Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folkestone Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Folkestone > Folkestone Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Folkestone Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Warren
Folkestone
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches.

"Following ongoing ground movement concerns, we have unfortunately had to close our Folkestone Club Site. Safety is of paramount importance to us with annual surveys being carried out over recent years. The latest survey, carried out in March 2024, highlighted significant deterioration in the condition of the site and the access road. We have subsequently decided not to renew the lease with the local authority given the long-term safe operation of the site is unclear."

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: SimonRN 1 review from this member

 I really liked this site because of the friendly and helpful staff plus the fantastic location right beside a wild and beautiful stretch of coastline.

Folkestone's revitalised Harbour Arm and Old High St area is a 30 mins walk across the beach and over beside Martello Towner N0. 2 with wonderful views all the way to Dungeness or France if the weather is clear.

There is nothing I disliked about the campsite or location close to Folkestone. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sefo 8 reviews from this member

 Terrific site. Well kept and well managed.

Quiet and peacefully, with fine views over the channel to France.

TV reception good.

Site WiFi ok.

Close to Folkestone with all its amenities. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Leeand 1 review from this member

 Brilliant wardens and great facilities

Very clean and organised

Beautiful views

Would definitely recommend this site and will be definitely coming again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Gpammy 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely Easter break here, the staff were lovely 🥰 and very helpful,

Toilets and showers were lovely and clean and cleaned regularly 👍

Beach just a walk off the site, beautiful coastal walks and perfect for fishing 🎣.

We will definitely be back again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oops a daisy 8 reviews from this member

 Just back from my first stay at a C & CC site in a very long time. They call it the friendly club and I have to say they could not have been any more friendly or helpful. Had a wonderful Easter Bank Holiday weekend here, even got given a pansy plant for Easter by the people running the site!

Perfectly clean loos & showers, very well organised and just a lovely place to be. Very tranquil with sounds of the sea in the background and birdsong, the odd spitfire flying overhead plus a nightly visit from the friendly fox!

Can you tell I loved it here. A good walk into Folkestone but 10 mins from the beach.

Single track road leading to and fro - just need to keep fingers crossed you don't meet anything coming in the other direction 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JoeH 1 review from this member

 We have used this Site for many years, with various frame tents, trailer tents, then our Motorhome.

It is adjacent to the Beach, which our various dogs have always enjoyed swimming from!

I preferred it before the landslip, took out the middle gate, also several pitches as well (I believe The best ones as well, as they always had the Sun longer !).

It was also better when a council lady in a hut, policed access down the long narrow road to campers only. As now the road gets blocked by non campers and their cars!

The problems on the roads to Dover & Folkestone, Traffic Chaos & 'Operation Stack', caused by The French, & EU Mafia 'Red Tape Weapon' as their punishment for Our Brexit ? -

We REALLY LOVED this Site but we would have to think twice now about about using it ? - I MIGHT go because, I could have the opportunity of using the good location, for lobbing rocks from the cliff, on any rubber boat full of 'Gimmegrants' & 'Fakerugees' who intend to invade OUR BRITAIN ! ! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dawnie3118 16 reviews from this member

 Arrived to find I had made a mistake and had arrived a day early. It was sorted out and a pitch found for us.

The site is accessed by a narrow tarmaced road with a few pot holes, but apart from not wanting to meet a motor home coming in opposite direction, wasn’t that bad. Weekends near the site tending to be worse with people visiting the beach and parking.

It’s a narrow site, but beautifully kept and you can hear the waves from the beach below.

Great walk up to Martello Tower and into Folkestone, which has lots of places to eat etc.

Facilities on site were excellent, apart from the shower timing, which is 10/20 seconds before needing to push again, should be a little longer.

The shop on site stocked basics and we felt the wardens were friendly and helpful.

Loved the site and wouldn’t hesitate to revisit. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mearsfamily 5 reviews from this member

 Of two campsites here on the coast at Folkestone, this is the one at the foot of the cliff. The Little Switzerland one is half-way up the cliff. The CCC site is lower but still 30-40 ft above the beach.

The beach itself it stony, with large areas of concrete facing the sea. Nevertheless it's still very pretty here, and most of the pitches have a good sea view. Showers etc. Are good, as you would expect of a CCC site, with a lock on the toilet doors, to put off people coming up from the beach and using the showers etc.

There are great walks along the cliff and through the unexpectedly lovely woods under the cliff, with steep paths up to the cliff-tops. There is a great café at the head of one of these, with the Battle of Brittan Memorial and the Abbotsbury sound mirror on the cliff top too.

We were "entertained" one night by a Coastguard Helicopter hovering for about 1/2 and hour over the beach about 1/4 mile up towards Dover. We learned the next day that it was another small boatload of illegal immigrants coming ashore the scattering along the undercliff.

This site was quite busy in early April; at busier times of the year, booking ahead may become necessary. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark+Fay 2 reviews from this member

 I was first greeted on arrival at the site by a lady who came out of the shop/reception to tell me that my car was not parked in the correct place and could I move it, and did I have a booking.

After moving the car and going inside with our booking confirmation there were 4 staff chatting amongst themselves including the woman who had quickly informed me to move my car, So I stood there totally unacknowledged by the 4 staff for about 2 minutes before one of the guys turned around and said Name? Fay made the booking so it was in her name, so when the guy then confirmed the name and told me that Fay had to go into reception as she booked it and if she wasn't there then I couldn't stay.

All in all not a very pleasant welcome. I must admit the hospitality of the staff whenever you saw them on the site did not improve and for that reason I felt that I was more of a hindrance to them than a paying customer.

As for the access, yes it is tight I can understand why they don't have caravans on this site, but not only is it tight and steep it is full of deep and large pot holes which even at slow speeds were very unforgiving and made you wonder what damage it was doing.

The site itself was amazing, the first night rained and the last night it was extremely windy and being on the end of a cliff you really feel the weather. However, thankfully, the days in between were gorgeous, the sun was shining and the temperatures were great.

The views across the sea and along the white cliffs are breath taking, to open the tent door on the morning and see that view just made the start to the day so much nicer. The handy walk to the beach which is literally just outside of reception is perfect, and as pointed out in other reviews although it isn't the prettiest of beaches it is perfect for walking along and enjoying the sea air as are the paths along the Warren which also end up further along the beach.

They do take dogs on the site, however I would not say that they are dog friendly.

The toilets and shower blocks were always very clean as was the campsite which is really nice. There is a shop in the reception that has some essentials but make sure you have enough with you as there really isn't a lot there. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4503 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement