Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alderbury Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Alderbury Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: Alderbury Caravan And Camping Park
Old Southampton Rd
Whaddon
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torrington 4 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from a pleasant, six night stay at Alderbury campsite. This small site is quite long and fairly narrow with a central shingle road way. The site is surrounded by tall trees and dense thicket which provides excellent shelter from stormy weather. One day and night were very stormy, the tops of the trees flailed about wildly but at ground level there was just a gentle wind and the tents were undisturbed.

I was very pleased with the quality of the facilities. There is a brick built amenities block. Both ladies and gents had two properly built brick shower cubicles with quarry tile floors. The cubicles were nicely spacious with plenty of room to dry oneself. The showers were free with as much hot water as you wanted and they worked very well. Each cubicle had a proper wooden door. The Gents had two lavatory cubicles and a urinal, the Ladies had three cubicles. Both sides had 3 wash basins with as much hot water and liquid soap as you wanted. There was also a wash room with a stainless steel sink unit – again as much hot water as you wanted. Also there was a washing machine and tumble drier. I did not use these but I did see others using them so I can state that they do work.

About 300 yards away is the A36 trunk road. Some commenters have complained about this and the noise (why did they not check on Google Maps and why did they stay if they disliked it so much?) The traffic runs past at speed and there is the constant swoosh of passing vehicles. It was not especially loud and before long we hardly noticed it. Likewise, adjacent to the site is a business/trading estate that does make some noise between 9am and 5pm, again it did not bother us and certainly didn’t spoil our stay. I always sleep with ear-plugs as all campsites can be noisy and here I had six good nights sleep.

Another commenter complained about excessive mud. We had camped during a very wet week and there was a predictable amount of mud – but camping and rain always makes mud – even on expensive glamping sites.

There were a number of caravans that were there for a duration and seemed to be occupied by people who worked in the area from Monday to Friday. They were all friendly, and came and went quietly.

There is a junction to the A36 close by. This made getting to Salisbury and other road journeys very easy.

About 300 yards from the site is the Three Crowns public house. This is a very pleasant pub with large gardens. The pub does very good food every evening – so it is possible to camp here and have a very pleasant evening out without needing to drive. How many delightful rural idylls have that facility?

The site charged a very reasonable price – less than half the price of some others nearby. This site is absolutely fine and I will happily come here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pharmacistofdoom 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite over the bank holiday weekend in our big family tent with hookup. It wasn't our first choice of campsite but we booked quite late and were just pleased to get in somewhere! If you want to spend lots of time at your campsite, gazing out over beautiful countryside then this is not the site for you - there isn't much open space on the site itself with hedges for boundaries.

It's a small basic campsite - no shop or entertainment etc etc BUT it has everything that you need. The showers and toilets were clean and in very good condition, there is a washing up/laundry area and easy access to bins, taps/electric hookup.

The owner was very friendly and accommodating. Over the road is the Three Crowns pub which has a playground and serves very good food and nice beer!

If you take a couple of minutes to walk into the village there is a shop/post office and a park further on. The bus stop to Salisbury is right outside the campsite. It's a great base to explore the New Forest - we took trips into Moor Valley Park and Monkey World but there were lots of closer options too.

There was a bit of road noise but it didn't bother us much and we had a lovely time. It probably still wouldn't be our first choice campsite if we came back but it's a perfectly good plan B! (and good value too) 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Luce6 3 reviews from this member

 We booked this site 2 days before visiting. We had read the negative feedback on this site but my gut feeling was to give it a go. We have no complaints at all. The owner was extremely helpful when we booked, when we arrived and during our stay. The site is near a dual carriageway but quite honestly you really don't notice the traffic and it did not disturb our stay (in fact we suffered more lasT year at a site in Wales where children in the neighbouring field screamed and swore whilst playing football from 6 in the morning to 11 at night).

This site is so convenient for Salisbury with a bus stop just outside the gate. The pub opposite The Three Crowns does extremely good food. The toilet/shower block is clean with plenty of hot water.

We enjoyed our stay and I hope that anyone else wanting to give it a try, go with your gut feeling and ignore the unnecessary bad review posted previously. 


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neilandlesley 11 reviews from this member

 Site owner charged £19 per night for unit, two adults and hook up despite web site stated rates and rates quoted in various magazines. Trying to find anything positive about this site but can not. Very noisy day and night with traffic on the main A road and industrial estate next to the site. Pitches really small, muddy, covered in rotting leaves with the gravel hard standing so sparse that they are a waste of time. Our pitch covered in leaves masking all the dog mesh that got everywhere. 10 amp electric not 16. Gravel track as access to the whole site again needs relaying and more stone to dry it out and stop some of the mud. The toilet and shower block is disgusting. Cold, damp, mouldy, peeling paint, cobwebs and not cleaned at all in the three days we were there. One shower only in the gents as the other has been ripped out and this one was horrible. Filthy and water dripping everywhere.

Site is no where near a standard that can justify the rate being charged. We used the toilet / shower block once and never again! Struggle to understand how it has got this bad after the last review in March.

The pub over the road is ok and is at least somewhere to get away from the site too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheliaeds 1 review from this member

 Lovely little site, a weekend stay to visit the new forest. Very well located to local attractions. Great facilities warm showers and clean toilets. Friendly owners willing to help with any problems. Lovely quiet place with a pub across the road and local shops as well as being close the Salisbury and the bus stop outside the site. Really enjoyed our stay, will most definitely be visiting again soon 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ginger10 1 review from this member

 Really Really happy with my stay! Lovely site, Lovely helpful owner, excellent and thoughtful facilities including what looks like a new baby changing area.

Great location for visiting local site of interest e. G. Salisbury, Stonehenge, The new forest, Bath, Bournemouth and so many more.

Toilet Blocks were clean with free showers, someone has taken care of them with thoughtful touches like steps for children to get to the sinks. Great and spacious indoor washing up facilities.

Really happy will definitely be back soon 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heth65 2 reviews from this member

 The proprietor is friendly and helpful, but the site is located next to commercial units, and between two roads, one of them a busy dual carriageway, so the noise of traffic is inescapable.

The site seems poorly drained. In the female side, the shower cubicles were in a poor state, messy and with rusty fittings. There is a power socket next to the washbasins. The washbasins are too high for a child to reach, and there are no privacy cubicles.

The dustbins were not emptied daily. There are a number of units which appear to have been on site for a long time. On the other hand, the pub across the way serves excellent food and gives a 10% discount! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whites 2 reviews from this member

 After being let down by our pre-booked campsite (Gees in East Witterings), we found our saviour in the man who runs this campsite. He was very helpful and managed to get our three large tents booked in and situated next to each other. We had the large open pitches at the end of the site. Although at first we thought it was very small, we soon got used to it. We were a party of 10 kids (2-16) & 5 adults. It was wet on the ground to begin with but the weather was glorious, enabling us to travel about each day to the beaches of Weymouth, Bournemouth, Swanage, visit Corfe Castle & Bath. The manager is lovely and was helpful in every way. Toilet block was clean but the shower was HOT! We stayed for a week and the noise from the traffic was loud but we got used to it. The rest of the campsite seemed to be quiet with some residents there and others just staying for the odd night. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Badger36 1 review from this member

 The site is a lovely little site and the owner very friendly. The toilets are a little old but fairly clean.

There are no other facilities on site however the local village is just down the road

The only criticism is the noise - not from the A36 but from the pub across the road and their live music which you are not warned about and the boy racers who use the industrial site next door. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3449 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement