Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Serenity Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Serenity Campsite Reviews

Serenity Campsite
High Street
Hinderwell
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS13 5JH
Tel: 01947 841122
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20 touring / motorhome pitches, 30+ camping
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 216 Reviews
                9/10 from 216 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  216 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevin127087vfc 1 review from this member

 Excellent site

The manager was very organised in these awkward times

The chip shop down the road is excellent but you have to ring them to place an order

The site was quite busy but still quiet

The only noisy bit of the site is the hand driers in the toilets at night but we were pitched near the toilets, which on the other hand was handy 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mark4712 1 review from this member

 What a beautiful quiet site. Super location and extremely clean and tidy.

We walked to Staithes and the evening and spent the day at Runswick Bay.

I would highly recommend this campsite and will be visiting again soon. , hopefully for more than 1 night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 28 reviews from this member

 Our first trip away since lockdown, weíve been here before a few times but not for years, it has changed hands but still very high standards in everything, booking was efficiently handled and paid for our two nights by card over the phone. Welcomed and shown our pitch, the field is a bit lumpy and bumpy so used our ramps to easily level. Everything is spotless and the facilities superb.

As it was a Monday when we arrived it was fairly quiet, there were some tents in a different field, otherwise motorhomes, camper vans and caravans. Out of the gate and over the road are two pubs, only one seems to be in business the Badger Hounds and it doesnít open Mondays, didnít matter, we went on Tuesday night and had a lovely pizza, there was pasta too, Wednesday to Saturday is normal dinner menu. A great choice of drinks and puddings as well, we received a warm welcome.

Since we last there the village shop seems to have closed but there is a fish and chip shop very close to the site. Towards Staithes is a Co op by the side of the main road.

The bus stop is a couple of hundred yards from the site entrance with a regular service to Staithes and Whitby, you can get to the cliff walk easily, Staithes in one direction, Runswick Bay in the other direction. We walked to Staithes along the cliff path, quite challenging at times but very scenic, had drink and sandwiches at the Cod and Lobster pub ( well worth a visit, great food and drink ) in beautiful Staithes before walking back to Hinderwell via the path next to the road.

Canít wait to go back to serenity 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dave 418 34 reviews from this member

 As per the name of the site this is a lovely place to stay. We were on a serviced pitch at the top of the site with a view down the site to the moors.

The toilets were clean and tidy with plenty of hot water in the showers. A nice touch was the local radio playing in the toilet blocks.

The information room was the only place the WiFi worked and there was lots of information about the village.

There are shops, cafe and two pubs in the village. Both pubs are dog friendly. There is a regular bus to Whitby or villages to the North.

The area has lots of local walks including an hours walk to Staithes via the coast path.

A lovely old fishing port with cafes and pubs that are also dog friendly.

We will be back to walk more of the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Fkdupfairy 7 reviews from this member

 Absolutely Amazing site, Extremely friendly, Helpful, very clean and tidy,

Facilities are spotless, cleanliness is absolute 100%, Information available for anything they are readily available,

We spend 5 days with the teens, and dogs, I canít find 1 fault or negative thing To say about this site, If they will have us back we would be there in a heartbeat,

Thankyou so very much,

The Wilson crew 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cookiekid 42 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a lovely weekend away at this amazing site.

The location is spot on. Being convenient for the local high street, and a lovely 30 minute walk to Staithes or similar to beautiful Runswick Bay.

The gentleman on reception was very cheery, showed me the facilities before taking us to our pitch.

The pitch was fairly level and a good size.

The facilities are kept very clean. There's 3 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies block with a separate cubical.

The pot wash area is excellent. A kitchen area with wash up sinks, fridge and freezer, also tea/coffee making facility.

There's a separate information room with WiFi connection, very comfortable with sofas and plenty of books.

There is a dog walk through a gate after leaving bottom tent field.

We left a day early only due to the bad rain.

We will certainly recommend this site to all. Hope to be back next year.

My only niggle would be to be able to stay til 12 noon instead of 11am. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raymondp3895 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at serenity and loved it. Although a bit expensive at 26 pound. Plus 6 amp on enough for us to be honest, but the site itself was spot on, showers excellent, other facilities perfect and the pub across the road lovely. The meals where excellent.

Had a few trips into Whitby, staiths and Scarborough which was absolutely beautiful.

Probably the best site we have visited so far 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Daniella Nudd 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights (w/c 16/7/18). Had electric hook up. First time at this site. Very pleased that it is predominately adult only! Booking beforehand was smooth. Arrived to a warm welcome, shown facilities and led to our pitch.

All pitches were sizeable. We were in a camper van with a rear awning so plenty of space for us! Pitches quite level although some uneven patches so be prepared to level out. Facilities were simply perfect.

Two showers (plus a shower in family room) never any problems with queues when we were there. Lovely kitchen also and such nice touches such as a kettle and mugs in there if you fancied a brew! Wifi hub was convenient although we didnít need this. Elsan point and waste clearly marked. Water points around the site too.

Dog walking great as there is a track from site which takes you into woods and you can complete a circular walk to staithes from here. From site itís about a 30 minute walk to Runswick Bay (on road) or a little longer along Coastal path via Port Mulgrave (but recommended!)

There is one pub (Brown Cow) in village. Good food. Also a cafe, butchers and chippy. This is probably our favourite site we have visited. Other campers very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely return to this beautiful part of the world and this perfect campsite. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nelehp 6 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site. Peaceful. Facilities lovely. Clean and fresh.

Friendly staff.

Sensational fairy garden.

Very nicely situated for Filey. To walk into or drive.

Very haby for beach.

Handy for whitby.

Very well priced and layout of site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maddiejoe 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite in a peaceful setting and really easy to find. We were booked in for three nights. Check-in was easy and then we were taken to our pitch. There is a large field for tourers and motorhomes, another that had seasonal tourers and another large tenting field. All the pitches seemed very spacious. There is cabin where you can find lots of local information, sit and access the wifi or just sit and chill out and read.

There is a bus stop about 50 metres left from the site entrance going either north or south. If you don't have a bus pass, the fare to Whitby is about £5. 30 or £7. ?? return. We didn't take the bus to Staithes as it was only about an hour's walk along the Cleveland Way - access in and out of Staithes is is a bit steep as is some parts of the walk itself. The Cod and Lobster at Staithes do nice fish and chips.

The only downside for me was the shower block, although spotlessly clean it is a bit dated, there are only three toilets, one private washroom and two showers. (There are two family unisex bathrooms, which as adults without children we didn't feel we should use). As it was the bank holiday weekend, the site was full and I had to wait a while for a shower and nearly got caught short for access to a toilet! The showers were hot but the push button only lasted 5 seconds! Strangely though, the push button taps in the wash basin lasted almost a minute! There is no dry area to dress in the shower cubicle, so it was a bit of a dance trying to take trousers on and off without getting them wet.

We would certainly make for this campsite if we were in the area again. 


Previous     216 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Serenity Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Serenity Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Serenity Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6475 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements