Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lowbridge Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Calne > Lowbridge Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Lowbridge Farm Certificated Site
Bremhill
Calne
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN11 9HE
Tel: 01249 815889
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cat botherers 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay, Francis was standing in for the owner and was very warm and welcoming.

The site is set in a fabulous area of little lanes and gorgeous thatched villages with nice pubs ten minutes drive away.

The facilities were fine and electric hook ups were available. The site is biker friendly and had a mixture of tents, caravans and camper vans but wasn't crowded.

There's a Tesco Metro ten minutes away in Calne if you've forgotten anything.

Lovely rural site with lots of animals, check out the hen houses and ginger cat!

We'll be back. Thanks P and M 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wyrdgirl 1 review from this member

 Stopped here for a 4 days by myself,

The reception: the lady who owns this is a STAR friendly, chatty helpful and relaxed, the hired help = same.

The Site: Slight slope to site but if your tent is not to big you will find a flat area. Yes only 2 showers (unisex) but the sites not that big anyway, they are 50p coin operated but I found the 50p goes a long way. I don't know if its still there but there was a jacuzzi you could use for a small fee which I found lovely after a day out walking. All toilet/shower areas were kept clean but a torch is needed for night time visits.

There are no children play areas, there is a small stream (fenced off)located at the very bottom of the slope where they can see some of the local wildlife, plus there are rabbit/hares, and deer that can be seen early morning/evening.

There are also were goats, chickens and horses but most importantly peace an quiet, on a clear night there is hardly any light polution and you will want to stay out just to look at the stars they are OMG. I popped in to town which has a large supermarket for my food + the local chippy, there is also a nice wine store with some very old bottles of port for sale but sadly beyond my price range or I would have had a very tispy night.

Fires/BBQs to be kept off the ground, you can hire a fire basket from the owner I think you can also buy the wood here as well.

This is one of my fav campsites of all time the owner is just tops, when she found out I was doing some walking round Averbury area asked me if I would take one of her dogs with me, I love dogs and jumped at the chance of some 4 legged company, the next day she told me I had walked the legs of her dog an she gave me some fresh eggs from her chickens as a treat. Yum 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Housem8s 11 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights here August 1st-6th

Bad aspects: 50p showers on top of fee already paid but they are kept clean.

There is a sign in the cubicle saying that loo paper is 'for sale' at the Farmhouse in the loos, although in fairness I never found the rolls empty, but this lady is a little close to her purse methinks! :-)

Good aspects: Really friendly, easy-going, eccentric, helpful posh lady owner. It's a lovely quiet site, great aspect, but not for a twin axle van as there is a slightly tight 90 degree turn after the farm gate.

All in all pretty good  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blackcapsteve 5 reviews from this member

 I and my friend needed to attend a party and wanted an overnight stay which was walkable from Calne. Very easy going site, and very relaxing. The owner will also provide a brazier (6) to have a camp fire. There are only two toilets/showers for the site, and they are combined, so you might have to queue at popular times. I didn't use the showers, but they seemed clean inside. The site has a slight slope and it genuine grassland. Pegs went in easily, but if you want a completely flat area, there are only a few. The views are lovely, and because of the slope the view is available to all. When I asked what time I had to leave by, the next morning, the owner said 'whenever - no rush'. Warning. Some of the fences are electrified, and not marked as such. My hair has only just settled back down on my head.

The walk back from Calne late at night was up a wonderful quiet country lane, and took 45 minutes. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AlandCaz 1 review from this member

 We've just spent the weekend here and loved it. The owner is possibly slightly eccentric, but that just adds to the experience!

The toilets and showers were clean and although there is a meter, there was always enough 'juice' in the electric for our needs. Showers were hot and pretty good.

The farm is in the middle of nowhere, which adds to the appeal - Calne was a 5 minute bike ride away and apparently there is a chip shop that delivers, but we cooked for ourselves.

We're definitely going back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Electric spark 10 reviews from this member

 A nice peaceful site Ideal for a night or two stopover if you are passing through. It consists of a large grassed field, that has a bit of a slope, but easily levelled with standard ramps. We only use our vans facilities so cannot comment on the loos, showers etc.

The owners are very friendly and full of local information. We found the site to be very quiet with lots of wildlife around.

During one of our local walks we saw hares in the fields and a couple of deer.

Really pleasant and relaxing Recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whatevertheweather 3 reviews from this member

 We are experienced campers and this particular weekend our intention was to introduce family to it's delights. Unfortunately our usual club site when visiting Wiltshire was fully booked so having read the reviews we decided to book this certificated site. On arrival we found a overgrown field (which due to the weather turned into a bog) and two toilet/shower cubicles. Unfortunately the one semiclean toilet had no electricity or hot water and the other cubicle could not sustain hot water for a shower (50p a time) and had a distinct mens public convenience smell. So for the first night we had the choice of holding our nose or holding a torch that was until the toilets became blocked because the loo roll ra nout and some clever spark put newspaper down, leaving us to boil water on the camp stove and use a bucket. Not the best introduction to camping. So were there any good points you may be asking. Well yes the field did have a nice view and was situated on a quiet lane. The owner and her many cats, goats and horse were all very friendly. If the facilities had been working this may have been a nice site. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pianoman22 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night while working in the area. The people here are friendly. The toilet and showers are very basic but clean and acceptable. It's very peaceful here and hardly any traffic passes. The wildlife is great with Pheasants in the field when we arrived and on they farm they have two horses a lone sheep and some pygmy goats! Shame the weather was awful! Even though it was pouring down all night the ground was very firm when we left in the morning. TV reception is good here too. Would stay here again for a nice relaxing evening. Hope the weather will be better next time.
Overall a basic rustic site in the middle of nowhere. Perfect for relaxing!  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dusktilldawn 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the weekend and enjoyed glorious sunshine up on the hill away from the main camping field.
The owner was very very friendly but generally left us alone. Being on the top field meant we were a bit away from the toilet block which was not too bad as long as you don't mind walking through the Pygmy goats or the horse field. And climbing the gates or jumping the low volt electric wire.
Toilets are kept very clean and the jacuzzi is indeed finished for a cost of three pound each you can go in it until she has someone else willing to pay for the privilege. We enjoyed it any way.
Would definitely go back for another weekend break. 


Reviewer: Lirwin77 6 reviews from this member

 June 2004
Some friends of mine visited the site for the second time this summer (first visit reviewed below) and found it in much the same state as last year. No progress on that jacuzzi then!

The owner did comment that a number of people had been lighting fires in the camping field, presumably because of my comments on our trip last year.

Please do not light fires on the camping field. There is a dirt area near the farm building which you can use with prior permission - there is no need to burn the grass!

Otherwise, please visit, you will find an isolated but friendly campsite. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lowbridge Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lowbridge Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Lowbridge Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Calne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1641 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement