Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sands Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Gairloch > Sands Caravan And Camping Reviews

Sands Caravan And Camping
Sands Caravan And Camping
Gairloch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV21 2DL
Tel: 01445 712152
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 128 Reviews
                9/10 from 128 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  128 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Monica 2 reviews from this member

 We first stayed for 1 night and then later came back for another 2 nights.

The location is stunning, stretched out in the dunes and at a long sand beach. We found very private pitches in the dunes for our small van and tent, it was very quiet at night.

The facilities are very good, and there is a nice restaurant on site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisajk 12 reviews from this member

 Wasn't too impressed on arrival to be told just to find a pitch, on such a randomly laid out site.

All the hardstanding pitches seemed to be taken and we struggled to find a good spot, but I guess in future we'd know the site better and would know where to look - also it was very busy so not a lot of spare space.

However, once we found a reasonable spot we warmed to the place - fantastic views and although the toilet blocks look really shabby from the outside, inside they are really clean and modern, spacious and decent showers.

Ate one night in the cafe which was good.

Why do we have to give a score for child friendliness when we don't have children. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Billd2 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with lovely views. Great facilities, kept nice and clean.

Our only concern would be trying to find an electric hook up point when dark falls.

We enjoyed our cycle out to the lighthouse,

Lovely views over to the Isles. Staff were friendly and helpful,

We would definitely be back.

Bill & Dorothy 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alanhe 1 review from this member

 Great location by the wonderful sand dunes and beach. Very exposed site so check the forecast before putting up your awning.

Lots of midges but that's Scotland.

Facilities really good and very clean. The shop is very well stocked with pretty much everything. Food at the cafe/restaurant is fine. Very good local shops too. Very poor wi fi and phone signal( mine didn't work at all).

Dont know about child friendliness as doesn't apply to us. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Lorfal 23 reviews from this member

 Travelled with friends who had hired MH. Stayed here as part of a weeks journey and wishing we stayed a few nights. Great site, great journey getting there. Great spacious pitches. MH service point. Food to take away on site. I didnt use facilities as we used our own on board. Very clean chemical toilet disposal.

Great shop, well stocked. Really pleasant staff.

We got a huge area for our 2 vans and 5 dogs between us. Nice beach with Sea and mountain views.

We did book in advance and so glad we did. Site was advertised as full yet didnt seem full when we were parked up. Social distancing was being observed properly.

Will go back for sure. Looked very child friendly

Really loved this place 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martin 1 review from this member

 Outstanding campsite. Incredible location, great facilities. Set by the see, beautiful dunes and crystal clear water.

Feels like wild camping yet with all the services of a great site.

Highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jenniwren 6 reviews from this member

 Great site for young active people. As an old couple we found it impossible to climb over the dunes to the beach.

The only places to park 10 m apart were a long walk from the facilities and camp shop. The site is well maintained for such a large area, but beware midges!

The only approach road to Gairloch is narrow with passing places which could be a problem for large units.  


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rhiann 1 review from this member

 Absolutely, without a doubt, the best campsite we have ever visited.

The facilities were always immaculate, the shop on site had everything you could ever need, the cafe served really nice lunches and the park was suitable for the small and big children.

We are so happy we visited and will definitely be returning. The COVID-19 measures in place were well thought out and all customers and staff appeared to follow them without difficulty. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Billym 1 review from this member

 Excellent facilities and location, staff brilliant and most helpful.

Will certainly use this site again, best of our trip round NC500.

In the current situation with Covid-19 precautions, this site was by far the most professional in their management. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mandnt 1 review from this member

 Used the sands caravan park as a stop off on our NC500 trip. This was a well set up site with several levels and areas to pitch.

The best equipped shop wed seen in a long time even proper shops never mind camp ones! Good facilities very clean and plenty of too.

Nice looking eat house on site although didnt eat there. Lovely beach and dunes to shelter some areas from the wee drafts that are occasionally present in the north 🥴 local area has a good few quirky and practical shops too.

In my opinion the best wed stayed at for all aspects of camping on our 2 week trip Id highly recommend a visit and more than a night if you can make it 👍 
via mobile


Previous     128 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sands Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sands Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sands Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gairloch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4158 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement