Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ingles Hill Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Ashby De La Zouch > Ingles Hill Caravan Site Reviews

Ingles Hill Caravan Site
Ingles Hill Farm
Burton Road
Ashby De La Zouch
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE65 2TE
Tel: 01530 412224
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bt1609 1 review from this member

Stayed for just under a week in September, we were in the grass pitches below the hard standing ones, requested because we had a number of dogs and at least one hates walking on gravel! Lovely mostly quiet setting behind all the other pitches (some aeroplanes). Though I did struggle to find my pitch and initially almost ended up in their 'rally' field I think as there was no one to ask when I arrived - sign explained which pitch but I didn't find the main area for a while!

Allowed us to have our 'camping garden' to give the dogs extra freedom, and no problems adding a second vehicle for the friend staying with me. No problems with the electric hook up. Shops within easy distance and plenty of walking for the dogs. Toilets were clean but basic, showers similar but plenty of hot water. Only concern was the significant smell from the Elsan emptying area which made the toilet area and getting water somewhat unpleasant. I've not actually used a proper campsite before as we normally camp for dog agility shows so I don't know if this is normal? I've not been bothered by this on show sites with Elsan Tanks, or proper elsan points.

However it didn't travel that far and didn't reach the pitches.

Got a bit stuck towing out from the grass pitches as its quite tight and slightly slopey and had been raining for a couple of days making the ground slippery. Thank goodness for motormovers. Have since bought a new tow vehicle with 4WD! Overall a lovely week to relax.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RTS5 15 reviews from this member

As a site for a weekend stop over whilst visiting friends in the area this site was perfectly located for us.

The hard standing area is very open, and looks out across fields. Though you can see one of the industrial estates over in Ashby. The hard standing surface was loose gravel. There is also a grassed area that is screened by trees. Only the pitches on the edge of this are used in the winter.

You do get some noise from the road that runs along side the site, as well as the nearby A511. You did also get the faint noise of lorry reversing beeps from the industrial estate mentioned before. I suspect wind direction can play a big part in whether you hear this and the A511 noise. Inside the caravan any noise was not noticeable, but if you were sitting outside on a sunny day, or in a tent you are probably going to notice them more. The weekend we stayed there were a lot of aeroplanes coming in to land at the East Midlands airport. Not sure if this is a regular fly over route, or it was just being used that weekend due to the weather conditions.

The only shower facilities open whilst we were there were the Caravan Club ones. There was no heating in the ladies (that I saw), and the mens heater apparently had a sign on it for it not to be used. We were okay as we have our own facilities, but it is worth knowing this if you don't and are going in colder weather. Both shower rooms were very generous, but we cannot comment on how the showers performed as we did not use them. There are 3 toilets in sheds. The ladies and gents have no lights. There is also a unisex one that has a light and a heater. Both the showers and toilets were all very clean.

The cold water tap did freeze up whilst we were there, but it had unfrozen later in the day.

We only briefly met the owner upon arrival, but they were very pleasant.
Access to & from the site is very good, with plenty of room to swing in/out. There is signage opposite the entrance, and the directions on their website are spot on.

Signal on O2 was good, but not as good on Vodaphone.

Despite this not being the quietest site we have ever visited it still had a lot going for it, and we will visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jules9851 10 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 days at this site. What a pleasant location and perfect for a quick weekend away. For a small site it has most things one needs. Toilets x 2 yes light needed. Perfectly good showers with hot water. The pitches themselves are kept in super condition. Tesco just 5 mins down the road and plenty of local pubs if needed.

Would certainly use again at £13 incl electric a good price.

If any criticism it would be that for just a few pence the on site shower room could be tarted up so to speak with curtains at the windows.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sbtx3 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at this lovely little site a couple of times now. Really like the place! £13. 50 a night with awning/ canopy EHU and water. Loads of space and a smashing area with lots of trees and wildlife which is great to give the dogs a good old run! With Prestop park just across the road from the site, there's walks to suit everyone, young or old.

I can't comment on the toilets/ showers as we use the ones in our van. Yes, there's a young chap who stays on site, but he seems like a nice bloke. Owners tend to leave you to get on with it. We love the place and will defo be back again and again for a weekend break. T

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TinanGed 9 reviews from this member

We just got back from having spent 2 nights on this site.

When we arrived I was very pleased with the field where we were directed to pitch our tent. It is a very well maintained site with the best mowed grass I have seen in a long time - it looks like a bowls green. There are wild flowers around the edges and areas to walk the dog which are fenced off and full of wild life. Pitches are level and there is lots of space.

The facilities are very basic - loos in sheds with no lights and no loo paper, but they are very clean. Showers were not great; they had very low pressure, but again were kept very clean. For the price this wasn't too bad - we paid £46 for the weekend with 2 adults, 3 kids and elec hook up so we can't expect much in the way of facilities.

The owners have a delightful Jack Russell who was very friendly and was keen for a stroke whenever we saw her. She roams free around the site much of the time. We didn’t really see anything of the owners – we even went looking for them to be able to pay.

A couple of warning notes though - the noise level from the road alongside the site was fairly bad, it is a busy road and traffic carried on well into the evening, even after we went to bed. On the noise front there was a young man living in a caravan on site and his caravan is alongside the tent field. He drove a very noisy car with a modified engine and came and went frequently, sometimes late in the evening, often with lots of revving of his engine. He told us that he lived on site and he expected us to ensure our cars did not block the route he prefers to use to drive to his caravan. His presence really marred the weekend for us spoiling the peace and quiet and we are unlikely to revisit.

