Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gigrin Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Rhayader > Gigrin Farm Reviews

CLOSED: Gigrin Farm
South Street
Rhayader
Powys   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this campsite has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

 This site was considerably less expensive than many sites - for 15 a night with electric included we did not expect it to be on a par with caravan club sites, but more in line with certified locations. We were therefore quite happy with the facilities, and will try to give a balanced picture for anyone who is considering going there.

There are about 8 or so grass pitches with hook up, and another grass area for non-hook up, located behind the farm yard and with fantastic views. It's a very slight slope (hardly noticeable) to get off but if you should get mired in by the Welsh weather (we didn't), there's a tractor to pull you off after 10a. M. It was very peaceful when we were there and in spite of the wet summer, the grass was in good order.

The tap in the field was very handily placed for water, and the waste disposal point just a few paces away on the other side of the hedge. Yes it's low, being laid in the ground with a swill-out tap alongside, but I have a chronic back problem and I managed it with ease. The lid is not heavy and has two good handles - in short, it does the job. No frills - but do you need them? The toilets are a little further away- round the corner by the cafe/shop and the ladies' cubicles were nice and large, always had paper and were warm. The shop itself has a nice range of souvenirs, and the gent serving was friendly and helpful. We did not use the cafe so can't review the catering. There are peacocks, chickens and guinea fowl casually strolling among the visitors. I suspect children would enjoy that. There's also an information centre in the farmyard.

I disagree with the view that the site is only geared to those who are visiting to see the kite. Certainly they are the star attraction and well worth coming for, but the farm has gone to some trouble to create lovely waymarked walks on their land which I thoroughly enjoyed, as did my dog. One goes off up the hill behind the farm and gives views which are even more splendid than those from the site, and returns through a small wooded area. Some of the trees and hedges look extremely old and have amazing trunks and roots.

There is a good footpath down to the town, which has a mix of shops and eating places to keep you amused. It's not a long walk and I noticed a riverside walk marked along the way - sadly I had no time to explore as we only stayed two nights.

To summarise - a friendly site with the basic necessities, very well located, and one which I will certainly be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GeoffreyI 21 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a Friday evening staying for the weekend. We paid the lady in the cafe by debit card for the 15 per night. We were not informed of toilets, waste disposal, drinking water etc. And was told to park where we like. The site as others have said is very convenient for walking into the town of Rhyader, there are numerous pubs, bars serving food. One in particular (The Crown) was excellent serving early bird meals (5-6. 30 p. M) for 2 for 10. There is also a hotel at the bottom of the hill with bar and restaurant. We didn't eat here so can't comment. My opinion of the site is that it particularly caters for the people that are visiting to see the Red Kites. Camping and caravanning are not the main objective of this site. E. G the toilets are situated next to the cafe and the car parking for visitors, not on the camping field. I was very surprised to find that they didn't have at least one shower block. We were very surprised there is now a Pod available to hire at 35 per night with no shower facilities.

At first we thought there must be a shower so we asked at the cafe, and was told to go to the Leisure Centre in the town. We were shocked by this, however it wasn't a problem as we have our own shower in the Caravan, but it would be for camping or Pod users. There are also no washing up facilities for dishes etc. For 15 Pound a night I though was not acceptable. Incidentally the rates you pay do not include the Red Kite feeding area this is an additional charge of 5 per adult and 3 per child. On The plus side you will have Internet connection, lovely Peacocks, and of course the Red Kites. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rabbin8 16 reviews from this member

 We wanted to see the Red Kites and boy did we. Hundreds of them at 3pm every afternoon. A beautiful sight.

Shame the site isnt as beautiful. To say its basic is putting it mildly, Ok the pitches are level ish, and the views are great, but, A tap nailed to a post suffices for fresh water and you go into the adjoining field and lift a manhole cover to dispose of your Chemi waste. The toilets are a good walk away, approx 300mtrs and consist of a toilet and a sink with hot water. No showers. Also at night the site is completely unlit which didn't bother us, but I should imagine its a bit tricky for tenters using the facilities in the dark.

Its a shame, its in a super location with loads to see round abouts, but the site really needs to be pulled kicking and screaming into the 21st century, with a good sized toilet block with showers and some lighting. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Xisle 6 reviews from this member

 This was the first time we'd ever been out in our Motorhome as we'd picked it up 1 week before.

This site is very basic but great. The warden was pleasant we didn't turn up until quite late and he was happy to help.

The reason for this site was to photograph the Red Kites of which the feeding station is on the same farm.

As mentioned, very basic site, didn't use any of the facilities as we decided to use our own in the Motorhome as it was about -5 in the morning and everything was frosted white!

Great little stopover site and we would visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CarpenterClan 15 reviews from this member

 Our main reason for coming to this site was to see the Red Kites and fabulous they were too, if you are into birds, especially birds of prey, you will love this. Camera/camcorder is a must, as are binoculars for an even closer look. There are hides around a grass area where the food is scattered.

The camp site is level with beautiful views, electric hook up, chemical disposal. Facilities are basic, just toilets and sinks with plenty of hot water. Good phone reception, WiFi available at extra cost.

There is a shop open in the afternoon that sells ice cream, soup and bird merchandise. There is an information centre about the birds too.

Peacocks roam around the site freely as does the friendly farm dog.

There is a Farm Trail, well marked, that goes up into the hills and around the farm, some good views up there, it is quite a long and steep walk so not suitable for very young or infirm. No stiles though, so good for big dogs.

Short half a mile walk into Rhayader, where there are plenty of shops, cafes & pubs to keep you busy for a few hours. There is a town tour you can download off the internet that tells you the history of certain buildings in the town as you walk around.

Would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ken Chapman 55 2 reviews from this member

 Good quiet site with spectacular views of kites and surrounding countryside. Rhayader is a laid back easy going place and Elan Valley excellent for cycling. Limitless opportunities for walking and good base for Land Rovering. The campsite is really just a field next to farm buildings and is very basic. There are no showers, no washing up facilities, no laundry and no playground. I don't know for certain but believe also no gas bottle sale. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue00 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful bank holiday weekend at Gigrin.

The site is so relaxed and quiet. There was plenty of space for my boys to play and the owners were very friendly. The views from the site are lovely, yet it is a convenient distance from the town.

Watching the red kites feeding is a must - but you have to grab a seat in the hide at least 40 mins before feeding starts as it is a very popular tourist attraction.

There is also a farm trail which leads off at the back of the farm and up the hill. The views are stunning.

The Elan valley is only a short drive away - well worth a visit as the scenery is spectacular and there are some lovely walks. Next time we go we will definitely take our bikes as there are so many designated cycle paths along the rivers and reservoirs.

The on site facilities are basic - toilets (fairly clean) no showers, but at only 15 a night including hook up we were very happy! 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scudder 3 reviews from this member

 A basic site where I would suggest you are best with your own facilities although there is electric hook up and male /female toilets with hot and cold.

The site is on Gigrin Farm where wild Red Kites are fed daily - a must. There is a farm trail which also meets a bird sanctuary trail. Being on top of a hill the views are fantastic although it can be windy. Peacocks roam freely and the young dog will wait for you to throw his small tyre again and again.

A short, half mile, walk take you to the local town with many pubs providing food and good beer. There are a couple of take aways and some tea rooms together with a high street bank with ATM and several shops including Spar, and a mountain bike hire shop.

The nearby Elan Valley is wonderful for walking, cycling or just enjoying the views. I had planned to meet some friend and stay for 3 to 4 days but ended up staying for a week. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WDavis 3 reviews from this member

 Superb site. Stunning views, quiet and really welcoming owner & locals. Peacocks wander the site along with a lovely Spaniel who constantly brings sticks / rope etc. For you to throw! Toilets are basic but always clean and the village which is a short 10 minute walk away offers great food.

Cannot fault the site and is a must to visit 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement