Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barn Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Barn Farm Reviews

Barn Farm
Birchover
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 2BL
Tel: 01629 650245
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 57
Open: 1 April To 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 175 Reviews
                9/10 from 175 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  175 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trev Preston 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Very well organised facilities even with restrictions in place.

Will definitely return.

Beautiful views and close to many attractions and places to visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Gezcol128597tfu 1 review from this member

 Excellent facilities that were extremely clean.

Just one fault and that was the extremely loud peacocks which crowed from around 4am every morning waking us all up.

Very friendly staff though and the place was kept immaculate. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lesley113658mfj 1 review from this member

 Great really well organised and friendly site with a great location and fantastic views we will be back.

They had really thought about the Covid guidelines and it felt thorough but not intrusive well done all 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Freema15327hw 1 review from this member

 The site is expansive but has good facilities which are increased with clean portable units in peak times.

The site is billed as family friendly, whuch it is in many respects, but I would avoid it during peak times with young children.

There is meant to be no noise or loud music on site after 10. 30pm. This is a bit late for a family friendly site where there are young children.

Also, nothing was actually done about loud music playing, which went on until after midnight. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Darrencaravan 1 review from this member

 The site had beautiful view and fantastic facilities.

It was a very windy weekend but the trees protected us and the warm shower blocks made it very comfortable.

We love walking and found some amazing routes. The only disappointment thing was that we did not stay long enough.

Definitely going back again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 25 reviews from this member

 Well

What a gem of a site.

Welcoming, clean, great pitches, not a pice of litter on site, Which is a credit to the staff and those using the site.

Toilet showers very clean, also handy litttle shop on site.

Phone single was a bit crap in the area, but then again I switch mine off when am away.

Play area was great for kids, and at around 22-30 23-00, if by magic the whole site goes quiet.

Peacocks well, never seen so many in one place, and a pleasure to see. And they do not affect your stay.

The cost of a pitch was also great value. And a good size.

Pitches are limited for caravans. So make sure you book and not just turn up.

Tents well, loads of pitches for them, DOE awards, also use the site a lot as well.

Local village as 2 pubs, both well used by the sites guests, & site not far from Bakewell, Matlock.

Am sitiing here thinking of putting something negitive in this review.

But to be honest I am finding it hard to find one!

Really great site that I will be going back to soon I hope.

Ray 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 18 reviews from this member

 We booked for the bank holiday knowing it might be busy and the owner confirmed this when we booked. He also explained that the peacocks can be noisy early in the morning and was open and friendly on the phone.

The site is well situated on the edge of a small village, with lovely views from most pitches.

Birchover has two pubs, the Red Lion (dog friendly and brews its own beer) and the Druid (also dog friendly), which was an early gastro pub but seems to have fallen a bit on hard times.

The campsite shop sells milk and limited groceries plus ice creams and sweets etc. Over the bank holiday they had an early morning bacon butty wagon, afternoon ice creams and pancakes and fish and chips in the evening. There was also a temporary kids bouncy castle and climbing wall in addition to the small playground.

The walk to the historic Nine Ladies Stones on Stanton Moor is direct from the site and less than 30 minutes. You can walk to Rowsley past the Stones and there are paths to Winster and other local villages and hamlets, so plenty of dog walking opportunities. As motorhomers we donít like to move the van once pitched, so with a small shop on site, local pubs and great countryside we had no problems with this.

Despite the very busy bank holiday weekend, the site still maintained a great family feel. The site staff were continually cleaning the toilets and showers and at no time did the site feel overcrowded. This is a great credit ot the owners and staff who clearly want to make money but to offer great service in return. The site is clean and well maintained but still retains the farmyard feel and is ideal for those who arenít keen on the overly regimented Caravan Club type sites.

Very handy for Bakewell, Chatsworth and Matlock. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2yorkies 13 reviews from this member

 Barn Farm pitches are some of the best, with hard standing for caravan & car but kinder bark for the awning. There are only about a dozen pitched for motor-homes/caravans, with some large fields for campers.

The staff are friendly & are around the site regularly, needed with groups of youngsters on their DoE! The showers & toilet blocks are kept clean & well maintained, though you didn't need to cool the 'hot' water for pot washing!

The 2 pubs in the village both serve meals & are dog friendly, though we only used the 'Red Lion' which has it's own micro-brewery.

There is a decent bus service through Birchover connecting Matlock & Bakewell, which we used both to return after a walk & to take us out then walk back to/from different local villages.

It's an great center for exploring, well recommended. If you book for 7 nights +, there is a discount on the price shown! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stu8d 3 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our stay, well maintained site and plenty of showers, toilets and washing facilities.

Kids enjoyed the farm animals and the dog enjoyed the walks readily available.

Sainsburys in Matlock not to far away for your food and 2 pubs in the village

Few points worth mentioning no allocated pitches and your are pitched on a hill so very few flat spots for your tent

But overall I would recommend to friends and will be visiting again 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oliveti 1 review from this member

 Just come back from my One-Man-One-Tent camping trip at Barn Farm Campsite where I spent two days/one night testing my brand new tent (Temptest 200).

Staff

Staff is very friendly and helpful. I turned up at 11am and they let me check in without any problems (despite the fact their check-in time starts from 12pm).

Facilities

Toilets and showers(individual shower cubicles) are clean and nice (I would even say it feels cosy after a long day spent outside walking like crazy:). Showers/hot water is free.

Also there are two cleaning facilities for your pots, washing and drying room and a play room for kids and adults alike.

I didn't use the above three options so can't comment more on those.

Camping Field

The field where I camped is in an angle, best place to pitch a tent is at the top or at the bottom. I would recommend to arrive early so you can pick a better spot during busier times - first come first serve rule ;)

I also didn't experience any noisy campers during that one night.

Walking paths

There are some really nice walking pathways around. The most known and closest is Nine Ladies Stone Circle.

Overall

I was very happy that I have chosen the Barn Farm as my first campsite this year. I would definitely recommend this campsite to anyone; to a single person, couples and families alike.

Owners of the farm have some freely roaming peacocks just sitting or walking around the site. I consider this as a great idea (of all of the other campers there the peacocks were the loudest during that night :) 


Previous     175 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barn Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barn Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Barn Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3930 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement