Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stratford On Avon Racecourse Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Stratford On Avon Racecourse Touring Park
Luddington Road
Stratford Upon Avon
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV37 9SE
Tel: 01789 201063
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 3th March To 30th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boldaman 12 reviews from this member

Been here twice before and to be honest always had a reasonable stay however unfortunately not this time. Ok the park is flat, large and cheap at £18 a night all in, it's within easy walking distance(20 mins ) of Stratford and easy cycle routes to. The Loos and Showers are reasonably clean but not really adequate if it's busy specially if there are events on and please ask about events when you want to book as otherwise it's a nice surprise as your not pre told on booking!

When we arrived we had to wait 45mins on the gravel pull up in 30 degree heat as there was no arrivals until after 1pm even though we had been before and had no issues, checking in was a little clinical and abrupt to say the least although the man who took us to our pitch was very friendly and gave us good instructions shame about the lady on reception, and after that things went down hill.

There was an event on when we were there that we weren't told of and there were cars racing around not really paying attention to the site limits so a bit risky for children playing, security also was a bit lapse as people were coming and going on site freely which was also a worry.

The site rules state that noise is strictly not permitted between 11pm and 7am for the comfort of all campers which is great however someone must have forgotten to tell the hot air balloon that started roaring at 05:30am, then we had racecourse grounds man banging in fences at 6am and the tractor cutting the track grass at 6:15am!pretty poor tbh. We didn't want to risk another early wake up so left a day early.

On our way out I called into the reception to explain that we were leaving early because of these issues, a different lady on reception was very understanding and apologetic however the lady we saw the day before was also there and never said a word or even acknowledged me, not really surprised and won't be revisiting unfortunately.

Management response: It is unfortunate to read that your stay here did not meet with your satisfaction but we would like to address a few of the issues that you mention.

1. Events are published on our website, research when booking anywhere is the key.

2. Our records show that you arrived on site at 12:28pm 32 minutes before the allocated arrival time that you would have given at the booking stage its a process we do with all guests when they book. Arrival time is displayed on our website and on the door of the office and pointed out to you at booking. The wardens are out of the office between midday and 1pm something you would have been aware of having visited us on two previous occasions.

3.I don't believe for 1 second that the lady in reception was abrupt upon your arrival. But we apologise if you felt this was the case.

4. I will pass on your comments regarding the event and subsequent traffic issues that you encountered to the relevant racecourse official.

5. The site rules state that there is to be no noise between midnight and 7am (not 11pm) on the touring park not the racecourse. We are a working racecourse and we were on your previous two occasions.

6. When you eventually decided to leave you said the lady from the day before never acknowledged you, again we can only apologise if you felt there was an issue here but she was off duty and the relief warden was dealing with your concern more than adequately.

I refer to your review of the park in July 2013 where you state 'Overall ok but wont be visiting again' and yet you have since been twice. Thank you for your somewhat perplexing review.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dayglow47 4 reviews from this member

The weather was kind to us as we took the tent as well. We were pitched on grass. Not too many campers as on the Sunday it was a race day. So most of the area was reserved for parking. It became full of day visitors. Anyway, the campsite was well maintained by Sherrie and Darren and with a wicked sense of humour made our stay interesting, (we had stayed before). Who can complain about the price £18 a day with EHU and the showers are now FREE, was 50p. Loo area all clean. Plenty of doggy walks and 20 minutes into Stratford town. Bus from outside on main road.

If you want a good site then give it go. Good stop off point if travelling from North to South or vice versa.

On race meetings best to book as they have priority. Car boot in next field too on some Saturdays.

As Arnie would say “We will be back”

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrjburns 1 review from this member

We stayed here for two nights to check out the van after it had been serviced etc for the season ahead. We were pitched on hardstanding as grass pitches, very understandably, weren't suitable for use after the inclement weather. At £18 a night with EHU and heated washrooms, we felt that we were getting very good value for money.

The site was quiet at night and well-situated within easy walking or cycling distance to Stratford-upon-Avon. We walked into town, following the pathway across the racecourse and then joining up with the greenway cycle route, alongside the river Avon. A very pleasant walk, despite the damp, with the bonus of discovering Holy Trinity Church, where Shakespeare is buried - beautiful building and really very interesting.

On the second day, we took a taxi into town (£5 each way) and caught the train into Brum for a complete contrast of experiences. Regular train service and very reasonably priced. Worth thinking about for the Commonwealth Games in 4 years' time.

We intend to visit the site again, when the weather is better, and make more use of the adjacent cycleways to explore the surrounding area.

All in all, a pleasant site with more than acceptable facilities. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Redrover64 5 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights at this site weather was kind site wardens friendly and helpful pitches are good size all have electric hook up and water points are near by waste disposal and water

Dump for motorhomes. 190 pitches some hardstanding, around the race track and camping field. Warm shower room toilets, laundry and washing up Facilities. Small shop at reception. Nice walk into town round racetrack along river takes 20 minutes. Used Indian restaurant Cafe Chutney 400 yards from site entrance very good meal. Pub in the other direction about a mile sadly didn't make it there but heard good reports of food and beers.

There are very many things to see and do in the area both in Stratford and Warwick which is only 10 miles away and there is a bus route. However the attractions are very expensive for example to visit Warwick Castle is £32 for one adult you can improve on this if you do research and buy tickets and get offers on line unfortunately we didn't do this. We intend to

Do this on our next visit.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Martin and elaine03 2 reviews from this member

Been to this site 3 or 4 times. Always a nice welcome, given pitch to suit the size of unit you have. Short walk to town centre. Toilet block clean and other facilities close by. Best to book in advance, in particular when race meetings on. Wardens good at looking after you on site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 17 reviews from this member

Had a weekend break on this site which we picked for its location to the town. The wardens are very friendly and efficient and we checked in, paid and pitched in minutes.

The site is sprawling as it adjoins the racecourse and was never going to cosy or picturesque. Having said that, there is plenty of well maintained grassland, trees around the edges and views to the countryside. The facilities are in the racecourse buildings and are very clean and well maintained. Showers are free and hot.

The walk to town takes 25 minutes on an old train line that meets the river and feels very rural. It starts across the racecourse, in part on grass but other options are available on tarmac.

Taking a different route back you can walk past the local pub (The Salmon Tail 3/4 mile on the flat). The pub has good beer, is dog friendly and has well reviewed food, although we didn't eat there.

Aside from the obvious Shakespeare links, Stratford is a very pleasant town with numerous excellent pubs and eateries, many of which are dog friendly.

In particular Loxleys does breakfast lunch and dinner and we also enjoyed Vintners, The Opposition Bistro, Brakspear's Town House and the Keys and Kitchen pub.

We will return to the town and the site.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MegsGang 2 reviews from this member

Perfect for what we wanted - one night's stay, near to Stratford upon Avon. Only a mile to walk to town centre from campsite. Toilets/showers immaculately clean. Lots of space. And great for dog walking. And very helpful site management couple. Thank you.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Richard19540 24 reviews from this member

Very large featureless site on the racecourse. In my opinion a bit bleak but may be better in the summer. Very clean toilet and shower block but when I tried to have a shower I inserted my 50p and nothing happened. There were no instructions so I have no idea whether or not I did something wrong. This needs rectifying. Our reason for staying was to go to the theatre in town which is a good 40 minute walk away. We would have liked somewhere a bit closer. Overall impression of the site - it'll do. That's about the best I can say. The showers should be free at this price. Too steep for what was on offer.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we are sorry the park did not meet with your satisfaction.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Elaine-n-Trev 28 reviews from this member

We stayed two nights and at £15 a night we thought this was excellent value. Just to set the scene, this is a race course and the campsite is an addition, so in that respect, we felt that it did what it said on the tin. Electricity, water, grass cut and pitches with sufficient space - shown by the campsite people. The toilets were clean - there was always toilet paper and hand towels. It ain't the Ritz - but for £15 a night I think this was excellent value for money - a lovely walk into Stratford upon Avon, plenty of room to let the dog for a walk.

We had ACSI and this gave us a discount - we were pleased that this campsite didn't consider the two UK camping/caravan clubs as an advantaqe. We've come to the conclusion that nor do we. We're tired of bossy wardens and high costs. The friendly welcome we got from the people at the Stratford Racecourse campsite was brilliant.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulnjules 2 reviews from this member

In the summer holidays we always try to get out at weekends camping to different places.

This site comes very low on our list of good campsites. Reasons.

In the gents toilet area, there was no soap for the 2 nights we stayed, bins in the wc area were overflowing and toilets weren't the cleanest.

Site was a bit dull & boring with no real views

After the music festival ended at 11pm Saturday night, we had drunk people walking through the site shouting loudly and one even came over to our awning and started shaking it.

I wouldn't go again.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we are sorry the park did not meet with your satisfaction.

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019