Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cruachan Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > By Killin > Cruachan Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Cruachan Farm Caravan & Camping Park
North Loch Tay Side
By Killin
Perthshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TY
Tel: 01567 820 302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/08/2020 to 04/11/2020
           01/03/2021 to 04/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 91 Reviews
                9/10 from 91 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martyn 1 review from this member

 The owner gave us a good welcome and helped us select a good pitch, whilst we were there it was a really quiet and peaceful, just what we needed.

For climbing the local Munros it was a great base.

No facilities were open due to the pandemic so cannot comment on them. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iain Reid 1 review from this member

 I visited the site as a 2 night break with my wife, daughter and our dog, On our first camping holiday.

Upon arrival the site was clean and tidy and very well signposted and welcoming.

Showers and toilets were clean and were cleaned twice during my stay. There was a mop for to soak up excess water after showering

Site shop not used---Used local village, not within walking distance.

Dogs welcome and to be kept on lead, not adhered too, I saw many people walking dogs off the lead.

Play park for kids was small but when I visited my daughter had a great time in the play park.

Very pleasant and relaxed site would visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Moonsvan 1 review from this member

 On behalf of our group - 1 tent, 1 touring caravan and 1 booked into the lodge - we had a wonderful time, despite the rain on Saturday night and late Sunday. The kids got dirty but were happy playing around the site, which is well kept and in the most idyllic surroundings (Saturday night dinner outside, lone piper playing on top of a distant hill thrilled the kids & adults) We were all in different parts of the sites but that didn't stop us having a great time; if anything kept us fit!

The facilities for camping as in washing up, toilets etc. , were clean and well stocked; the lodge was warm, homely and welcoming.

The owners and staff were all friendly and great hosts. We enjoyed it so much we are booking in at end of May again. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S visser 2 reviews from this member

 We came for a few nights and stayed over a week in our tent. The pitches without electricity where wonderful in the scenery, surrounded by hills, low flying swallows over the field. Toilets basic but sufficient. With one exception in a weekend (we think the last weekend of the Scottish holidays): there were a lot of campers with a lot of noise and not enough showers and toilets. But the toilet block in the higher field was a good alternative, it only took a longer walk. After the weekend we enjoyed the tranquillity once more.

The restaurant was very nice, relaxed, good food, friendly people. There is enough to do in the (beautiful) surroundings.

We try to come back some day. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CandJ 1 review from this member

 We initially thought that we would only stay on Cruachan Farm for a few days and ended up staying for 20 nights! We came to walk up the local mountains and we completed 25 from this campsite with most under 30 minutes drive away.

As well as being convenient for so many walks it is a really great campsite, with fantastic views of the hills all around and you can walk through the woods to the side of Loch Tay within minutes. The site is spacious and extremely peaceful; often the only sounds were the birds and the farm animals. There was plenty of hot water in the shower block and the washing up area, and the site was extremely well maintained.

Maureen and her brother Hamish are extremely helpful and friendly hosts, offering advice about places to visit in the local area. There are several campsites closer to Killin but I would highly recommend this very peaceful, comfortable and spacious campsite just three miles from the town. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BMcH 1 review from this member

 Although quite a large site, much of it is quite sloping, and there were some tents at very steep angles! We were in a microcampervan, and had contacted them previously and were told we didnít need to book. However when we got there we were told we might find it difficult to find a spot and in fact we drove around the site 2 or 3 times before finding a not too sloping site between a couple of tents.

Toilets were fine and clean, and showers were free. We didnít try the restaurant, but it looked nice. An evening stroll through the woods to the loch side was very pleasant, and the site was quiet even though busy, which I always appreciate. At £19 for a mini camper and two people it wasnít cheap (no EHU), but we enjoyed our stay.

Itís not within walking distance of other facilities, but Killin is a short drive away and worth the visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Highlander12 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for two nights, free showers and toilet block kept clean. There is restaurant which serves excellent food and caters for children, there is a small well stocked bar.

Everything reasonably priced and staff are friendly.

Will definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Magnusspuss 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed one night and will definitely return. Small sight, which we love. It was quiet at this time. Shower block was clean and simple. Didn't see any chemical disposal. Little kids play area. Owner was very nice and very helpful and relaxed.

We were a family of 2 small boys aged 8 and 6 and a dog. We loved the walks through the woods to the lochside, lovely views too. We all loved this and went here first and for a morning walk after breakfast.

We arrived at a time when the campsite restaurant was closed so we ate at the next campsites restaurant/bar, who were very friendly, food good, dog welcome, great.

Will come here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raysmiffy 14 reviews from this member

 A nice friendly site in a great location.

As I have a large tent with large trailer and car, there was not a lot of spaces to choose from if I wanted the electric.

So I pitched as close as I could to the hookup point, but there was already a caravan in the space where the double hookup point was, and due to a hard standing car park area between me, the caravan and the hookup situated right next to it, my 15M cable could not reach.

So I had to juggle my fridge between a rechargeable battery and the car. So the hookup point positioning could be better.

The site is also a bit hilly, so the potential pitches for large tents wanting electric seemed to be about 4, which was a small percentage of the total size of the place.

So phone up to enquire if you have a very large tent.

The toilets are clean, but basic.

Still a great site I would recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ML60BAR 15 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopping off point en route for the North. At £19 for no ehu we thought it a bit pricey compared to others. There are two camping fields which are slightly sloping with a couple of hard standing areas and a facilities block, also a higher more level area with static vans on with more hard standings and a (slightly tired) facilities block. The restaurant on site was closed. No shops/pubs in walking distance, but a nice walk through woods to the lake side. 


Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cruachan Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cruachan Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cruachan Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Killin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement