Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barn Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Barn Farm Reviews

Barn Farm
Birchover
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 2BL
Tel: 01629 650245
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 57
Open: 1 April To 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 170 Reviews
                9/10 from 170 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  170 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 18 reviews from this member

Well

What a gem of a site.

Welcoming, clean, great pitches, not a pice of litter on site, Which is a credit to the staff and those using the site.

Toilet showers very clean, also handy litttle shop on site.

Phone single was a bit crap in the area, but then again I switch mine off when am away.

Play area was great for kids, and at around 22-30 23-00, if by magic the whole site goes quiet.

Peacocks well, never seen so many in one place, and a pleasure to see. And they do not affect your stay.

The cost of a pitch was also great value. And a good size.

Pitches are limited for caravans. So make sure you book and not just turn up.

Tents well, loads of pitches for them, DOE awards, also use the site a lot as well.

Local village as 2 pubs, both well used by the sites guests, & site not far from Bakewell, Matlock.

Am sitiing here thinking of putting something negitive in this review.

But to be honest I am finding it hard to find one!

Really great site that I will be going back to soon I hope.

Ray

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 17 reviews from this member

We booked for the bank holiday knowing it might be busy and the owner confirmed this when we booked. He also explained that the peacocks can be noisy early in the morning and was open and friendly on the phone.

The site is well situated on the edge of a small village, with lovely views from most pitches.

Birchover has two pubs, the Red Lion (dog friendly and brews its own beer) and the Druid (also dog friendly), which was an early gastro pub but seems to have fallen a bit on hard times.

The campsite shop sells milk and limited groceries plus ice creams and sweets etc. Over the bank holiday they had an early morning bacon butty wagon, afternoon ice creams and pancakes and fish and chips in the evening. There was also a temporary kids bouncy castle and climbing wall in addition to the small playground.

The walk to the historic Nine Ladies Stones on Stanton Moor is direct from the site and less than 30 minutes. You can walk to Rowsley past the Stones and there are paths to Winster and other local villages and hamlets, so plenty of dog walking opportunities. As motorhomers we donít like to move the van once pitched, so with a small shop on site, local pubs and great countryside we had no problems with this.

Despite the very busy bank holiday weekend, the site still maintained a great family feel. The site staff were continually cleaning the toilets and showers and at no time did the site feel overcrowded. This is a great credit ot the owners and staff who clearly want to make money but to offer great service in return. The site is clean and well maintained but still retains the farmyard feel and is ideal for those who arenít keen on the overly regimented Caravan Club type sites.

Very handy for Bakewell, Chatsworth and Matlock.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2yorkies 13 reviews from this member

Barn Farm pitches are some of the best, with hard standing for caravan & car but kinder bark for the awning. There are only about a dozen pitched for motor-homes/caravans, with some large fields for campers. The staff are friendly & are around the site regularly, needed with groups of youngsters on their DoE! The showers & toilet blocks are kept clean & well maintained, though you didn't need to cool the 'hot' water for pot washing! The 2 pubs in the village both serve meals & are dog friendly, though we only used the 'Red Lion' which has it's own micro-brewery. There is a decent bus service through Birchover connecting Matlock & Bakewell, which we used both to return after a walk & to take us out then walk back to/from different local villages. It's an great center for exploring, well recommended. If you book for 7 nights +, there is a discount on the price shown!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stu8d 3 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our stay, well maintained site and plenty of showers, toilets and washing facilities.

Kids enjoyed the farm animals and the dog enjoyed the walks readily available.

Sainsburys in Matlock not to far away for your food and 2 pubs in the village

Few points worth mentioning no allocated pitches and your are pitched on a hill so very few flat spots for your tent

But overall I would recommend to friends and will be visiting again

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oliveti 1 review from this member

Just come back from my One-Man-One-Tent camping trip at Barn Farm Campsite where I spent two days/one night testing my brand new tent (Temptest 200).

Staff

Staff is very friendly and helpful. I turned up at 11am and they let me check in without any problems (despite the fact their check-in time starts from 12pm).

Facilities

Toilets and showers(individual shower cubicles) are clean and nice (I would even say it feels cosy after a long day spent outside walking like crazy:). Showers/hot water is free.

Also there are two cleaning facilities for your pots, washing and drying room and a play room for kids and adults alike.

I didn't use the above three options so can't comment more on those.

Camping Field

The field where I camped is in an angle, best place to pitch a tent is at the top or at the bottom. I would recommend to arrive early so you can pick a better spot during busier times - first come first serve rule ;)

I also didn't experience any noisy campers during that one night.

Walking paths

There are some really nice walking pathways around. The most known and closest is Nine Ladies Stone Circle.

Overall

I was very happy that I have chosen the Barn Farm as my first campsite this year. I would definitely recommend this campsite to anyone; to a single person, couples and families alike.

Owners of the farm have some freely roaming peacocks just sitting or walking around the site. I consider this as a great idea (of all of the other campers there the peacocks were the loudest during that night :)

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 19 reviews from this member

At Barn Farm we received a nice warm welcome and was given pitch No12 to be by our friends. The pitch for our motorhome was not quiet level, even with ramps, but near enough; the slope increased from pitches 10 back to 5; also these pitches were a distance from the toilet and shower blocks. As it is a very good site we will return and if on our own will ask for a pitch on the hard standing areas 1-4 which are more level. Overall there is nothing wrong with this site; the toilets and showers are many and kept very clean with plenty of hot water. The setting of the site is lovely and with the time of the year (23 Oct) the tree colours were splendid. There's a shop, games room, payphone and laundry room and plenty of walks from this site that's in a most lovely part of the country. The main walk to do is just 5mins long and that's to the Red Lion with its good food, pleasant service and atmosphere. Many thanks for a great stay.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maxfuel 7 reviews from this member

Wow! Greeted by a field of Alpacas and beautiful countryside and friendly staff, what better way to start on good footing!

Amenities included a games room, laundry, small shop and lots of information on local walks. Showers and toilets were clean, the adult only showers were a great benefit if you don't mind queuing at peak times.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sonnybanks 2 reviews from this member

Spent a weekend here for a special birthday so there was a groups of 11 tents, it was also the weekend of Birchover carnival so plenty of things going on both on the site and in the village.

It has been absolutely amazing, the site facilities were spotless regardless of what time you visited them and considering how many people were there. All staff extremely helpful and pleasant and the setting is beautiful.

The live bands on the Saturday night were fantastic - my husband thought I had given them a playlist !

We have stayed here a few times now and will definitely return and the carnival weekend will probably become and annual event.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kittyboochris 4 reviews from this member

My favourite campsite in the Peaks so far. Stayed here 3 times since discovering it in May. Would have stayed more but we they were full 2 other times we tried to book (OK we like camping!)

Some of the highlights:

- Excellent facilities, an abundance of clean and well looked after toilets and showers

- Option of adult only showers (with actual real shower cubicles - no push buttons) if you want extra privacy and space

- Other shower rooms big enough for families (makes it easier when you have a 3yr old!)

- Childrens playground, small but just enough to keep our toddler entertained just before bedtime

- Several fields (not all always in use as we discovered last time). The DofE field at the back has a fair slope, but it was our only field option last time and we pitched at the top, which was fine and flat enough (we took the 10 man tent that time). Lovely views up there!

- Great location in a lovely village with an excellent pub (red lion - great food and friendly owners). Close to Bakewell and Matlock for day trips.

- The owners provide a book filled with walks, hikes, bike trails with plenty of printed copies for you to take - an excellent and very thoughtful touch.

- The site has security present at busy weekends which is reassuring for keeping things in order. You see them patrolling when it's time to quieten down later at night, but they don't stop the fun, so long as you're not disturbing folk (it's not 'don't even whisper' like we've experienced at other sites).

- Prices are very reasonable

- They have alpacas. Who doesn't love an alpaca!

If I was being picky and looking for a negative, it would be the early morning chorus of peacocks and cows singing you awake at the crack of dawn, but hey, this is a farm.

We can't wait to return and hope to spend many more (and longer) trips there next year!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daveb81 1 review from this member

Great site. We spent 3 nights (Fri, Sat, Sun) at Barn Farm. We stayed in field 1. Yes it has a slope but we didn't find it a problem, arrive early to get a good spot. Fri and Sat where busy with field 2 full but the field was empty by 11am on Sunday. Field 1 had about 20 tents on at its busiest. Campsite was very clean as was the toilets and showers. On site shop, games room, sun bed and sauna. The folder at reception with free maps for local walks was a nice touch. We will be visiting again. NOW THE PEACOCKS, I was expecting to find the place overrun with them after reading some reviews, we counted about 6 and yes they can be loud but they never woke us up. If people do not like the sound of nature then don't go camping. Would recommend this campsite to anyone and its in a lovely part of the country.

Previous     170 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


907 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019