Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Polglaze Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Fowey > Polglaze Caravan And Camping Reviews

Polglaze Caravan And Camping
Polglaze Farm
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1JZ
Tel: 01726 833642
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 06/07 - 31/08

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andi Deacon 1 review from this member

 A beautiful tranquil campsite!

Clean, hotel standard toilets and showers. A choice of pitches overlooking Cornish countryside or nestled in the Apple orchard. And a lovely welcome from Diane and Alan. They shared valuable info on places to walk and visit. So much care and thought has been given to the pretty campsite and their guests. We booked for a week. Then stayed another week! Fowey and the surrounding area is wonderful for exploring. We liked to finish our days at Polkerris beach, a foody pub and evening sunshine. Perfect! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laurenjc 1 review from this member

 Fowey as an area is very pretty and well worth a visit, although Iíd recommend searching for another camp site if you want to sleep on flat ground and walk into Fowey.

- All pitches are on a fairly steep hill which can be an issue.

- Although we read reviews that stated the owners are not intrusive and leave you to it, this is in fact not so much of a good thing as we were never greeted, emailed or spoken to the entire time we were there. There were no welcome packs and all useful information was attached inside the house and you couldnít take it with you. It didnít seem very welcoming.

- If you want to walk into Fowey, you have to walk on a national speed limit road that has no footpath for a few minutes. Doesnít seem bad but the road is tiny and the cars are very fast so not safe at all. We were told the bus will stop outside if you flag them down but we tried this twice and they did not stop. We tried to find the actual bus stop that is nearby but couldn't

- showers are good and kept clean but there are only two for the whole camp site which seems very few considering the size.

Overall a nice camp site in a quiet area but for us, was too hilly and not well placed for walking anywhere really. Would have also preferred a quick hello from the owners too. Felt a little unwanted is all. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jan and Dan 2 reviews from this member

 This is a quiet site with lovely views and reasonable sized pitches. The pitches are arranged around the perimeter of the field so you have plenty of open ground in front of you which is nice. The owners are very friendly and although we only use our own shower in the caravan, the site showers seemed very clean. It is very convenient for Fowey and a bus stops right outside the site every hour. The only negative point, which is the reason we would not return, is the site has quite a steep slope. On the evening of our arrival we struggled to get the caravan level and went to bed with vertigo. Next morning feeling a bit less tired we had another go and made some improvement. The front of the caravan was sitting completely down on the grass and the back was well up on bricks. Even then it was not totally level but it was a lot better and liveable. It's a shame because otherwise it's a very good site but we caravan for pleasure not to test our civil engineering skills. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nukes67 10 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site. Beautiful area, and very scenic site to pitch in. The Art side of their business is quite nice too. Lovely walk into Fowey, despite some of it being roads, with little pathway, but shouldn't deter people imho. My wife & I will return for certain. Wife says lovely toilets, clean, hot water, well appointed (I did use them too of course), and agree with her (just not my usual review comments lol). Thank you Polglaze. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairebuxton 1 review from this member

 Fabulous small campsite, with really good facilities, kept scrupulously clean. In a lovely setting - we don't use an electric hook up, so we had a patch of an orchard almost completely to ourselves. We have 2 small children, and the use of a lovely family bathroom was brilliant - £2 for 15 minutes of hot water, which was enough for both kids and hubby!) Owners are really friendly and helpful. Garage within easy walking distance for milk/bread etc, and lots of interesting places to visit. Would definitely visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Durham travellers 5 reviews from this member

 Wonderful quiet clean site with friendly but unobtrusive owners. Plenty of room between plots. Very well suited to exploring area and extremely relaxing. Showers and toilets were very good and very clean. If site was very busy this could be an issue with number, 2 showers with toilet combined and one toilet. You could pay for bathroom £2. 00 for 15mins but caused no problems for us.

Only issues electric was a bit intermittent during stay but when informed owners did try and deal with it promptly and offered to charge phones etc. We may have been unlucky. We did have a dog which we knew no dog walking area on site but were directed to field. This wasn't very accessible as gate was padlocked and very unstable grass was waist length. Roads don't have footpaths and a bit hairy to walk. But this is indicative of area. Would go again but if taking dog would have to look for site with dog walking area due to lack of paths by road side. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorkshire Astronaut 1 review from this member

 We spent a wonderful week here, nestled in the peaceful orchard with views of tranquil fields and hills, and we can't recommend this campsite enough!

When you arrive there is a notice board which tells you which pitch you have been allocated, but we were given several pitches to choose from by the friendly owners. The field is on a slight slope but there are many flat spots to be found, so no issues on that matter. We were there for the Fowey Royal Regatta but it wasn't overcrowded at all, no more than half a dozen tents on our entire side of the field.

The toilet facilities are the standout feature of this wonderful little site. They are kept immaculately clean throughout the day by the meticulous owner and her hardworking daughter. We kid you not, they are of a standard that wouldn't look out of place in a nice hotel! The only slight down side is that at busy times in the morning you might have to queue for a few mins, no hardship so long as it isn't raining.

We felt it was a bit far out of Fowey for comfortably walking into the town but there is a bus service (the timetable is on the campsite notice board). If you do walk in to town, there are no roadside paths in places so you have to be a bit careful (the roads are pretty quiet though. ) but if you are coming back a night make sure you have a torch with you as these roads are PITCH black!

Cracking site, unforgettable holiday, perfect for us! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinseekers 1 review from this member

 Very picturesque site, great views of the countryside and rolling hills.

Site has one large open camping field on one side, and the other side is dotted with fruit trees and hydrangea bushes. The site is sloping in places, but not too bad and some pitches are more level than others, just need to have a look around. Owners will have selected a pitch for you on booking, but they generally will let you choose somewhere else if its available.

Owners very friendly. Keen to keep it a quiet site with limited units, which helps keep it special. Actually, numbers are limited as only 3 loos and two showers. There is a bathroom but not open 24 hours and you have to pay extra to use £2, because of cost of filling the bath.

Definitely recommend 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Franbarry 1 review from this member

 This is such a wonderful and peaceful site. The views of the hills and farm animals are amazing, and at night you get bats and a stargazers sky.

As a previous reviewer said this is not for those who want a site with bells on.

The location is perfect for exploring the surrounding area, eg The Eden Project.

The showers and toilets were spotless.

The only negative comment is that the grass had just been cut and it was not raked up so we kept getting grass cuttings in the tent. As we say this is only a small problem to such a great site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Levoh 16 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet site which is as described on the website and just what we wanted for a relaxing few days. Spotlessly clean everywhere and very thoughtfully laid out.

The owner did his very best to fit us in and even found another pitch for us when we found that our vehicle was too high to get into the designated pitch.

We found none of the problems which other visitors have found with the site not being level.

All in all a very quiet site which we will definitely visit again. Yes, if one wanted to be super critical, there could be more loos but it really didn't spoil our break. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Polglaze Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Polglaze Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Polglaze Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fowey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8982 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement