Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Naburn Lock Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > York Naburn Lock Caravan Park > Reviews

York Naburn Lock Caravan Park
Naburn
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 4RU
Tel: 01904 728697
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 15/03/2024 to 01/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 265 Reviews
                9/10 from 265 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  265 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Headyh 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site with huge pitch for the tent.

Great drainage and level ground.

Plenty of toilets and good showers with enough space to dress.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Really nice relaxed feel and slept brilliantly every night.

Great for visiting York and the county. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nortonmonkey 2 reviews from this member

 Being a ‘Tranquil site’ we expected peace but we’re very disappointed, the noise from the traffic on the busy road right next to the site is quite bad, and whilst we were there there was music playing VERY loudly from somewhere nearby, maybe a large party or some gathering.

The main problem however are the facilities, only 4 showers for each of the male and female guests which are the tiniest showers I have ever used, although they are clean, you cannot move around in them and there is no where to get dressed without getting all your clothing wet, it was also very difficult to regulate the temperature of the water.

We were pitched in what seemed to be a spare field for mainly tents, and the grass obviously hadn’t been cut for weeks. At £39 per night it was extremely disappointing and we will not be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza1309 50 reviews from this member

 Nice site close to river Ouse. Bus stop outside every 2 hours Monday to Saturday no bus Sunday or bank holidays. However there is a river boat from the lock to York on Saturday and Sunday.

Fully serviced pitches are close to the road and suffer from some traffic noise. Could be worse though.

Washroom blocks are a bit dated but there is some promise of an upgrade at some point. They were clean though.

Good dog walk, on site and a circular walk towards Naburn off site. There seems to be little actual river path on this side to walk along.

The local pub, The Blacksmiths Arms was ok, but we only went for a drink. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stuart 1 review from this member

 Excellent friendly, helpful staff.

Large tidy pitches.

Spotlessly clean facilities.

Lovely shop stocked with good produce was a bonus.

There were a lot of dogs! 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew Birkin 5 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay from the minute we arrived.

What wasn’t to like

The pitches are a good size and easily accessible

The facilities were spotless

The walk to the River Taxi at the lock is a leisurely one although could be better signed

On visit the local we were made very welcome

Will certainly be visiting this site again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 Brilliant owners as asked if it would be possible for friends to be on an adjacent pitch and that was sorted. We arrived as the floods were apparent and the river Ouse was very high. And during our stay went down to the locks each day to marvel at the different water levels.

As it was the day the Christmas markets started in York the site was very busy but as usual the site was very clean and the facilities block clean and after the first night was very warm. We had planned to go into Selby but in the end went for a walk instead, plenty of places to explore locally.

The bus stop is right outside the site.

The on site shop is very well stocked with all the esentialls and had some christmas goodies. Mulled wine and mince pies on first night.

We were here in September and will return. 


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Kerlip 2 reviews from this member

 Perfect location right near the lock and river.

Easy to get into York town centre by bus or go to the park and ride just 2 miles away.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Well maintained facilities.

Good dog walking area to let the dogs have a run.

Highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 Well what a site. A very warm welcome from Andrea who told us what we needed to know. We filled up with water on way to pitch. The pitch was hardstanding and very flat. Good amount of grass at the rear and habitation door side.

The site is adults only and a quiet time between 23. 00 and 07. 00 hours. The facilities are very clean and for once there was shelves in the shower cubicle in the accessible room. A very well stocked shop.

We walked down to Naburn Lock and had tea and cake at The Tea by the Lock. We also caught the Water taxi into York and caught an Uber back.

Good amount of bird life a few owls in the evening and even a pair of bats were watched flying around at the rear of our pitch. Plus 7 kingfishers seen on our water taxi journey.

We would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Roof top 1 review from this member

 I liked being greeted on arrival and shown to my pitch. Plenty of space between pitches.

The site is level, the grass cut short. Adult only site. Quiet between 11pm & 7 am. T

Oilet block, showers and washing up area very clean. There's a well stocked shop on site selling food, drink & some camping essentials. There's a bus stop immediately outside the camp site with the No. 42 bus route connecting York & Selby.

This service doesn't run on a Sunday but the river bus from Naburn lock to York and back does. Check website for tickets and timings.

There is a pub in Naburn that does food, 15 minutes walk each way. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nattieboobob 1 review from this member

 Very clean toilets and showers, but you can’t swing a cat in the shower cubicle!

Also the water blasts very hot very quickly while using the shower. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

The ehu tent pitch we stayed on was very lumpy with quite a few holes

I would not describe it as a grass pitch more like a dirt pitch. Lots of barking dogs with very noisy owners, so would not describe it as tranquil! 
via mobile


Previous     265 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is York Naburn Lock Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York Naburn Lock Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York Naburn Lock Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3466 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement