Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sands Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Gairloch > Sands Caravan And Camping Reviews

Sands Caravan And Camping
Sands Caravan And Camping
Gairloch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV21 2DL
Tel: 01445 712152
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Parahandy 14 reviews from this member

Aprox 2 miles out of the village, Stopped with small Tent fot 2 nights. Reception staff friendly and efficient. Plenty of pitches to choose from on my visit. If you choose you can camp next to the dunes, beach access a few minutes walk away.

Toilet block ok. Clean and plenty of showers*( no charge). Next door washing up area/kitchen complete with fridges and freezers, plenty of plugs for charging gadgets. This is a family site accompanying children on bikes, note be aware a lot running around unsupervised, tripping over guy lines and the obligatory football match.

The village is a distance away, with limited convenience stores, also a Fish and chip shop. The Barn cafe on site is popular which serves meals throughout the day. Note best to book for evening meal as it gets very busy. Reasonably happy with my stay,

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Johnlewis17 4 reviews from this member

Amazing beachside location with plenty of space available to pitch up.

Facilities were the best I've seen on a campsite and the only negative I could think of is that the toilets were not cleaned regularly enough and with no toilet brushes available it wasn't pleasant in the toilets at times.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Not the type of site we would generally stay on - yet we could really see the attraction.

The simple request that you pitch where you like but keep 7 metres away from your nearest neighbour works well. On the higher grass area its mainly caravans, down in the dunes tents and campervans - with motorhomes split between the two.

Surprised how many electric hook ups in the dunes area, made it easy to find secluded areas with electric and there was plenty of water taps nearby.

Toilet block from the outside looked grim - inside was the opposite, recently re-furbed, warm and plenty of hot water.

We used the cafe for a takeaway, good basic well cooked food.

As previous reviews mention the shop is super well stocked, not sure what you can't buy there - everything from wet suits to fresh olives to guy ropes to frozen pizza.

No camp-fires allowed on any pitches, although you can make them on the beach as long as you clear up after you.

With over 250 pitches we thought this would be a loud, nosiy site - not at all, in fact it was very peaceful. Would estimate it was less than 50% full, so plenty of choice where to pitch.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Montana85 4 reviews from this member

Just stayed here for another two glorious weeks(visited 3years ago). The site once again was amazing non regimented pitching so can find you own bit of heaven so long as you keep the minimum distance from neighbours, facilities very good three large toilet shower blocks all a short walk away. Views are outstanding all over the site looking out towards Skye. Direct access onto golden sandy beach.

Very well stocked shop even better than the shops in the town and fairly priced. Very dog friendly plenty of walks available from the site and a little further a field.

Will definitely be back next year!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Huge site but hides itself well in the dunes. No marked touring pitches but you can choose your space as long as 7m between other campers. Few hardstanding pitches but grass seems well draining. Some exposed pitches in bad weather but more sheltered pitches can be found in the dunes. Toilets/showers modern & spotless. Play area for children, cafe on site, they recommend booking for evening meals. Reception open until 6pm and has well stocked shop. Laundry facilities in middle block. Camping pods & wigwams also available. Sandy beach is over the dunes.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soozndave 6 reviews from this member

Probably my favourite campsite so far. Amazing beach and plenty of space around you on site. Has a great kids play area and even a bmx/scooter ramp which the kids loved, the camp shop is well stocked and the facilities were clean tidy. It is a huge site and you choose your own pitch as long as you are 7 mtrs from your neighbour. Highly recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Sprog 2 reviews from this member

We rented a wigwam for two nights.

What a great campsite - fantastic location with wonderful sea and island views, huge beach, boat launching facilities and warm and helpful welcome.

We have stayed here before, but now there is a great restaurant on site with sit and and take away menu which was superb.

Definitely recommended if you can make the journey to the north west of Scotland.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 81 reviews from this member

Our first stop on the NC500 was at this excellent site. From the location overlooking, according to The Sunday Times, one of Scotland's best beaches to the pitch size and number of spaces, the facilities and the organisation this was quite a place to start. It is ~3 miles outside Gairloch and has stunning views across to the mountains of Torridon. Although it was very windy when we were there, there was plenty of shelter and hot water in the showers. The only, minor, drawback was, we felt, that the facilities blocks felt quite cool in the wind. No midges though!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnm3487 3 reviews from this member

Visited this sight since I was wee laddie (35 years ago approx), and with my wife in recent years. Love it. Site was clean, toilets immaculate although having to repeat press the button in the shower rips my knitting but I can live with it when you see the view over to Red point and beyond. Staff always pleasant. Small play park has been erected, kids appeared to utilising the equipment when I was there and there is always the beach for the kids and adults. Cafe restaurant is a nice addition.

Large cooking and washing up area is well serviced with power points the the electrics and seats for when the weather closes in

I went to the end of road, jumped onto a bike and peddled and gasped my way around to lighthouse. Blessed with fine hot sunny clear weather could not wish to be anywhere else. Amazing PS wife loves it too but sleeping in a two man tent with potential for midges put her off coming along this time

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toff 7 reviews from this member

Fantastic camping week enjoyed by a couple and 2 dog's.

Site very very clean and the amenities very good with a bar, shop on site with very friendly staff. Just a big thank you to a female in reception who when I approached about losing my mobile when checking in she was very helpful and professional in the outcome and I got my phone back. Not that I, m big on mobiles but the staff were top notch. So laid back site in a very big location and close to the sea and mountains.

Have passed our approval to fellow climbers and many thanks for a great week where the weather also was so hot for Scotland.

Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3087 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019