon canal first impressions were not too good because I first met a very angry and rude warden because I accidentally went under a barrier the wrong way. Ok I made a mistake, I didn't see the no entry sign low down on the left side of the barrier.

Anyway the other wardens were pleasant enough we were shown to our pitch and were placed next to the road despite there being lots of other free pitches in better locations. I thought to myself this isn't going well after paying £27 per night (we are not members of the ccc) to say we were not amused is putting it lightly.

We settled in and went off to walk up the canal towpath to find the Barge Inn - this is about a 30 minute walk, but the nearest pub to the campsite is the Three Magpies pub about five minutes walk - this does really good food.

In conclusion an overpriced campsite, location lovely would I go again NO just because of price and warden

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 68 reviews from this member

This was our first visit in about 5 years and we had a nice friendly welcome, with just a bit of pressure to try and rejoin the C&CC to get a better price.

We were asked what type of pitch we would like and were shown to a nice spacious one with good afternoon sunshine. Soon after pitching up we had torrential rain but the site soon drained with just a few puddles remaining.

We cycled down the towpath to Bradford on Avon and like the local roads, time and lack of funding have taken their toll and the surface was very uneven with large cracks in the path where previous towpath reinforcing had taken place. The Kennet & Avon Trust café at Bradford Wharf offered lovely lunches which we enjoyed sat outside in the sun.

This time we did try the Three Magpies for a meal. Again a very friendly welcome and the food was fine, if not exactly outstanding, but at a fair price.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Keencamper5711 6 reviews from this member

We booked for 3 nights and increased this to 5 as there is so much to do in the area and we liked the site. Being situated on the Kennet and Avon canal there is good cycling and walking in the area and we cycled to Bradford on Avon, a lovely typical local town. We also cycled in the other direction to Devizes but this was also a walk as you go up besides the flight of Caen locks, very interesting and with a well placed cafe at the top. The local bus service is also good so an excellent site if you have a motorhome. The site itself had everything we needed and was clean and well cared for with helpful staff. Looking forward to returning in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Asrampd 2 reviews from this member

This is a well established site with a formal layout. It was not cheap but had all of the facilities one could need. It is near the Kennet & Avon Canal which was what I wanted. All of the staff were helpful. There is a local Pub the landlord barked at me regarding booking for the restaurant, so I went elsewhere.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 40 reviews from this member

This is a very well laid out and maintained site with plenty of hedges and trees. The site is ideally located to explore the surrounding area; there are tourist information leaflets at the reception which also has a small shop. Best of all, the site is right on the Kennet & Avon canal for cycling and walking.

The toilet/shower block was always kept clean and tidy however there is only one and it is not large so it will struggle at peak times so for those that use these facilities there will be some queuing to be done at peak times. During other times they are adequate. There is also a family room and laundry.

There is a play area for children and a large area at the back of the site for ball games etc. Also at the back of the site is a dog walk area for those with our four legged friends. Dogs must be on a lead on the site which as non-dog owners we think is important and not once did we see a dog off the lead around the site, something you do not always see at a lot of sites despite it being a requirement.

The Three Magpies pub is a couple of minutes’ walk from the site (you will see it when you arrive). We had a meal here and found it reasonable and the food good. There is also a very nice Tea Room on the canal at Semington and another at Caen Locks.

The wardens were very helpful and knowledgeable. Also a one-way system operates around the site which makes life easier.

The only down side is that Mobile reception is not very good so you will need to pay for the internet if are into social media.

Overall an excellent site and we will be returning soon.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jusbluey 20 reviews from this member

My partner & I have recently returned from this lovely site. The facilities are all kept in very clean condition, it was great to have personal cleaning cubicles. The weather was pretty atrocious during the whole week & to have the laundry was a bonus. I was a little disappointed with the size of the dog walk & the fact that dogs had to be kept on a lead, but being so close to the canal was a great help. I would have liked a little more lighting on the pathways at night. The wardens were very friendly & helpful. We had a couple of meals at The Three Magpies & were not disappointed (apart from my fella not taking to the local Wadworth ale). Despite the awful weather (mostly at night) we were able to go walking each day & in an area with so much history there is plenty of choice. We definitely will return to Wiltshire as there are lots of places we have yet to visit & can highly recommend this site.

Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


685 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019