If you plan to visit with a caravan this should be ok, as the caravan pitches were away from this disturbance but with a tent be aware he comes and goes at all hours.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bevsem 4 reviews from this member

PRO's:

Just back from a four day stay at Ingles Hill Farm Campsite. Glorious weather! Couldn't have wished for better (even though the first two days were very windy but still really hot).

This is a lovely Campsite. Well worth the price at £10 per night with electric.

I think we had the best view of the site looking over gorgeous, well looked after fields with a horse training centre in the distance.

Lovely walks for the dog. Very large grassy area for the kids to play which is fenced off so no worries that they could get lost. Even a 6 hole golf course at the farm that looked amazing - shame the owner didn't tell us we could have played for a fee of £2 per day (which goes to charity) before we had packed away.

Lovely little pub (as mentioned in a previous review) called 'The Beeches' - only a 10/15 mins walk left from the campsite. Another pub is about 5 mins right of the site entrance (which we didn't try).

There isnt really a 'local' shop but a short drive brings you to a 24hr Tesco which is brand new, or a Co-op a short drive away in the town.

The campsite's little dog 'Bo' is soooooo lovable - she does wander in your tent but we didn't see this as a problem as we have a dog too.

CON's:

(of which is why I have only marked facilities a 6 out of 10):I think campers (especially folk with tents) should be aware. The showers and toilets are not 100% up to the standard of the rest of the site which is a shame. As mentioned in reviews before you do have to take your own loo roll, which wasn't a major problem for us (especially for the price of the site per night), but they are situated a walk away from the tent area so a torch is probably needed on a night.

We had our own porta loo in the tent which I preferred to use as the toilets were a shed that were a bit too cobwebby and dusty for me (no pretty flowers as mentioned before but lovely big spiders to keep you company while you pee-lol).

The ladies showers for the tent area (which is separate from the caravanners showers) is a room with nowhere to place your toilet bag except the floor, but did have two hooks for clothes.

The gents shower room for the tent area (which oddly had a toilet and pot washing up facilities in the same room (no washing up liquid so will need to take your own) was a better shower to use so my partner kept watch as I used that rather than the ladies one.

Overall we would definitely go back even after my comments on the toilet/shower facilities, because now I know what to expect.

The reason I only gave a 9 out of ten for customer service is that when we arrived the lady owner did not seem to know who we were (even after three emails) and that we required electric. We never saw the owners again until we had packed up, so maybe could have had better chat initially at the first meet and greet to gain knowledge about the facilities (ie; golf course and my initial concern over the toilet/showers). That's something I have learnt only ever having camped twice before.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fuzzypaws 8 reviews from this member

What a great looking site! Very helpful and friendly owners.

We booked 2 pitches for us and our friends for a weekend of Geocaching as there are loads of walks and caches to be found in this area.

We arrived friday evening from what we could see it looked a lovely park and couldn't wait til morning so we could see where we were! And we were NOT dissapointed :) We loved it! Went into Ashby to do a spot of shopping and pasted a lovely pub so we returned for lunch at the Beeches just 10 mins down from the site and that was well worth the money food was lovely so we said we'd come back for the carvery next day (sunday)Saturday afternoon. After lunch we booted up and went to find some Geo's the choice of where to go was endless! we need to come back to do more! After a few hours out we got back and headed for the showers they were very clean and lovely and hot and very welcome! The toilet on site made me laugh it was a cute shed with a laminated floor and insulated walls and some fresh flowers placed neatly on the cistern :) Loved it! Little touches make it homely! would look nice with a cute pair of gingham curtains! Sunday came and we returned to the Beeches for our sunday carvery which didn't dissapoint. We asked if we could stay for a few more hours after 12noon on the CL and he said we could so we could enjoy just a few more hours on this great CL! Then we HAD to go home :( But we will be coming back to this CL and we asked about the rally field so we will be booking that as well for the 2013 Leicestershire Centre Caravan Club. All in all it's a gem! Thanks to the site owners for a fab weekend and loved your CL!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim Stoddart 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site. We were a party of two families - one of whom had a tent. The owner was friendly and allocated us the top field where we pitched our tent adjacent to our friends' caravan. The 'field' was on a manicured lawn and we had it all to ourselves. The kids had loads of space to run around and we quickly got used to the noise of traffic.

Facilities are pretty good in terms of quality though I can imagine if the site was busier there may be queues for toilets. Wash areas were clean though you need to bring your own toilet roll.

Surrounding area is very pretty. There are nice walks immediately accessible from the site and the town of Ashby de La Zouch is pretty with an old castle which we visited to the delight of the kids.

Overall we had a lovely stay. Word of warning: they have a friendly Jack Russell who will gladly relieve you of your food if you leave it around. The owners do not want her fed by campers as it encourages her to beg - so leave her be!

We will definitely return - a safe, friendly and picturesque site.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lance td5 2 reviews from this member

The site had great space and the pitch was a good size. The local pud served good food and Ashby was in walking distance. Road noise was very minimal and a couple of planes a day going into east Midlands. Great if you have a dog. Loads of space for it to run around. Main toilet and shower very clean but no toilet paper. Owners were very helpful. We will be going back.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vanessa45 9 reviews from this member

Beautiful site, beautiful countryside all around, very clean. Only used the loo in the day so no light not a problem, had to take own loo roll though.

Ashby del la zouch is a lovely old market town, went to a pub there called bulls head had a fantastic meal. Very nice indoor market, with a fantastic makeup stall, small market but nice. Will be returning to this area and site very soon.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3810 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019