Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sands Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Gairloch > Sands Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Sands Caravan And Camping
Sands Caravan And Camping
Gairloch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV21 2DL
Tel: 01445 712152
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 29/03/2024 to 27/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 149 Reviews
                9/10 from 149 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  149 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 45 reviews from this member

 The site is really large and spacious with a mixture of touring, statics, tents and cottages.

Really nice facilities although a couple of times the shower water was cold.

Easy access to a nice sandy beach with great views of Torridon mountains, Skye and out to Harris.

Non EHU pitches are essentially find a free spot. Annoyingly, this means some people park a little close for my liking.

Site rules state that dogs should be on a lead at all times. This was not adhered to by other dog owners and meant our dog was getting agitated by dogs on the loose.

Thereís an on site bar and cafe which we didnít use but looked good.

And the on site shop seemed to sell more provisions than the local stores in Gairloch, which is very convenient if you donít want to head into the village. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lillim 7 reviews from this member

 Wow, what a site.

You can pitch virtually anywhere you like, so you feel nice and remote but still have electric hookup.

The views are fantastic. The shop has everything that you could ever need, especially a very impressive large selection of herbal teas.

The on site restaurant also does takeaway.

We had some lovely chats with the warden who was really interesting & informative about the site & area.

We'll definitely be back! 5 star ! 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 85 reviews from this member

 We were disappointed by this well-known and very widely advertised site, so much so that we cut short our stay despite having paid for more nights.

It is huge, and we didn't like the 'find your own pitch but be prepared to lose it if you leave the site' system.

The site seems to be a quite chaotic mixture of grassy areas, hardstandings, with or without electricity, all mixed higgledy-piggledy with one another.

If you are a new arrival, possibly tired after your journey, the last thing you want is to drive around grassy dunes looking for a suitable location.

The shower/ toilet/ dishwashing block near our pitch looked awfully tired and ugly outside, but was surprisingly nice and upgraded, and spacious, inside, with under-floor heating.

There are some nice walks to be done directly from the site, but instead of making leaflets or a booklet available the rather grumpy receptionist directed me to take photos of the walks which were pinned to their wall, not what I wanted in order to decide where to walk. (I should say here that the other receptionist we encountered was friendly and helpful though).

The views from the site are brilliant, with mountainous Harris and flat Lewis, as well as beautiful Skye, the highlights.

My impression here was that the site is a major stopping point for NC 500-ers, who mostly only stay for one night and seem to be undemanding.

The site must make enough money from them not to have to bother to make themselves more attractive to people wanting to stay for a bit longer. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ultima 1 review from this member

 The best campsite we stayed at during our week travelling the North coast 500!

The shower block was immaculate, beautiful location and everything we needed on our doorstep.

Would recommend to anyone. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camperdood 3 reviews from this member

 Great site, though we did find it a bit busy, possible a sign of the times though.

Beautiful beach and a amazing views.

The facilities were kept clean, and the staff were all very friendly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynne Delph 7 reviews from this member

 10/10 for location, facilities & on this occasion weather!

Itís clean, well looked after, has a good shop, laundry, good hot showers, even a bath!

If you are in a tent & the weather is poor, they even have a kitchen/lounge for your comfort.

And the final test of a good campsite, will we return definitely 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sheila 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, , clean facilities, brilliant views and location, but the MIDGIES CHASED US AWAY, now we're are Scottish, and used to midgie, but cut our trip short and went over to the east coast,

The barn cafe is great !

We had a lovely meal the night before we left and it was lush,

Defo worth a visit, perfect for for stop over in the nc500 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Clrich 1 review from this member

 Lovely location,

Very nice facilities except the showers! They were clean and functional but the water only runs for 6 seconds before stopping, making washing long hair very difficult!

Everything else is first class. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eric Norman 3 reviews from this member

 The view from the pitch is priceless

Absolutely stunning

Lovely beach views

Facilities OK

Good food hut open every night with different options available 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stanleyperil 4 reviews from this member

 We had heard and read good reviews of this site. Everyone - you were correct. The site is fantastic! We were in the top field near the toilet facilities. The unit was luxurious.

There are hardstanding pitches stepped in layers or you can choose a remote pitch in the sand dunes. Some with EHU, some without.

A short climb up the sand dunes and down to a fabulous beach with views of the mainland and Skye looking out over the sea loch. There is a longer walk around the dunes and accross a small river.

The access did not appear to be wheelchair friendly ?

The reception area also houses a shop and stock almost everything from groceries to camping accessories. There is a bar/restaurant and Pizza takeaway.

There is also an excellent dog walk area that is fenced off so your furry fiends can run free. 


Previous     149 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sands Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sands Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sands Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gairloch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


39876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement