Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Paul Carpenter

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Paul Carpenter
Pond Farm
Hungry Hill
Sidestrand
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR270LW
Tel: 01263579326  or  07376020856
    Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 21
Open: 3rd May- 28th August

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maggie.b 1 review from this member

What a delightful campsite! We've just returned from a couple of days camping at Pond Farm. It's a small, friendly site with two small fields in a lovely quite area with only the birds to hear. We were welcomed by Paul who couldn't have been more helpful.

We were surprised by all the extras provided including a kitchen which had just about everything you may need - fridges for your own stuff, as well as a fridge stocked with cold drinks, ice creams, etc. There is a hot water supply for tea, coffee etc. , (including the tea and coffee if you don't have your own), washing machines, drier, 2 toasters, 2 microwaves (I'll bring my wheat bag next time!), a borrowers cupboard for plates, cups etc if you need them, and a stock of tins, soups, etc. Also, I noticed sponges, tea towels and an assortment of other items to buy if you need them. All with an 'honesty jar' for payment. There are also tables and chairs to use if you need them - and probably much more that I didn't notice this time around.

The toilets, showers and washing area were all clean and well looked after.

We're really looking forward to our next stay here. Thanks Paul!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magmar 22 reviews from this member

Having re-read the previous reviews of this campsite and having our own thoughts, it is important to realise and fully understand the saying 'Different stokes for different folks' We base our visits to campsites via UK Campsite on the reviews left by others. Pond Farm had great reviews mostly 9/10 out of 10. All of what has previously been said re the fridges and freezers, microwaves, toasters, kettles is accurate and are exceedingly useful to most campers who do not have a lot of equipment with them. Perfect if you want tea & toast in the morning and eat out at the pub in the evening.

However what is not said is the site itself is actually not that great. The family field does have a more pleasant outlook and position. The 'Adult Quiet' field is a very different. This field together with the entrance can be best described as 'Rustic & Ramshackle' A collection of mismatched sheds and garages house a combination of A) A uni-sex WC/ Shower/ Washing unit which is not ideal, and B) A kitchen unit with W/U sinks with hot water, fridges/freezers etc and lots of other bits. Alongside other units that house workshops, storage and garages for the owners use. There are 3 static caravans that seemed to be homes to the owners. The owner obviously dabbles in many areas including 'Old Machinery' etc which is housed in full view in one corner of the 'Adult Field' this collection of machinery, tractors, trailers, JCB and mowers combined with the owners cars, 2 large mini-buses a large trailer, small trailer, motor-bike is more like a 'Scrap-Yard' than a 'Farm' Campsite.

We felt that at 17 per night given the general conditions was expensive. After paying our fees the owners barely acknowledged us despite being about the site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PamW74 1 review from this member

I don't normally leave reviews, but after visiting Pond Farm, I felt I had to! We've just spent a brilliant week there. The campsite is wonderfully quirky, clean, friendly, with fantastic facilities. I'd highly recommend it. Thanks, Sue!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Retired and happy 3 reviews from this member

This was our first time ever camping trip and loved it. Sue and her partner, the owners, are constantly working and cleaning and go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure everybody has everything they need. There are two fields, one for families and then the quiet field - everyone asleep by 10pm ! We are local people but saw Norfolk from a different perspective and would highly recommend coming to this homely, friendly campsite - you will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ohwearyone 1 review from this member

We went to Overstrand campsite and due to a misunderstanding about the booking couldn't stay. How glad we couldn't. We found this site just down the road. Sue, the manager couldn't have been more helpful. She was truly accommodating. She showed us around the facilities of which there are many as other reviews point out. It's in a quiet location and is a 'quiet' site. Please be aware that this is quite strictly adhered to so don't go if you feel you can't control yourself or your party. Will definitely come again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coastwalker 37 reviews from this member

'Gekko', a few entries earlier, says nearly all you need to know, but I'll put in a penny's worth:-.

What a charming site. It's off the coast road by about half a mile by road, so is nice and quiet, (apart from the birdscarers in the fields and the machinery nearby at corn harvest time) but 250yards on a public path takes you to a bus stop connecting places on the coast. Remember that Norfolk closes at 6pm though.

All the facilities have been put in/made by the owners and are quirky, but all work well and are cleaned regularly. You could spend a happy hour or two looking at all the stuff and info dotted about the place (ask the owner/handyman/circus act trainer(yes!) to show you his giant robot). The best thing for me was the boiling water on tap (but remember to put a few coins in the honesty box).

As to the area- Cromer and Sheringham are a bit manic in high season but there are vast lovely quiet beaches all along the coast. Bear in mind that there are sharp rocks under the water in some places. My foot is healing well, thanks.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrHadenGeo 1 review from this member

A lovely campsite run by friendly owners and stocked with plenty of amenities to provide all the family with a comfortable stay. Such a nice change from the identikit holiday parks littering the Norfolk coast. Definitely no 'glamping' here, just proper, down-to-earth, camping.

Perfectly located just a half hour walk from Overstrand beach, and well served by the local No. 5 bus.

I shall be returning during the summer for sure!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Armson83 2 reviews from this member

Just returned home from 11 night visit. Excellent facilities, rather quirky, as previously described. Very useful kitchen with toasters, freezers, fridges, ample hot water all free to use. Very quiet, excellent for adults, 5 minutes to bus to Cromer. No shop close by but a few emergency things to buy from the fridge. No children's play facilities but as there was a family field and an adult field maybe the kids would make their own fun during school holidays. Owners very friendly, even attempted to clear the overgrown field pathway to the bus, which was greatly appreciated. Would usenthe site again if visiting the area. There were pubs a short distance away but as we like to do our own catering we never used any of them.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gayla 2 reviews from this member

Pond Farm has instantly entered our top 3 campsites!

We had a very warm welcome from the owner who showed us around and gave us a choice of spots to camp, and explained the many facilities. For a small site campers are really thoughtfully provided for, and most of these extras are free. The loos and (free) showers are clean. There is a kitchen with fridges and freezers, ice pack swapping, microwaves, washing up area, internet access (very rural spot so phone signals will be poor) and local info. There are also emergency supplies for sale and for pennies you can make yourself a cuppa if you've forgotten your kettle! There's washing machines and driers, and a free air supply for pumping up your air bed.

The site is very rural and we had goldfinches and blackbirds around us and watched hares running through the adjacent field. It was peaceful and quiet and near to good walks and bike rides - pub about 15 mins walk and Cromer a 20 min to half an hour bike ride.

We loved it, would recommend it and are keen to return.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Luckybear 2 reviews from this member

We found this campsite by chance after many of our usual ones were all booked up for the bank holiday.

A very friendly greeting on arrival, and we were show to our pitch in the small family field. Within half an hour, another family arrived with kids the same age as our son, and they all played happily and safely in the field - it was great to be able to let them go and not worry about them getting out anywhere.

We were very impressed with the facilities, including the kitchen with loads of fridge space, a huge chest freezer, two microwaves and indoor sinks for washing up. What I loved the most was the boiling water dispenser, which meant instant cups of hot tea in the mornings without waiting half an hour for our kettles to boil!

The unisex toilet and showers were great too - hot water each time and we never had to wait.

The surrounding countryside is beautiful with some lovely walks. Close to the coastal towns and lots to do!

We would love to come back soon.

Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2902 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019