Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Naburn Lock Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Naburn Lock Caravan Park Reviews

York Naburn Lock Caravan Park
Naburn
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 4RU
Tel: 01904 728697
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 3 April To 13 December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 239 Reviews
                9/10 from 239 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  239 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 18 reviews from this member

 Lovely spot just outside York and very near to the Designer outlet, the village is a short walk away and the local pub.

We stayed with friends who had a tent and we had a caravan and it was nice to be able to pitch next to each other in the Adult section, ours was hard standing and level and the tent was tucked into the corner next to us which we felt was a bonus being able to camp near each other.

The toilets were busy at early morning but we used our own facilities, our friends said they only had to wait a short while to get a shower, probably due to the fact that not all showers and toilets are open due to corona virus social distancing measures.

A Pizza van arrives on a Saturday evening and is good value for money if you don't wish to cook.

Some lovely walks down by the lock but watch out for the geese and duck poo !

We had a lovely time and will certainly return in the near future. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bilbot55 1 review from this member

 Easy access from the Main Rd, large well maintained pitches and nicely laid out with plenty of space.

The owners were really friendly and helpful, the toilet/shower facilities were well maintained and immaculate.

We really enjoyed the short walk to the Lock and the beautiful scenery around.

This was our first caravan trip and we couldn't have asked for a better site,

We most certainly will be returning. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Col B 3 reviews from this member

 Nice location, bus stops outside site gates so very handy for trip into York or Selby or to outlet shopping centre. Return adult fare to York £4.40.

Well laid out site good location beside river and lock nice for scenery and walk.

Pitches are hard standing and ours was level. Nice space between pitches, decent on site shop.

Only downsides for me was, 10amp hook up so careful with electric use and toilet shower block was cool (we were there in November) otherwise loved the site and has motorhome service point.

We will return in spring, summer next year to experience the walks and cycle tracks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul boughen 1 review from this member

 We have been to naburn a few times now and will continue to come back as it's a lovely site.

Plenty of room for the caravan with all the amenities you could want very clean and tidy.

There's a bus stop just outside the site and your in York within 20 minutes or just behind the site is the lock where you can get the boat into York for £13 return and is well worth it, the captain gave us a tour guide as we sailed down the river

The pub in the village serves lovely home cooked food I do recommend the steak and ale pie

All round smashing site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GazCooke 3 reviews from this member

 Booked on line Tuesday morning for the Wednesday for two nights. Really easy on line system to book.

We know York quite well but didnít know of the Naburn Lock area and it didnít fail to impress.

Site really clean and well laid out. On arrival we were told that we had pitch 56 for our tent and it turned out to be a good choice. A good size area, level, electric and water close by, and easy access to toilet and shower block. We liked the fact the site had a security barrier with key code.

Just a short drive in to York. Walking distance to the Marina and local pub The Blacksmith Arms where we enjoyed an evening meal.

Interesting walk to Naburn Lock and seeing the power of the water flow over the weir. If you do a bit of searching on YouTube you will find videos of how bad the area floods, especially the campsite. Considering what you see it makes you appreciate what a good job the owners do on keeping the site up and running in such a pristine way.

Really enjoyed our 2 nights here especially with the weather being kind to us. Very relaxing as kids had gone back to school and the site was probably a third full with people of a mature age as we are.

Will definitely be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 28 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights, weekend, booked by phone, £30 deposit to pay. Well laid out and clean and tidy gardens. Made welcome and given a choice of pitches, we really wanted the adult bit but it was fully booked, they did come and tell us of a cancellation later on but we were too settled by then, good of them to let us know though. We were also given a bus timetable, thereís a good service from right outside the site into York. There is a small site shop for essentials. Noticed some road noise. Some good walks from the site by the river.

We went to the nearest pub for tea, The Blacksmiths Arms, approximately 1/2 mile walk, good choice of beers and the simple food was tasty and well presented.

The site was very busy as youíd expect in school holidays and as we were in the family part expected to see and hear children but not to have them tearing round the site on bikes and setting up football matches on their pitches. Late in the evening a huge jamboree set up opposite us but thankfully that broke up before 11 pm and after that it was quiet.

The compact toilet block got quite busy as expected with that volume of users, it seemed to be cleaned regularly, plenty of places to get water and take rubbish/ recycling, the motorhome greywaste drain is with the Elsan point. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Muddtfunkstarr 21 reviews from this member

 Had a couple of nights here very nice site. Facilities are spotless and never had to queue to use either the toilets or showers. Easy 10-15 minute walk to village pub.

Nice circular walk from the locks. Bus stops to York- Selby right outside the gate. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Larry10 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting York, it costs £23 per night including EHU. Facilities clean and despite apparently busy site not too busy. Used the laundry (takes old coins obtainable from shop).

Site run by pleasant and friendly folk. Grass pitch fairly level. CDP and grey water easily accessible. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WildBlueYonder 8 reviews from this member

 Well deserved 8 stars. Decent toilet facilities, well maintained and cleaned if slightly dated. Always helps when the weather is great. Good riverside walks and Naburn Lock close by. Mixture of pitches, full grass available which are pretty level and in good condition. Some back on to the road which is generally quiet. I wonder if the final stars were lost because of the local idiot on his motorbike with power pipes, who insisted on opening her up as he passed several times a day? If so, it's a fair decision as location is good, but not fantastic because of this 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cookiekid 42 reviews from this member

 Back home after another lovely weekend at Naburn Lock.

The site is a credit to Peter & Catherine. They work extremely hard keeping it clean & looking very tidy.

I received a very pleasant welcome on arrival from Catherine.

The reception / shop is well stocked with essentials, not over priced.

The toilets/ showers are kept extremely clean with plenty of hot water. Plenty of wash basins with liquid hand wash & paper towels. Separate cubical with sink. There is also a laundry room with ironing board & iron

The pitches are set out in bays with hedging round the perimeter. 4 pitches to our bay.

We had a grass pitch which was very spacious & the grass nicely cut.

There is a mixture of motorhomes/ campervans/ caravans/ trailer tents. Also tents are welcome on site.

A pleasant 5mins walk down to the lock.

Bus stop outside the site entrance to York or Selby.

All in all a lovely site, not our first visit, won't be our last. 


Previous     239 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York Naburn Lock Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York Naburn Lock Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York Naburn Lock Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5960 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement