Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Osmotherley
Northallerton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL6 3AH
Tel: 01609 883425
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 77
Open: 04/08/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 196 Reviews
                9/10 from 196 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  196 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kerria 1 review from this member

 Fantastic camp site. Perfect for families with young children. None of my 3 children (9, 3 and 2) ever got bored.

Campsite well kept. Amenities to a very high standard. Staff always on hand and willing to help.

Will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chris2 1 review from this member

 It is very clean and very well organised.

It is set in really nice grounds with big pitches and good facilities.

We have already booked to return with friends. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dudstud 5 reviews from this member

 Very clean facilities, friendly helpful staff. Spacious pitches all ehu.

Nice walks nearby. Walkable into osmotherley where there's a couple of pubs and a small shop.

The campsite seems to be coping very well with safety precautions in place due to the virus.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: EstherP 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here whilst on a cycle touring holiday with our tandem, trailer and tent.

Facilities good and clean. We used a block where the washing up area was open but under cover, very useful as it was torrential rain while we were there and so we were able to use the space to shelter in the dry with our breakfast.

Went to one of the pubs in the village for a meal which was decent.

Useful shop at the campsite but there is also a really good shop in the village with much more variety including local bacon and eggs.

Not really our kind of campsite as very large and lots of pitches and hardstanding, it was quiet when we were there though. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marlyn65 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, well kept. Great location to walk into village and tried the food in the youth hostel which was very good and value for money.

Very friendly in campsite and youth hostel.

Would use this site again.

We are walking the coast to coast and will be in this area April 2020 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Addvic 8 reviews from this member

 Had a serviced pitch which was nice and even had some sheep visitors. A little walk to the main reception and shower blocks. Used the smaller block (couple of showers) as was quieter.

Site is not far from home and its nice to just to drive a little distance but still think your away from it all.

The kids liked the playground and had a go at the activities which were on offer during the week. This was one of the main reason to visit again to keep them entertained and they really enjoyed them. They did bushcraft, climbing wall, abseil/zip line got really wet which was all part of the fun. Would definitely do these again.

A friendly and clean site which we would go to again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Magsie 47 reviews from this member

 Site in a lovely position by a stream in the woods, less than a mile from Osmotherley village with pubs and a shop. It was very busy with extremely noisy children, but this was in the middle of school summer holidays. There were plenty of activities for kids, though they were expensive.

The nearby youth hostel does meals and takeaway food and there are footpaths through the woods to Cod Beck reservoir.

The high season price was indeed high and did not include WiFi. This cost an extra 3 for 1 day (on one machine only) and was very slow. There was no mobile phone signal.

I found the wardens unhelpful - they allocated a sloping pitch and I had to persuade them to give us another place, though two better pitches were free. They also said they had no idea about the signed road closure beyond the campsite, or whether it was open to bicycles, and didn't offer to find out. We only stayed 2 nights (less than intended) because of the noise of the out-of-control children on site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Two Terriers 20 reviews from this member

 Thank you to the review from October 2017 which entirely echoes our views on this site. The location is absolutely superb with fantastic walking much appreciated by our two dogs ( and us!); Osmotherley is a beautiful village and you are spoilt for choice on where to eat from the 3 pubs.

As to the site. The pitches are tiny and unkempt with a bit of grass before you reach the next one. So what happens when you get awnings up etc. Well you might as well sit with your neighbours and compare notes! It just supports the opinion that the site only concentrates on cramming everyone in & is over commercialised.

Even if you ask for the 'quiet area' ( silly us we thought that would be akin to an adults only ) you get pitched on a small area in amongst a lot of unattractive statics. There is then a party till gone midnight in one of these and kids racing around playing tennis and on bikes. Also the whole site has a very high % of seasonal caravans in place.

The shower block was clean & adequate but how the site had managed to acquire a 5 flag award last year with dust covered plastic flower hanging basket arrangements who knows?!

The staff who booked us in were friendly but on another occasion in the expensive shop I asked about 'dog poo bags' ( had genuinely forgotten to put some more on board ) the reply was that most serious dog owners have a supply in their pockets!

Sadly I guess that this site is just taking advantage of customers who want to stay in that particular area and who then will obviously 'pay'. It needs a major redesign for layout of pitches and parking. Ironically we'd had our eyes on the place for quite some time. Verdict major disappointment.

On a positive note the weather was nice! 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mike_hill 3 reviews from this member

 This is not a five star site in my view. Site is cluttered and pitches are very small. Cars need to be abandoned at an angle as there is no designated are to park.

Toilet blocks were excellent however and very clean. The park is expensive and you do get the feel that this is all about making money - lets just pack them in. Pitches themselves as well as being tiny are messy and waterlogged at this time of year.

The entry route to the park was very narrow but okay if you don't meet anything coming the other way. The area around the park was stunning with fantastic walks for the dogs and a vibrant small village.

I would recommend the pub food. In essence really disappointed in the park given its high rating.

Wouldn't personally stay here again but would give it three stars at a push. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marco1974 1 review from this member

 Having recently stayed at this camp with my family for the first time, I found the whole site to be very clean, two spotless toilet/shower blocks. With the park having play areas, my children had some where to play.

Only bad point for me was no showers near touring area. Although the ones on the park where close enough. Highly recommended will be back. 


Previous     196 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Northallerton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1886 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December