Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Pong

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Landevieille > Camping Pong Reviews

CLOSED: Camping Pong
Vendee
Rue Dustade
Landevieille
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shutsy 6 reviews from this member

 Sadly this site has been sold to a French train company for exclusive use by their employees and retired workers. Shame cause it was a great site. The website still exists but doesn't accept bookings. Caravan club still have it listed but I dare say it'll be pulled from there as well. Personally having waited till the site opened in April I'm gutted! I'm now left with searching round the Vendee for already full sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martinlucy 5 reviews from this member

 I have just came back from a 2 week break on this campsite. It is a lovely campsite, the facilities are great. Good club, showers were great, owners were fantastic . The only things wrong were - we ordered a large pitch but only got a smallish pitch, and the grass was never cut and the hedges were overgrown. But all in all it is a very nice place to stay. The surrounding area was very quiet but it did not take you long to drive to a big town 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikeyd 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at pong for three weeks in August 2010. It was our first trip abroad with the caravan and it was a fantastic choice.

English speaking receptionist, Friendly owners, spotless clean showers and toilets (but take your own loo roll) Roomy pitches good mix of French, Dutch, German and British campers.

The pool is warm and just enough sun beds but they enforce a Speedo only rule no shorts for the men.

The bar serves a nice selection of food and lookout for the Moules and frites night well worth it.

Pong is walking distance to a small town and great flat cycling routes to the market town or a short drive to miles of beaches, larger towns, restaurants, supermarkets etc. This is a friendly well run safe site that we would happily return to. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MandyG68 4 reviews from this member

 This site is family run by friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. The washrooms were spotless, as was everywhere. The pool area was great and as it wasn't busy, had it too ourselves for the first week. The kids pool was great and entertained our 3 year old with no problems. The pitches were of an excellent size and near to the wash room facilities. The bar area offered basic drinks and food but all of a good standard especially on Fridays when the owner cooks his own moules and frites.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to this site, we had a lovely holiday. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John + Maxine 3 reviews from this member

 We visited Camping Pong July 13th to July 27th 2008. Our first week was quiet, nice and peaceful. The pool area was 1st class with premium blue cloth sun loungers (not the hard plastic ones). Three pools, one shaped for general use with a Jacuzzi, one with a water slide where games like volley ball a water polo games were held, and a childrenís pool. The pool area was not busy at all especially at lunchtimes. Our second week was the first week of kids school holidays and was therefore a bit busier, however not bursting at the seams and still plenty of sun beds around the pool.

The hosts Maris and Pierre were the friendliest campsite owners we have ever come across. English speaking staff are employed for those not wishing to speak French.

The site has a choice of shaded pitches within a wooded area and larger pitches in a newer open area with new toilet block. We stayed on the larger pitches. All pitches are grass and are well maintained (not dust pitches like many are in France).

The site staff were very flexible with choice of pitches, if you are not happy with the one you are allocated you can choose another if available. Good prices at the bar, Amstel lager 4 Euros, Coffee (espresso) 1 euro 40 euro cents, coffee with milk (grand) and bottles of ice cold coca cola 2 Euros 30 eurocents.

A reasonable take away and restaurant menu. Pizzas, lasagna, Omlettes, Chicken, sausage, chips etc. Moules frites on Fridays.

A Barbecue night was arranged midweek with a large fire lit at around six o'clock for cooking on the embers at eight o clock. Bring your own food and drink. This seamed to be well attended by the French but not the Dutch or British for some reason. We were made welcome and were invited to share some of the French food and wine. Baked apricots with nutella chocolate poured into the bit where the stone had been removed, 'C'est bon' its true the French do cook better than us even on a barbecue.

Discos and Karaoke were well attended by all.

To summarise, if you like a quite peaceful holidays go out of school holidays, if you have children this is also a superb site attended by many British families in the high season. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallyandalex 6 reviews from this member

 Well organised camp site, with a good mixture of nationalities, although I agree that they were segregated a little (caused resentment with the French people we spoke to as the Brits tended to be near the better loo facilities - I suspect because they choose their pitch based on info from sites like this!).
We booked fairly late and ended up with a smallish, shaded pitch near to the table tennis/bar area. The owners put on entertainment most evenings and this was noisy and disturbed us, as we were close to it. With pitches further away it shouldn't be such an issue. With a small son we would have preferred a quieter site, however this is an ideal site for a family with teenagers. The entertainment is also mainly in French. Small kids club in the mornings, but nothing very exciting.
Great pool area, secure so children can not wander in, very clean (the no food policy didn't bother us), lifeguards in evidence and they will challenge behaviour. Beware that they do enforce the 'no shorts' policy.
Toilet facilities very variable. The nearest to us (near the centre), I refused to use except in the middle of the night and then very spooky as the lights were switched off. I agree with everything written about them before. No toilet seats or paper, and poor shower facilities. The newer block, although a few minutes walk and often with queues, were much cleaner and pleasant.
We had a great holiday, but this was not quite the perfect site for us. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emma Roids 1 review from this member

 We were put on a tiny pitch (found out later you had to pay a lot more for a larger pitch) We were near the toilets and play park. We stayed for 6 days and could not wait to leave there, they got you to pay up front for your stay and as stated on another post we were grouped by nationality. Expensive when compared to other better sites 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lfoulger 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from 7 nights at this site. Good pitches in the new part of the site, some of the older pitches looked a bit small. If you book through the caravan club all of the pitches are of a good size. Excellent toilet / washing facilities. Some times the shower water was not hot or even warm. Great bar, pool etc. I think that my only compliant is that they pitch all of the nationalities together, English in one place, french in another etc. I prefer some integration. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Gamz1 1 review from this member

 The new toilet block is good although make sure your pitch is not right next to it, I did have to feel sorry for a couple of campers that were sat practically on the Elson.

It is a pretty site and clean.

But the evening entertainment is a waste of time every night we got down to the bar and had one drink and was bored, Not even a bit of back round music to drink too, If your thinking of taking your kids donít bother there is nothing to do. It said to of got its name through the table tennis but with no bats or ping pong balls well whatís the point of having the tables there.
I have not commented on any thing else on the entertainment side because there is nothing to do on site in the evening.

The pool is clean and nice although the rule of not being able to eat an ice cream anywhere in the pool area and having to stand behind the wire fence is a bit of a drag.

The shop is very expensive and stock is to a minimum (When itís open). 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Loopy40 1 review from this member

 Camping Pong is a delightful campsite. It has a small swimming pool complex comprising 3 pools, one main pool, one with slide and one for the younger campers. There are various pitches available all with electric, if required, and drainage. We had a small pitch which was ample space for our tent, gazebo and car.

Showers/toilets and washing up facilities are modern and clean. We also hired a fridge for the two weeks which was an absolute god send. Plenty to do around the Vendee. We will visit this campsite again. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4646 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement