Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Filey Brigg Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Filey > Filey Brigg Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Filey Brigg Camping And Caravan Site
Filey Brigg Country Park
North Cliff
Filey
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9ET
Tel: 01723 513852
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 175
Open: 01/03 To 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
                8/10 from 97 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Afford 1 review from this member

 Very clean and tidy site but shower blocks need a freshen up, clean though which is the main thing.

Great location, only a 10 min walk into Filey. Large well spaced out site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ddeveritt 9 reviews from this member

 Great site and well set up for Covid.

Visit yearly and love the site the staff are friendly and helpful and the site is spotless and well maintained.

£32 a night not cheap but excellent locations and worth every penny to us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jambomackem 2 reviews from this member

 We rang ahead to book a pitch and were told there was only one pitch left for the night. This was untrue as we could see clearly this wasn't the case on arrival. Our 7. 5 Metre van was far too short for the pitch we were given.

Pitch was also too small to even tether up our two dogs (for which of course there was a charge). Location is outstanding as you can walk into town via road or down via the beack.

Shower and toilet facilities were jaded but clean. There's a cafe which we didn't go into.

It would be fair to say that we were underwhelmed and rather disappointed by this site and considered it expensive for what was offered.

Very windswept when we were there but we may have just been unlucky. If I was visiting here again I would park up at the country park next door to the site (with 24hr toilets), and then do an overnight in a nice pub locally. Money would be better spent that way after this experience.

Not recommended for anything other than access to the beach which is good. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Philldj76 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here to meet up with friends in their camper van and we pitched up opposite them. No Electric hook up for tents which is a disappointment.

There was plenty of space as it was a bit of a 'free for all' on the tent field where as the Caravan / Campers had clearly marked spaces that might have been just a little too narrow.

The facilities are clean if a little old.

Great location for the beach and town

However overall it will not be a site we revisit. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Terence m h 1 review from this member

 Have stayed at this site every year for at least the last ten years every June. Sorry to say that the main shower block was not always cleaned daily as I saw an empty shower bottle on the floor for two days!

The main shower block is very tired, grubby and in desperate need of a revamp Come on Scarborough Council lets see a revamp this block lets down the whole site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chudwell 1 review from this member

 Quite a large site right on Filey Brigg with both grass and hardstanding pitches. We opted for the hardstanding which was too small to take our unit. We only have a small 18ft caravan and yet our front was protruding onto the road by a good foot, causing a hazard. The site itself is very basic but in a good location. There is a cafe at the entrance to the site which was closed all day Wednesday (when we stayed). A small children's play area is also available just across the road to the main entrance. Toilet and shower blocks were adequate but nothing more. There's plenty of open space but little more. Overall we were very disappointed and expected a lot more from a site charging £27 per night. 


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Groovycleaner 1 review from this member

 Stayed here over Xmas. they say you can't book in till 1 pm so I went into Filey only for them to ring me to say the office was closing at 2pm as it was Xmas eve. my allocated pitch was quite a walk to the facilities which I had to pay £10 deposit for, when the office is closed you put the fob through the letter box and they return your £10. Not yet they haven't when the office is shut for 3 days the shouldn't take a deposit 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Limecc 14 reviews from this member

 We are regulars to this site but it is worth submitting a new review since there have been changes in the past few months. We arrived and discovered the long time manager Ian was no longer employed and it was not possible to select a pitch ad-hoc. The lady in charge was friendly but supposedly because of new internet booking was not able to get us in our preferred row despite there being six free spaces on it and we were told there were many tourers still to arrive. When I asked when a space would become available she conceded and allowed us to move positions. Actually because it was October the site wasn't very busy and soon over the next few days we didn't have any neighbours at all. Therefore I got the impression she wasn't too eager to please but we got there in the end.

We were charged top dollar considering it was right at the season end. Greedy Scarborough council charge Caravan Club rates even though the facilities although clean are outdated and needing a revamp. Things appear to have gone backwards with recycling waste. There isn't any! Not even for glass, not sure why this changed.

It was disappointing to find the agricultural land next to the site entrance has been acquired by developers and 30 houses are planned to be built. There is local controversy how previous applications have been rejected but this has now been allocated in a sneaky underhanded way without proper consultation.

No doubt we will return because of the site's location but it doesn't feel the same anymore. We cut short our visit and found a nice farm site outside Whitby which seems very nice. We'll spend more time there. Positives are that the Hunmanby beach cafe is still operating despite the owner being in poor health. The friendliness of the staff, bargain prices and tasty food make us want to return again and again. Coble landing also sells a nice coffee. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camping73 3 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately, the only positive thing about this site is the location. Perched on top of the cliffs over Filey, it is quiet and picturesque - although you do need a short walk to really appreciate the views. The actual camping experience falls well below par. We made our booking for a hardstanding pitch in January. However, the website does not ask for the length of the van (something the staff are aware of and are quite apathetic about) and when we arrived we found the pitch we’d been allocated was too short. The longer pitches were occupied by shorter vans that would easily fit the standard length pitches, many of which were vacant. Consequently, we were placed on a grass pitch which soon became waterlogged and we were 3-4 inches deep in mud by the second day. The whole site was equally muddy and others had difficulty moving vans and motorhomes. The staff were overly strict with the booking in time of 1pm. We arrived at 12:45 and were made to wait in the carpark, even though the site was only half full. Later in the week we watched others waiting in the carpark after arriving a whole 10mins too early! The staff were also generally unhelpful and didn’t provide any information about the site facilities, location of pitches etc. It was all just too much effort. Although clean, the toilets need updating and the painted covering to all of the concrete shower floors was peeling back. Finally, there are signs all over the toilet and shower areas warning that children must be accompanied by an adult to use the facilities. In all the years of camping we have never seen this before and it certainly doesn’t make children feel welcome. So, unless you are childless, don’t mind unhelpful staff, own sturdy wellies and a 4x4 - look elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Toeballtraveller 1 review from this member

 We've been going to this site for years because location wise it is perfect, 5 mins walk to the beach, 10 mins walk to the town centre, and has some stunning walks along the cliff top and out along the Brigg. However, I think we will choose another site in future because I am getting sick and tired of them cutting the grass and not picking up the cuttings. For the next 3 days after every cut however much you try to avoid it you end up with grass all over inside your caravan and awning. The on site toilets and shower block end up covered in it too, much to the cleaner's annoyance! For £35 per night I don't think that's a lot to ask! The facilities aren't bad but are a little dated and it doesn't feel like it gets looked after as well as it used to. Maybe it's because it's council owned so perhaps profits are being spent elsewhere in the city, just my theory. 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Filey Brigg Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Filey Brigg Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Filey Brigg Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Filey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1649 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement