Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Meddans Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Troon > St Meddans Caravan Site Reviews

St Meddans Caravan Site
St Meddans
Troon
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA10 6NS
Tel: 01292 312957
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Samuel anderson 2 reviews from this member

 Great history from owner who told me all about it. Its never really changed since the second world war so it was a very interesting place.

Has all the things a person would need.

Its right in the centre of Troon. We will return when we go to Ireland. 15. 50 for one night. Things are old but clean. Very Happy. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Loatesclan 1 review from this member

 Great location, close to Troon centre and beaches, flat pitches. Very basic-one shower in gents toilet/shed, no shower in ladies shed.

No lights, no hot water in sinks. Mold on walls.

Right next to train line. But cheap. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Freyasmum 37 reviews from this member

 A flat site within very easy reach of the town, promenade and beach. The site is quiet and private, the owner is friendly.

However, the facilities are dire.

I felt that 17 for small campervan was expensive considering the facilities 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikey951r 15 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for one night on my way from Lands End to John O Groats.

It's the only site around in the area really and very handy for catching the ferry to Arran and for the town of Troon.

It isn't really a site for tents, but the owner found me a nice level pitch near the toilets and the other caravans were all mostly seasonal pitches that were empty. Chatting to the owner, who is a nice amiable chap, I would say over the course of a summer he sees quiet a few end to enders.

At 10 per night it was tolerable, but not the cheapest, but the facilities are in desperate need of updating. The single shower was fairly grim and I had to unblock the plug hole with god only knows what in it before the water drained away.

The walls were also covered in mold. Think cow shed with shower in the corner. Whilst it was fine for me if I apply the wife test I'm afraid she wouldn't have stayed.

It's a great location but it really is time to throw a few pounds at the shower and the toilet block. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oiwajs 1 review from this member

 This is so good, very basic it may be, The guy that owns it is kind and helpful,

Mostly adults, no mud when its wet,

But try and find a site that is so close to a nice town and the beach,

We find it inexpensive when compared to other sites.

Over look the basic facilities and you will find its a great site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kishorn commando 1 review from this member

 We could only stay one night as we were on our return home journey.

A great wee site if a bit basic [which I prefer], quite a lot of caravans are permanent and a few of the owners came over for a chat, Roddy the owner is a very laid back and helpful and welcoming guy.

A big plus is the closeness to the Town of Troon, a few minutes walk.

The toilets and shower are fairly basic, the way campsites used to be but to stay the night, with electrics, was 30% cheaper than any site we had been on during this trip.

Grass is kept well clipped, and as for the noise of the trains, a couple of drams kills that. !

It is now certainly on our return list. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wanderer101 1 review from this member

 Great wee site quiet & peaceful except for the odd train early morning and a few passing planes over head depending what flight path they take. Ideal for adults only, no swings or childs play area, ideal for a few nights stop over.

Have always visited Troon over the years and recently found this site, difficult entry up a lane with having camper & caravan my advice keep close to the bushes on right on way in to clear the wall buttress on your left, then get to left side for oncoming cars coming out.

Hot/Cold water in the toilets you just have to look for the boiler on the wall & use any brain matter on how it operates, no plug for sink so take your own when going for morning shave, showers are basic (pre war in dire need of updating) if you have your own shower in your tourer it would be advisable to use it,

Toilets are spotless every time I went into them, same for the ladies

Will definitely be back here again.

Best to phone ahead for booking as there is limited spaces due to static tourers on site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Malagaoth 13 reviews from this member

 This site (which isnt cheap) is like a remnant of all that was wrong with 1960 camping, no hot waterin the cold dirty toilets and a single shower which I would only use in the direst of emergencies.

I could see no facilities for children's play.

The owner/manager is an amiable type cast in the mould of Rab C. Nesbitt who would happily chat about the weather all night.

This could be a really nice stopover spot for those using the ferry service to Larne -it is within a couple of hundred yards of the terminal and well located for all shops

It totally defeats me that people actually spend hard earned money to patronise this place.

--sorry one to avoid 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HANDYMAN12 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights here, very small site on edge of town, with a lot of caravans empty, seem to be stored for the winter. No hard standings all grass pitches.

Toilets are out of the dark ages. Gents had no soap hand towels or even hot water, also no lights in cubicles, and floor was always wet from a leaking tap.

I expected more than this for my 15 per night.

Very close to main train line.

Only saving grace was, it was only a couple of minutes from shops & beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patbhoy 5 reviews from this member

 What this site lacks in facilities it more than makes up for it in the friendliness and location.

The residents in the permanently sited vans are very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

The owner is very laid back and always on hand to offer advice.

Troon town centre is a short walk (10mins), the beach is no more than 5mins.

The local swimming pool and a Morrisons supermarket are also within 10mins walk.

We will definitely return. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is St Meddans Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Meddans Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is St Meddans Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Troon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1453 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement