Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barn Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Barn Farm > Reviews

Barn Farm
Birchover
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 2BL
Tel: 01629 650245
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 57
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jjedge 5 reviews from this member

 This is a great campsite situated not to far from Matlock bath, Bakewell.

The pitches are a good size with water and electric hook ups close by. The pitches and quite flat but some requires more leveling than others.

Facilities are good and toilets and showers clean.

Also has a small games room and shop on site as well as outdoor games supplies for the kids.

Lovely walks in this area 8ncludong 7 sisters stones.

Would definitely go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Heathe 1 review from this member

 We were welcomed by friendly staff and everything explained well.

It was great to be able to chose our own pitch.

The toilet and shower facilities were excellent and we were very impressed by the amount of bins around and excellent recycling bins.

Great location for walking and nearby pubs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: S j webster 10 reviews from this member

 This is a superb site. I found the staff welcoming and helpful. The facilities were excellent and kept clean. There is a little shop on site and a wealth of other facilities too long to mention.

I liked the catering van on site both Saturday and Sunday mornings. Nice food and no need to mess around cooking breakfast for yourself. A particular mention also goes to the wood fired pizza on offer Friday and Saturday nights. I tried one and can highly recommend it. But book early it is very popular.

There are peacocks on site. They are notoriously noisy. I wasn't bothered by them but the couple camped next to me were. So if you are not used to the sounds of the countryside be warned.

Now the negatives. The field I pitched in was not well suited to tents. The slope is a bit too steep. I only have a small tent but those with family tents would struggle if the site was busy and pitching options were limited. One couple pitched nearby moved down the field when a space became available. The chap said his wife hadn't slept because of being on a slope. But don't let this put you off. Just get there early.

One other thing needed is a little shelf in the shower for gel etc. Both cubicles I used didn't have one.

Lots of lovely walks to be had locally and the Campsite has free guides. I thought this was a nice touch and highlighted the management's great attitude to customer service.

The Nine Ladies Circle is an unstrenuous short walk away. The two local pubs are well worth visiting and for real ale fans a must is the Flying Childers (about 40mins walk). As is Winster. The footpath to Winster goes through the Campsite and it's a beautiful village.

In short I would highly recommend this site and will certainly be returning. If only for the pizza 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mbrow6 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site, lovely location, beautifully maintained, good clean facilities, great views.

Only 10 minute walk to local pub, another 2 mins to another pub.

Second time here and will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Goldfox 9 reviews from this member

 A lovely location with walks from the site. Local pleasant pubs walking distance.

The site is huge with large fields which are on a slope. We had a generous pitch hard standing pitch which was more level with electricity.

The facilities were good. Some en-suite showers were adult only.

This was good as lots as lots of schools were doing DOE awards which created a nice atmosphere.

Recommended. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Samhopwood 2 reviews from this member

 Some of the roads to Birchover are narrow winding country lanes, as you would expect.

We booked for 2 nights and left after one because of the numerous peacocks loud screeching at dusk and dawn (5am) together with the noisy groups (DofE type) children (and drips on the toilet seats). If I'd looked more closely these things are mentioned on the website, but be aware.

We didn't use any other facilities so cannot comment( therefore gave 5 star rating).

There are 2 pubs very close by but one is closed Mon & Tues.

Staff helpful and pleasant and campsite was well kept.

For us personally very poor value (£44 for 2 nights but stayed 1) -again gave 5 stars. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Infoa4 1 review from this member

 It was our first time at Barn Farm and I can not believe how amazing our trip has been!

The showers and toilet blocks were spotless, there was so many food options, a great bar, a live band….

The list was endless!

Already looking at our next trip there! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Belfin 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic place! We had a full 14 days here and loved every minute of it. Our kids didn't want to leave.

The staff work hard to keep the place absolutely immaculate. Touring spaces are limited and the weekends are pretty busy with campers but there are three toilet blocks so there was never any issues.

The play park and games areas, both inside and out kept the kids entertained and at the weekends there was outside catering which was handy. I would suggest getting in early though as the artisan pizzas sold out pretty early so we sadly missed out on that.

If you are touring, plan your route as there are exceptionally steep approaches to the camp site and the village of Birchover is a tight squeeze with the caravan.

We would all definitely come back here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: PBats 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Clean and tidy, good welcome from friendly, helpful and accommodating staff, no problems.

Much of the site is a bit hilly for tents, but that can be said for anywhere in the Peaks. Useful shop although when we were there we had to go and fetch someone from reception to open up - no probs, I mean who wants to rush when you're on holiday?

Lovely area with two nearby pubs and places for the kids to play safely on the rocks nearby etc 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarah3 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, very clean and very well run.

At the weekend it has a bar, pizza and a chip Van's open and it's all for £10 a night.

Yes we will be going back and very soon love it 
via mobile


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Barn Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barn Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Barn Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55622 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement