Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Swaleview Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Swaleview Caravan Park Reviews

Swaleview Caravan Park
Reeth Road
Richmond
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL10 4SF
Tel: 01748 823106
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March 1 To January 15

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 9 Reviews
                6/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigbrock 1 review from this member

 Nice quiet place. Telephoned and asked, the price owner said 25 per night, when I arrived he asked how many people I said myself and two children and he said 30. I pitched the caravan next to four gentlemen whom I got talking to I asked how much they paid and they said 25. Does the owner not like children. It was the first and the last time I will be going there. I only want to be treated the same as the four gentlemen 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Weston5 6 reviews from this member

 This site had us torn, we spent the whole weekend loving it one minute and hating it the next. It is in a beautiful location with the river running alongside it, there is a great little dog walk, it is close enough to Richmond to pop out for the shops or whatever but still feels like it is in the middle of nowhere as it is surrounded by hills. The play park is fantastic and kept the kids entertained when we weren't out exploring. However, the road is very noisy, the pitches are quite close together and the toilet block is quite a walk from the tourers. You would have thought it would have made more sense to put the touring pitches next to the toilet block instead of all the lodges and statics that have their own facilities. Also the showers were horrendous! The toilet/shower block is not heated and it was colder inside than it was outside. It is a 50p charge for a 10min shower which should be ample time had it not been for the fact that they are also push button and the button pops out seconds after you press it! There is no temperature control and they go from freezing to boiling and back again constantly, my little girl screamed throughout her shower because of the fluctuating temperatures. They are also very low, I am 5ft 8 and had to bend right down to get my head under! So we put our 50p in, push the button, turn around, duck down, stick our head under and pray it was a bearable temperature, by which time the button has popped back out and needs pushing again! Add to that the fact that they were not very well cleaned (the same dirt and razor cap was there the whole time we were, I checked everyday!)and you can see why we went from loving the site to hating it, after that experience we decided to just have a good wash in our caravan. If it wasn't such an expensive site and the toilet block was updated and thoroughly cleaned we would return. A few other things to note - you will be required to leave a deposit for barrier and toilet block keys and you will get minimal, if any, phone signal or tv signal, although this was a plus for us, right up until we tried to check out and there was no one on reception and a note telling us to ring for attention - obviously impossible with no phone signal! We had no choice but to sit and wait for someone to return. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Crystal Singer 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite purely to be near Richmond where there was an event we were going to. It is a car/bus ride into Richmond itself. Bit to far to walk. But the site itself was lovely. Clean and well looked after. But yes a bit of a walk to the toilet block. It's right next to the river and very pretty. I would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Viclin 1 review from this member

 Spent 2 nights with 4 adults and 3 children and 3 dogs in a motorhome and a tent. Beautiful area, nice park and well kept.

Mainly a static/seasonal park. Good for walking and right next to the river. Needed transport if going into Richmond, which is also worth a visit. We paid 46 per night in total.

The shower/toilet block is well kept but a very long walk from the camping area, which is located right next to the road and felt a bit like an afterthought. Having to take children on such a long walk to the toilet in the dark spoiled the visit somewhat.

We enjoyed our stay and the children's play area was quite good, but I don't think we will be returning as it was expensive for not very good pitches. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debi Sanderson 18 reviews from this member

 Lovely site for chilling out for a few days right on the river swale. Facilities were good and very clean. Nice play park and a small football pitch at the end of the site for the kids.

I think the only problem with the site, is the same with many sites in this area now, they are mostly taking up with statics and seasonal pitches so while weekends are busy, Monday to Friday the site is quiet. Apart from a few in the statics we were the only tourers on site. Thats not my idea of caravanning. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jed1 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site set within a really nice area. Good childrens play area. We really enjoyed our stay but it's twenty pound a night and 50p a shower. Site has not got a shop or pub 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jed1 6 reviews from this member

 Arrived here Friday tea time site in lovely country area. The site has good clean showers and toilets, children's play area looked good, but rained all weekend so could not use.
Would definitely come again to this excellent clean and quiet site.
Richmond is only a couple of miles away so always things to do when weather is rubbish. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Panda67 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend break at Swaleview. There was only one toilet block which was quite a walk from our pitch, although they were basically clean. Most of the park was taken by static owners. Our two boys used the play area, but there was no room for other games as all pitches were quite close together. The games room was more of a shed with a pool table and table football.  


Reviewer: icall 2 reviews from this member

 June 2004
Enjoyed our stay (twice now). Not much on the site but the 2 kids (8 & 10) enjoyed the river and their new friends. Roads alongside the site can be noisy , especially with bikes but we will stop there again. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swaleview Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swaleview Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Swaleview Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Richmond      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2016 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements